Reviews & Comments

Showing 59 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Elsa and Derryl are wonderful hosts. We spent a very good time in Yellowwood Cottage, which has a lot of space for us. The food (breakfast and dinner) were excellent. As it was quite cold (end of May) we were provided with an open fire, electric blanked, heater end even a hot water bottle was waiting for us in the cupboard. The kitchen is well equipped for selfcatering. We enjoyed our stay there very much. Thank to the two ladies!

May 2018

Marga Olejak (Hamburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful place!!!

November 2015

Guy & Evelyna - Marie-Clair & Jean-Luc (PARIS/ZA/BELGIUM)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely accommodation & hosts. Thx for 2 wonderful days

November 2015

Paulina & Thomas (Hamburg/GERMANY)

Verified reviewvery good

Nice place, so friendly and helpful. Thank you so much!

November 2015

ISOLDE & CHARLY HAUSER (GERMANY)

Verified reviewvery good

We keep coming back!!! This says it all!!! Beautiful, restful, love it every time!!

October 2015

ALAIN & WENDY HEIN & cARYS (DURBAN/RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We enjoyed staying here so much. The weather and scenery were so beautiful 100 times better than the Bahamas!

October 2015

CLANCY & WADE (FLORIDA/BAHAMAS- RSA/BAHAMAS)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very nice ladies, thanks for such a lovely warm welcome! Very comfy bed and a great breakfast. Many many thanks!!

September 2015

Colin Harrower (ISLAND OF BUTE/SCOTLAND)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely stay with such lovely ladies - so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks for a great experience.

August 2015

LESLIE KEEN (VANCOUVER/CANADA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Warm welcome on a cold day! The fire was great and excellent breakfast!

August 2015

Bernadette & Paul Wouters (NETHERLANDS)

Verified reviewexcellent

A home from home stop over - Roaring fire & delicious breakfast - thank you

August 2015

Listers & Bennets (U.S.A/JHB/C.TOWN)

Verified reviewvery good

We have very much enjoyed our stay with Elsa and Darryll. Their personal touch en interest was heartwarming. Yellow wood cottage is an nice and pleasant guest house, very good breakfast and nice hosts. Areason in itself to come back.

March 2015

Kees Geerlings (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

The cherry on the pie so far. So friendly so welcome so warm. Felt a bit like home. Would definitely com back (with good weather). Everything is lovely!

November 2014

John & Monique (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

A calming experience before attacking the Sani Pass. Everything was lovely. Merci Derryl & Elsa

November 2014

Ruth & Colin Wilson (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay – absolutely superb.

October 2014

Andrew & Claire Marais (East London )

Verified reviewexcellent

Everything absolutely first rate – fabulous breakfast, lovely room wonderful hosts. This is a very special place and we loved it. Thank you

October 2014

Davina & Glen Strong (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Arrived as guests, left as family :) . Thank you for being so special and creating a memorable experience. See you soon.

September 2014

Germaine & Devon (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Derryl & Elsa, You showed us that a B&B can be so much more than just B&B! Never met anyone before who runs such a place with more love and passion and helpfulness as you do. Thank you so much, we are happy to recommend your place further on. Hope to be able to come back again.

September 2014

Chris & Leonie (Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

Many thanks for your very warm welcome. It was lovely to stay here after an all-day drive from Port St. Johns. We really enjoyed the breakfast & the kids the TV (!)

August 2014

The Ware Family (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

A fantastic day in the Yellowwood Cottage. Thanks a lot for the welcome, beautiful place & people. Alive!

August 2014

The Brandirali Family (Milan Italy )

Verified reviewvery good

You have a lovely place! Thanks for all your help.

February 2014

Charles Crakle/Michael Walters (Orlando Florida )

Verified reviewexcellent

Yellow-gold is your attention to your guests. Thank you.

February 2014

Suzy Servotte & Myriam Boelen (Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We had a fantastic time!

January 2014

Hannes & Louise and Marinus & Friends (Somerset West/Cape Town )

Verified reviewexcellent

Great stay and great hosts. Thank you very much for your hospitality! We will be back.

January 2014

Delphine Vidal & Bastien Walick (La Reunion )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for going out of your way to make our stay with you special – hospitable, warm and friendly.

December 2013

Andre & Taryn Schubert (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A room with a mountain view, that’s really beautiful! Wake up in the morning with a delicious breakfast that’s life .... Thank you Derryl & Elsa

October 2013

Wenke & Styn Vullings Emonts (Maastricht, The Netherlands )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you both so much for your care & attention. The meals were superb, and you are highly recommended.

September 2013

Barry & Sancia (Greyton)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our room and bathroom were nice and cosy. We loved the meals and the very friendlh hospitality. Your garden is beautiful. The fire was warm and "gerellig".

September 2013

Steff and Tinieke van Veen (Schiedam, the Netherlands )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanx for everything. Had a great stay! Lunch pack a big winner!!

June 2013

Erich Thom (Dundee Kwa Zulu Natal )

Verified reviewexcellent

5 star treatment, comfort and care. Extra bonus was the picnic lunch – Thank you.

March 2013

John & Katherine Swart (Port Elizabeth )

Verified reviewexcellent

They are very welcoming and free to talk to. Thank you so much.

February 2013

Mpume and Thando (Coastal KZN FET College Durban )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your hospitality! It was so lovely to be here and the breakfast was amazing.

January 2013

Kirstin and Thomas (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Perfect

December 2012

Heini & Kari (Helsinki, Finland )

Verified reviewexcellent

Feels like home! Thank you so much

December 2012

Simon & Ingrid (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the wonderful stay here. We loved the food, the rooms and that you always had some advise for us what to do.

October 2012

Christel, Rudiger, Carola Jara (Leipsig, Germany )

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved it! Cozy and friendly. Thank you

August 2012

Barracks & Williams (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The house is amazing and you both are also wonderful people and we hope to come back again someday. Thank you

July 2012

Gift,Onyi,,Toyin,Prince & Pastor John (Nigeria)

Verified reviewexcellent

owners - Elsa and Darryl - were very friendly and most accommodating. Made fresh muffins to go with the large English Breakfast. We were able to sit on the back lawn and have our little wine & cheese party, before going to the Pub for dinner. Pub was excellent also. Ed Blackmore

September 2011

Ed Blackmore (London, Ontario, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

I could not have been better cared for than I was at Yellowwood Cottage - the warmth of Elsa and Derryl's welcome, their sustained hospitality and thoughtful anticipation match the cosiness of the clothes they lent me!

July 2011

Di Bligh (Somerset, UK)

Verified reviewvery good

Lovely accommodation and warm breakfast!

July 2011

Ilse Bezuidenhout and Este Gunter (Newcastle)

Verified reviewvery good

So peaceful, quiet & fresh mountain air!

July 2011

Lance, Kim & Jason Hook (La Lucia)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks for your hospitality - nice warm beds after a long drive thru' Lesotho! and back again!

July 2011

Jenny & Gerald Dorrington (FishHoek)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you Derryl and Elsa. We felt more than welcome at your place - it's warm, cosy and friendly.

June 2011

Mr & Mrs Govender (Chatsworth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much. I had a wonderful time. You're definitely in the right business. Outstanding service. Thank you for making me feel at home.

June 2011

Jack van der Schuff (Aranza Travel and Tours)

Verified reviewexcellent

It is not everyday that one gets to a place where the doors may be left open and the business you are dealing with overwhelms you by exceeding all expectations. You two are both lovely people.

June 2011

Du Preeuz & Dekker Families (Gauteng)

Verified reviewvery good

There is no measure for awesomeness... Thanks very much for the wonderful hospitality. Will be surely recommending Yellowwood to all my friends as it is the perfect spot for a vacation. Thanks once again!!!

June 2011

Jayapriya & Karthik (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful stay - lovely people & good food. Will be back for more soon. Perfect for second honeymoon.

June 2011

Savy Ram (Umkomaas)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful hospitality. Thank you for a lovely stay.

June 2011

Priya Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for your gracious hospitality & for making us feel so at home! :)

June 2011

Denise Pirs (Pmb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Home far away from home. So peaceful!

May 2011

Thobile (Yellowwood Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just like home - only better!

May 2011

Phil Whatley & Maureen Kelly - Team Comrades (Reading, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were so happy to come home to a warm, cosy bed & lovely breakfast - thank you for having us.

May 2011

Claire, Jax and Kelvin (Team Salomon - Drak MTB )

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful place, made all the more welcoming by gracious hosts, Derryl and Elsa. Will definitely go back - was home away from home....

April 2011

Bashni Chetty (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolute pleasure and comfort. Enjoyed my stay tremendously.

August 2010

Artha & Dion (Verulam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Felt like home.

August 2010

Saskia, Shirin, Yani & Kyan (Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

Accommodating hosts, eager to please. Very comfortable & good food provided. Well worth the stay & good value for money. Will recommend you.

August 2010

Zak and Maria Binikos (Margate)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks, clean, neat & well equipped and such a welcome reception. Thanks again.

June 2010

Joe & Birgitte (Corchheim, Germany )

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay as part ocf our whirlwind 2010 World Cup Tour. Thank you for your hospitality.

June 2010

Ros Nutall (Lancashire, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the warmest of hospitality and super breakfast spread, we will certainly be recommending you.

June 2010

Alice, Wayne, Becky and Ed (Durban & England)

Verified reviewexcellent

The children really enjoyed fishing at the dam close-by and we enjoyed going for family walks. The best food ever! ... and so affordable - makes it possible to go back again and again!

April 2010

Sally du Plessis (Umhlanga)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 720
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Yellowwood Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.