Yellowwood Cottage is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (58 reviews)

Yellowwood Cottage

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 8 Mackenzie Street, Himeville, Drakenberg, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 58 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 58 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2015

Very Good

Review by Guy & Evelyna - Marie-Clair & Jean-Luc (PARIS/ZA/BELGIUM)

Wonderful place!!!

November 2015

Very Good

Review by ISOLDE & CHARLY HAUSER (GERMANY)

Nice place, so friendly and helpful. Thank you so much!

November 2015

Excellent

Review by Paulina & Thomas (Hamburg/GERMANY)

Lovely accommodation & hosts. Thx for 2 wonderful days

October 2015

Very Good

Review by ALAIN & WENDY HEIN & CARYS (DURBAN/RSA)

We keep coming back!!! This says it all!!! Beautiful, restful, love it every time!!

October 2015

Excellent

Review by CLANCY & WADE (FLORIDA/BAHAMAS- RSA/BAHAMAS)


Thank you so much for your hospitality. We enjoyed staying here so much. The weather and scenery were so beautiful 100 times better than the Bahamas!

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Colin Harrower (ISLAND OF BUTE/SCOTLAND)

Very nice ladies, thanks for such a lovely warm welcome! Very comfy bed and a great breakfast. Many many thanks!!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by LESLIE KEEN (VANCOUVER/CANADA)

Lovely stay with such lovely ladies - so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks for a great experience.

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Bernadette & Paul Wouters (NETHERLANDS)

Warm welcome on a cold day! The fire was great and excellent breakfast!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Listers & Bennets (U.S.A/JHB/C.TOWN)

A home from home stop over - Roaring fire & delicious breakfast - thank you

March 2015

Very Good

Review by Kees Geerlings (Netherlands)

We have very much enjoyed our stay with Elsa and Darryll.
Their personal touch en interest was heartwarming.
Yellow wood cottage is an nice and pleasant guest house, very good breakfast and nice hosts. Areason in itself to come back.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by John & Monique (Holland)

The cherry on the pie so far. So friendly so welcome so warm. Felt a bit like home. Would definitely com back (with good weather). Everything is lovely!

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Ruth & Colin Wilson (Switzerland)

A calming experience before attacking the Sani Pass. Everything was lovely. Merci Derryl & Elsa

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Andrew & Claire Marais (East London )

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay – absolutely superb.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Davina & Glen Strong (UK)

Everything absolutely first rate – fabulous breakfast, lovely room wonderful hosts. This is a very special place and we loved it. Thank you

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Germaine & Devon (Durban)

Arrived as guests, left as family :) . Thank you for being so special and creating a memorable experience. See you soon.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Chris & Leonie (Germany)

Derryl & Elsa, You showed us that a B&B can be so much more than just B&B! Never met anyone before who runs such a place with more love and passion and helpfulness as you do. Thank you so much, we are happy to recommend your place further on. Hope to be able to come back again.

August 2014

Very Good

Review by The Ware Family (England)

Many thanks for your very warm welcome. It was lovely to stay here after an all-day drive from Port St. Johns. We really enjoyed the breakfast & the kids the TV (!)

August 2014

Excellent

Review by The Brandirali Family (Milan Italy )

A fantastic day in the Yellowwood Cottage. Thanks a lot for the welcome, beautiful place & people. Alive!

February 2014

Very Good

Review by Charles Crakle/Michael Walters (Orlando Florida )

You have a lovely place! Thanks for all your help.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Suzy Servotte & Myriam Boelen (Belgium)

Yellow-gold is your attention to your guests. Thank you.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Hannes & Louise And Marinus & Friends (Somerset West/Cape Town )

Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We had a fantastic time!

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Delphine Vidal & Bastien Walick (La Reunion )

Great stay and great hosts. Thank you very much for your hospitality! We will be back.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Andre & Taryn Schubert (Durban)

Thank you for going out of your way to make our stay with you special – hospitable, warm and friendly.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Wenke & Styn Vullings Emonts (Maastricht, The Netherlands )

A room with a mountain view, that’s really beautiful! Wake up in the morning with a delicious breakfast that’s life .... Thank you Derryl & Elsa

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Barry & Sancia (Greyton)

Thank you both so much for your care & attention. The meals were superb, and you are highly recommended.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Steff And Tinieke Van Veen (Schiedam, The Netherlands )

Our room and bathroom were nice and cosy. We loved the meals and the very friendlh hospitality. Your garden is beautiful. The fire was warm and "gerellig".

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Erich Thom (Dundee Kwa Zulu Natal )

Thanx for everything. Had a great stay! Lunch pack a big winner!!

March 2013

Excellent

Review by John & Katherine Swart (Port Elizabeth )

5 star treatment, comfort and care. Extra bonus was the picnic lunch – Thank you.

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Mpume And Thando (Coastal KZN FET College Durban )

They are very welcoming and free to talk to. Thank you so much.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Kirstin And Thomas (Germany)

Thank you for your hospitality! It was so lovely to be here and the breakfast was amazing.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Heini & Kari (Helsinki, Finland )

Perfect

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Simon & Ingrid (Holland)

Feels like home! Thank you so much

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Christel, Rudiger, Carola Jara (Leipsig, Germany )

Thank you for the wonderful stay here. We loved the food, the rooms and that you always had some advise for us what to do.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Barracks & Williams (Johannesburg)

Loved it! Cozy and friendly. Thank you

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Gift,Onyi,,Toyin,Prince & Pastor John (Nigeria)

The house is amazing and you both are also wonderful people and we hope to come back again someday. Thank you

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Ed Blackmore (London, Ontario, Canada)

owners - Elsa and Darryl - were very friendly and most accommodating. Made fresh muffins to go with the large English Breakfast. We were able to sit on the back lawn and have our little wine & cheese party, before going to the Pub for dinner. Pub was excellent also.

Ed Blackmore

July 2011

Very Good

Review by Ilse Bezuidenhout And Este Gunter (Newcastle)

Lovely accommodation and warm breakfast!

July 2011

Very Good

Review by Lance, Kim & Jason Hook (La Lucia)

So peaceful, quiet & fresh mountain air!

July 2011

Very Good

Review by Jenny & Gerald Dorrington (FishHoek)

Thanks for your hospitality - nice warm beds after a long drive thru' Lesotho! and back again!

July 2011

Excellent

Review by Di Bligh (Somerset, UK)

I could not have been better cared for than I was at Yellowwood Cottage - the warmth of Elsa and Derryl's welcome, their sustained hospitality and thoughtful anticipation match the cosiness of the clothes they lent me!

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Mr & Mrs Govender (Chatsworth)

Thank you Derryl and Elsa. We felt more than welcome at your place - it's warm, cosy and friendly.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Jayapriya & Karthik (Durban)

There is no measure for awesomeness... Thanks very much for the wonderful hospitality. Will be surely recommending Yellowwood to all my friends as it is the perfect spot for a vacation. Thanks once again!!!

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Savy Ram (Umkomaas)

Wonderful stay - lovely people & good food. Will be back for more soon. Perfect for second honeymoon.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Priya Pillay (Durban)

Wonderful hospitality. Thank you for a lovely stay.

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Denise Pirs (Pmb)

Thank you for your gracious hospitality & for making us feel so at home! :)

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Jack Van Der Schuff (Aranza Travel And Tours)

Thank you very much. I had a wonderful time. You're definitely in the right business. Outstanding service. Thank you for making me feel at home.

June 2011

Excellent

Review by Du Preeuz & Dekker Families (Gauteng)

It is not everyday that one gets to a place where the doors may be left open and the business you are dealing with overwhelms you by exceeding all expectations. You two are both lovely people.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Thobile (Yellowwood Park)

Home far away from home. So peaceful!

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Phil Whatley & Maureen Kelly - Team Comrades (Reading, England)

Just like home - only better!

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Claire, Jax And Kelvin (Team Salomon - Drak MTB )

We were so happy to come home to a warm, cosy bed & lovely breakfast - thank you for having us.

April 2011

Very Good

Review by Bashni Chetty (Pretoria)

Wonderful place, made all the more welcoming by gracious hosts, Derryl and Elsa. Will definitely go back - was home away from home....

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Artha & Dion (Verulam)

Absolute pleasure and comfort. Enjoyed my stay tremendously.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Saskia, Shirin, Yani & Kyan (Belgium)

Felt like home.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Zak And Maria Binikos (Margate)

Accommodating hosts, eager to please. Very comfortable & good food provided. Well worth the stay & good value for money. Will recommend you.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Joe & Birgitte (Corchheim, Germany )

Thanks, clean, neat & well equipped and such a welcome reception. Thanks again.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Ros Nutall (Lancashire, England)

We enjoyed our stay as part ocf our whirlwind 2010 World Cup Tour. Thank you for your hospitality.

June 2010

Excellent

Review by Alice, Wayne, Becky And Ed (Durban & England)

Thank you for the warmest of hospitality and super breakfast spread, we will certainly be recommending you.

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Sally Du Plessis (Umhlanga)

The children really enjoyed fishing at the dam close-by and we enjoyed going for family walks. The best food ever! ... and so affordable - makes it possible to go back again and again!

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 680
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.742111110777778
Longitude: 29.51469722222222

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 300km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged in advance, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2010 - 58 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap