Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay at this fabulous establishment, the tube-rafting was excellent and the place is so beautiful, everything was perfect, thank you

January 2018

RUDOLPH OELOFSE (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful spot and 2 of the friendliest hosts you'll find. Stayed in the honeymoon suite and it is highly recommended. The kitchen also makes amazing food. My only wish is that we could've stayed longer.

September 2017

Greg Viljoen (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay in Mangrove Cottage. It was perfectly equipped with everything one might need for a self catering stay. We are only sorry we didn't have another day to spend on the beautiful lawns overlooking the river. We will be back in the winter to put the fireplace to good use!

December 2015

Helen Rushton (Kearsney, KZN)

Verified reviewvery good

Hi Lynne and Steve Just a quick note to say thanks very much for having us over the weekend. Aside from the beautiful spot and great food, we were really made to feel at home (Ellie included). We will definitely be back soon. Regards Gary

April 2014

Gary Amstutz (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Accommodation - Neat, clean, comfortable. Setting-peace,quiet,tranquil.View- BEAUTIFUL! Garden, river,mountain.Food-good wholesome delicious. Hospitality - friendly, helpful and caring. Stephen and Lynne, thank you for adding that special touch to our stay @Pigmy Cottage.We enjoyed a well deserved rest at your beautiful peaceful lodge.The pricing was reasonable and we will most definitely return. God bless, Eddie and Renee

December 2013

Renee Surmon (Mtunzini)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were a group of 12 people staying at Umzimkulu Lodge for 2 nights. I would definitely recommend this as a stayover if you are planning to visit this area. The host, Steve, is very friendly and accommodating. If I visit this area again, I would stay there again

August 2012

Roanda (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We happened to drive by looking for a place to have lunch, when Steve happened to be passing by; he invited us in for lunch and showed us the grounds and inside one of the beautiful cottages. Although we didn't stay here, we have some experience with Berg area stays (north, central and southern) and this would rank first on our list for our next visit. The grounds are attractive, inviting and well maintained, there are ample amenities beyond just the excellent self-catering cottages, and we were pleased to see things of interest for young kids. The luxury log cabin, though beyond what we typically seek out, was stunning, with large open spaces and views overlooking the entry into the Umzimkulu River's Thrombosis Gorge. We've found that the best accommodations are those with the friendliest, most flexible owners; this would be no exception. We highly recommend a stay at this cozy retreat.

February 2011

Emlyn Addison (Providence, RI USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A Picturesque Retreat from City Life. What a gem! We had a brillant stay thank you and will be back with friends and family.

May 2009

Eddie Oxley (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We love the proximity of the cottages to the river and the beautiful scenery.

May 2009

Michele Rout (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved the peace and quiet, tranquil surroundings - just beaufiful. The managers Dawn & John are wonderful people.

May 2009

Sanjay Kamduth (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

We loved the proximity to the river. Secluded and private Giant Cabin. A perfect setting.

May 2009

Nikki Irvine (Durban)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 840
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Umzimkulu River Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.