Reviews & Comments

Showing 73 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

It was the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city life. This place is tranquil , I loved every minute of it .

October 2018

Somila Mavumengwana (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful weekend at a beautiful chalet. We will be back in the summer.

May 2016

Cedric Chetty (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely cottage. We have had a great stay and Clara has looked after us. The cottage is clean and homely. We will be back.

April 2016

Carol Adendorff (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very relaxing enjoyable stay. Sani Pass is as always "breathtakingly beautiful and awesome!" Thank you Clara for your friendliness and thank you Adam and Caryn for the use of this lovely gem.

February 2016

Julie Vorster (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Simply awesome time. Fabulous view, weather, accommodation. Perfect getaway for an ultimately relaxing vacation. Would love to be back soon. Sadly back to reality today. Thanks for a great holiday.

December 2015

Bhilal Mahomed (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were Very Happy with our stay!! The house was clean and comfortable ! The views were amazing . We will def be back to enjoy the views and the environment. It was a real pleasure staying in Bergview.

November 2015

Leana (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Had a lovery time with my family at Bergview.....Loved the family, warm feeling Bergview provides...The kids had alot of fun. Clara was also very helpful....

November 2015

Fundisiwe Mtolo (SOuth coast)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our family loved it. Best family time ever. My girls (7 and 11) enjoyed the house. They were kept busy with all the books and games. The house has a lovely homely feeling to it.

October 2015

Zahira Sayed (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thanks. Missed the snow - but a good reason to return. Thank you to Clara for all the help too.

July 2015

Candace Bennett (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a superb relaxing weekend, very peaceful, we will be back!

April 2015

Nick Beyers (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a most enjoyable 3 days at Bergview. The children (and adults) had a ball in the well equipped playground and the less active loved the gorgeous berg views while relaxing on the deck and verandah. The house was comfortable and met all our requirements and Clara was most helpful and friendly. Thank you for a memmorable visit to Bergview.

April 2015

Margaret Bydawell (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a gem of a place to relax, enjoy the view and to be able to bring our dog Scooby. Thank you.

March 2015

Ron Millard (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Once again - amazing stay! 3 years of amazing holidays at Bergview - and we look forward to many more! Thank you!

March 2015

Linde Lategan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a super awesome time! Kids had a ball, Clara is a real star. She is very helpful and kind. We will be back.

October 2014

Pat Singh (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much. We all had a fantastic time. Our two furry boys loved the surroundings so much. Bergview is beautiful in every way from decor to the view. We will definitely be back.

September 2014

Megan da Costa (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such an amazing and relaxing stay at Bergview. The house has everything you could possibly want or need for a holiday. We had stunning views of the snow-capped mountains. Clara was helpful and friendly too. Was so nice to bring the doggies with us too, they enjoyed running around in the fresh air! We will be back for sure!

August 2014

Robyn De Broize (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had an awesome holiday. Lots to do in the area. Kids had a ball. Clara is an amazing help. Thanks for everything Clara.

July 2014

Jean Erasmus (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most amazing birthday break here at Bergview. It is the most beautiful place we have stayed at with our puppy. Clara has been amazing, very helpful, informative and caring. She even baby sat our puppy for the afternoon. Just love her. Thank you so much, we will be back! Till next time.

June 2014

Paulo Martins (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Extremely peaceful and scenic getaway. Cabin is well accessorised and homely. Amenities are all nearby. It has been a wonderful experience. We will return.

June 2014

Derrick Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful midweek holiday it has been. We had the best of both worlds during our stay, as we were greeted with a warm hello on our arrival by the blistering heat of the sun, and then bid a farewell with one of the coldest berg days we have ever experienced, and with snow on the tip of the peaks waving us goodbye! Bergview is beautiful! Many thanks, Kristen and Shaun.

May 2014

Kristen Pretorius (Duban)

Verified reviewexcellent

The place is stunning. Gardens are well maintained, pool sparkling clean!!! Clara is warm and welcoming and an absolute pleasure to have her assist us during our stay. We will be back .... PS. Our 3 staffies had a blast! Thank you, the Sharpleys.

May 2014

Monique Sharpley (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful week! This is our third time to holiday here and we really appreciate the lovely cabin. Our young boys love the jungle gym and trampoline. Thanks for a great holiday spot!

May 2014

Greg Evans (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful home, lovely kitchen. Enjoyed ourselves, especially view and peace. Thank you,

April 2014

Metcalf Fick (Hermanus)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved it!!! We will defnitely be back. Thank you to Clara as well. Du Preez and van der Merwes.

April 2014

Melissa Du Preez (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A slice of heaven for us and our 2 doggies! We love it here and will defnitely be back ( and will tell all our friends and family too). Amazing value for money - Thank you!

April 2014

Grant Hamilton (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful place. Awesome views, clean, spacious cottage with nice jungle gym and activity for kids. Loved it here, will be back a lot more times.

March 2014

Claire Carson (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for a wonderful break form the city life. The kids enjoyed themselves so much. The "Van Dyk" family.

March 2014

Barbara van Dyk (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place! I am so happy we found this. Four seasons in 1 day was a great experience. Clara is a lovely and strong person. We hope to be back again. Thanks a lot for everything. Betty and Coes Vergunst, the Netherlands.

January 2014

Betty Vergunst (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing, breathtaking place. Home away from home. We loved the quality family time and the fact that you catered for our furry friends as well. Thank you for letting our family become closer. We will be back.

December 2013

Karina Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely stay and lovely view! Had a really great time - Thanks very much! Cousins family and co.

December 2013

Renee Cousins (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Driving up the road towards your beautiful cottage we all had a good feeling that it was going to be a fantastic weekend. And it sure was! Thank you for creating such a "homely" accommodation for us to enjoy. The attention to detail was spot on. We will defnitely be back.

November 2013

Taryn Schoerie (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely place! Especially when you have a bunch of little ones. We had a wonderful stay and will defnitely recommend Bergview to everyone.

November 2013

Lyn Brown (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fantastic place. So peaceful. Everything spic and span to our satisfaction. Only iron should be provided. WE enjoyed our stay. Would love to be back.

November 2013

Kelman Reddy (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have returned and this time with an Australian visitor. We had a huge thunderstorm and afterwards saw 2 Rhebok grazing right by the house! What an experience.

November 2013

Neil Hederman (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks so much for having us. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the beautiful home and the magnificent views.

October 2013

Anne Bahrenberg (Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful place. We had an awesome time. So peaceful here. Lovely, beautiful and breath taking views. Will defnitely be back here again. Clara was so friendly.

October 2013

Martin Leukes (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a delight. Many thanks for sharing your space with us. And thank you for a clean and neat house. From the Oets family.

October 2013

Neil Oets (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for the wonderful well-equipped home! The views on our last morning were spectacular! great climb up the mountain too. Lots of special experiences, having breakfast on your verandah was one too.

September 2013

Neil Hederman (South Coast)

Verified reviewexcellent

Back again for our second visit to breathtaking Bergview. As per usual, was a spectacular stay, even though was chilly to start, but the fireplace and electric blankets were much appreciated. Clara was a delight and on the ball. Love the new changes to the place.

August 2013

Elizabeth Chapman (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Exactly 2 years ago we came here for our first visit to Underberg. We've been back with family and friends, for holidays and birthdays. Will never pick any other place to stay. We love everything about Bergview. Congratulations on your beautiful place, Adam and Caryn. Thank you for sharing it with us.

August 2013

Linde Lategan (Durban North)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had an amazing time! Brilliant weather and a much needed break. Had a great hike up the mountain behind Bergview to watch the sunrise. Will defnitely be back soon.

May 2013

Karen Uken (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

30th wedding anniversary - our stay at Bergview was amazing. It was lovely and very relaxing. Clara welcomed us and she was so helpful. We do not want to go home. This is a special place, that we would recommend to all our friends and family. Thank you.

May 2013

Lam Roux (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the best of times... The service was excellent, will defnitely come back and recommend the place to our friends. To Clara : Keep up the good work it was a pleasure meeting you.

May 2013

Angel Nduku (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

In terms of our stay at Bergview, I cannot fault you or your property at all! It was absolutely DIVINE! I cannot begin to explain how comfy we all were and how relaxed we were, it was an absolutely fantastic weekend away and I will defnitely be recommending you to all my clients looking for self catering accommodation in Underberg. The type of quality that you offer for the price per person per night is awesome value for money. Usually, with self catering you need to worry about tea towels and hand towels and all sorts, not at Bergview, every need is catered for. Clara was really great, she was friendly, her English is fantastic and her cleaning skills were flawless. She really had a lot to do but she came in with a smile and was very friendly and warm towards everyone. She is defnitely an employee you do not want to lose. Thanks again for a FABULOUS weekend!

May 2013

Jesse Brouard (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A really big thank you for the wonderful accommodation and stay we had in the Berg. Defnitely something I would like to repeat in the future. The weather could not have been better and the area around Underberg was fantastic. Made me wonder why I want to live in Jhb! I will certainly recommend your place to friends and colleagues!

April 2013

Inger Preiss (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you, we enjoyed our stay very much. We also loved the gas braai and used it everyday.

March 2013

Landi Theart (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Clara for keeping everything neat and clean. We had a lovely time... Those views are spectacular. We also especially enjoyed the braaing facilities and the wood fire.

February 2013

Michelle Moshal (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful stay in such a beautiful and comfortable place. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

February 2013

Kevin Payne (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We came back for the Drak 250. Great stay - thanks!

January 2013

Lynda Cawood (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to stay at the cabin, it was the most exhilirating break that we needed after our stressful year. We got there and just looking at the scenery and being able to be so close to nature our spirits were instantly pumped up and we looked forward to enjoying the weekend. We had a blast, though sometimes we may have gone overboard with the noise, we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of our stay. On Saturday after breakfast we walked to the farm close by, but the highlight was climbing the mountain to go up to the waterfall. It was challenging yet successful, we did it as a team and learnt many lessons. Once again, thank you for the warm welcome (Clara on your behalf). We really look forward to coming back and also recommending to family and friends.

December 2012

Trisha Nandlal (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great time at Bergview and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was great for our little ones. I liked the fact that it was so child orientated with kiddie chairs, jungle gym, plastic plates and cups etc. Clara was also very helpful and friendly.

November 2012

Bridget Tancrel (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Once again - Bergview was amazing, just what we needed. The weather was amazing, the days were sunny and hot, and the evenings were cold enough to enjoy a cup of coffee in front of the fireplace. We love Bergview and everyone we take there loves it too. I don't think we will ever find any other accommodation as great as yours. We did miss Mavis, but Clara was amazing, and such a treat to have her around. Thank you - Bergview feels like home - it always breaks my heart to leave on Sunday to return to the city. Hope to visit soon.

October 2012

Linde Lategan (Durban North)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful experience, got the snow we wished for. Our Husky's loved it!!!

August 2012

Luke Meyer (Harrismith)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay, very homely and such a beautiful surroundings. Would defnitely love to come back (but for longer).

August 2012

Laura Young (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a wonderful stay, went up Sani Pass and played in the snow! Had a cup of coffee at the highest pub in Africa. Lovely cottage and fireplace. Mavis was a star, she looked after our dogs and always has a smile!

July 2012

Etienne Walters (South Coast)

Verified reviewexcellent

To Caryn and Adam, thaks for a wonderful stay. We will be back again soon. Mavis is a wonderful lady.

June 2012

Trashinka Smythe (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Adam and Caryn, your house is awesome with lovely views, and so comfortable. Mavis is a star. Thank you so much.

May 2012

Diane Fismer (Howick)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay at Bergview.Lovely view and comfortable with everything we needed.

January 2012

Debbie Boshoff (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place was far, but was well worth the drive from Jhb. Thank you for a great get away. Your main en-suite is amazing!

December 2011

Nontsikelelo Molefe (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a wonderful time!

August 2011

Tina Brock (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

"'n Glasie rooiwyn, 'n kaggelvuur met die sneeu wat buite val, wat meer kan 'n mens vra! Dankie dat ons, onself hier in julle pragtige huis kon koester en warm maak."

August 2011

Giel Kruger (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

"Had a lovely weekend and were lucky enough to so much snow. Tried to make our way up Sani Pass but just before the last stretch there was so much ice and snow none of us 4x4 enthusiasts got through it, but we enjoyed getting as far as we did. The fireplace was a blessing as it was extremely cold."

July 2011

Michelle de Lange (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Visited this stunning town set in the beautiful mountains. We can say we climbed to the top of the mountain and really appreciated the views of the surroundings. The house is fantastic, thanks to Mavis that was always here in a flash to help. We will be back for sure.

June 2011

Freddie Engelbrecht (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really enjoyed myself here. What a fantastic place, thank you very much!

June 2011

Nunu Shezi (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for the warm holiday home, that felt just like home away from home! The views are spectacular and will surely be back. We were lucky enough to see snow on the mountains.

May 2011

Chantal Ramburan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your hospitality and the beautiful place we stayed in. The surroundings and the place are awesome. I will recommend this place to other people.

May 2011

Monica Prinsloo (north coast)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful family time in a beautiful setting. House accommodated us all perfectly. 5 years old Jamie was very proud to climb the mountain behind - right to the top! Weather gorgeous, we even swam!

May 2011

Susan Purchase (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome vacation getaway. True comfort of home... except the freezing cold.

May 2011

Trinieka Singh (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Bergview was a very warm and cosy home with lovely views during our stay. We loved it!

April 2011

Viloshnee Makan (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful place to stay, a "home away from home".The view of the berg is spectacular, will defnitely be back again.

April 2011

Yougan Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a very special long weekend at Bergview. A very beautiful space with magnificent views. Hard to beat! Thanks to Mavis, she is a gem. Especially enjoyed the pool after our hike.

March 2011

Yvette Watters (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We are so impressed with this place. It is a home from home with a stunning view. Mavis is a star too!

March 2011

Astri Leroy (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

The comfort of home with the tranquility and views only the bergcan offer! A spectacular getaway! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

February 2011

Elizabeth Chapman (Jhb)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,980
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Bergview

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.