Unbiased Stellenbosch Reviews

13 Reviews from SA-Venues.com travellers about this Cape Winelands destination. Learn about Stellenbosch from other travellers or allow your experiences to guide future visitors to this town by submitting a review.

Verified reviewexcellent

It's always a super visit to explore Stellenbosch. Love all the restaurants and interesting shops, museums and well kept gardens. If you don't go for the wine, go for the culture & history!

November 2018

Wynand (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

It's always a super visit to explore Stellenbosch. Love all the restaurants and interesting shops, museums and well kept gardens. If you don't go for the wine, go for the culture & history!

November 2018

Wynand (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic weekend exploring Stellenbosch. Although the weather was not ideal (drizzling) it seemed to add to the atmosphere. Fab restaurants, very interesting history, monuments and views to die for! Its a no brainer - just go! (Forgot to mention the WINE!! - Go try! Taste! Buy!) You will love it.

September 2018

Sherrin (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed visiting all the wine cellars (there are more than 100 but we only managed to visit 28). Most offer tasting tours every day. We enjoyed visits to the historic sites including the Oom Samie se Winkel and the church, museums and lovely walks in the town to the shops and restaurants.

June 2018

Rainer (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderfully interesting town to visit. So much history here, the buildings are interesting, lots of monuments and being a university town, there is a wonderful atmosphere with excellent as well as more casual restaurants, lots of interesting art galleries, boutiques and touristy type shops to explore. Do a wine tour if you have time. We did... what a lot of fun we had. We felt extremely safe at all times, we walked everywhere and I would recommend a few days stay to anyone who loves wine and the countryside.

March 2018

Samuel (Trinidad)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really love Stellenbosch. It has gorgeous cafes and restaurants, tree-lined avenues, and great wine estates.

October 2017

Stef (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Love the wine tasting in Stellenbosh, fantastic scenerary, great food and great wine! What more could you want!

January 2013

Michelle (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Some wonderful places to taste wine and some really gorgeous wedding venues. Stellenbosch has a great student community.

November 2012

Tania (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Every year we visit family in the Cape and EVERY year we spend at least a day or two in stellies! Great town, great vibe, OUTSTANDING views and vistas ... just go!!

July 2012

Sue (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Altyd baie lekker om in Stellenbosch te kuier!

May 2012

Charl v. n. (Jozi)

Verified reviewexcellent

Even in winter this is a stunning town with lots to do and a great atmosphere. Beautiful building, stunning architecture, beautiful gardens, wonderful restaurants and shops and the town is extremely tourist friendly. Not to mention all the wine estates ... and golfers, you will love Stellies!! II make a point of visiting here at least twice a year.

August 2011

Kevin Villiers (Heathfield)

Verified reviewvery good

I really enjoy visiting the Stellenbosch Market on a Saturday - they have some wonderful produce and goods for sale.

June 2011

Kate (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

You have to visit Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate!! After your round of golf you deserve a round of "Provoyeur" - Wines .....

March 2011

Esther (Devonvale - Koelenhof)

Submit a Review

Have you been to Stellenbosch in Western Cape? Let us know how you enjoyed your visit to the Cape Winelands region and what you thought of the attractions, restaurants and accommodation options in Stellenbosch. All reviews are subject to our review guidelines.

Stellenbosch as a destination

Staying Overnight

Want to stay overnight?

Number of Guests

Property Type

  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
Destinations
  • Stellenbosch

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com Review Guidelines

We won't publish any reviews that don't follow these guidelines.

Did you make your booking via the SA-Venues.com website?
Only verified reviews by guests who booked and paid via SA-Venues.com will be published. No exceptions. If you want to publish a review but did not book with us, please submit your review to the agents or website you did book with. We do not publish unverified reviews. We are a Booking Portal, not a review site. To let off steam or sing praises for stays not booked with us, go do so on the world's biggest review site. We are not it.

Mind your P's and Q's
No profanity, threats, prejudiced comments, hate speech or other unfriendly content. Nor will we publish any graphic reports of violent criminal activity or participation in drug-related activity.

Unique and original content
We will publish one review per person, per establishment.

We won't publish
repeat reviews of the same establishment or tour operator by the same reviewer
irrelevant reviews
material quoted from other sources
reviews published on other travel review sites

Complaints
If you have a complaint, you should take this up directly with the establishment's management at the time of the incident. If you have not done so, we will not publish your review. (No one is infallible and mistakes happen - Give them a chance to correct the mistake!)

Your opinion or no opinion at all
We're looking for exclusive reviews written by individuals that include your opinions relating to your experiences. We don't accept reviews written by:
owners of establishments or tour companies
management posing as guests
current or past employees

No second-hand stories, rumours, gossip or reported opinions of others.

Of value to fellow-travellers
Your review should be useful to our readers. Any personally insulting language or descriptions, smear campaigns or irrelevant and obstructive content will find its way to our recycle bin. This is also not a forum for general, political, ethical or religious opinion. We will not post questions or comments directed at property management or questions directed to, or about, SA-Venues.com, our employees, or other SA-Venues members.

No direct sales
We won't publish any commercial website addresses, email addresses or contact information.

Use basic email etiquette
Please don't use ALL CAPS, HTML tags, excessive symbols or slang. Most text and paragraph formatting, including lists, will not appear in your review.

Use a valid email address
Don't use a fake email address as we may well need to get hold of you if there is a problem with your review. SA-Venues.com values your privacy and will NOT publish your e-mail address. (see our privacy policy). We will also NOT publish reviews if you submit it using a fake e-mail address.

Bottom line
SA-Venues can reject any review for whatever reason!