Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic stay at Grootfontein Farm, the Groenhuiz farm house is beautiful, spacious and well appointed. We liked it so much that we extended our stay an additional night. It was the perfect stopover on our way to Cape Town and base to explore the area including a visit to Karoo National Park. We will definitely be back for a longer stay in future. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality.

June 2021

David S. (Jersey City, NJ)

Verified reviewexcellent

This rustic farmhouse is a perfect stopover on a trip from Gauteng (or further north) to the Western Cape. A bit off the road (N1), south of Beaufort West - but not too far - far enough that one does not hear the traffic (all those trucks...). The house and apartment are beautifully renovated - this is an original farm house but it now has all the mod cons - not over done -rustic. If you are looking for a quiet stopover for a day or more this is perfect, literally in the middle of nowhere and the sky at night is incredible - no light pollution at all. If you live close to Beaufort West this would also be a perfect weekend get away - there is even a splash pool for those hot summer days. We appreciated being met on arrival and taken through the details - typical farming courtesy. We will be coming back.

May 2021

Brenda W. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A special place to enjoy the Karoo and rejuvenate your soul! We enjoyed walking, riding our bikes, bird watching, cooling off in the splash pool, stargazing, braaing Karoo lamb, wonderful Bosman Adama red wine and making fires - paradise for our boys. The lovely old farmhouse has been beautifully and thoughtfully renovated, so that it feels like you are staying with family - comfortable and peaceful, and very helpful hosts. We can’t wait to come back again!

March 2021

Bridget M. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an unbelievable stay in the karoo. Clear and easy directions to get to Groenhuis. What a lovely and comfortable stay in one of the most beautiful parts of the karoo. Everything you need. Swimming pool with outside shade overlooking typical Karoo riverbed with Acacia thorn tree’s makes for very enjoyable and memorable Karoo visit. Can’t wait for next visit. Thanks for the memories and the privilege to share in your beautiful place. Highly recommended.

February 2021

Frans M. (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Groenhuis” at Grootfontein Farm was an amazing destination. We absolutely loved its quaint charm and the antique finishes. Quite a classic farmhouse. We learnt too late that this place is not for a quick stopover, it needs 2 or more days to really enjoy the place. Antonia was an amazing host who was always willing to help with information about the surrounding area and his assistant housekeeping team were very helpful. We are definitely coming back here to spend more days and enjoy the farm itself. Thank you Antonia.

January 2021

Percy L. (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed a dip in the clean splash pool while taking in the picturesque landscape of the Karoo. Generous hosts provided us with Karoo blitz and firewood for our braai. Very cute honesty shop selling tasty tuisgemaakte kerrieboontjies, kerriewortels en choc chip cookies. If you want to experience the tranquility of Karoo farm life this is the place!

January 2021

Ruan N. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just far enough off the N1 - to immerse travellers into the natural splendours the Karoo has to offer. The 'Groenhuis' - with a tasteful white minimalist farmstyle aesthetic was very neat and spacious. The pool clean and braai ready for a good stay. Good birding around the house and especially around the koppies and the dam. We will be back

January 2021

Andree V. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning newly refurbished house on working sheep farm in middle of the Karoo. Plash pool. No expenses spared. Friendly hosts. We stayed at many locations in our travels and this will go onto our list of places to go to again and places to refer family and friends to.

January 2021

Org G. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome place, will be back for a night or two longer!!!

January 2021

Shaun M. (Western Cape)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an incredible find. A truly authentic Karoo experience. Beautiful vistas and perfectly appointed without losing old world traditional charm. This place is the real deal and a perfect stopover.

December 2020

Jonathan W. (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

Gives you the full Karoo experience! Great stay and host. Just be careful if you have a low suspension car.

December 2020

Andries Huisamen (Potchefstroom)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,550
  • R
  • 1163
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.