About De Oude Opstal
Beautifully restored and decorated with stunning location amidst beautiful gardens, vineyards and breathtaking views to the Langeberg Mountains, De Oude Opstal, the only historic Cape Dutch Guesthouse in Robertson, is in a cul-de-sac road in a quiet and safe residential area of Robertson.
We offer three luxury rooms all with bath en-suite, bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD's with DStv-MNet, wireless Internet connection, private entrance and patio. Guests can relax and stay refreshed around the swimming pool and the new pond with sandbeach and island or enjoy a round of golf on the new Silwerstrand Golf Course or have a day trip to one of the many wine farms of the Robertson Wine Valley. We offer free, shaded and secured parking for all our guests. German owner managed.
Mountainview (Self catering or Bed & Breakfast)
30 m², bath en-suite, double bed, LCD's with DStv-MNet, wireless internet connection, kitchen with bar fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, very nice private terrace.
Out of Africa (Self catering or Bed & Breakfast)
40 m², bath en-suite with a romantic restored claw foot bath and separate shower, double bed, LCD's with DStv-MNet, wireless internet connection, kitchen with bar fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker.
Lavender (Bed & Breakfast)
23 m², bath en-suite, double bed, coffee maker, LCD's with aerial TV, wireless internet connection, very nice terrace.
• Secure parking
• Large, private outdoor pool
History of De Oude Opstal
According to an article by Anna Minnar-Vos that was published in Die Huisvrou (the Housewife) in October 1974, the house dated back to before the founding of the town in 1853 as it was already known under the name De Oude Opstal (the old farmhouse) at that time. It was one of only two houses that were indicated on the first map of the town in 1853.
This house was situated on the banks of the Hoops River and was included under the section council of Robertson before it was incorporated by the municipality. Who the first owner of the beautiful old Dutch house was, is not known. Looking at the gable of the house it can be dated back to the beginning of 19th century as in 1853 it was already known as the old farmhouse.
In February 1945 the house was auctioned and it was bought by a young businessman, Johan de Jong for the amount of R2400. With a few helpers and a lot of faith he started to renovate the ruined house. On one of glass panes of the window the name P G Roos was scratched out with a diamond. According to town records he was ‘hounded out of town’ in 1867 after he misbehaved himself.
This relates also to the question - was De Oude Opstal haunted? According to Mr. De Jong, he thought it did. Even he didn’t believe in ghosts, but some strange things did happen, like doors and windows rattling. He thought about an old lady that died in the house and about the man P G Roos that carved his name into the window pane.
Whatever might have happened in these early days, we the current owners live a very happy life in De Oude Opstal and some of these mysteries will most probably stay forever.