Shakati Private Game Reserve is rated 5/5 by visitors (7 reviews)

Shakati Private Game Reserve

Game Lodge at Off the R33, 22 km from Vaalwater, Vaalwater, 0530, Waterberg, Limpopo, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 7 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!


Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2017


Review by Phil C. (England)

The main feature of this game reserve is that you can walk about safely since there are no nasty animals, though the game they have are quite timid when you are on foot. Additionally, the very helpful manager will take you on a good game drive and you will see some more animals; we had great close encounters with a herd of giraffes.

The three bungalows are large and well equipped and have a great outside braai with plenty of wood provided. In addition you can use the clubhouse with a bar and living room and there is a clean pool. Come equipped since you will not want to waste time driving to get provisions!

September 2017


Review by Carmelita Kruger (Johannesburg)

Beautiful and tranquil... Had a great time. We are definitely going back.

April 2017


Review by Craig P (Johannesburg)

The most perfect weekend to just relax. Stunniing setting, beautiful accomodation and even the finest details taken care of. Management are very friendly and hospitable, complimented by fantastic staff! Highly recommend.

March 2017


Review by Rasmus Rabøl (Copenhagen, Denmark)

I had a wonderful 1 week stay at Shakati hiking and game viewing. The boma with braai/barbecue fire in evenings are stunning and something very special South African. I also visited the spectacular Marakele national park nearby and saw both elephants and a lion. Very much recommended.

February 2016


Review by Nanna Rolff (Svendborg, Denmark)

Thanks for a wonderful stay, so nice to be in Arica again and refresh all the memories. Thank you for now -will return, Nanna, Svendborg

January 2016

Very Good

Review by Teresa H (Johannesburg)

Shakati stunning breakaway
Stunning Game Reserve to visit. Management fantastic and friendly! Perfect for a relaxed breakaway. Accommodation is comfortable. Manager took us to kayak on the river, this was a awesome outing. We will definitely return.

October 2015

Very Good

Review by Anette Jessen (Denmark)

Thanks for a wonderful stay at Shakati with a lot of game viewing. We have really enjoyed our stay and look forward to return some time. i har virkelig nydt vores ophold, best regards, Soren, Anette, Pernille, Asbjorn and Birthe

  • 3+1 free
    ZAR 1100ZAR 825
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -24.1388339996
Longitude: 28.0418224335

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 250km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
August 2017 - 7 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2018. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap