Umzimkulu River Lodge is rated 5/5 by visitors (9 reviews)

Umzimkulu River Lodge

Self Catering at Coleford Road, Underberg, Southern Drakensberg, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Umzimkulu River Lodge in Underberg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Drakensberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2015


Review by Helen Rushton (Kearsney, KZN)

We had a wonderful stay in Mangrove Cottage. It was perfectly equipped with everything one might need for a self catering stay. We are only sorry we didn't have another day to spend on the beautiful lawns overlooking the river. We will be back in the winter to put the fireplace to good use!

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Gary Amstutz (Durban)

Hi Lynne and Steve
Just a quick note to say thanks very much for having us over the weekend. Aside from the beautiful spot and great food, we were really made to feel at home (Ellie included).
We will definitely be back soon.

December 2013


Review by Renee Surmon (Mtunzini)

Accommodation - Neat, clean, comfortable. Setting-peace,quiet,tranquil.View- BEAUTIFUL! Garden, river,mountain.Food-good wholesome delicious. Hospitality - friendly, helpful and caring. Stephen and Lynne, thank you for adding that special touch to our stay @Pigmy Cottage.We enjoyed a well deserved rest at your beautiful peaceful lodge.The pricing was reasonable and we will most definitely return. God bless, Eddie and Renee

August 2012


Review by Roanda (Cape Town)

We were a group of 12 people staying at Umzimkulu Lodge for 2 nights. I would definitely recommend this as a stayover if you are planning to visit this area. The host, Steve, is very friendly and accommodating.
If I visit this area again, I would stay there again

February 2011


Review by Emlyn Addison (Providence, RI USA)

We happened to drive by looking for a place to have lunch, when Steve happened to be passing by; he invited us in for lunch and showed us the grounds and inside one of the beautiful cottages. Although we didn't stay here, we have some experience with Berg area stays (north, central and southern) and this would rank first on our list for our next visit. The grounds are attractive, inviting and well maintained, there are ample amenities beyond just the excellent self-catering cottages, and we were pleased to see things of interest for young kids. The luxury log cabin, though beyond what we typically seek out, was stunning, with large open spaces and views overlooking the entry into the Umzimkulu River's Thrombosis Gorge.

We've found that the best accommodations are those with the friendliest, most flexible owners; this would be no exception. We highly recommend a stay at this cozy retreat.

May 2009

Very Good

Review by Nikki Irvine (Durban)

We loved the proximity to the river. Secluded and private Giant Cabin. A perfect setting.

May 2009


Review by Eddie Oxley (Durban)

A Picturesque Retreat from City Life. What a gem! We had a brillant stay thank you and will be back with friends and family.

May 2009


Review by Michele Rout (Durban)

We love the proximity of the cottages to the river and the beautiful scenery.

May 2009


Review by Sanjay Kamduth (Durban)

We loved the peace and quiet, tranquil surroundings - just beaufiful. The managers Dawn & John are wonderful people.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.8849976
Longitude: 29.5816869

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 230km
Pietermaritzburg Airport - 130km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on
April 2009 - 9 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap