Travellers' reviews of Bushcat Safaris, rated 5/5 at

HOW SAY YOU? The average visitor rating is:
Review by: Margaret Brown, Sydney, Australia
Safari to Kruger National Park (July 2013)

We found Marie to be the perfect guide for keen photographers when we spent a very rewarding week with her criss-crossing the lower section of the Kruger Park and Sabie Sands area. Her expert knowledge and enthusiasm for South Africa enriched our experiences enormously. She went out of her way to provide us with the best vantage points for taking pictures and added lots of interesting information about the wildlife we saw.
Marie also booked all our accommodation both before and after the Kruger safari and collected us from the airport when we arrived as well as dropping us off again when we had to leave. Her accommodation choices were excellent - for both comfort and food. She also organised everything so well we had a totally stress-free trip (and that's not been a common experience in the past). We had such a good time with Marie that we're already planning a return visit in 2014.
Thanks, a lot, Marie, for a wonderful introduction to your country.
Review by: The Murphy Family, Carlisle, PA, USA
Pilanesberg National Park (August 2010)

Marie and Lynette, Bushcat Safaris, made our trip to Pilanesberg an unbelievable experience! Our group was larger than most they handle (we had 8 people), but they did what they needed to accommodate us (even hiring a larger vehicle). They picked us up at our resort, even though we weren’t close to either them or Pilanesberg . . . . they had to get up at 0300 to pick us up and get us to the park at a reasonable time! From the moment they picked us up we had a fantastic time, saw a lot, ate great food, enjoyed our accommodations, and learned so much we can’t remember it all! They aren’t just tour guides, they became our friends from the moment we met them. If we ever make it to SA again, we will definitely meet up with them, and hope that they will visit us here in the States as well!

Marie will arrange a tour just about anywhere you want to go (in Africa anyway). Look up their website, but don’t think it is limited to the tours she lists! Contact her and let her know what you are looking for; I would lay odds on her figuring it all out for you, staying within your budget, and making wonderful recommendations. Whether you want Bushcat Safaris to be your tour guide or simply arrange your travel and accommodations for a self guided tour, they will not disappoint!!
Review by: Cathy and Larry, Raleigh, NC
Pilanesberg National Park (August 2010)

We had a fabulous time on our two-day safari in Pilanesberg. Marie and Lynette were extremely knowledgeable, about Pilanesburg specifically, and about South Africa in general. We really enjoyed our conversations with them, in addition to having a great time on the safari. We recommend them without reservation, and hope that they come to the US some day so we can show them around.
Review by: Sherry, Australia
Pilanesberg National Park (October 2007)

You are a find……Travelling with you is like travelling with a friend, not a tour operator.
Sherry. Australia
Review by: Polly Pullar, Scotland
Safari to Kruger Park and a Private Lodge (October 2006)

If I had known that it would be like this, I would have paid double!
Polly. Scotland
Review by: Caroline & Keith Pugh, UK
Tailor Made Tour (September 2006)

Keith and I have finally got the dvd you prepared for us of our time with you at Pilansberg and Madikwe. It is wonderful and brought back some lovely memories. Many thanks. Hope all is well with you both. Caroline Pugh.
Review by: Dave Hislop, UK
Pilanesberg National Park (September 2006)

Marie & Carol were great as you said they would be and the time went too quickly. They certainly were fun to be with as well as knowledable and great hosts - highly recommended to anyone.
Definitely need to go again - especially to see Marie and Carol - perhaps Kruger Park with them.
All in all a fabulous holiday - no complaints - and a great big thank you -
We all looked forward to the break and especially good for Marian - we were not disappointed.
Best wishes and thank you again
Keep well.
Dave, Jill and Marian

Review by: Andrea Hauptmann, Austria
Tailor Made Tour (March 2006)

Dear Marie,
Back in snowy cold Europe and back at work. I just wanted to say thank you for this perfect start to our holidays you gave us. All the tips and hints and useful phone nos.
I got my slides back end of last week and started to work on them. At the end it was 42 films! If someday you come to Europe and stop in Vienna I hope we can meet and I can show them to you. Regards, Andrea
Review by: Steve Smith, UK
Safari to Kruger National Park (February 2006)

If anyone fancies a personal, well organised safari whilst in JNB, give Bushcat Safaris a call to see if they can help. I had 3 days in Kruger National Park with one of their organisers and had a great time. They would also be interested in a one day safari to Pilansburg or other private reserves, and would drive you there, show you around and bring you home.
Although their web site is aimed at larger, longer safaris, they are more than happy to help us out, if they can. Regards, Steve (Virgin Airlines)
Review by: Michelle Poupart, Canada
Tailor Made Tour (September 2005)

Thank you again for the most enjoyable trip and for your enthusiasm, your professionalism and your generosity.
We were privileged to have met with you and let me tell you that after the trip we had with you, I do not have any doubt that your enterprise will be a success.
My associate is thinking South Africa now and may be you will hear from her next year!
Hope to hear from you soon, best of everything and "many hugs",
Review by: Millie Elms, USA
Tailor Made Tour (May 2005)

I had always dreamed of going to Africa so when I found out I would be traveling the South Africa for work I was thrilled. I knew I would be making 2 trips and would have 1 weekend free on each trip so immediately started searching the Internet for South African safaris. I did extensive research and read many articles on various subjects, what to bring, what to expect and how to arrange a fabulous safari never to be forgotten. All articles and research concluded the same; the safari operator / guide would either make the safari an experience of a life time or leave you wondering why you even came to Africa.

I contacted Bushcat Safaris, since they advertised that they specialized in the not so young and female travelers. Since I am over 40, do not want to eat from cans, sleep in a sleeping bag or do with out some of the finer things in life. I also needed a somewhat ‘custom’ safari to meet my work schedule. So I sent off e-mail for an inquiry. My note was promptly answered and I knew I had found a winner.

After a short interview of my preferences, schedules and budget my safari was booked. Marie and Carol, the operators / guides of Bushcat Safaris, are extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife plants and ecological history of Southern Africa. They also provided a great deal of information on the history of South Africa and its different population. They explained the diverse customs and cultures that exist in this amazing country. Along with all of this knowledge transfer they completely pampered me. I was able to choose when to go on drives, when to nap, when to wake, when to eat with excellent recommendation from them on what times are best for animal viewing. The accommodations they arranged were spectacular and they came completely prepared with my favorite drinks and snacks in the car for the travel to the park and for the game drives. Marie and Carol are 2 of the most wonderful people I have met in my lifetime. I was so impressed I booked them for second trip and now I am in the midst of planning a family safari this fall 2003. Both of safaris were lifetime experiences thanks to Bushcat Safaris.
Millie Elms USA
Review by: Sam Gluning, UK
Safari to Kruger National Park (April 2005)

Dear Marie,

Many thanks for your wonderful holiday. I found that the Safari trip organised by Bushcat Safaris provided a highly pleasurable and informative experience. As a first time game watcher, the knowledgeable and practical guidance of Marie was invaluable. The information provided was tailored to the interests and needs of the individual and advice was given to allow travellers to have independent experiences. Marie, you were a delightful companion and to share your love of South Africa and its’ fauna and flora as well as a lifetimes worth of stories and experiences was a joy.
All of the arrangements made by Bushcats were well suited to my circumstances and the accommodation and travelling provided were of a high standard. Marie was responsive to the needs of her customers at all times and ensured that their preferences were catered for without fuss. All in all, the involvement of Bushcat Safaris made my South African trip, a holiday of a lifetime.
Yours Sincerely,
Sam Gluning
Review by: Prue Barker, UK
Tailor Made Tour (August 2004)

Thank you for introducing me to SA and looking after me so well.
I have shown your excellent video to several friends and they have been impressed with your expertise. However, I could also do with your comments, as my miserable notes are quite inadequate when it comes to identification, particularly the birds. Mind you, it is also quite difficult to identify geographical features as well! I am looking forward to my next trip with you.
With love and all good wishes
from Prue
Review by: Steve & Celina, UK
Safari to Kruger National Park (February 2004)

Dear Marie
We had such a fantastic time with you guys. To me, the mark of a good holiday is that one returns energized and invigorated, and since returning from Africa, Celina and I have worked harder than ever before! I am always inspired by the energy and hard work we have seen in South Africa from people such as you who are trying to build new things. This has taught me a lot about self-motivation and self-reliance which I have to apply daily in my work. I have been busier than ever and Celina has the self-build project at the adventure playground in full swing. Although nearly six work-filled months have passed since we were with you, I feel the memories are fresh and clear. Over the Easter weekend I watched the video (again!) and went through the photos with my mother.
Kruger Park is visited by thousands of people every year, many of whom travel in large groups by coach with preset itineraries and all that comes with the ‘package’ holiday. Whilst these visitors will certainly enjoy the spectacular scenery and vast array of plant and animal life, they will miss out on something which lies at the heart of the experience.
Kruger Park is a much-loved institution amongst the South African people, an old friend, and to fully appreciate it one must see it through the eyes of those who know it and love it.
Marie and her staff have between them many years of experience and an impressive depth of knowledge which they shared with us with obvious great pleasure. They achieved this whilst still making us feel like equal partners in the adventure. With their encouragement and plenty of useful tips we were able to spot wildlife as part of the ‘team’, and every sighting of plant, bird or animal was met with an infectious enthusiasm and solid information, given in a way that was never intimidating or overwhelming. Whilst we were more than happy to rely on Marie and Carol when it came to planning each day’s routes and activities, they always made sure that we discussed all the plans and tailored the itinerary accordingly, so we were able to enjoy the whole experience at our own pace. It was this – the personal touch, which made the experience so special, and it makes Bushcats the perfect choice for anyone who may be daunted by some aspect of booking a safari. Everything was so easy – booking, travel and accommodation. It was very easy to put ourselves in their hands because they were so thoughtful about our tastes, interests and budget. Not only are they well versed in facts and figures about flora, fauna and geology, they are really good company. By the end of our four days with them we really felt we were old friends.
The most common worries amongst people booking a safari will always be ‘will I be safe, comfortable, properly equipped?’ , ‘what will the food be like?’, and ‘will it be too strenuous?’, and I can honestly say that Bushcats had it all covered. We haven’t even mentioned the many beautiful animals and birds, the thrill of seeing lions hunting and the magic of a thousand dew-covered spider webs at dawn – this may be part and parcel of any safari, but it makes a huge difference when you’re in the best possible company. We had so much fun and have so many great memories.
Well, I think I’ve covered most things, although there are so many intangible things, like the way we felt when we were together, the fun and friendship… I could keep writing for a lot longer.
Lots of love and thanks to you both, S&CLxxxx
Security Image
Picture of Bushcat Safaris
Picture of Bushcat Safaris is not a booking agent and does not charge any commission or service fees to users of this site. You Deal Direct and Save on your bookings for South Africa Safaris and accommodation in South Africa. Our Editors have selected a set of related pages that may interest you if you are travelling to South Africa or explore our South Africa Attractions pages for ideas on what you will experience in South Africa.
Deal direct and save on your holiday bookings with
South AfricaSouth Africa