Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at The Place was absolutely perfect - the only thing I would change would be to add a few more days! Lizelle was so friendly and accommodating and we loved the home-made bread. As for the space - the Studio was absolutely perfect. Cosy and warm in the evenings with the wood-burner going, fresh and cool in the heat of the day with doors open. Understated and stylish with Lizelle's gorgeous artwork on the walls. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding land, lazing in the hammock, and a wonderful sunset braai. Highly recommended!

April 2019

Elizabeth Maiden (Machynlleth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great location to relax and enjoy nature! Enjoyed the MTB ride to Van Wyksdorp, 76km in total. Will be visiting again!

March 2018

FRANCOIS KNOETZE (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely few days we had at The Place. Lizelle went out of her way to make us feel welcomed and cared for during our stay. The food was delicious, can recommend the olive and rosemary bread, home made muesli with yoghurt and honey, greek salad with edible flowers and salad leaves from their garden, most amazing freshly prepared juices and of course the sour dough pancakes with stewed fruit. Bentley the beagle also thoroughly enjoyed his stay on the farm so bring your dog with, he will love it! Left the farm feeling relaxed with a full heart. Good value for money, clean and stocked with all you need. Highly recommended xxx

September 2015

Liezel (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic weekend stay in the The Studio Flat at the Place with our two young kids (2 & 7 years old) and two dogs. Maybe a bit tight for such a crowd, and probably better suited for a romantic getaway, The Studio Flat nevertheless turned out to be perfect for our quick visit. Everything is carefully thought through, the little 'house' beautifully decorated and attention to detail is evident everywhere. Lizelle and Kevin were the perfect hosts. We had the most delicious chicken pie upon arrival (pre-ordered beforehand) which was very welcome after the long drive on a Friday afternoon. We also sampled the fresh farm eggs, salad greens from their vegetable garden and Lizelle's amazing malva pudding and custard. Her mouth-watering honey bran muffins also came in very handy for our Sunday morning 'expedition picnic' in the veld. We of course also did our own catering, a braai under the Karoo stars is a must in this setting. There's enough to do in the immediate vicinity, or if you prefer, just laze around with a book in the hammock. The kids loved exploring the river banks and looking for animal tracks in the mud. For a quiet, peaceful and relaxing weekend this place is perfect. Next time we'll probably book into the newly completed Red Rock Cottage, which has a great setting next to a koppie and a bit more room for maneuvering for the extended family. When you go, don't forget to sample Lizelle's home cooking skills, it is really worth it.

September 2014

Martin (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

Bianca and I had the most amazing stay at The Place with our two doggies, who were so good not to chase the chickens but were instead intrigued. We hiked all over the farms with no need for paths, choosing our own direction as the desire took us along ridges and into valleys to the top of koppies and across rivers, carefully stepping over the stunning Karoo succulents as we went. What a stunning, peaceful place with so much raw beauty. We could not get enough of it. Thank you so much to our wonderful hosts Lizelle and Kevin for spoiling us so much with the beautifully decorated accommodation (100% cotton bedding), a borrowed poitjie pot, fresh farm baked bread, fresh farm eggs and bags of salad and veggies that came home with us and made many scrumptious meals. What a wonderful weekend. Thank you! We hope to be back into your wilderness soon.

July 2014

Sandy (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I together with our 5-month old daughter and three dogs enjoyed three golden days at The Place. For us the best part of our stay was the stillness of the place, from the moment we arrived we could feel the layers of our busy city life dissipate. Lizelle is the perfect host, warm and helpful. We enjoyed her homemade bread and delicious farm eggs. The flat was perfect for us, clean, cosy, and comfortable. We left with full and happy hearts.

June 2014

Srnka (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent four amazing days at The Place. The landscape is breathtaking. Our wonderful hosts, Lizelle and Kevin, were so kind and friendly but never fussed or spoilt our privacy. They pointed us on walks and places to visit in the area. The flat itself is extremely comfortable and clean, beautifully furnished and decorated with pieces of art crafted by our hosts (we even bought one of these items!). We are not artists, but in a place like this, we wish we were. A warm loaf of homemade bread was waiting for us when we arrived and we enjoyed a lot of eating "real" organic fresh eggs provided by our hosts. I only regret not having tried the meals that Lizelle and Kevin were proposing as well but we had taken too much food with us already. We cherished the chance to come back there one day. Thanks again so much, Lizelle and Kevin for your hospitality and the peacefulness of your Place.

June 2014

Mickael (Toulouse, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were so happy to find The Place and that we got the opportunity to enjoy this very special place on earth. Lizelle and her family were the most welcoming hosts and the food they prepared for us was fantastic, right from their own garden! The studio was beautifully decorated and we loved the colors, beautiful art and furniture, and this was only the inside. Outside the mountains and river make a beautiful scenery and the night sky was unbelievable. We warmly recommend a visit.

April 2014

Jannike (Stockholm, Sweden)

Verified reviewexcellent

The place ist the best... ...for stargazing, ...enjoying pure freedom and loneliness, ...to calm down and refresh your senses, ...for meeting lovely, inspiring people ...to discover how vulnerable and yet amazingly capable of surviving nature can be, ...to get up early for a hike in the desert, ...for chilling out all day long until the sun sets, ...to then go for a bath in a private river pool, ...to enjoying jummy healthy and home made food fresh from the gardens and Lizelle's & Kevin's kitchen, ...and learn a lot about permaculture, sustainable living and the importance of self-determination. Thank you for the wonderful and unforgettable time we could spend with you, Lizelle & Kevin!

March 2014

Hauke (Berlin)

Verified reviewexcellent

The beauty of the farm was stunning, the perfect place to re-energise and be inspired. The surrounding area is also breath-taking and well worth a Sunday drive. Loved the organic, home-cooked food, (especially the fresh bread) and couldn't fault the beautiful flat and facilities. Above all, the wonderful people and the amazing setting made for a fantastic getaway. Would highly recommend The Place.

August 2013

Patricia (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 600
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.