Schaefers' Halt is rated 4/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (9 reviews)

Schaefers' Halt

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at On the R540 between Dullstroom and Lydenburg (Mashishing), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Very Good

from 9 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2017

Excellent

Review by Steven Keys (Johannesburg)

What a beautiful place.... we will be back very soon.. 2 nights next time.. Thanks Trevor.

September 2017

Excellent

Review by Ilse De Villiers (Pretoria)

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Schaefer's Halt. We stayed in the two sleeper very fittingly called "The Snug" - it was a warm, friendly cottage, kitted out with everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. My boyfriend enjoyed the fly-fishing a lot - there are 4 ponds, and he caught fish in three out of the four while we were there.

Not too far from Dullstroom itself, but far enough to let you enjoy peace, quiet and privacy. Trevor was a very gracious host, and made sure that we were comfortable and had all we needed.

All in all, a 5-star experience for us.

May 2017

Very Good

Review by Dave (Durban)

A very comfortable stay in a charming cottage. Hosts were very accommodating.

April 2017

Excellent

Review by Helen Van Der Merwe (Kempton Park)

Want to get away and relax this is the place. We stayed in Cosy Cottage. It has everything you need so just pack your clothes and food. Trevor and Sharon have gone out their way to make you feel at home. It is pet friendly and your doggie bowls are even filled with water on arrival. Welcoming drinks in the lounge was a lovely touch. If your fishing you will love the well stocked dams, stocked with 800g -1kg trout made fishing special. Will be going back for sure.

July 2015

Fair

Review by Lauren Kornau (Johannesburg)

Dams were poorly stocked despite specifically asking how well stocked the dams were when making a booking enquiry. Very disappointing as we are a family of 4 experienced fishermen who are only able to get together once a year as a family to fish. Mr Schaefer needs to be honest about his stock in the dams, when I enquired I was told dams are always well stocked, then when we were there and I asked when last the dams were stocked he said some time ago and tried to avoid the topic.
Noise of the nearby main road certainly doesn't give you a feeling of escaping joburg for the countryside. We found the traffic noise much worse than living in joburg, especially while trying to fish in the dams. Not relaxing at all. A pity as views are spectacular.
Supply of wood was wet, we had to stock up and replace wood ourselves. Very smokey fires due to wet wood.
Units are not serviced.
Surface Cleanliness good but rubbish under couch and under second bedroom beds.
Accommodation comfortable, warm, bath only and an outside shower, not our choice for winter.
Trevor and Sharon as hosts are friendly and sorted out 2 minor problems we had.
Toilet paper short supplied.
Great set up for pets.
Remember to take DSTV card.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Carol Robb (Wexford Ireland)

Wow!! That was my first reaction when we were shown to our cottage at Schaefers Halt. My husband is a wheelchair user and the whole cottage had been very thoughtfully and carefully planned to enable very easy access to all of the rooms and outside areas. Even the beds were the right height to ensure easy transfer from the wheelchair. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days there and would highly recommend it to anyone. We were asked by the owners if we could think of anything to make it more comfortable for a wheelchair user....we honestly couldn't think of anything at all. I just wish that there were more places like this.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Elna Mynhardt (Witbank)

Most beautiful and comfortable cottage we've ever stayed in. Well equiped, very clean, overall excellently done. The perfect cozy hideaway in winter.
Thank you.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Jani (Malelane)

We had our wedding at Schaefers' Halt on the 3rd of November 2012. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The gardens were stunning for our outdoor ceremony. Trevor and Sharon were great hosts! They put out games for the guests while we did our photo's and they were extremely accommodating to our group! Absolutely love this place and would recommend it to anyone in the world!

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Elzette Buitendag (Johannesburg)

This is one of the most breathtaking places I have ever visited It has a lovely warm personal touch with two very special owners making it a stay worth recommending. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and the scenery, gardens and bird life is to die for!!! It really is fantastic!

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 780
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.41263
Longitude: 30.102399833333333

Closest airport(s)
Kruger Mpumalanga Airport - 150km
OR Tambo International - 275km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 15h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2010 - 9 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap