Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

We really loved our stay. Our cottage was lovely and had all the amenities one would need. Views are incredible and the fact that we could bring our doggies made it all the more special. Thank you Trevor & Susan for your hospitality. Hope to see you again sometime

June 2018

vanuza krige (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely well equipped place. Great setting. Friendly well come. Will stay longer next time.

January 2018

Carol Beukes (Centurion)

Verified reviewvery good

Schaefer’s Halt is a very nice place to stay, very quit, nice area! Lovely place. Thank you Trevor for being there

December 2017

Brigitte den Oudsten (Amsterdam)

Verified reviewvery good

We stayed in Cloud Cottage. The cottage is spacious, comfortable with an amazing view. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need for self catering. It’s a great place to escape from the city and relax.

December 2017

Thys Coetzee (Dubai)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful place.... we will be back very soon.. 2 nights next time.. Thanks Trevor.

November 2017

Steven Keys (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Schaefer's Halt. We stayed in the two sleeper very fittingly called "The Snug" - it was a warm, friendly cottage, kitted out with everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. My boyfriend enjoyed the fly-fishing a lot - there are 4 ponds, and he caught fish in three out of the four while we were there. Not too far from Dullstroom itself, but far enough to let you enjoy peace, quiet and privacy. Trevor was a very gracious host, and made sure that we were comfortable and had all we needed. All in all, a 5-star experience for us.

September 2017

Ilse de Villiers (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

A very comfortable stay in a charming cottage. Hosts were very accommodating.

May 2017

Dave (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Want to get away and relax this is the place. We stayed in Cosy Cottage. It has everything you need so just pack your clothes and food. Trevor and Sharon have gone out their way to make you feel at home. It is pet friendly and your doggie bowls are even filled with water on arrival. Welcoming drinks in the lounge was a lovely touch. If your fishing you will love the well stocked dams, stocked with 800g -1kg trout made fishing special. Will be going back for sure.

April 2017

Helen van der Merwe (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow!! That was my first reaction when we were shown to our cottage at Schaefers Halt. My husband is a wheelchair user and the whole cottage had been very thoughtfully and carefully planned to enable very easy access to all of the rooms and outside areas. Even the beds were the right height to ensure easy transfer from the wheelchair. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days there and would highly recommend it to anyone. We were asked by the owners if we could think of anything to make it more comfortable for a wheelchair user....we honestly couldn't think of anything at all. I just wish that there were more places like this.

May 2014

Carol Robb (Wexford Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Most beautiful and comfortable cottage we've ever stayed in. Well equiped, very clean, overall excellently done. The perfect cozy hideaway in winter. Thank you.

May 2014

Elna Mynhardt (witbank)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had our wedding at Schaefers' Halt on the 3rd of November 2012. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The gardens were stunning for our outdoor ceremony. Trevor and Sharon were great hosts! They put out games for the guests while we did our photo's and they were extremely accommodating to our group! Absolutely love this place and would recommend it to anyone in the world!

November 2012

Jani (Malelane)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is one of the most breathtaking places I have ever visited It has a lovely warm personal touch with two very special owners making it a stay worth recommending. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and the scenery, gardens and bird life is to die for!!! It really is fantastic!

January 2011

Elzette Buitendag (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 780
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Schaefers' Halt

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.