Reviews & Comments

Showing 17 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

On scale of 1 - 5 with 1 being bad to 5 being excellent; Accommodation rated as 4 , Tour with Drakensberg Adventures rated as 5, meals rated as 4 and level of service provided by staff rated as 4. Sani Lodge Backpackers is Fair Trade in Tourism Certified.

March 2018

RALF WINDHOFF (Germany)

Verified reviewfair

Accueil imparfait, confort acceptable, excursions organisées parfaites, petit déjeuner et dîner très correct Donc avis mitigé !!

February 2018

Patrice Thibaudeau (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dormitory accommodation, one day Sani Pass tour into Lesotho with Drakensberg Adventures, Breakfast and dinner all rated excellent. Level of service provided by staff rated as very good and friendly.

February 2018

NIELS DEMUYNCK (BELGIUM)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfect Backpackers in a wonderfull landscape. Clean, cosy and fully equipped. A lot of hike and possibility of guided tours. You will definitely enjoy your stay in Sani Lodge Backpackers.

January 2018

Louis Raynard (Breatgne - France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Review from guest questionnaire ;Thank you! Perfect place for a nice stay. On scale of 1(bad) - 5 (excellent)accommodation rated as 5, tour with Drakensberg Adventures rated as 5 and meals as 4. Level of service by staff rated as 5 ++ above excellent. Sani Lodge Backpackers is Fair Trade in Tourism certified.

January 2018

Louis Raynard (France)

Verified reviewvery good

Beautiful place and the views were spectacular and well contained cottage, just need cleaner linen, we found the linen way too dusty!

December 2017

ALTHEA PETERSON (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Good morning I hope you are well? Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thank you for an awesome weekend. We were really comfortable in Aloe Cottage and enjoyed our time with you. The hiking and setting were spectacular and the proximity to other activities and areas of interest - perfect. Thank you for your kind hospitality. Kind regards Sue McAlpine

June 2017

Sue McAlpine (Pmb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Russell, Just wanted to thank you for our excellent stay with you on 3 and 4 May and also the amazing day out to Sani Pass. We had an excellent time. So could you also please thank the guide on our behalf? Thank you again for everything. We had a great time! Kind regards, Céline and Nils

May 2017

Celine and Nils (France)

Verified reviewvery good

Hello Russel, Danielle & Team, Just wanted to say THANKS for your hospitality, friendly assistance and advice. Much appreciated!! Regards, Wiehan and Chereen

December 2016

Wiehan and Chereen (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Russel, dear Simone, beloved SaniLodgeTeam, first of all I wish you guys a happy new year and just the best for 2017! My name is Rebecca, and I'm wiriting you in favour of the PonyTrekkingTour my friends (Sandra, Joseph and Dominik) and I did last year in November. We had such a great time! Discovering the beautiful area at full gallopp on a horse's back has been a challenge - but we all came to the conclusion that your horses are kind and responsible animals who defnietly know what they are doing so we just trusted their instincts and felt save all the way. Furthermore the stay in this tiny village was such a great cultural experience! Firstly, we made loads of friends with all those lovely children who were intrested into our cameras and fair hair. Later on we shared some malutis, had a great dinner and than tried to figure out several starconstellations while exchanging stories with our tourguide. Even sleeping in this little warm and comfy hut gave us a great impression of the daily villagelife. Honestly, all 4 of us agreed on that this trip was probably the best adventure during our time in South Africa. We even bought some Basothoblankets as souvenirs.... Attached you will find the shots we made with the children from the village. Our guide asked us to send them via email, so perhaps you could print them out and give them to the kids? We would really appreciate that. Summing it up, we cant thank you enough for this great experience! Defnietly we will recommend your place and especially the horsetrekkingtour. Again: Thank you so much for this great adventure! We wish you all the best for the future! Kind regards, Sandra, Josef, Dominik and Rebecca

November 2016

Sandra, Josef, Dominik, Rebecca (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Russell We just wanted to drop you a mail to thank yourself and particularly Matthew for the fantastic holiday we have just had in Lesotho. We have travelled extensively but we both agree this was the best holiday ever. Matthew was the most amazing guide we have experienced. His driving skills were amazing and his attention to detail at all times was just outstanding. We think what really made the experience so special was engaging with so many local people, the impromptu visits to various houses, shops, schools, and people along the way. Matthew has a natural way of engaging with people which encourages them to give information and share what they have. The smiles, handshakes, photographs and genuine love from the people of Lesotho will always be treasured. Best wishes Ruth and Kevin Speed

May 2016

Ruth and Kevin Speed (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hello, My fiancé and I had a fabulous time on the five day Roof of Africa tour earlier in the year. Firstly we would just like to thank everyone involved: including those in the design of this tour; the staff at Sani Lodge Backpackers where we stayed pre and post tour; and most importantly our guide Matthew. We have been travelling non-stop for a couple of years now and have taken part in a number of guided tours and we can say with certainty that he was the best guide we have ever had. We are writing a series of five blog posts about our adventures in order to document what we saw/did; to share with our family and friends; and to promote Lesotho as a destination particularly for those travelling through South Africa. We note that you do have a blog section on your website and were wondering if you might wish to link to our site to show potential clients what they can expect on such a trip. We have already linked to your website in each of the posts that have and are scheduled to go out. To read the blogs please go to: www.tolovetolive.co.uk/lesotho Thank you in advance and please pass on our thanks to Matthew. Kind regards, Claire & Anthony

February 2016

Claire and Anthony (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place to stay, lovely people. Very nice and clean accommodation.

December 2009

CORNEL LINDERS (Germany)

Verified reviewvery good

It is a beautiful and tranquil place. I love the furniture that was very creative adn the beautiful green scenery.

December 2009

Dumie Maadi (JHB)

Verified reviewvery good

I only stayed three days in your great backpacker! But I like to say Thank you for your fantastic Guide walks to the bushmen paintings and to Lesotho as well as for your cosy place, which was for 3 days like a home!

May 2008

Katja Allner (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

I only stayed three days in your great backpacker! But I like to say Thank you for your fantastic Guide walks to the bushmen paintings and to Lesotho as well as for your cosy place, which was for 3 days like a home!

April 2008

Katja Allner (Berlin Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent a weekend in your lodge. It was beautiful and everyone was so friendly. We loved our stay beginning to end.

February 2008

Roxanne Larkan (Durban)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 420
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Sani Lodge Backpackers has been voted 'Sani Lodge Backpackers voted Best Backpackers in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa'
  • Sani Lodge Backpackers voted Best Backpackers in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Sani Lodge Backpackers

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.