Reviews & Comments

Showing 6 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I spent 14 days in Cape Town in January, 5 of which were spent at Jambo Guest House in Green Point. The owners of this charming little Cape Town guest house, Barry and Mina, were exceptionally warm and friendly, from the first day right through to the last. Mina was extremely helpful, taking care of all our car rental needs and even going so far as to suggest the best attractions and restaurants in the city. The rooms were also very comfortable and thoughtfully decorated - the contemporary decor was a lovely touch. We will hopefully be back at this Cape Town guest house next year for our anniversary, but until then, keep up the amazing work!

December 2017

Madelaine (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed in the Bay room which is beautifully decorated. It has a bay window overlooking the garden. Barry and Mina are a lovely couple and are always ready to advise on what to do or where to go.

August 2009

Tammy Walsh (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 4 nights at Jambo in June 2008 and I wish it could have been longer! The house itself is lovely, and the rooms really great, with everything you could need. The garden with jacuzzi is a great way to relax at the end of the day, and the upstairs bar is full of games, and other 'interesting stuff' - it's just a shame our we were too busy out and about in cape town as Jambo is a wonderful place to just to chill out. Barry and Mina are such a lovely, friendly couple and gave lots of helpful advice via email before we even arrived, and once we were there all of their suggestions for places to go were fantastic. You can't beat decent local knowledge. We also had a slight cock-up in that we left some important travel documents when we left to stay in Stellenbosch, but rather than waiting for us to realise and call them, they went to a lot of effort to look up where we were staying and get in touch, which was very much appreciated. Having then raced back to Green Point to pick the documents up again, we did feel a pang of 'homesickness' when leaving! Needless to say, if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Cape Town again we would be sure to stay at Jambo!!

June 2008

Caroline Kelly (Northallerton)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been staying with Barry and Mina in Jambo Guest House several times. I came to Cape Town in Oct 2002 and kept returning 5 times until then. Further visits are certainly going to follow. The Guest House is situated within walking distance of the V&A Waterfront and other attractions. We have been walking to the Waterfront even at night with my little daughter and never had the feeling of insecurity. The house reflects the people living there: it is cosy and personal with several things that Mina and Barry collected over the years (so it seems). Although the rooms are not very big compared to other places outside the city, each one is very special and carefully decorated. One reason I come back to Cape Town is the hospitality I always experienced in Jambo Guest House. Returning in April 2003 felt like coming home. Mina and Barry are very knowledgeable about the Cape and always help you out on things to do and places to see in Cape Town. I would never stay somewhere else in Cape Town.

May 2008

Reinhard Fischer (Stuttgart)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband & I stayed at the wonderful Jambo Guest House in April 2008 for a week as we explored the entire Cape Town area with daily excursions in every direction. On a quiet street within walking distance of the Victoria Wharf and Shopping Mall, Jambo has 5 guest rooms with full baths, each one beautifully decorated with a different theme. We stayed in the ‘Garden Suite’ and felt that we had found a little garden of Eden. Jambo certainly deserves its 5 star rating for comfort, ambience, superb breakfast and the welcoming of Barry’s British-style pub, an excellent place to unwind with Barry & Mina and other guests at the end of a long day of serious sight seeing. Barry and Mina genuinely enjoy spending time with each guest, giving helpful advice, hearing about one’s adventures, making useful suggestions, and sharing stories. They know the entire Cape Town area so well that they can make suggestions that relate to what one is interested in seeing. We enjoyed meeting other guests as well. No wonder many guests return year after year to the Jambo Guest House because once you have been there you know what it feels like to be part of a warm and wonderful family.

April 2008

Joan Root (Washington DC)

Verified reviewexcellent

This amazing guest house is set in a tropical walled garden in the heart of urban Cape Town. The owners will pick you up from the airport, arrange car hire, suggest trips and outings, make dinner reservations for you, and open the guest house bar on demand (!) They have painstakingly designed and decorated each room on a different theme; e.g. the African room, the Green Room etc. We liked the place so much, we went back later to stay another couple of nights. It's fantastic! Sally Lowe Manchester

March 2004

Sally Lowe (Manchester UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,900
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible

Notice: Undefined variable: award_winner_2018 in /storage/www/www.sa-venues.com/construct/includes/establishment-rhc.inc.php on line 54
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Jambo Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.