Reviews & Comments

Showing 32 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

A lovely house, beautifully situated and very well equipped. We will be back!

January 2018

Jakub Urbaniak (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We all enjoyed our stay at Hillside Cottage. We were a large group including children but the Cottage accommodated us well. We enjoyed the cosy fireplace , well equipped kitchen and cleanliness. The location is great. Walking distance into Clarens and close to the Golden Gate National Park. Thank you to all concerned for a relaxing stay

October 2017

Christine Holbert (Sydney, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It is very spacious and well kept. I could not find anything that the owners did not think of to make our stay an enjoyable one. The house is very well equipped with everything that you need. We really loved staying here and will definitely make this our home again when we visit Clarens in the near future.

July 2017

Craiig Varner (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

You have thought of absolutely everything. To stay in such a clean spacious, wee-equipped and beautiful place makes your stay an absolute pleasure. Will highly recommend your cottage and we would all like to say thank you for making our first time in Clarens so memorable.

November 2015

Karen Cosani (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Hillside cottage is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the tranquil garden setting and birds.

October 2015

Colin & Louise Southey (Gauteng)

Verified reviewvery good

Baie dankie vir nog n heerlike tyd in jul huisie! Die beddegoed is altyd "crisp" en als is so skoon en netjies! Baie dankie

July 2015

Klingenberg (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wat a wonderlike naweek saam as familie. So n lekker en netjies plekkie. Vreeslik lekker gekuier. Kom definitief weer. Vriendelike groete

June 2015

Johann,Rina,Hanri,Marco,Marlet Calitz (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful break away. It was really a pleasant stay and definately coming back, no complaints. Cosy & warm beds, so once again - Thank you

May 2015

Andy,Karen, Gennafer & Warren (PTA)

Verified reviewvery good

Beautiful place! We will be back. Lovely stay.

May 2015

Nadia, Ruth,Lis & Rina (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

It has taken me a lifetime to visit Clarens. Its made the stay even more pleasant in this comfortable abode. Thank you

April 2015

Ian Downie (Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie vir die geriewe tot ons beskikking. Ons het dit vreeslik geniet en so lekker geslaap, ons kom definitief weer

April 2015

Magaerite Van Vuure (Kaapstad)

Verified reviewvery good

Baie dankie vir heerlike kuier!Die stilte het ons almal goed gedoen. Sal weer kom kuier

April 2015

Die Liebenberg's (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Wat n fantastiese naweek... in n pragtige huis wat goed ingerig is! Lekker groot kuierspasie an die stilte n bonus.Verseker weer op my gusteling lys

April 2015

Naomi Bester (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

The beds were very comfy and we all enjoyed sleepin in them. This has been a real place of rest and peace for us.

March 2015

Helen (UK)

Verified reviewvery good

Amazing stay, loved the house. It is perfect - such a good family house.

March 2015

Baddeley (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie vir die pragtige skoon huis. Ons het vreeslik lekker gerus. Ons al jou definitief in die winter sien.

December 2014

Karla and Johan (Clarens)

Verified reviewvery good

What a lovely cosy comfortable house with wonderful views. We really enjoyed our stay here. So happy to have found this place.

December 2014

Vanessa Tait (Benoni)

Verified reviewvery good

What a great house and find! We loved both the cosy house and Clarens. We will definitely come back.

December 2014

Phil and Lee Cassidy (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

What a beautiful, peaceful time we had these two days. We loved Hillside Cottage/ It is obviously a place we will return to. Thank you.

December 2014

Henry and Cathy (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

A home away from home. It was a wonderful weekend. Beautiful surroundings, soft linen and great fire place. Thank you. We hope to be back.

October 2014

Magdel (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Baie dankie weereens. Ons tweede keer hier en gevoel of ons by die hius is toe ons hier instap. Skoon en netjies - baie dankie. Sien weer as ons in die gebied.

May 2014

Johann Carlitz (Clarens)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie vir die verblyf. Die huisie is so mooi and netjies. Ons sal definitief hier wil kom kuier sodra de sneeu val.

April 2013

Thinus and Bennelise (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

The previous comments say it all. Wonderful stay! Thanks to Gavin for his concern and personal touch.

April 2013

Mark, Al and Nick (Pietermartizburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Being from America, this was the most awesome place to be. Beautiful views, bed was great, love to come back one day. Thanks you for a lovely stay in a beautiful area.

January 2013

Joyce Molenaar (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie lekker gebly, baie mooi en het dit vreeslik geniet.

September 2012

The Bekkers (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved Hillside cottages - not a thing the owners did not think of. Stunning views, comfortable beds, love the decorations and 'feel' of the house. DSTV so that we could watch the Olympics. And enough heaters and warm blankets to keep warm & toasty.

August 2012

Ina Groenewald (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Apricot Lane cottage was clean and has all the facilities you need. I really enjoyed my stay.

July 2012

Suzette Gräbe (Ladysmith)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful weekend! Such a lovely cozy cottage. Already booked for next year same time. Thank you very much. All 6 of us had a wonderful time with lots of laughs, treats, chatting round the fire. Can't wait for next cherry-season. See you then! Regards Diedre.

November 2011

Diedre Barnard (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

WOW! What a perfectly clean and functional space, we loved the layout, the quirky furniture and the facilities provided. The bathrooms are clean and bright, the kitchen perfectly kitted with anything and everything you could possibly need and the gorgeous tables on the patio seated us all very comfortably, would certainly go back next year!

November 2011

Juanita Jellows (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

What an amazing stay in the most beautiful and tranquil surroundings. Thanks you Apricot Lane. See you again next year, Steelwings, Zululand.

November 2011

Taryn and Greg (Zululand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hillside Cottage is in a quiet location with amazing views, the cottage was immaculate and clean, one of the best places I have stayed, would most definately recomend

April 2011

Lynn Porter (Sussex, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very central to all attractions, well kept, cosy and comfortable

June 2010

Teresa Yell (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,200
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Hillside Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.