Etafileni Studio Flat is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (31 reviews)

Etafileni Studio Flat

Self Catering at 32 Deerpark Drive, Highlands Estate, 8001, City Bowl, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 31 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Etafileni Studio Flat in Highlands Estate?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to City Bowl.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 31 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2017

Excellent

Review by Nina And Renos (London)

Etafileni is situated close to the centre of Cape Town with easy access to mountains, beaches, local attractions (museums, art galleries, nature gardens, exciting night life and wonderful walks). Etafileni is a completely private and self contained flat with everything you need for self catering, thoughtfully arranged with amazing attention to detail. The flat is serviced regularly so that it is kept immaculately clean. But more importantly Helen and Richard are superb hosts, discrete and yet always available for assistance when needed. This is our 4th stay at Etafileni.

October 2016

Excellent

Review by Janet (Kwa-Zulu Natal)

Etafileni is perfectly positioned with easy access to freeways and the city and an awesome view of the mountain as you drive to return “home”. It had absolutely everything we needed and was warm, cosy and inviting. Thank you both for the warm welcome and for the little extras that were so thoughtful, like the milk and the butter in the fridge. We will be back! This is a gem!

August 2016

Excellent

Review by Iris And Martin Green (Tristan Da Cunha)

Many thanks for making our stay enjoyable and the wonderful hospitality. Your flat was very clean and cosy and we would recommend it to anyone coming across from our island. We especially enjoyed the selection of books and movies.

April 2016

Excellent

Review by Jason Spaans (Cape Town )

We can't recommend this apartment enough! It is so well thought out from every detail- dvd's, maps, recommendations, guidelines etc. clean room, very comfortable bed and all amenities. Tranquil and private environment . Would highly recommend to other visitors.

November 2015

Excellent

Review by Peter (California)

The hosts had obviously been doing this for a long time, and have filled the flat with every convenience a traveler could possibly need. We loved all the little touches like coffee and cookies, iron, massive DVD and book collection, fast WiFi, etc. The kitchen had everything we needed to make a meal. This is a small space, but very comfortable. The private patio with BBQ is perfect for those warm Cape Town nights. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend Etafileni to our friends without hesitation.

November 2015

Excellent

Review by Lynn Plouse (San Jose, CA, USA)

I highly recommend Helen and Richard’s wonderful flat. My husband and I spend a week there in Nov. The location at the foot of Table Mountain is great not only for hiking, but also for exploring Capetown. The flat is very comfortable with a nice private patio area. It is very well equipped with everything we needed/wanted – hairdryer, cooler, flat screen TV, loads of DVDs, nice bedtime reading lights, etc. The kitchen is excellent. Besides plenty of cookware/dishes/cutlery, there are spices, tea, coffee, and even cookies (yum). I also appreciated the tight security system which really made me feel very safe. Etafileni is an amazing value for the price.

Thank you Helen and Richard for being such wonderful hosts. We’ll be back!!

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Massiot Jean-Yves Massiot (Vern Sur Seiche)

Excellent welcome. Excellent location. Nice place with all suppliances. And a very good help from Helen, the owner. Highly recommended.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by H Gosnell (Cape Town)

We stayed for five nights at Etafileni. Helen was there to meet us and showed us the flat. She is such a nice host, very friendly and welcoming. The studio is in a lovely area of Capetown and very convenient for getting around. Easy to get to and from the airport and to all the different sights. The studio was very comfortable and perfect for a couple. We had hired a car and the private and secure parking place was great. We loved staying there and can highly recommend both Helen as a great host and the the studio flat. Gunilla, Sweden

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Melanie And Shaun (Eastern Cape)

This is definitely now our accommodation of choice for whenever we are in Cape Town. Complete privacy with everything you need and great value for money. We really enjoyed our stay. Will recommend whenever I can!

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Dorothy And John (Oregon, USA)

Thank you so much for allowing us to share your wonderful and comfortable home and your very excellent attention to all of our needs. We had a marvelous experience and will be sure to see you again if we are ever fortunate to return.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Elizma And Simon (South Africa)

Excellent use of space, well designed! DVD selection with so many South African titles commendable! Very impressed with the security system. We will definitely be back.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Luthando (Germany)

My husband and me loved to stay in Etafileni Studio.
It is the perfect place to relax and starting point to discover Cape Town. Helen and Richard the owners of this beautiful flat are two lovely persons, who will take care of anything you need.

Mein Mann und ich haben es geliebt dort zu übernachten. Etafileni ist der perfekte Ort um zu relaxen und von dort aus Kapstadt zu entdecken. Helen und Richard die Besitzer sind zwei liebenswerte Personen, die sich um alles kümmern, was wir brauchen.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Nina And Renos (London, UK)

This is the third time that we have stayed at Etafileni and we have already booked for another visit next year! Since our second visit, Helen and Richard have made a few tasteful improvements to the accommodation which include a good sized flat screen TV to view TV programmes and the many DVDs on offer; also a lovely new clock/radio and beautiful and large scenic photograph of Table Mountain. We wonder what we will find next year. We strongly recommend Etafileni!!!

Thank you again Richard and Helen! We look forward to seeing you in 2015.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Buhle And Nathi (KZN)

Before we even begin to explain much about the flat, we just want to extend a huge thank you to Helen for the way in which you conversed with us via email prior to us actually coming here. The info sheets were a great help to us. We found them ever so useful. Everything from your flat is just around the corner.
From the wooden spoons to the South African movies ... How original! Wow, the flat belies its size because of the great interior. Nkosi has an eye for the good interior and he gives it 2 thumbs up and I completely agree with him.
The security system here is tight. We felt safe and so did our car (I'm sure). Your security system beat the stereotype attached to Cape Town. As for the remote controls bringing all the switches to reach, that was just too cool. So basically what we are trying to say is that ... SIYABONGA KAKUHLE.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Lynne (Kwa Zulu Natal)

I just wanted to say that I had a lovely stay in your studio flat. I travel a lot and have stayed in many places but yours is truly 'homely" which makes a stay comfortable.
The provision of soap, shampoo, milk, cookies etc are much appreciated and set your flat apart from the rest. Your off street parking is also a bonus.
The flat is tastefully furnished and I appreciate the modern kitchen with good pots and pretty crockery and the beautiful bathroom.
You are a delightful couple and thank you for making me feel so welcome.
I look forward to staying in your flat when I return to Cape Town.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Giulia Grasso (Rome)

At the foot of table mountain and a forest nearby, the apartment is well-equipped, comfortable, completely independent with a small garden.
The apartment is cleaned 3 times a week. You can easily reach the train station or the Myciti bus and explore cape town.
Congratulations to helen and richard, in the apartment there is a lot of tourist information and many dvd.
Such a lovely place!!!
Unforgettable!!!

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Trelawney & Andy Shaw (Bromley, Greater London, UK)

We would highly recommend Etafileni as a place to stay as it is set in a beautiful location, the hosts are extremely helpful and friendly and there are lots of amenities not far away. The accommodation is very comfortable and peaceful with lots of little extras supplied like milk in the fridge, DVD's to watch and lots of leaflets of Cape Town tourist attractions. Thanks Helen and Richard!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Nina And Renos (London, UK)

This is the second time we stayed at Etafileni and we have already booked for another visit next year! We have no words to express how incredibly wonderful everything is about this place: its location, the facilities, its privacy, all the thoughtful details about it (too many to enumerate) - everythiing one wants to have in order to feel comfortable and welcome. The hosts, Richard and Helen are wonderful persons, warm, attentive, discreet, respectful, friendly and accommodating!
Thank you! We strongly recommend eTafileni!!!

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Pieter (Port Elizabeth)

Ester and I were very impressed with this little gem af a place. It's unbelievable the attention to little things that made the stay at this beautiful modern little apartment so satisfactory. I mean things that we didn't even know we needed like a beach umbrella and when the need arised - lo and behold - there it was in the cupboard. I would definately not stay anywhere else again when I visit Cape Town.

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Silindile And Bheki (Durban, SA)

Etafileni Studio apartment is beautiful and perfect. We were so amazed at the attention to detail. You provided everything, from the Safe to keep our laptops and valuables, to movies, wifi, books, security and many more things. We had the time of our lives, this was home away from home. We really had a great time touring and site seeing. What made us enjoy our stay even more was our hosts, they are warm and kind.
Richard and Helen (Thank you for an unforgettable stay in Cape Town).

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Mandy And Ryan (Western Australia)

A highlight of our trip was the week we spent in Cape Town at your lovely apartment. The location of the apartment was fabulous and the facilities and maintenance/service within the apartment itself was amazing. Your IT knowledge was also invaluable in getting my notebook to work with the complimentary WiFi, this was also a most convenient and reliable service. It really is a home from home, we were so comfortable staying there and you couldn’t have made us more welcome or looked after us any better! We were so relaxed during our stay I wouldn’t hesitate, if asked, to recommend this apartment to anyone considering visiting Cape Town for leisure or business. As you know we were there 7 nights and we would have happily extended our stay if we could.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Pauline And Dave (Eastern Cape)

Two happy chappies who loved your studio. Many thanks for the spring flowers in our room. Thanks for all the trouble you went to and for the things like map book, toilet spray, spray and cook, juice on arrival, milk for the first cuppa, shampoo etc Also liked the review book on places to see and places to eat. Loved having a private patio to sit at to eat outside in privacy, with a lovely fountain to make the setting even more tranquil. Very impressed with all the dvds to watch and books to read. Great extras like an umbrella if it rains, beach umbrella for the patio for the sunshine, an alarm system, safe etc.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Pierre And Sebastian (SA)

Thank you for a lovely stay at Etafileni. We loved every minute in Cape Town and staying here added to that experience. We have declared Etafileni our little home in Cape Town. From a hospitality point of view you have outdone yourself. You should be proud.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Craig And Bridget (Kwa-Zulu Natal, SA)

Thank you so much for your friendly and extremely organised approach! The flat was fantastic, beautiful, peaceful and very well maintained. We were impressed with how professional Etafileni has been since the beginning of our booking. We really appreciate all of your obvious hard work and going the extra mile and of course for the cookies! We'll definitely recommend you and will be in touch if and when we are in Cape Town again!

February 2010

Very Good

Review by Charles And Dodi (Addo, Eastern Cape)

Thank you for a great stay at Etafileni. Placed perfectly in front of the mountain and above the City Bowl within reach of all access roads to everywhere! We loved it and hope to stay here again when we visit our daughter and family in future.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Koketso (Johannesburg )

If you looking for a place with class,convience and style- Etafeleni is the place. It is near all tourist attractions. i rate this venue 5 star. A true gem at the foot of table mountain !
thanks Helen

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Dennis &Brenda Keller (Deming, NM USA)

eTafileni became our home away from home as we stayed there, while in the Cape Town area, for more than three weeks. Accomodations were excellent and the little extras made our stay very special.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Christian Alexander (Boulder, CO, USA)

Etafileni is perfect for a quiet get-away that is still near to the downtown Cape Town scene. My girlfriend and I stayed there for three weeks and had an amazing time hiking nearby Tabletop Mountain, walking around downtown, and enjoying the little cafes and bars in the neighborhood. Helen and Richard were incredibly nice. While being respectful of our privacy, they also took the time to helped us with everything from deciding on day-trips around the Cape to finding a yoga center. The flat was spotless, well furnished, and well-equipped for cooking. I highly recommend this place. Hopefully we make it back soon!

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Gugu (Durban)

We spent three nights in the flat and it was just awesome, from the deco and the hospitality shown by the owners. The place is very secure and the booklets they have of places to visit and resturants with good affordable food helped a lot.

We recommend this place to everyone because it is just something else, you really feel at home.

Thank you for such a wonderful taste of Cape Town.

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Dori (SA)

We spent 8 nights at Etafileni. The accommodation is well furnished with every modern convenience I could wish for, including a wide choice of DVD's to watch when the weather is bad.

Security is excellent. Parking is behind an electric gate, the suite is burglar alarmed, and has a large combination safe in the wardrobe. Large enough to take a laptop too.

Wi FI works in the unit and cables and a mouse are provided for your convenience.

Fresh orange juice and jar of homemade cookies and milk to welcome visitors is a super idea for the tired traveler on arrival. The wide range of good quality herbs and spice is another thoughtful extra Helen provides.

When in Cape Town Etafileni is where we will return for sure.

July 2007

Excellent

Review by Pat Keegan (New York, US)

What can I say? It’s been an amazing trip, made even more so by you guys. The flat was absolutely perfect, I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. The one problem I did see with this place is that you have now spoiled me for the next time I am in Cape Town … I have figured out the strategy. This flat is like a 5 star hotel with the subtle touches of a bed and breakfast. I stayed at Etafileni for over a month and every time I returned back to the flat, it didn't have the feel of returning to a hotel or rental, but more like returning to my own place. Thanks you for everything, and you will definitely be hearing from me again!

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.94594999966667
Longitude: 18.420699999333333

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 15km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome by prior arrangement.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2007 - 31 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap