Reviews & Comments

Showing 66 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

What an amazing place! Such an adventure for our busy bee. Lovely cottage, we will def. be coming back.

July 2018

Jacob Family (Scottburgh, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a pleasure it was to stay in. Fully equipped with everything ; from baking utensils to games, books and DVD's. Too awesome! Will definitely be back. The fireplace only made it extra cozy for these cold nights. 100 stars from us.

July 2018

Reece & Hayley (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Ashley and family for the amazing time spent at your cottage. It is such a hidden gem. Everything is so well thought out and the cottage really is a home away from home (but with much better views :D ). My only complaint is that our stay was too short. Thank you once again, we can't wait to come back soon.

July 2018

Lombard Family (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Crookes Family Thank you for this beautiful cottage and your hospitality. It is the perfect getaway. Don't change anything. The welcome basket, the daily helper, the wood by the fireplace, sharing with us the experience of feeding the sheep are all the special thoughtful things that make this cottage a five-star gem in our eyes. Kareena especially appreciated holding the little baby lambs, that was the highlight of our stay. Thank you, thank you.

July 2018

Hurst Family (Hillcrest, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. The kids enjoyed themselves so much. Even though they had WiFi, they enjoyed the board games. The cottage is beautiful and so cozy, and the garden is so pretty. Looking forward to our next visit.

July 2018

Nel Family (Freestate)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second visit to the cottage and our stay was even better than the previous one! Thank you Ashley and family for your warm and gracious hospitality! We look forward to our next visit, and if it were up to Noa', it would be very soon :D

July 2018

Charmaine & Noa'-Grace Janse van Rensburg (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

How super to be here again in this beautiful setting in the country. I really can't think of a lovelier place to be. Thank you! And we look forward to our next visit!

June 2018

Mike & Liz Roberts (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for always going the extra mile. We love staying in your beautifully-appointed cottage - so clean and welcoming. Trout-fishing was spot-on again : everyone caught, so happy guys. Always hate leaving. You know we'll be back to this little corner of KZN paradise.

June 2018

Linda, Simon, Ann, Mike, Maresia & Roy (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Once again we had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much.

May 2018

van der Merwe Family (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely cottage, wonderful stay. Will definitely be back. Very peaceful. Ashley is a wonderful host.

May 2018

Margaret Rose (Edenvale, Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

An absolute gem tucked away...peace and quiet! Thank you Ashley for making this place available for us "city-weary" folk.

May 2018

Jono & Trish Aldridge (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an amazingly beautiful place to have introduced our 19month old grandson to, country life & nature. He took to the farm like a pro. Thank you to our host Ashley for being so attentive & accommodating - as a host you get 10/10 for everything! We will definitely be returning.

May 2018

The Roberts Fam (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Celebrating our 29th Wedding Anniversary. This has become a tradition started by my husband and we have not missed one year yet! We have come to know the Midlands very well, and I must say this years choice at Copperleigh Trout Cottage has exceeded our expectations. Thank you Ashley for a perfect weekend. The accommodation is faultless, you have thought of everything 10/10. What a beautiful farm you have!

May 2018

Reg and Janice Lazenby (Pinetown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our second stay at Copperleigh has been just as good as the first - very comfortable & relaxing in such a beautiful location. Thanks again Ashley for your hospitality & care - this is not the last you will see of us!

May 2018

Margie & Colin Addis (Hillcrest, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

We just love Copperleigh! Thank you for another comfortable, perfect stay. Happy fly-fishing people after casting in Mavela - sounds of fish eagles and even an owl. Fortifying-stuff! We all feel rejuvenated. Thank you too for all the small touches in the cottage that make a stay warm and luxurious. Great vision and caters for every need. You know we'll be back. Linda, Simon, Lettie, Allen, Merisia, Roy, Lyndall, Brett

April 2018

The Fly Fishermen (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Ashley & Family Thank you for an amazing, relaxing holiday. You guys thought of everything, we appreciated the welcome basket & the tour around your farm. You guys were so gracious & generous as hosts, even though we had bad weather the kids were entertained as you thought of everything! Thank you for thinking of our kids and catering 2 our every need, we will definitely recommend you guys. All the little details meant so much. Keep up the good work!

April 2018

Chantal Maduray (Umhlanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for such a lovely, peaceful getaway. This was truly one of the best stays we have had as you have thought of every possible thing one could want. The gift basket was amazing! The kids just loved the farm and hanging out with the sheep & in the dam. I have no doubt that we will be back!

April 2018

Donovan Morelli (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a relaxed stay at your cozy cottage set in a beautiful part of the Midlands. Nature at its best. A special thank you to David for taking time to teach our son William the concept of fly fishing. Much appreciated. Highly recommended and will be sending many referrals your way. Keep up the good work - God Bless.

April 2018

The Govender Family (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for such a wonderfully relaxing two days. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The 'cottage' is just perfect & we didn't want for anything. We appreciate the hospitality. We will be back. With thanks, Gareth, Terri and Max

April 2018

The Hampson Family (Scottburgh)

Verified reviewexcellent

Alvera, David and Ashley Thank you for making us so welcome to your beautiful farm. We have wanted for nothing during our stay in your most comfy and well equipped cottage. Whilst we are retired the week away to this peaceful spot has been very restful. Take care - best wishes Margie & Colin

April 2018

Margie & Colin Addis (Hillcrest, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow what a stay! We had a really lovely time and your cottage is truly a home away from home. The attention to detail is just phenomenal and makes for a memorable trip. Hope to visit again in the future.

April 2018

Hough Family (Centurian, Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

First time at Copperleigh definitely not the last. Thank you very much for the hospitality. Had an enjoyable few days. Cottage itself is fully equipped with everything you can think of. Thank you very much.

April 2018

van Rensburg Family (Camperdown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Short but wonderful stay at Copperleigh. Everything we needed and more! We will definitely be back to enjoy more of this jewel in the Midlands. Thank you very much.

April 2018

Els Family (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a truly wonderful stay. A home away from home! Love Love Love our times we have spent here. A little piece of heaven. Loads of referrals to come your way! SO PEACEFUL! Thanks for all the awesome adventures. Fishing, tubing, riding. Love all the photography. All our love - till next time!

March 2018

Candace, Tyron + Mila ♡♡♡ (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Ashley, David and Alvera Thank you so much for an incredible weekend away. It really does feel like a home away from home, you have everything I could think of and more. Ella loved swimming in the dam and going on the tube, and of course Karkloof is close enough for Marc to go for a mtn bike ride. Can't wait for our next visit.

March 2018

Marc, Lorin, Tyla & Ella (Ballito)

Verified reviewexcellent

Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay on the farm these last few days. The walks around the lake were great, enjoyed every moment. The feeding of sheep, walking among the cattle fab. The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could ask for and more. The view from any window is incredible. Very relaxing place to come to, your gift basket you left for us was very nice. We will definitely be back again soon. The lady who serviced us all week, very nice and polite. Best wishes to Ashley and family.

March 2018

Dave & Doreen Hunsley (South Yorkshire, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the best & most relaxing weekend. We will be back for sure!!!

March 2018

Cindy Kirk (Howick)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for an amazing weekend and lovely cottage. Loved the gift basket. Everything was perfect. Really enjoyed out time here.

March 2018

Marelize Hoffman (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Exactly what our family needed : a cosy, charming and welcoming cottage, away from the chaos in cities! What a wonderful break-away for our two boys to bond with nature. Thank you for your gracious hospitality Ashley - and also for going out of your way with the little welcome basket and taking us out over the farm. Getting to hold the 3 day old lambs was priceless! Really a relaxing weekend, in a beautiful home! All the way from H♡rties : Stefan, Nadia, Aidan (11) and Nathan (9)

March 2018

Nadia Hartman (Hartebeespoort)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a lovely stay at your cottage over the Midmar weekend! Accommodation was very comfortable. It was very quiet and in a beautiful location, the perfect place to rest!

February 2018

Jessica Picas (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank-you so much for your wonderful cottage. Our stay was tranquil & peaceful. We enjoyed every moment.

February 2018

Jarrod & Melanie; Manu, Steff and Mila (JHB and Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for such an amazing and relaxing weekend away! The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We will definitely be back.

February 2018

Dave & Kelly Norton (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Mr Ashley Crookes and family, a real slice of paradise you have here! Thank you for all the care and love you all have put into this wonderful cottage.So sorry we are not staying longer. Maybe another day. All the different bird calls very restful and peaceful. Much appreciation from all the Boltmans.

February 2018

The Boltmans (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend! An amazing opportunity to relax and recharge. Thank you for going out of your way to accommodate the kiddies. All the little details were so appreciated. The lady that serviced the cottage was lovely too! Thanks again. We will be back!

February 2018

The Mason's (Kloof)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely host, lovely home!! We will definitely be back. Amazing break!!

January 2018

Phil & Karen Rhodes (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Home Away from Home! Great stay and best location...

January 2018

Matt Lubbe (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful stay. Thank you to Ashley & co for making us feel welcomed. Such an exquisite setting. The small touches really make one feel at home. We had just come from my mothers memorial service when we arrived and the four days we were here really helped restore the soul. The cottage is perfect and the setting even more so!

January 2018

Mike & Leza (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a lovely stay and a wonderful time. Thank you so much for everything. The cottage is beautiful and we really enjoyed our time here.

January 2018

Chris van der Merwe (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Truly magnificent!! A piece of heaven on earth. The warm welcome, the idyllic setting, ambiance, luxury embraced us. The sounds and rhythms of nature relaxed us! The stillness made time seem infinite. We had a wonderful stay, one we will never forget. We hope to return soon. Our only "disappointment" was knowing we HAD to leave.

January 2018

Karen & Barry Joffe (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for an awesome weekend at your cottage!! Everything was perfect. We will definitely be back soon!!!

January 2018

Ivana & Ferrol Sheoratan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay at your cottage. We had an awesome weekend. We will definitely be back!

January 2018

Janine, Bianca, Arno & Regard (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful cottage. It exceeded all expectations. We had such a relaxing stay. The cottage lacked nothing and felt like home. Close enough to home yet still felt far away on holiday. Very beautiful and tranquil scenery. Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We will definitely be back again. This cottage was a steal.

December 2017

Rachel & Gavin (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful peaceful break for our 4th year anniversary. Cottage is absolutely breathtaking and the views are amazing. Well equipped with everything one could think of. Will definitely be back. Thank you for your exceptional hospitality. The fireplace was the cherry on top!!

December 2017

Kuvay & Hivash (Tongaat)

Verified reviewexcellent

On behalf of the Bux family, we express our heartfelt gratitude to Ashley and family for everything and for making our stay the most memorable and remarkable one ever! A nature lovers delight and we enjoyed the fire-place, garden and the tranquil and serenity of these few days! May The Almighty bless you and family!

December 2017

Safwan Bux (Chatsworth)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful weekend spent at your cottage! The hospitality and attention to detail has been amazing! Thank you Ashley, we will be regulars without a doubt! Blessings

December 2017

Rikus, Charmain and Noa'-Grace Janse van Rensburg (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful few days spent at your lovely cottage! The view is incredible and the peace and quiet even better :) Productive fishing & such great attention to detail to everything! The new jetty/water path is great too!

December 2017

Simon, Linda, Blake and Jaime Musgrove (Hillcrest, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Idyllic! A little piece of heaven! Loved listening to the frogs at night! All so beautiful and comfortable...We've recharged our batteries - thank you! The misty weather is just the best!!

December 2017

Barry, Dany, David & Timothy James (Scottburgh, KZN)

Verified reviewvery good

Wow! Wow! Wow! What an awesome place!!! Copperleigh Trout Cottage has moved to the top of our fly fishing destinations. Ashley you are a great host, thanks so much for your hospitality. The cottage is perfect. Thanks for tour of your sheep farm. Great experience to see as well as the lambing. We definitely will be back for our wedding anniversary in July 2018. Thanks a million - Colin & Rosalie Edwards

November 2017

Rosalie Edwards (Westville, Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such an enjoyable stay in this wonderfully relaxing place, Thank You. It was definitely too short, we will be back.

November 2017

Danny & Lee Heenan (Swaziland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely weekend! Everything perfect!

November 2017

Allen & Lettie Hauptfleisch (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A spectacular few days indeed! Award goes out to Copperleigh Trout Cottage for the most superb getaway in SA! Thanks for the great time. Hope to be back soon!

October 2017

Sabeeha & Huzaifa Musthan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

The cottage is absolutely beautiful! It has everything and more one could hope for. Lovely hosts! We arrived late from Johannesburg and they went out of their way to assist us with what we needed. Slept beautifully in the country silence. We will most certainly be back. Thank you!

October 2017

Leonora Schoeman (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow! Our expectations were well exceeded! It felt like home. Your amazing hospitality & welcome hamper were an unexpected delight. The linen was crisp & luxurious + the "cottage" lacked nothing. We even baked fresh bread :) Great family time was enjoyed. Copperleigh is so peaceful + tranquil - quiet waters + green pastures - a very restful place for the soul. Thank you for sharing your farm with us. What a blessing. We look forward to returning :)

October 2017

Ingrid Scheepbouwer (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We would like to thank you for such an awesome stay @ Copperleigh. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was everything we were expecting and more. We couldn't have asked for better. The staff were great, unit was clean. We are very impressed!

October 2017

Megan Steyn (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best place we've stayed at in the Midlands. Everything you could ever want in a beautiful surrounding with a first class host. We will be back soon.

September 2017

Digby and Nicole N. (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were here with the Musgroves. What an absolutely wonderful place to spend a few days. Thank you!!!

September 2017

Mike & Liz Roberts (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Been looking for a cottage like this for so long. A little bit of something for everyone. Trout fishing treasure and cottage is perfect positioning and decor. Thank you for attention to detail. Till the next time.

September 2017

Linda & Simon Musgrove (Hillcrest)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent accommodation: Attention to detail from movies to board games. Perfection. Thank you for having us.

September 2017

The Naidoo's (PMB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We've had such a special weekend! Thank you! The cottage is so beautifully equipped, and your attention to detail and extra little treats jut add to the magic. We will definitely be back with our boys! Thanks again.

September 2017

Graham & Kirsty Wren (Kloof)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the great weekend. We had such a lovely relaxing stay, and we appreciate all the little extras you did for us. You really went the extra mile to make our stay wonderful.

September 2017

Rick, Thora, Lex and Anita (PMB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We've had such a great weekend and cannot wait to come back again! The cottage has everything you could ask for and the surroundings are stunning. Thank you for hosting us so wonderfully, we'll be booking to come back as soon as possible.

August 2017

Lisa L (Umhlanga)

Verified reviewvery good

What a beautifully equipped and comfortable space, in a gorgeous setting. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

August 2017

Sam S (Glenwood)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The boys loved being on the farm clearly demonstrated by their refusal to leave the farm and go to uShaka World!!! They loved feeding the sheep and walking on the farm and bird watching. We had such a relaxing time. I feel as though I've been away from the bustle of Cape Town for weeks! Thank you for making our holiday so special. We will definitely be back soon!

July 2017

Naefa K. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks for being the most gracious hosts. We always have a wonderful time here. From mountain biking to hiking to just relaxing you have it all here. Such a privilege to be your first guests. Can't wait to come back again soon.

July 2017

Lorin A. (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best thing I did was feed a sheep!

July 2017

Kalil C. (Age 7) (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks for hospitality. Certainly, it was an amazing day. Thanks a lot to Ashley and thanks to your family for being kind and welcoming hosts, so much so that we felt that we know Crookes family for a while. Words cannot really describe how much we enjoyed the farm, watching birds, and the cattle around. Thanks once again to you all. Undoubtedly, we will be back soon!! [Libyan Boys]

July 2017

Abdulmutaleb Z. (Durban)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Copperleigh Trout Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.