Reviews & Comments

Showing 50 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewgood

The cabin itself is wonderful, well maintained and fully equipped with all the creature comforts. Clean and spacious...very happy. Unfortunately it sits off the main road, which has a constant stream of traffic, especially large container vehicles and trucks. This makes sitting outdoors noisy and unpleasant. In a different location, it would tick all the boxes.

March 2018

Bbrummer Brummer (Durban)

Verified reviewvery good

We had a lovely time at Berghaven, the house was neat and clean and very comfortable.

September 2016

Debbie McAslan (Kwa Zulu Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for a wonderful stay at Underberg. This was truly a home away from home. Keep up the great standard, will definitely recommend this place.

June 2015

Nicholas Biggars (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

This place is spectacular. Thank you. We had an amazing stay at Berghaven. It has everything one would need. Neat. Mavis is awesome. Very helpful. Thank you to Caryn for al lthe info and quick response, we really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely recommend this place.

May 2015

Omeshi Hemraj (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Once again, thanks for a wonderful stay in Underberg. Home away from home! Great hike at Sani Spoors wit hthe best coffee to finish a 6 km hike. A visit to Kenmo Lake always a must, and a climb behind Bergview to end the weekend!

May 2015

Linde Lategan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an amazing stay at Berghaven. We came with our 9 month old baby and the place very much accommodated her too. The house is very neat and cosy. Everything is in order and we are looking forward to coming back with our friends, probably in summer. It has been very cold but the place is well equipped for such cold days. So thank you very much. Keep up the good work,

April 2015

Pamela Jali (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay - thank you! The cottage is well equipped and clean and we loved all the decor, all in all a very pleasant stay. Looking forward to our next visit and wil lcertainly recommend to our family and friends.

March 2015

Wendy Greetham (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a comfortable bed and lounge suite and warm friendly atmosphere in the cottage. Only negative (something out of your power) was no electricity and water. Great having sport on the TV - we all enjoyed watching our teams playing rugby. Loved it here so much that we booked in for another day. Thank you.

February 2015

Gail Clayton (Hibberdene, South Coast)

Verified reviewexcellent

Firstly we would like to thank you for accommodating our stay to an extended night. Much appreciated. On entering the main driveway, my family and I were taken aback by this beautiful cottage. The atmosphere, warmth and "cosiness" felt like home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were all neat and tidy. The DSTV Channels were a bonus. Both the kitchen and the bathroom was well equipped and comfortable for use. We truly loved our visit!

February 2015

Vino Govender (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a really wonderful stay. The garage was a real life saver for our car as we experienced some heavy hail on one day of our stay. We were very happy with the facility. Thank you. Mavis was great, the garden is lovely!

January 2015

Michelle Phillips (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay! The cottage felt like our second home, it was well equipped and always clean. Mavis made us fell welcomed. She is a great person, she is a star.

December 2014

Puleng Matsaneng (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very comfortable stay. Wonderful hot shower, and all our needs were more than met. Thank you for your attention to detail and correspondance, Caryn, when we were arranging our booking. Mavis has been a star and we would definitely recommend Berghaven to our friends.

October 2014

Barbara Hide (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The place is awesome - defintely home away from home for us. I like the attention to detail.

August 2014

Pat Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place, comfortable setting. Home away from home.

August 2014

Kirste Gregory (Port Edward)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have had a lovely stay at Berghaven. We won't forget it! Thanks for all the help we've got. The house is very comfortable and Mavis was a great help for us!

August 2014

Helma Groenewegen (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have had a wonderful stay. Lovely rooms, very clean. Mavis was a star. We will come again.

July 2014

JP Pretorius (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very, very beautiful place for the entire family. Nicely and beautifully decorated. Bed lined was very beautiful and very warm. Well situated with beautiful mountain and surroundings, will definitely recommend it to friends and colleuges.

June 2014

Makhosi Buthelezi (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful home away from home, we had a fantastic stay and really enjoyed the surrounding beauty of the mountains and streams. The house was really clean and comfortable and Mavis was really friendly and helpful. A fireplace would definitely complete the ambience of the lounge. Would certainly recommend and would love to come back.

June 2014

Sandy Govender (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay at Berghaven. Mavis has been wonderful, making sure we have everything required for a wonderful stay. We covered lots of grounds in writing our research. This place is indeed a perfect environment to think and write. We certainly will visit again.

June 2014

Michelle Van Der Bank (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it. Will defnitely come back and recommend Berghavne to our friends. PS : Mavis was a star!

April 2014

Retha Harmse (Rustenberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a pleasant surprise! Wonderful accommodation. Comfortable beds and pillows too. If we are ever in this part of the world again you can expect us to come back. Thank you!

April 2014

David Jones (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie oulike plekkie, ons het lekker geslaap. Sal verseker weer kom kuier.

April 2014

Juliana Griessel (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Caryn and Adam, Our stay here was awesome. It is a lovely place, great for a vacation.

April 2014

Chantel Cronje (Empangeni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our second stay in your Berghaven cottage. Last year October we came to look for a place to retire. We immediately fell in love with Underberg!!! This time we came to finalise our house, and will be relocating to Underberg. Thanks for this wonderful place to stay.

March 2014

Leon Klassen (Heidelburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed over for 3 nights with my sister and her husband. Its a lovely clean place, we enjoyed the trip up Sani Pass. Lovely view of the mountains. Thank you.

March 2014

Thens & Peggy (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a lovely stay! Pity it was only for one night. We will defnitely be back. Thanks for everything!

March 2014

Gareth Passmore (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay. Underberg is a favourite area of ours. Beautifully clean and well kept. Have a wonderful 2014. See you again.

February 2014

Deann Quibell (Durban North)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely place. We really enjoyed our stay in Berghaven. Beautiful scenery and lots to see. Had a great trip up the Sani Pass. Thanks once again.

February 2014

Graham Jones (Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for a lovely stay, although it was very short. Very impressed with the decor. Everything is in excellent condition and very clean. Will defnitely recommend to others. Keep up the good work.

January 2014

Nawawie Baderoen (Strand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely place to stay and for decorating the place so nicely. We really enjoyed it. Thank you for a lovely garden and a nice TV. We really hope you have a great 2014. Thank you for the lovely balcony. We really really really enjoyed the stay. THANK YOU!

January 2014

Chris Morgan (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely place to stay and to enjoy the beautiful area. PS. Thank you Mavis for the warm welcome.

December 2013

Antonette Hamman (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a lovely stay. All enjoyed just disappointed so close to the road. A suggestion, perhaps a list of places that you can walk dogs. All the best!

December 2013

Diane Olivier (Rosebank)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful stay, all so clean and lovely.

November 2013

Bernice Purdon (Ballito)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place, had a marvelous time here. Would love to return sometime in the future.

November 2013

Susan Saunders (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just want to thank you that the way your website looks is what you get. The place is great, beautifully decorated, everything we needed was there, just we forgot bath towels! But that was a minor problem with all the other things at hand. I will recommend you to my friend and will defnitely come back. Thank you for everything. Mavis is a real gem, what a happy and friendly lady.

October 2013

Bennita Timmerman (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Caryn, wat n pragtige huis. Dit is net wat ons nodig gehad na n lang en nat pad. Dit is so rustig hier. Sal beslis van die huis gebruik maak. Mavis was wonderlik gewees. Sy is beslis n aanwins.

October 2013

Rian van der Hoven (Oudtshoon)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie mooi verwargele huis en tuin. Het geen tekort aan enige iets nie! Heerlik gebly. Baie dankie! Ons sal jou plek verseker by almal aanbeveel.

October 2013

Henry Fletcher (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Caryn and Adam, thank you so much. We really enjoyed our stay at Berghaven. It was so relaxing and comfortable. Our few days went by so fast - we would love to be back again! Mavis is a real honey, never far away and always has a smile on her face. "Berghaven" a total delight - just love it! Take care and God bless.

October 2013

Dianne Whitbread (Pongola)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay, great welcome from Mavis. Hope we can come back some time.

September 2013

Stacy Grundy (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for an awesome week here at Berghaven. Actually we came in the hope to show the kids some snow but was not lucky. We didn't mind at all the experience was well worth it. /thanks for a clean house, the decor is beautiful. Mavis you are a darling, thanks for everything. Keep up the good work!

September 2013

Dawid Van Dyk (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much to you and Adam, we had such a lovely stay at Berghaven, totally relaxed and the house is so comfortable. Our stay was just too short! Mavis is an absolute wonder, such a sweet lady. We will certainly keep Berghaven in mind for our next getaway. Thanks once again and take care.

September 2013

Dianne Whitbread (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Good spacious accommodation that met all the information and pictures on the website.Enjoyed the balcony and braai for our breakfasts and suppers. Mavis is a gem, even her and Sydney got on well. All the best, Chris and Anne English.

August 2013

Anne English (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place. Cosy - home away from home. Will defnitely come back. Neat and well equipped. Mavis is so pleasant and helpful. Will defnitely recommend to friends and family.

July 2013

Shanmugam Govender (Pmb)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a pleasant stay, felt like home. Well equipped, warm and cosy. Just what we needed. A very warm and welcoming feeling and experience. Will be back for sure. Well done to Mavis, made sure we were okay.

July 2013

Seelen Gounden (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Even though we were not used to the cold, the cabin offered us a nice cosy environment. We really enjoyed the local sites, all in all was a good experience. Thank you as well to Mavis for helping anytime we asked. Would defnitely recommend the venue and return given the opportunity.

June 2013

Thamashni Pillay (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Baie dankie, dit was die aangenaamste bly plekkie. So rustig, netjies en skoon. Die "cherry on the top" was my 18de verjaarsdag, ons was deur Sani Pass toe "what a great experience". DV sal on defnitief wier kom bly. Mavis is n vaaslag en baie hulpvaardig en vriendlik. Nogmats dankie dat jy ook bygedra het om hierdie naweek onvergeetlik te maak.

April 2013

Johann Swanepoel (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

On a personal note, I would like to thank Caryn for all her wonderful emails. The Underberg Meat Supply was an awesome recommendation. And they will make up stock. A total delight for gravy! This really was wonderful and we would recommend it with bells on. Good luck with it all and thanks once more.Thak you Mavis too! You are awesome.

March 2013

Najette (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We where very happy with the accommodation, it was comfy, clean and well maintained.

March 2013

Brett Balfour (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay at Berghaven- had a really nice time and the facilities were great-thank you!

December 2012

Claire McFarland (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay. Underberg is a very pleasant town. The lodge is very nice and I will definitely tell my friends about it.

December 2012

Marlize Conradie (Hibberdene)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Berghaven

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.