Berghaven is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (49 reviews)

Berghaven

Self Catering at 17 Drakensberg Road, Underberg, Drakensberg, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 49 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 49 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2016

Very Good

Review by Debbie McAslan (Kwa Zulu Natal)

We had a lovely time at Berghaven, the house was neat and clean and very comfortable.

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Nicholas Biggars (Durban)

Thanks for a wonderful stay at Underberg. This was truly a home away from home. Keep up the great standard, will definitely recommend this place.

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Omeshi Hemraj (Durban)

This place is spectacular. Thank you. We had an amazing stay at Berghaven. It has everything one would need. Neat. Mavis is awesome. Very helpful. Thank you to Caryn for al lthe info and quick response, we really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely recommend this place.

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Linde Lategan (Durban)

Once again, thanks for a wonderful stay in Underberg. Home away from home! Great hike at Sani Spoors wit hthe best coffee to finish a 6 km hike. A visit to Kenmo Lake always a must, and a climb behind Bergview to end the weekend!

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Pamela Jali (Durban)

We had an amazing stay at Berghaven. We came with our 9 month old baby and the place very much accommodated her too. The house is very neat and cosy. Everything is in order and we are looking forward to coming back with our friends, probably in summer. It has been very cold but the place is well equipped for such cold days. So thank you very much. Keep up the good work,

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Wendy Greetham (Durban)

We really enjoyed our stay - thank you! The cottage is well equipped and clean and we loved all the decor, all in all a very pleasant stay. Looking forward to our next visit and wil lcertainly recommend to our family and friends.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Gail Clayton (Hibberdene, South Coast)

Such a comfortable bed and lounge suite and warm friendly atmosphere in the cottage. Only negative (something out of your power) was no electricity and water. Great having sport on the TV - we all enjoyed watching our teams playing rugby. Loved it here so much that we booked in for another day. Thank you.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Vino Govender (Durban)

Firstly we would like to thank you for accommodating our stay to an extended night. Much appreciated.
On entering the main driveway, my family and I were taken aback by this beautiful cottage. The atmosphere, warmth and "cosiness" felt like home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were all neat and tidy. The DSTV Channels were a bonus. Both the kitchen and the bathroom was well equipped and comfortable for use. We truly loved our visit!

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Michelle Phillips (Johannesburg)

We had a really wonderful stay. The garage was a real life saver for our car as we experienced some heavy hail on one day of our stay. We were very happy with the facility. Thank you. Mavis was great, the garden is lovely!

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Puleng Matsaneng (Johannesburg)

We had a wonderful stay! The cottage felt like our second home, it was well equipped and always clean. Mavis made us fell welcomed. She is a great person, she is a star.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Barbara Hide (Pietermaritzburg)

We had a very comfortable stay. Wonderful hot shower, and all our needs were more than met. Thank you for your attention to detail and correspondance, Caryn, when we were arranging our booking. Mavis has been a star and we would definitely recommend Berghaven to our friends.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Pat Pillay (Durban)

The place is awesome - defintely home away from home for us. I like the attention to detail.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Kirste Gregory (Port Edward)

Great place, comfortable setting. Home away from home.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Helma Groenewegen (Holland)

We have had a lovely stay at Berghaven. We won't forget it! Thanks for all the help we've got. The house is very comfortable and Mavis was a great help for us!

July 2014

Excellent

Review by JP Pretorius (Durban)

We have had a wonderful stay. Lovely rooms, very clean. Mavis was a star. We will come again.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Makhosi Buthelezi (Durban)

Very, very beautiful place for the entire family. Nicely and beautifully decorated. Bed lined was very beautiful and very warm. Well situated with beautiful mountain and surroundings, will definitely recommend it to friends and colleuges.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Sandy Govender (Durban)

What a beautiful home away from home, we had a fantastic stay and really enjoyed the surrounding beauty of the mountains and streams. The house was really clean and comfortable and Mavis was really friendly and helpful. A fireplace would definitely complete the ambience of the lounge. Would certainly recommend and would love to come back.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Michelle Van Der Bank (Johannesburg)

We had a wonderful stay at Berghaven. Mavis has been wonderful, making sure we have everything required for a wonderful stay. We covered lots of grounds in writing our research. This place is indeed a perfect environment to think and write. We certainly will visit again.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Retha Harmse (Rustenberg)

Thank you for a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it. Will defnitely come back and recommend Berghavne to our friends. PS : Mavis was a star!

April 2014

Excellent

Review by David Jones (Durban)

What a pleasant surprise! Wonderful accommodation. Comfortable beds and pillows too. If we are ever in this part of the world again you can expect us to come back. Thank you!

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Juliana Griessel (Durban)

Baie oulike plekkie, ons het lekker geslaap. Sal verseker weer kom kuier.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Chantel Cronje (Empangeni)

Dear Caryn and Adam, Our stay here was awesome. It is a lovely place, great for a vacation.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Leon Klassen (Heidelburg)

Our second stay in your Berghaven cottage. Last year October we came to look for a place to retire. We immediately fell in love with Underberg!!! This time we came to finalise our house, and will be relocating to Underberg. Thanks for this wonderful place to stay.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Thens & Peggy (Australia)

We stayed over for 3 nights with my sister and her husband. Its a lovely clean place, we enjoyed the trip up Sani Pass. Lovely view of the mountains. Thank you.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Gareth Passmore (Durban)

We had a lovely stay! Pity it was only for one night. We will defnitely be back. Thanks for everything!

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Deann Quibell (Durban North)

Thank you for a lovely stay. Underberg is a favourite area of ours. Beautifully clean and well kept. Have a wonderful 2014. See you again.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Graham Jones (Scotland)

What a lovely place. We really enjoyed our stay in Berghaven. Beautiful scenery and lots to see. Had a great trip up the Sani Pass. Thanks once again.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Nawawie Baderoen (Strand)

Thanks for a lovely stay, although it was very short. Very impressed with the decor. Everything is in excellent condition and very clean. Will defnitely recommend to others. Keep up the good work.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Chris Morgan (Durban)

Thank you for a lovely place to stay and for decorating the place so nicely. We really enjoyed it. Thank you for a lovely garden and a nice TV. We really hope you have a great 2014. Thank you for the lovely balcony. We really really really enjoyed the stay. THANK YOU!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Antonette Hamman (Port Elizabeth)

Thank you for a lovely place to stay and to enjoy the beautiful area. PS. Thank you Mavis for the warm welcome.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Diane Olivier (Rosebank)

Thank you for a lovely stay. All enjoyed just disappointed so close to the road. A suggestion, perhaps a list of places that you can walk dogs. All the best!

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Bernice Purdon (Ballito)

Thank you for a wonderful stay, all so clean and lovely.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Susan Saunders (Durban)

Great place, had a marvelous time here. Would love to return sometime in the future.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Bennita Timmerman (Durban)

Just want to thank you that the way your website looks is what you get. The place is great, beautifully decorated, everything we needed was there, just we forgot bath towels! But that was a minor problem with all the other things at hand. I will recommend you to my friend and will defnitely come back. Thank you for everything. Mavis is a real gem, what a happy and friendly lady.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Rian Van Der Hoven (Oudtshoon)

Caryn, wat n pragtige huis. Dit is net wat ons nodig gehad na n lang en nat pad. Dit is so rustig hier. Sal beslis van die huis gebruik maak. Mavis was wonderlik gewees. Sy is beslis n aanwins.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Henry Fletcher (Durban)

Baie mooi verwargele huis en tuin. Het geen tekort aan enige iets nie! Heerlik gebly. Baie dankie! Ons sal jou plek verseker by almal aanbeveel.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Dianne Whitbread (Pongola)

Dear Caryn and Adam, thank you so much. We really enjoyed our stay at Berghaven. It was so relaxing and comfortable. Our few days went by so fast - we would love to be back again! Mavis is a real honey, never far away and always has a smile on her face. "Berghaven" a total delight - just love it! Take care and God bless.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Stacy Grundy (England)

Enjoyed our stay, great welcome from Mavis. Hope we can come back some time.

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Dawid Van Dyk (Jhb)

Thank you for an awesome week here at Berghaven. Actually we came in the hope to show the kids some snow but was not lucky. We didn't mind at all the experience was well worth it. /thanks for a clean house, the decor is beautiful. Mavis you are a darling, thanks for everything. Keep up the good work!

September 2013

Excellent

Review by Dianne Whitbread (Durban)

Thank you so much to you and Adam, we had such a lovely stay at Berghaven, totally relaxed and the house is so comfortable. Our stay was just too short! Mavis is an absolute wonder, such a sweet lady. We will certainly keep Berghaven in mind for our next getaway. Thanks once again and take care.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Anne English (Durban)

Good spacious accommodation that met all the information and pictures on the website.Enjoyed the balcony and braai for our breakfasts and suppers. Mavis is a gem, even her and Sydney got on well. All the best, Chris and Anne English.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Shanmugam Govender (Pmb)

Lovely place. Cosy - home away from home. Will defnitely come back. Neat and well equipped. Mavis is so pleasant and helpful. Will defnitely recommend to friends and family.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Seelen Gounden (Durban)

What a pleasant stay, felt like home. Well equipped, warm and cosy. Just what we needed. A very warm and welcoming feeling and experience. Will be back for sure. Well done to Mavis, made sure we were okay.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Thamashni Pillay (Durban)

Even though we were not used to the cold, the cabin offered us a nice cosy environment. We really enjoyed the local sites, all in all was a good experience. Thank you as well to Mavis for helping anytime we asked. Would defnitely recommend the venue and return given the opportunity.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Johann Swanepoel (Durban)

Baie dankie, dit was die aangenaamste bly plekkie. So rustig, netjies en skoon. Die "cherry on the top" was my 18de verjaarsdag, ons was deur Sani Pass toe "what a great experience". DV sal on defnitief wier kom bly. Mavis is n vaaslag en baie hulpvaardig en vriendlik. Nogmats dankie dat jy ook bygedra het om hierdie naweek onvergeetlik te maak.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Najette (Durban)

On a personal note, I would like to thank Caryn for all her wonderful emails. The Underberg Meat Supply was an awesome recommendation. And they will make up stock. A total delight for gravy! This really was wonderful and we would recommend it with bells on. Good luck with it all and thanks once more.Thak you Mavis too! You are awesome.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Brett Balfour (Durban)

We where very happy with the accommodation, it was comfy, clean and well maintained.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Claire McFarland (Johannesburg)

We really enjoyed our stay at Berghaven- had a really nice time and the facilities were great-thank you!

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Marlize Conradie (Hibberdene)

We enjoyed our stay. Underberg is a very pleasant town.

The lodge is very nice and I will definitely tell my friends about it.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1000
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.791138888555555
Longitude: 29.489749999666667

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 216km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
October 2012 - 49 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap