Bamboo, The Guesthouse is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (24 reviews)

Bamboo, The Guesthouse

Bed & Breakfast at No 9 Bolton Street, Hunter's Home, Knysna, 6571, Garden Route, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 24 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Bamboo, The Guesthouse in Knysna?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Garden Route.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Caroline Nethery (Northern Ireland)

We were travelling as a party of four and on our arrival at Bamboo we were immediately made to feel very welcome. It was like a little haven, and everytime we left our little cottage was like a new adventure and that was before we left the grounds of Bamboo. Jaynie and Gordon are fabulous people and went out of their way to make our stay an event to remember. On our first night there Gordon cooked us a very delicious evening meal as the craic was so good we didn't want to leave. Our accommodation was in the Pampas cottage, it was just beautiful and so ethnic, just what we had hoped for and much more. The pot belly stove in the room was fabulous. This is accommodation I would have no hesitation in recommending to other travellers to Kynsa and would have no doubt that friendships will be made here. Jaynie, Gordon, Marilee, Pierce and the rest of the staff helped make our holiday one to be fondly remembered for a very long time.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Ryan And Megan Nicholls (Port Elizabeth)

Awesome!!!

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Francois Pause (Zurich, Switzerland)

Dear Jaynie and Gordon, what a great place! Nothing like this! It was one of the best places we were! Breakfast in the garden....full house...made with love!! You made the stay in Knysna wonderful. Actually you don't need Knysna for Holiday...we could have stayed in your garden the whole time! ...It's like a small piece of paradise! the interior design was absolutely great! all the beautiful details makes every room special and unique. You were so kind and loving...especially to our kids! We appreciate this very much. We will come back for sure. All the best, take care and be blessed! Francois, Fabienne, Levin and Noelle

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Fam. Roggenkamp (Bussum, The Netherlands)

We wanted to stay for 4 days but we could't leave...excellent rooms, excellent bedfast in front of the fireplace en what a lovely people... The rooms are surrounded by exotic gardens, very tastfull. We had a wonderfull time, our two sons in the age of 6 en 9 wanted to stay forever.. Thank you so mutch, sure we meet again!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Ute & Valentine Aganbi (Durban, South Africa)

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Bamboo. We were a group of 8 (1 child, 1 infant) and stayed in 3 garden rooms. The garden as well as the rooms were simply fantastic. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the boma chatting with Jaynie and Gordon about food, music and travel. Thanks Jaynie and Gordon for taking us to the Knysna market, cooking the braii on the first night, going all the way to Wilderness to buy extra chilli sauce for us and helping keep our son entertained. You are the best!

If you are looking for great value for money with a personal touch this is the place! We would return in a heart beat.

Hope to see you again soon!
Valentine, Ute, Josef and Daniel

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Daryl & Kevin Godfrey (Maidenhead)

We booked 3 nights, stayed 5 and then had to drag ourselves away from the most beautiful accommodation and welcoming hosts. The perfect idyll to relax or to use as a base for exploring this part of the Garden Route. Jaynie & Gordon made our 2nd trip to SA, and our 1st trip to Knysna most memorable and enjoyable. Thanks again.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Lynn And Alan Stevens (Lincoln, England)

We found this oasis of a guesthouse through SA Venues. I have sent a review to them and to anyone else who could possibly be interested as we were so very impressed. We stayed three nights at Bamboo.......the room and bathroom were superb, the garden - a joy, the breakfasts fabulous. Recommendation by Jaynie for Marks - totally spot on. I have passed the details everyone I know who may ever be visiting Knysna and told them to get to Bamboo asap. Thankyou Jaynie and Gordon for a lovely time. Wish you much luck with the extension and if we are back in SA next year, like we hope to be, we will definitely see you then!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Leopold Dessaux (Paris)

this place is perfect, the garden feels very comfortable and the hosts are most welcoming.
Thank you very much for all this !

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Natasha Dawson (London, UK)

A fantastic, friendly & unique place to stay. The hosts were really helpful and friendly and the rooms & gardens were gorgeous. It all felt very luxurious! Would definitely recommend a stay.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Allan Thomas (Ammanford)

wonderful place for a long or short stay, great welcome , loveley rooms, exotic garden, we want to go back !

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Desire' Loy And Melvyn Abrahams (Australia)

We stayed at Bamboo for 3 nights. We wish we could have stayed longer.
The bedrooms are beautiful, breakfasts are delicious, garden is magical.
Our stay at Bamboo was truly relaxing and memorable.
Jaynie and Gordon, thank you for being such warm and friendly hosts. Good luck with the extention. Hope it all goes well. We will be back some day.....
Best wishes, Desire', Melvyn, Kaylah and Brad

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Joe Brock And Gillian Parker (London)

Jaynie and Gordon are totally fantastic! We had 4 of the best days we've ever had on holiday. Beautiful garden, wonderful breakfast and unbeatable company. Try horse riding with Gordon and eating out with your hosts. We love Bamboo!!

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Horst Gnadl (Germany)

We had a very warm welcome and It's a beautiful house and location to stay for many relaxing days. Jaynie is a very friendly person, always trying to help and answering all questions. The garden is a paradise. Our problem was, that we had planned not enough days. The rooms are very good. The breakfast was very good and we loved the fresh fruits and specially Gordon's superb spicy eggs :-) Also thanks to you for the tip of Amos Lee, we bought both CD. Excellent value for money. We will definitely be back and recommend the house to our friends.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Richard Hey (Glastonbury)

Thanks to Jaynie and Gordon for their amazing hospitality. The rooms are excellent and the garden beautiful and full of birds.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Astrid, Erwin, Silvia + Hans Karl (Austria)

Dear Jaynie and Gordon!
We had a great stay in your charming guesthouse and your enchanted garden. Thank you for your great hospitality - to stay in your guesthouse was a highlight of our South Africa travel.
We gladly remember the nice rooms with so many extras, the excellent breakfast (mmmhhh we liked your muffins and Gordons Eggs so much !!!) and all your "kids" (Roxy the dog, Mojo the kitten and Ozzi the bird and all the other birds, fishes and ....).
Lots of love - yours Astrid + Erwin, Silvia + Hans Karl from Austria

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Hassan (San Antonio, TX)

My wife and I stayed at Bamboo during our honeymoon travels across South Africa. We found the hosts to be fantastic people, the accomodations were beautiful and the location was idyllic. Our only regret is that we did not book a room for more than one night. The relaxed atmosphere and good people make Bamboo a nice retreat for any vacationer. We look forward to our next visit!

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Bas And Esther (Ireland)

We travelled through South Africa for 5 weeks and Bamboo guesthouse was definitely the most welcoming, had the best breakfast, the most beautiful garden, a great room, very nice hosts... what more can I say? Bamboo guesthouse is the WINNER !!
Hope to meet again some day,
Bas and Esther

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Steve Smith (Winnipeg, Canada)

The Bamboo Guesthouse was by far the best guesthouse I've stayed at in my travels over the years. The gardens are immaculate and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The owners of Bamboo, Jaynie and Gordon, are absolutely delightful. Jaynie responded quickly to my email inquiry (which useful for last-minute planners!) and went above and beyond the call of duty in making our stay hassle-free. As mentioned in other reviews, Gordon is an excellent chef...and a great story-teller. Even their dog, Roxy, is friendly. They really made my wife and I feel like we were their friends, not just people staying in one of their rooms. I recommend The Bamboo unconditionally and I will definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Knysna. Thank you for everything guys! Hugs and manly handshakes, Steve & Jenn from Canada

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Martha & Martin Bengsch (Munich Germany)

We had a two-night stay at our tour on the Garden Route. Never before we had a so warm welcome and never found a cosy place like the Bambooo - hospitality at its best.
Jaynie thank you for the time you gave to us and for the informative conversation.
Gordon thank you for the informations about your country and for the delicious breakfast.
We came as strangers and left as friends!
Kisses from Martha to sweet little baby Immanuel.

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Victoria Allan (London, UK)

Can not recommend Bamboo to our friends enough - Jaynie and Gordon were so welcoming and the best hosts during our stay in SA. Went out in the bay in Gordon's boat for the afternoon and had a fabulous time. Would love to go back for another visit soon

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Harma, Gilbert And Toon (Spijkenisse)

The Bamboo Guishouse was a heaven to stay at! The hostess Jaynie is lovely, welkom and warm. Our son (of 16 months) had everything and more his heart could desire. The rooms was excellent and the breakfast aswell. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We will always have the nice memory of this lovely place! If we are ever back in the area we would absolutely want to stay there again.
Lots of love to you, Gordon, Jaynie and Roxy! From us from Holland. Gilbert, Harma and special thanks and hugs from Toon.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by John And Lesley Shearer (Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland)

Delightful and comfortable place to stay. Jaynie and Gordon made us most welcome and went over and above the call of duty to make our stay a very memorable one. Our garden room was a delight and full of those little extras such as a bottle of wine to welcome us. Gordon is an excellent 'chef' and made an excellent breakfast not to mention a very good dinner one evening. Many thanks to you both and give Roxy, Super Dog a pat from us.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Helena Signal (Onsala Sweden)

The stay at Bamboo was one of the greatest highlights during our visit to SA. Jaynie and Gordon was wonderful to us and made it a very memorable stay. The rooms were very beautiful with a personal touch and the breakfast was better than in any 5 star hotel. The children loved Bamboo and wants to return soon. Thank You Jaynie and Gordon and good luck with Your paradise on earth.
Love from Claes, Helena, Oskar, Elin, Emmy and Christoffer from Sweden.

PS. We bought a Knysna bird at the factory. DS.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Sarah And Alex (Essen)

Dear Jaynie, we promised you to be the first ones writing you a review :-) So we kept the promise and here it comes: We are back in Germany for 4 Weeks now and still every day we are thinking about SA. Our traveling agency did a very good job and we had many very good accomodations. Yours defenitely had the best breakfast! :-) The room was very lovely - we were can't complain about anything! The only bad thing was the weather, but we hope it's better now.
Thank you once again for organising the lovely horseriding, it was a really good experience! And thank you ,Gordon, for taking us on that boat trip (did you buy the boat??). Alex still tells everyone about this nice trip :-)
Yours, Sarah and Alex from Germany

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.06125
Longitude: 23.082038888222222

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 60km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome under adult supervision.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 17h00
Check-out by 10h30

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2003 - 24 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap