Jambo Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (6 reviews)

Jambo Guest House

Guest House at 1 Grove Road, Green Point, 8005, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 6 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Jambo Guest House in Green Point?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 6 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Madelaine (Johannesburg)

My husband and I spent 14 days in Cape Town in January, 5 of which were spent at Jambo Guest House in Green Point. The owners of this charming little Cape Town guest house, Barry and Mina, were exceptionally warm and friendly, from the first day right through to the last. Mina was extremely helpful, taking care of all our car rental needs and even going so far as to suggest the best attractions and restaurants in the city. The rooms were also very comfortable and thoughtfully decorated - the contemporary decor was a lovely touch. We will hopefully be back at this Cape Town guest house next year for our anniversary, but until then, keep up the amazing work!

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Tammy Walsh (South Africa)

Stayed in the Bay room which is beautifully decorated. It has a bay window overlooking the garden. Barry and Mina are a lovely couple and are always ready to advise on what to do or where to go.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Caroline Kelly (Northallerton)

We spent 4 nights at Jambo in June 2008 and I wish it could have been longer! The house itself is lovely, and the rooms really great, with everything you could need. The garden with jacuzzi is a great way to relax at the end of the day, and the upstairs bar is full of games, and other 'interesting stuff' - it's just a shame our we were too busy out and about in cape town as Jambo is a wonderful place to just to chill out.

Barry and Mina are such a lovely, friendly couple and gave lots of helpful advice via email before we even arrived, and once we were there all of their suggestions for places to go were fantastic. You can't beat decent local knowledge. We also had a slight cock-up in that we left some important travel documents when we left to stay in Stellenbosch, but rather than waiting for us to realise and call them, they went to a lot of effort to look up where we were staying and get in touch, which was very much appreciated. Having then raced back to Green Point to pick the documents up again, we did feel a pang of 'homesickness' when leaving!

Needless to say, if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Cape Town again we would be sure to stay at Jambo!!

May 2008

Excellent

Review by Reinhard Fischer (Stuttgart)

I have been staying with Barry and Mina in Jambo Guest House several times. I came to Cape Town in Oct 2002 and kept returning 5 times until then. Further visits are certainly going to follow.

The Guest House is situated within walking distance of the V&A Waterfront and other attractions. We have been walking to the Waterfront even at night with my little daughter and never had the feeling of insecurity.

The house reflects the people living there: it is cosy and personal with several things that Mina and Barry collected over the years (so it seems). Although the rooms are not very big compared to other places outside the city, each one is very special and carefully decorated.

One reason I come back to Cape Town is the hospitality I always experienced in Jambo Guest House. Returning in April 2003 felt like coming home.

Mina and Barry are very knowledgeable about the Cape and always help you out on things to do and places to see in Cape Town. I would never stay somewhere else in Cape Town.

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Joan Root (Washington DC)

My husband & I stayed at the wonderful Jambo Guest House in April 2008 for a week as we explored the entire Cape Town area with daily excursions in every direction. On a quiet street within walking distance of the Victoria Wharf and Shopping Mall, Jambo has 5 guest rooms with full baths, each one beautifully decorated with a different theme. We stayed in the ‘Garden Suite’ and felt that we had found a little garden of Eden. Jambo certainly deserves its 5 star rating for comfort, ambience, superb breakfast and the welcoming of Barry’s British-style pub, an excellent place to unwind with Barry & Mina and other guests at the end of a long day of serious sight seeing. Barry and Mina genuinely enjoy spending time with each guest, giving helpful advice, hearing about one’s adventures, making useful suggestions, and sharing stories. They know the entire Cape Town area so well that they can make suggestions that relate to what one is interested in seeing. We enjoyed meeting other guests as well. No wonder many guests return year after year to the Jambo Guest House because once you have been there you know what it feels like to be part of a warm and wonderful family.

March 2004

Excellent

Review by Sally Lowe (Manchester UK)

This amazing guest house is set in a tropical walled garden in the heart of urban Cape Town. The owners will pick you up from the airport, arrange car hire, suggest trips and outings, make dinner reservations for you, and open the guest house bar on demand (!)

They have painstakingly designed and decorated each room on a different theme; e.g. the African room, the Green Room etc. We liked the place so much, we went back later to stay another couple of nights. It's fantastic!

Sally Lowe
Manchester

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.908225
Longitude: 18.405586111111113

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 22km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
February 2000 - 6 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap