Hoopoe Haven Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (9 reviews)

Hoopoe Haven Guest House

Guest House / Self Catering at 206 B, 2nd Road, Chartwell, Fourways, Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Hoopoe Haven Guest House in Chartwell?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Sandton.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Chris, Dad & Mom (Abidjan, Ivory Coast)

one of the success of our vacation in SA is the choice of our accomodation me made when chosing to stay at Hoopoe Haven Guest House. Apparently when having a look on the website the place seems to be too far from the city ! But we were so impressed to stay till very late in Montecasino and return back to the lodge easily !
We enjoined the birds in the garden and the great services from Alan, Christine and staff...

Thank you so much for your contribution to our lovely vacation.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Gregg Webbstock (Vanderbijlpark)

We were a family of 3 generations in Guinea Fowl Cottage and we ALL thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hoopoe Haven. Alan, Christine and their staff were most attentive without intruding. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and spotless. We loved the swimming pool and large garden, and we all enjoyed the peace and quiet. Hoopoe Lodge is our first choice for accommodation in Jo'burg and we'll be back! Thank you very much Christine, Alan and team. We are definitely staying with you on our next visit
Thanks the Webbstock's

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Dawn Denton (London, UK)

I brought a group of 17 students from the UK to spend the a week in Johannesburg and the surrounds and get the full South African experience. I can not rate the lodge and the staff anything below excellent! We felt like we were visiting family, and the atmosphere and the surrounds made for a calm and beautiful envionment. Located perfectly to straddle sights in and around Gauteng and further afield towards the Magaliesburg area. Everyone was warm, accommodating and friendly and the facilities and breakfast are superb! Thank you to everyone for the making my students' first trip to South Africa a truly wonderful South African experience!

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Arthur Charles Van Wyk (Durban, South Africa)

Hoopoe Haven epitomises the serenity and peaceful surroundings that are necessary when one needs to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday urban life. We were fortunate to have the entire place to ourselves for a whole week. Alan & Christine gave us the package for accommodation only, but went the extra mile to make tea, coffee, sugar, milk and breakfast cereals available as well. Just as well, because we were in Gauteng for an exhibition and had very little to no time to prepare meals.

The beds are the ultimate in comfort and had me sleeping as late as I possibly could every morning we were there. We made full use of the nice hot showers, the DSTV facility as well as the lounge areas for late night recaps of the day's events.

It was only on the Saturday of our departure that I really got to view the entire property in all it's beauty. I was so captivated I captured it all on video. (search for Hoopoe Haven on Youtube from end September 2009) I so wish we had gone there on holiday and not on a work assignment. But that leaves me with very little guesswork as far as accommodation goes next time I plan to stay in Gauteng.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Thanh Nguyen (Saigon - Vietnam)

It was a great holiday we had. Alan and Jones were very nice and hospitality. Linda and Natasha were always there to help us! A very peaceful place.
Thanks a lot for everything! Look forward to see you soon!

May 2009

Excellent

Review by Tiggy Goodwin (Cape Town)

We were a family of 3 generations in Guinea Fowl Cottage and we ALL thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hoopoe Haven. Alan, Christine and their staff were most attentive without intruding. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and spotless. Our children loved the swimming pool and large garden, and we all enjoyed the peace and quiet. Hoopoe Lodge is our first choice for accommodation in Jo'burg and we'll be back!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Abbigail (Harare)

Brilliant service from Alan and Christine and their staff!! We spent two nights at this delighful place and received very personalised service from the ownersas we arranged trips to the nearest shopping mall etc. Our young daughters had a delightful time . Thank you very much Christine, Alan and team. We are definitely staying with you on our next visit

December 2008

Very Good

Review by Steve & Desiree (Wellington, New Zealand)

The cottage was our home for more than a month. Comfortable, well equipped, spacious with a charming thatched roof and a fabulous pool on the doorstep. The children loved the wide open grass area. The owners were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Close to several shopping centres and easy freeway access, yet with a l rural feel. I am sure you can hear the lions over the hill at Lion Park, a 10 minute drive away. Hopefully we will return to Hoopoe Haven one day.

August 2008

Very Good

Review by Nikki (Gaborone, Botswana)

Absolutley beautiful accomodation, central to where we needed to go and easy to locate using the GPS.

The couple who run this were delightful. We stayed in the guest house, very comfortable and self contained which was nice. Would have been perfect if the Breakfast part had been up and running but am assured its coming!

Our
Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.992527777444444
Longitude: 27.967383332666667

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 15km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.
A cot can be provided on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

If arriving after 17h00 contact us to make arrangements.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2008 - 9 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap