138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (28 reviews)

138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Guest House at 138 Marine Drive, Sandbaai / Hermanus, Cape Whale Coast, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 28 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse in Hermanus?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 28 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Cecile & Vincent (France)

An amazing place, with extraordinary people, with the best breakfast in South Africa!

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Ann & Lyn (Manchester, UK )

Just amazing hospitality! We felt cushioned and well taken care of. We can't thank the 138 Marine Team enough.

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Warren En Brenda (Johannesburg, South Africa)

Thank you for a lovely stay in the best spot in Hermanus - away from the crowds,but close enough for quick trips to the centre. Thank you for all the personal touches and special requests. You have the most beautiful place, staff and views - we loved it!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Alan & Rohan (Sydney, Australia)

Such a beautiful place to stay with equally amazing staff, making us feel so very special on our honeymoon!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Francesca & Daniele Sarti (Misano Adriatico, Italy)

Absolutely amazing! Kind service, cleanliness - the best guesthouse ever! Everything was absolutely perfect.

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Lara & Andrey (Palo Alto, California, USA)

It is paradise on Earth! What a treat to stay in this beautiful Guesthouse. it is so peaceful and tranquil here, you just want to sit and watch waves break at the shore. Thank you for creating lifetime memories!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Dagmar & Alex (Aschaffenburg, Germany)

Fantastic views, delicious breakfast, beautiful rooms and very warm-hearted staff!

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Remi BLANDINIERES (St Maxime, France)

I think this is the most beautiful and friendly Guesthouse I've ever seen. The view is incredible, the house is so clean and stylishly decorated, and the breakfast so tasty. Everything was PERFECT.

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Helmut And Manuela (Kempten, GER)

It was simply the best guest house we have stayed in on our journey through South Africa. The breakfast is unbeatable! Excellent!
We loved and apreciated Jena's attention to detail. Her advice every morning concerning things to do made our stay in the Hermanus area deeply interesting.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Karen & John Lanser (Taber, Colorado, US)

Exemplary professionalism and fabulous services! We will long remember all the little 'touches' of magnificence that delighted our senses and made our stay so memorable!

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Jackie (London)

Looking for the ultimate romantic celebration? Think: breakfast in bed while watching the whales in the waves below - a picnic lunch for two, complete with beach chairs, umbrella, wine and delectable delicatessen - a relaxing couples massage - romantic candle-lit sundowners on the balcony watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean – turn-down with rose petals, port wine, chocolates, scented linen …… Our stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse was truly magical and will be one of our cherished memories for many years to come.

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Dirk And Irma Prinsloo (Johannesburg)

We had such a wonderful experience at 138 Marine in Hermanus. The most beautiful guest house with an awesome view. I think this location is the best in the whole of the broader Hermanus area. The room was beautiful and with such wonderful hosts it was just a very special experience. We will definitely go back to this very special place.

August 2010

Excellent

Review by Elizabeth Groenewald (Brackenfell South Africa)

I have won a 3 night mid-week stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guest House on S.A Venue facebook competition in June 2010.

Thank you very much for the wonderful prize that I have won. What a wonderful experience it was to stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guest House- My husband and I was so spoiled that we didn’t want to go back home - The room was stunning- the staff wonderful and the breakfast as well as the bottle of Boland Wine and that romantic picnic was to die for - the best breakfasts (and it really change every day and I loved it) we ever had and we do travel a lot. We stay at the Guest house from 24 August until 27 August 2010 (I want to go back!!) and we saw a lot of whales at Grotto Beach near Hermanus where we enjoyed the picnic.

Thanks again Jena, Celeste and Louis for the wonderful stay - Elizabeth and Leslie Groenewald - Brackenfell / Cape Town / South Africa

November 2009

Excellent

Review by John & Carina De Belder (Antwerpen)

Dankuwel voor de warme ontvangst! De overheerlijke ontbyten & de adembenemende uitzichten, maakten deze dagen in 138 Marine onvergetelijk! Onze gedachten zullen tijdens de komende, barre wintermaanden in Belgie, heel vaak teruggaan naar 138 Marine!

November 2009

Excellent

Review by Tini, Steff & Elfriede (Germany)

This is a really special, beautiful, stunning place. The rooms are simply magnificent, the view breathtaking and the whole atmosphere very warm and friendly. Especially the fresh flowers everywhere, the scent of lavender in the bed, the bathtub with sea view and the delicious breakfast will stay iin our memories - not to mention all the whales we saw! We will recommend this place to all our friends and family and can't wait to come back.

July 2009

Excellent

Review by Michaela & Dani (Zofingen / CH)

Hospitality as we did not belive is still existing. Luxury rooms and a 5* kitchen... sitting in the livingroom having breakfast and watch the whales playing.. or having a glass of wine in front of the cheminee in the spacy lobby for guests...In this house nothing is missing..everything is there..even the weatherforecast for next day is placed on the bed every evening :-) Very charmful owner, whom live their passion. Would return tomorrow...but then stay longer than 3 nights!

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Tunbridge Wells (UK)

One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Our room was immaculate and the attention to detail on the room and the rest of the guest house was faultless. Lovely seafront views which can be viewed from the guest house terrace, balconies and rooms. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Jena and Louis left no detail uncovered and gave us a wonderful welcome.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Sue Patten (UK)

This is an absolutely stunning guest house, easily the highlight of our trip to the Cape. The location and views are superb, as is everything about the house itself from the fabulous rooms to the warm and ever helpful hospitality of Louis and Jena. We can't wait to go back.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Hennie Du Toit (Durban, South Africa)

At the top of the list of guest houses we have stayed in. Wonderful accommodation and hospitality. The views are superb! The breakfasts were absolutely superior. Great attention to detail throughout. We really felt at home and would recommend 138 Marine Drive to everybody. We shall most certainly stay there again.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Hayley & Ryk (UK)

138 has to be the most beautiful B&B we have ever stayed in! It is in a lovely quiet and safe area with outstanding views. Whales can be seen from the house. Jena & Louis are the perfect hosts they were extremely helpful. The house itself is finished to a very high standard and the attention to detail is second to none. We especially liked the turn down service at night and the lovely chocolates and rose petals!! You dont get that in your usual B&B. We stayed in the Coral room but saw the other rooms too and they are all beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic with a varied menu every day. Prices are very reasonable - you must stay here if you are looking for somewhere around Hermanus! We\'ll definitely be going back.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Charl & Marianne Fraser (Johannesburg)

We had a delightful 4-night stay at 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse., a beautiful house with a stunning view. The sea is literally meters away and the interior is lovely. Jens and Louis' attention to details made the stay even more special; from the delicious breakfasts and fresh flowers throughout the house to the complimentary sherry & port from the local vineyards. The staff was friendly and helpful and we will recommend the guesthouse to anyone visiting the Hermanus area.

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Gwen Guthrie (Orpington, UK)

What a fantastic place! This was three days of heaven. The owners and staff were wonderfully welcoming both before and during the stay. It was like being with caring friends or family. Nothing was too much trouble. Accomodation.....absolutely superb. One of the best places I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Breakfast..... great. Just what was needed to set us up for the day. Location.............terrific - quiet, tranquil, relaxing, with the sound of the sea and no crowds.

We loved this place and will go back at the first opportunity!

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Yumna & Selim (Paris)

It is one of the best guesthouses we have ever stayed in...pleasant and quite atmosphere. Great location; a few meters from the sea. Wonderful and smiley welcoming, friendly and helpful owners. Nice and polite staff.

It is a beautiful house with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Everything is tastefully arranged and designed. We were sure that all was done by an interior designer, and were surprised and impressed when we found out that it was done by the owner Jena, chapeau bas!

The sea views, even while having breakfast, is simply amazing.
In a word, it is a must, we had such a wonderful stay.

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Misty & Frap (Austin, Texas)

Since 1998, we have passed through or visited Hermanus several times and there are many lovely places where you can book a stay. Quite frankly, though, after our recent visit to 138Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, we will forever book our stays in Hermanus with Jena & Louis.

138Marine is wonderfully decorated with the perfect touches to remind you that you are enjoying a holiday by the sea. The rooms are spotless, bright and airy... and the linens... oh, the linens... are fresh, soft and comfortable.

The breakfast was deliciously prepared and delightfully presented. The presentation of our morning feast could only be emulated by a five-star restaurant in the business for 10 years! It was an excellent mix of food offerings and great service.

Finally, the most important aspect to note regarding our stay at 138Marine is the superb and quality attention we received. We enjoyed assistance with our dinner bookings, turn down of the bed linens, coffee upon our arrival and help with our laundry.

Overall, we cherished our stay at 138Marine and we look forward to returning in March/April of 2009 knowing that we will have another stellar experience! See you soon!

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Jennifer Crocker (Cape Town)

Loveliest Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. Every detail is perfect, crisp linen, lovely open refreshing layout and the views are spectacular. We had a fabulous stay at a very reasonable rate. The owners have got the mix of friendly attention and not stifling their guests just right. I am already planning our next stay there. I really liked the really beautiful way it is decorated and the friendly and professional approach of the owners.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Marsey Dotes (Chicago)

We stumbled on 138 by chance and I now wish we had scheduled more time in the area just to stay longer at this delightful B&B. The rooms, breakfasts, views and hosts all add up to much more than the price you pay to stay. It's an ABSOLUTE TREASURE of a guesthouse. The decor is such a refreshing change from the overdone Victorian nightmares that you come across so often when staying at B&Bs. I loved the look so much the hostess, Jena, gave me photos of the rooms so I could share it with my interior decorator! Yes, it may be a few minutes outside the main drag of Hermanus but the location lends itself to long walks along the rocky shore, quiet nights and whale watching on cool winter days. It's obvious to me that the host and hostess have stayed at their fair share of B&Bs and Guesthouses before opening their own as they have thought of all the details, big and small, that make the difference between a good stay and a great stay. If only we lived closer to South Africa we'd be back every year!

March 2008

Excellent

Review by Adam Felber (Hertfordshire)

“Don't hesitate...Book now”: This newly opened guesthouse deserves to be fully booked all year long. The owners have thought of the travellers every comfort in designing their place. The sea is so close that even if it is raining you can still watch the ocean from the comfort of your own living room with floor to ceiling patio doors and a telescope so that you can watch the whales as they come close to shore.. Should the weather be fine then you can open these doors and also sit out with a glass of wine on one of the two balconies and watch the ocean from there. The rates are very favourable and you must stretch to stay in the best room which has ocean views on three sides. Even if you are not hungry you must sample the housekeeper, Katie's, breakfast. Her gentle demenour and warm smile only added to the sumptous breakfast we received before we had to sadly be on our way. We only stayed one night but wish it had been more....can' wait to go back. I would recommend this place to anybody.

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Juli Kilian (Johannesburg)

“Better reason than the whales to visit Hermanus” - Firstly, the guesthouse itself. Simply amazing as far as arthictecture, interior furnishing & position is concerned. Set right on the seafront - any closer and your feet would be wet - with unobscured sea views from all bedrooms and the guest lounge which spills open onto a cocktail terrace. The mountain view deck is perfect for tanning & wine drinking. Positioned in a tranquil street a couple of minutes away from Hermanus CBD, but close enough to enjoy all the facilities of the tourist town. Luxury from the minute that you enter the B & B until you go to bed in the high quality percale cotton sheets. Secondly, the warm hospitality of Jena & Louis, the hosts, need special mention. With the assistance of the excellent chef, they serve delicious breakfasts with different menu's every day. And with Jena's designer's flair, she makes sure that the table settings are unique every day. Well worth experiencing!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.424991666
Longitude: 19.19189444411111

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 90km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome by prior arrangement, please enquire.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times by prior arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 2008 - 28 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap