Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Delightful place where one can find peace and tranquility in nature, not so far from busy JHB-Pretoria. Absolutely professional and friendly staff , and beautiful accommodation nestled in the natural habitat of the private game lodge with spectacular views over the veld . Peaceful nights gazing at stars and listening to the resident lions cared for under a conservation program. Learn about the natural habitat from a passionate and extremely knowledgeable game ranger. You will not see all of the big five, but will see the small five, and learn about the bush ecosystem.

December 2017

Anne-Marie Chidzero (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fantastic tranquil setting. Charity and her team is awesome and nothing are to much trouble. All the staff are friendly and efficient. A treatment at the spa should not be missed. The cuisine is delicious. The rangers are very knowledgeable and answer any questions you might have regarding the fauna and flora with ease. Will definitely visit this game lodge again.

June 2017

Lurinda Stander (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We must thank all the staff at Zwahili for their excellent service and hospitality. Everything at the lodge was five star. We have been to many resports/hotels/lodges in South Africa and must say that Zwahili is definitely on top of our holiday destinations.Thank you Fritz and Brett for the game drives and for making each one so interesting. We will visit Zwahili again in the near future. Best Regards Etienne, Marjorie, Brendon Trollip

December 2009

ETIENNE TROLLIP (ALBERTON)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow.... Thats the only word to describe this weekend at zwahili, we were spoiled rotten by your staff, the room, food and service were out of this world. I will always remember my stay at zwahili and can't for my next visit, can't begin to tell you how wonderful the whole weekend was. but a special thank you to Charity, Frans and Peter that really made the extra effort . kind regards Dean Harriss

September 2009

Dean Harriss (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Leighanne. We had the best time ever! It was absolutely fabulous! Thank you very much for everything. Please thank all the staff, especially Brett. We will definitely be back again! Kind Regards, Helgardt Slabbert

September 2009

Helgardt Slabbert (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Leighanne We are back in the saddle and I thought I'd just let you know that the weekend we have spend at Zwahili Game Lodge was wonderful. The service that we have received from all of your staff members was exceptional and that made our stay at the game lodge so much more enjoyable. At no time did we have to ask for anything, your staff was always one step ahead of us. I can definitely say that after a weekend such as this our body's, minds and soul's are revitalized. Everything was just awesome, the food was exceptional the way it was prepared and surfed, the accommodation at the Royal African lodge was beautiful. I would like to thank the following people for their hard work and friendliness. Frits, Bret, Piet, Cornelia, Charity as well as a female chef whose name I just cont remember. Even though I wouldn't want to single out any one person, I would have to say that Bret impressed us with his knowledge, and also because he really walked that extra mile to ensure that we enjoyed every game drive. He was never concerned about time. To the management of Zwahili I would like to say that with staff members such as these your business is safe and in good hands. Bare in mind that I am a very difficult customer and a perfectionist as well. Therefore I demand good service. This would be a first for me having nothing to complain about. If I have any criticism at all I would possible suggest that you have more of an variety for the main coarse on the menu. Possible two or three such as fish, chicken or beef instead of the one choice. However I am not complaining at all it just an suggestion. I can assure you that we will most definitely tell all of our friends and family about Zwahili Game Lodge and our experiences during our stay. Furthermore you can be assured that we would be visiting on a regular basis. Thanks again

September 2009

Andrť Swanepoel (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Leighanne, Thank you so much for upgrading our suite at the lodge this weekend. The Madiba suite was perfect. I have had the privilege of staying at Tau in Madikwe, Londolozi Main and Safari lodges in Sabi sands and would like to say that your lodge is truly of world class standard. I would like to compliment the staff at Zwahili for their excellent hospitality and service. My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Lodge. We were spoilt beyond belief. A special thank-you to Charity for her friendliness and the efficient check in and check out. She also made sure our needs were met throughout the stay. Also to the Manager/ranger, Frits for his hospitality and excellent knowledge of the bush and animals. He is a tremendous asset to the lodge. We look forward to returning to see all the developments that Zwahili will be undertaking in the future. It is wonderful that you are working so hard to conserve and grow the farm and it's wildlife. The chef went to an enormous amount of effort with the 5star meals. The soup dishes were especially delicious, the Beef steak on the first night was exceptional as was the salad and cheesecake desert on the second evening where were treated to a private dinner. Thanks to Frans for being willing to serve us at our room and in so doing making the evening possible. It was very special. We had a lovely time and the weekend spent at Zwahili will remain one of our fondest memories. We will certainly be back to visit again. We thought of bringing our parents at some stage. My parents are especially fond of the bush. Kind Regards, Dr Nichola Warren-Sykes (and my husband, Dr Richard Sykes)

April 2009

Dr Nichola Warren-Sykes (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Fritz, Charity, Piet, Frans and the nice lady in the kitchen (whose name we unfortunately didnít pick up), We can assure you that it is quite depressing to return from the beautiful Zwahili lodge and to find ourselves back into the small, gray, drizzling and chilly country called Luxembourg. As we are writing this mail to you the rain is coming down in buckets and the thermometer is trying very hard to keep its chin above ten degree mark Ö An appalling experience which drives our thoughts as you might expect towards more enjoyable moments, such as a romantic evening game drive wrapped up with a nice gin and tonic, for example. Well, dear friends from South Africa, the purpose of our mail is not to entertain you with wordy reflections but essentially to thank you for the superb conditions we enjoyed at the lodge -- from the room to the service in the restaurant et al. Fritz will no doubt have read our marks on the evaluation sheet. Itís all 5ís (the maximum rate), as we recall, and the only 4 - which didnít imply criticism at all - was a mere suggestion. We would like to suggest to the management and the lovely lady in the kitchen (whose name we unfortunately didnít pick up) to consider a second option as a main course for dinner. The food was outstanding, the setting beyond compare, the service memorable, but we could envision situations where some people wouldnít necessarily care for lamb, for example, or meat as a whole. Itís a minor issue, and we realize it will not necessarily make things easier, but it may be worth thinking about Ö So, to conclude, our hat goes off for the exceptionally high standards of the Zwahili lodge, the warmth and overall attitude of the personnel - with no exception - and, of course, having enjoyed the splendor of the Royal African, the spotless and comfortable room. We cannot promise you to come back Ė who can bet on the future? Ė but we will not hesitate a split-second to recommend your place to any of our acquaintances planning to spend some time in your region. Thank you again and good luck to you all! Marie-Paule Georges and Jan De Winter, Luxembourg-Europe

April 2009

Marie-Paule Georges and Jan De Winter (Luxembourg-Europe)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most wonderful weekend! We were treated like royalty and loved every minute - thank you. A special thank you to Charity for all the special touches that made our stay so unforgettable. Paddy and Bev

August 2008

Bev (South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    6,700
  • R
  • 4020
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Zwahili Private Game Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.