Reviews & Comments

Showing 150 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Walli and Rainer for a wonderful visit to the beautiful ZUR ALTEN MINE. Our accommodation was perfect, our breakfast offered a variety one could only dream of and we had a lovely walk through the forest and surrounding area. Thanks also for the trouble you took in booking dinner for us at a local restaurant!

April 2018

Marietjie Le Roux (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful place to relax a few days and perfect for visiting the Panorama Route. Probably the best option for staying in the Graskop area. The Cottages are ideal for couples as for families. Thanks for the great stay!

April 2017

OP (Fuerth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Walli und Rainer sind sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Gastgeber. Die Cottages großzügig, schön und sauber. Die alte Mine liegt in einer ruhigen Lage inmitten schöner Natur. Zum Frühstück gibt es selbstgemachte Brötchen und reichlich Auswahl. Das Internet funktioniert gut. Was braucht man mehr für einen schönen Aufenthalt?

January 2017

Christoph Schweitzer (Esslingen am Neckar, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed 4 nights in the Honeymoon Chalet even we passed that time in life years ago. It is a cosy, well equipped Chalet in the middle of a beautiful garden boarding a little forest making our stay wonderful and relaxing . The continental breakfeast is of excellent quality and the highlight are homemade rolls and prezels every morning. The owners are always assisting with secret tips regarding routes and restaurants besides the commercialised Tourist attractions. It is the perfect B&B at the Panorama Route . We will definitely return to this family run jewel which atmosphere is rarely to be found.

January 2017

Hans Juergen Buchholz (Komatipoort)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second stay at Zur Alten Mine and will certainly not be our last!! We will absolutely recommend Zur Alten to anyone looking for accommodation in the Lowveld. It was wonderful to see the renovations and upgrades made to the cottage since our last stay. The cottage has everything you would possibly need and the special little extra touches like the cookies and chocolates as well as the fresh flowers were appreciated. Walli & Rainer are really helpful and accommodating.

December 2016

L Kemp (Delmas)

Verified reviewexcellent

Friendly hosts, comfortable cottages, very clean and impeccable service.

December 2016

Kerstin van den Berg (Magaliesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 2 nights during our tour of the Panorama Route, Blyde River Canyon. A great place to go and unplug. The cabin was very cosy and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Nestled in lush green gardens overlooking the pond. It's a beautiful and tranquil place and I would highly recommend Zur Alten Mine Guesthouse to anyone looking for accommodation on the Panorama Route; it's great value for money. I'm definitely coming back for a longer stay!

November 2016

Vallais (TOURS FRANCE)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent the night in the Honeymoon Cabin during our weekend tour of the Panorama Route. A great place to go and unplug. The cabin was very cosy and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Nestled in lush green gardens overlooking the pond. It's a beautiful and tranquil place and I would highly recommend Zur Alten Mine Guesthouse to anyone looking for accommodation on the Panorama Route; it's great value for money. I'm definitely coming back for a longer stay!

November 2016

Ntombi (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were a young vibrate group of ladies looking for both adventure and traquality, I must say Zur Alten Mine allowed us to experience just that. The family cottage had everything we needed, from a modern bathroom to an incredible outdoor space and clean bedrooms, we couldn't have asked for better. The host was the most friendliest of all so far since i started travelling. I would definitely recommend Zur Alten Mine to both young and old, adventure seekers or peace seekers, it will not disappoint... Value for money too.

November 2016

Valerie T (Pretoria )

Verified reviewexcellent

The best escape we had in an long while! Rainer was extremely friendly and very helpful. He is an amazing host! We did the walking trail on the property, it was an amazing trail. It was so peaceful, quiet and very beautiful. Fresh roses in the living area, that made you feel right at home. We loved the fresh cookies that was in the kitchen. The Cottage self was very neat and clean with all the basics that makes you feel right at home. We had an amazing time! We will definitely go visit again. Thank you once again for your hospitality and all of your help.

August 2016

Nadene (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was truely great everything was just super and I'll tell friends and assocuiates here at BMW everything was to german standards, cabin, breakfast and staff friendly. Thanks once again. Dave. A.

July 2016

Dave. Adam. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was excellent great escape to the bush side very neat clean spacious and fully equipped but my personal favorite was the touch of fresh flowers on the front table and my daughter was so impressed with the cookies every day , our view from our living area is really beautiful . That is really awesome thank u for making our stay so wonderful with the personal touch .

June 2016

Cindy Bruwer (LIMPOPO )

Verified reviewexcellent

Great stay! Central and perfect to visit surroundings. Cosy cottage, clean modern with everything you need as well as a fireplace, electric blankets and heaters. On a farm with a walk to an old mine. Friendly hosts. Perfect!

June 2016

Elizabeth (Welkom)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place place to stay. Quiet, peaceful, lovely views especially from the top of the trail. Big spacious garden for the kids to run, loved the chairs by the pond. Central to all tourist attractions. Cottage was clean, neat, serviced daily. Our kids named it their "tree house". You will definitely see us again.

June 2016

Holland family (Garsfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great ! We enjoyed our stay and we recommend Zur Alten Mine. Beautiful and quiet place. Host very friendly with good advice for all things ! and what a delicious home- made breakfast !!!

May 2016

POMARICO JOELLE (annecy)

Verified reviewexcellent

The accommodation was on point. From check in to how the chalets were meticulously cleaned and layed out. Had a great experience all in all...It is conveniently located close to all main attractions, God's Window, Three Rondavels amongst others. I urge others to check in at Zur Alten Mine.

March 2016

Tshebetso (Johannesburg )

Verified reviewexcellent

Very cosy ,clean and neat.We enjoyed our stay and we can recommend Zur Alten Mine to everybody who wants a nice and quiet place to stay and unwind from the rat race.

February 2016

Richard Keogh (Boksburg Gauteng )

Verified reviewvery good

Good place to stay, Rainer is really kind . Infortunately a thunderstorm has cut electricity in the chalets during one hour... Very good breakfast in the morning. We really appreciated our stay here.

February 2016

Grosset (Etang salé)

Verified reviewexcellent

very cosy and neat place. no disturbance from fellow travellers or staff of the place. Good place to spend time withfamilly...

January 2016

Jayandrin (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

I will never stay anywhere else in Graskop! Rainer was extremely friendly and helpful with great travelling tips. Superb host. The location was perfect and the chalet was cosy with lovely touches like fresh flowers, daily clean towels and dishes being washed by the staff in the mornings. What a lovely surprise! We simply loved every minute of our stay!

January 2016

Tenielle Matthews (Den Haag)

Verified reviewexcellent

One the most beautiful and tranquil places we've stayed at! Excellent service and good quality for money! Thank you for the wonderful holiday and we will be back.

December 2015

Jeanette Gouws (White River)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay at Zur Alten Mine tremendously and will definitely go back. The cottage was neat and comfortable and serviced daily. This included washing of the dishes etc.as well as replenishing the coffee and home baked rusks we were spoilt with. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating.

December 2015

E Labuschagne (Vereeniging)

Verified reviewexcellent

Warm friendly welcome from Rainer when we arrived. Great advice from where to go and places to dine. We had such an Awesome stay. Cottage was VERY need and had everything needed. A TV might be an option for the units. WOW you guys are stars. Keep up the good work, Will definitely see us again. Jan en Maritza Smith

December 2015

Maritza Smith (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

An excellent place to stay. Rainer was extremely friendly and helpful with great travelling tips. Superb host. The location was perfect and the chalet was cosy with lovely touches like fresh flowers, daily clean towels and homemade breakfast in the mornings. Dishes being washed by the staff. We simply loved every minute of our stay! Thank you very much.

November 2015

Heinz Peter (Mülheim)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in Graskop for 4 nights to explore the "Panorama Route" and the Kruger NP. This is such an excellent B&B with very welcoming hosts. Rainer gave us lots of very good travelling advice. The property is very spacious and there is even a tranquil walking trail on the premises. The chalets are very well equipped, clean and private. And not to forget: the home-made breakfast was so delicious. We have absolutely nothing to complain about.

November 2015

Sonja & Gernot (Düsseldorf (Germany))

Verified reviewexcellent

Booked last minute from graskop and luckily they had a chalet available! Well priced for excellent quality! Friendly hosts and great advice on where to visit on the way to three rondavels! The restaurant near the river was the best recommendation, and a highlight of our trip, thanks! Also, will book dinner for you at a great place, glass house, good curries, entertaining host! Glad we found this place, and will return if in this area! :)

October 2015

Matthew (Underberg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay for 2 nights. Very good location (near Blyde river canyon and J_Kruger Park) Excellent suggestions for dining or travelling from the manager.

October 2015

Guy (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Site excellent, bien entretenu. Accueil parfait et service impeccable. Je recommande vivement

October 2015

PELABORDE (CESTAS)

Verified reviewexcellent

We can definitely recommend this accomodation. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. Rainer and Walli are welcoming Hosts, the farm is beautiful and the chalets are well equipped.

August 2015

Stefanie (Stuttgart)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a lovely family cottage! It was very comfortable and the perfect starting point for exploring Blyde River Canyon. My family and I were happy to spend the night here and greatly enjoyed the fireplace. My nephews in particular were charmed by the goats and the lovely country setting. I would encourage everyone to enjoy Rainer and Walli's terrific breakfast as it was the perfect start to a busy day. The banana bread was amazing! We also appreciated Rainer's recommendations on how to tackle Blyde River Canyon given our limited time in Mpumalanga. Overall, a wonderful stay in Grasskop.

August 2015

D. Dayal (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Sehr gute Unterkunft. Wir werden immer wieder kommen, wenn wir in der Gegend sind. Super Ausstattung, sehr schöne Lage, sehr guter und netter Service.

June 2015

Stephan (Wuppertal)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved the individual accommodation... Made me feel like I was at home! The hosts as well as staff were very willing to accommodate any needs and were super friendly with advise on the surroundings and places to visit! Will definitely be back!

April 2015

Cynthia Le roux (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Zur Alten Mine. The log chalet was very clean and homely and we were thankful that our hosts kept us up to date with Eskom's load shedding schedule! The well stocked fireplace and lanterns came in really handy during these times. The farm is beautiful and quiet, and we loved the baby goats! We can definitely recommend Zur Alten Mine as a lovely place to stay.

April 2015

Micheline (Boksburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a clean ,efficiant and friendly stay in your tranquill surroundings . Rainer's knowledge of the area is also invalueble . We love it and will defnitely be back ! Peter.

January 2015

Peter de la Rey (Germiston)

Verified reviewexcellent

wow! The Owner were very much friendly and healpfull about evrything. what a lovely pleasant stay,Hospitality was above excellent. A home away from home will definately suggest ZurAltern Mine for people who want to go on holiday in GRASKOP.Will Definately come back again.wow!

December 2014

Brenda and Philemon (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

AMAZING experience! Where to begin??? The hosts Rainer & Walli truly went out of their way to provide satisfaction with service/s. They made a personal connection with myself and through that they really made me feel right at home, they are very generous with any advice you need, no matter the subject. Amazing Hospitality! Next up is the accomodation, the family cottage was a great self catering unit. The kitchen had everything you could need. The living room is big enough for everyone, the bathroom was very modern and well equipped. Braai outside the unit was very convenient and private, other units have a communal braai area. There is a very beautiful forest walk/hiking route on the premises. Tranquil and relaxing. Next is location: Perfectly central to all tourist locations and major site seeing places. Kruger Park +- 1 hour drive away, God's Window and other places are in a 20 minute drive radius. Graskop town is about 5 minutes drive away, walkable if you should choose to. Sudwala caves about 45 minutes drive. Very good location in every way. Lastly, the payments went through smoothly, no issues at all and their books are very well maintained. Overview: Truly an awesome experience! Highly recommended!

December 2014

Johan Koster (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We stayed in the honeymoon cottage. The love theme was everywhere and made us oldies smile and feel very comfortable. The shower is BLISS! The best shower I have ever been in and large enough for two if you wanted to! We also had lovely walks on this beautiful property. What a pleasure to walk into accommodation that was sparkling clean. Thank you

November 2014

George & Louise Astbury (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stunning little place, totally surprised - The cottage was beautiful, fully equipped and way above our expectations. Will definitely return one day to explore more. The hosts were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home from the moment we met.

November 2014

Janet (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent one week at „zur alten Mine“ and we must say it was awesome ! This self-catering farm is located in the center of the panorama route close to various sights of this region. Whoever wants to visit this beautiful area or looks for a stop-over to the Krugerpark is in good hands here. We know the chalets and the garden-cottage and both are well equipped and very well maintained. You will find a complete kitchen, a new renovated bathroom and BBQ-facilities. For cold days you can use the fireplace. Wood and enough blankets are available. We recommend to book incl. breakfast as you will not only get a rich meal but a lot of information as well. Walli and Rainer (the hosts) provided us with very good advises every morning so we explored places which are not listed on each guidebook. The lush garden (actually a park) is a lovely place for birdwatchers and you can walk a small trail through a nice rain forest to the gold mine. Maybe you will be accompanied by Susi, Sparky and Speedy the sweet dogs of the farm. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our car and they organized the exchange with the rental company on our behalf. Conclusion: We are convinced that it´s hard to find a better place for that money !

November 2014

Thorsten & Michi (Frankfurt Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had excellent few days here . The atmosphere was perfect. The cottage is very well equipped and extremely clean. ... however , the rusks jar was the most popular piece of "equipment" there :-) The available firewood and the crackling fie place saved our , otherwise ruined by the rain , second day. The hosts are very polite and professional. The dogs are well trained and obedient. The morning walk to the old mine, top field of the farm and down along the river was very refreshing too.Will definitely go back in the future and do recommend it to anyone going that direction.

September 2014

VIktor (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was wonderful to stay at the Zur Alten Mine. The place is just clean and the area itself just peaceful. I will most difinitely visit this place again. Wonderful:)

September 2014

Solomon Kobela (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks Walli and Rainer for a wonderful stay. Your accommodation is a little paradise! We loved the breakfast and all your helpful tips for activities in that area. Next time we will definitely will stay at "Zur alten Mine" again.

July 2014

Voth, Katja (Bad Lippspringe)

Verified reviewexcellent

We are return guests to Zur Alten Mine. On both occasions our hosts have been welcoming. This time we stayed in the family cottage. It was lovely and had everything we could possibly need and ask for. Very well maintained. We loved the doggies (reminded us of home) and the goats. The farm is lovely ,quiet and very peaceful.We would have no hesitation in recommending Zur Alten Mine. Our stay was lovely. Thank you to our hosts. Regards Charles, Laura & Family

July 2014

Charles Dos Santos (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir haben im Juni 2014 eine kleine Rundreise durch den Norden von SA gemacht. Die "alte Miene" war eine von vielen Stationen. Wir haben uns hier total wohl gefühlt. Rainer hat uns sofort erklärt, wo es das beste Essen im Ort gibt, man einkaufen kann und was man halt sonst noch wissen muss. Unser Garden Cottage war super. Mit Heizung und Holzofen. Von den anderen Gästen haben wir gar nichts mitbekommen, weil alles sehr weitläufig ist. Unser Sohn hatte einen Riesenspaß mit den drei Hunden (übrigens sind alle drei sehr gut erzogen). Bei Walli und Rainer bekamen wir wirklich das beste Frühstück auf unserer Reise. Super lecker. Selbstgemachte Marmelade, warme Brötchen, Wurst und Käse, Kaffee, Kakao, Saft, Joghurt, Obst und Eier wie man Sie halt möchte. Alles wird noch gekrönt durch diese persönliche Atmosphäre. Rainer gab uns Tipps, wie wir am Besten die Panoramaroute erkunden sollen. Und das war perfekt. Unser Sohn hatte (leider) nach einem Tag genug von Wasserfällen. Also hat uns Rainer geraten, schnell mal in den Krüger zu fahren. Er hat uns mit Kartenmaterial und Infos versorgt und (obwohl die Beiden gerade Besuch zum Essen hatten) noch schnell eine Kühlbox mit lecker Essen gepackt. Das Preis-Leistungsverhätnis ist hier super. Man bekommt viel für wenig Geld. Wenn wir wieder mal in der Gegend sind, würden wir sofort wieder bei Walli und Rainer einen längeren Aufenthalt einplanen.

June 2014

C. Munz (Tübingen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Super Unterkunft!

June 2014

Samu (Ingolstadt)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a pleasant stay and will definitely go back again! Rainer and Walli were very welcoming, and gracious hosts. They recommended sights to see, how to get there and where to eat. The rooms were clean and well stocked with a modern shower. Excellent place.

May 2014

Westen Nkomo (Kagiso)

Verified reviewvery good

We enjoyed a special stay at Zur Alten Mine - will definitely recommend it to family and friends who visit Mpumalanga.

April 2014

Estelle (Johannesburg, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second visit to Zur Alten Mine and would definitely go back again!! Everything was perfect, peaceful and beautiful! Would definitely recommend it to anybody!! We absolutely loved the doggies it made it feel even more homely! The unit we stayed in was perfect, everything that you would need is there!!!!!! LOVED LOVED the rusks!!!!! Brilliant you guys!!! Keep it up!!! Won't get better service anywhere else!!!

April 2014

Heloise (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay with my husband, beautiful scenery and cool weather. The environment was so quiet and peaceful, very close to nature. Delicious breakfast everyday. We will definately be back. Thank you Walli and Reiner for being such wonderful hosts, keep it up Thank you so much Reiner and Walli

December 2013

nonhlanhla and Dennis (south africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

First two nights on our South Africa vacation and the perfect start. Super friendly hosts with fantastic recommendations for the area (do especially follow all leads to restaurants - they are spot on) and the cottage we stayed in was quite nice as well.

November 2013

Judith und Stephan (Friedrichsdorf)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zur Alten Mine was our first two nights on our four week holiday in South Africa. It is a great location, very well maintained and Rainer and Walli are tremendous hosts. Their advice and guidance on what to do and see, particularly the fantastic 'Bush Restaurant' was spot on. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Zur Alten Mine. Regards John Walton

September 2013

John Walton (Crawley, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ich war zum 3. Mal dort - das sagt immerhin schon deutlich: Es ist klasse in der Alten Mine, ein super Frühstück, eine tolle Beratung, Rainer und Walli sind jederzeit hilfsbereit und über die gesamte Region bestens informiert, so dass sie gute Tipps geben können. Ich hoffe, dass ich es schaffe, wieder zu kommen.

August 2013

Ursula Happe (Duisburg - Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

The log cabin was very nice and cosy with a great fireplace. Rainer was a very friendly and welcoming host. Beautiful scenery and surroundings. Thank you!

August 2013

Craig Van Rensburg (Margate)

Verified reviewexcellent

We found this wonderful place on the internet and took a chance at staying there without having any personal recommendations. We were not disappointed. The log cabin we stayed in was perfect, very comfortable and spacious. There was a lot of attention to detail. The shower was the bonus for us as most places we have stayed have very bad showers with just about no water pressure - this shower works really well. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast. I will definately recommend Zur Alten Mine to all my friends.

August 2013

Albert & Eileen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stop over on our trip to the Lowveld . Good value and the hosts have included a lot of little things that are not normally supplied . Lovely garden and forest walks for cramped traveled legs .

July 2013

James Jeffery (Worcester South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. Your attention to every detail for our family was much appreciated. The breakfasts were amazing, your helpful maps made our drives efficient and your warm hospitality will not be forgotten. Lovely atmosphere, warm hosts and comfortable accommodations. Sincerely, the Yarnall family

July 2013

Brenda Yarnall (Eureka, CA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir wurden herzlich und warm empfangen, gut unterrichtet über die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Umgebung, unser Chalet war sauber und es fehltenichts. Rainer war auch so nett und buchte für uns eine Unterkunf im Krüger Park, wir brauchten uns um nichts zu kümmern. Das Frühstück war ausgezeichnet und hat uns fit für den Tag gemacht. Wenn möglich werden wir wiederkommen.

May 2013

A+P Tameling (Omaruru)

Verified reviewexcellent

We recently stayed at Zur Alten Mine for a week, and were impressed not only with the friendliness of our hosts, but also that it was even better than we had expected. The cabin was comfortable and well-equipped, the location is perfect and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere of the resort was exactly what we wanted. We especially enjoyed spending quality time afternoons on the deck of our cabin, just chatting and relaxing. Definitely recommended.

April 2013

Dries van der Walt (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely setting. Accommodation just what I required. My car's battery went flat because I had left the lights on and it was no trouble asking for and getting the help I required.

March 2013

Karen Pollock (Alberton RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dies war die erste Unterkunft unseres Südafrika Urlaubs, wir sind damals nach Johannesburg geflogen und haben hier unsere ersten zwei Nächte in diesem wunderschönen Land verbracht. Und wunderschön ist auch die Unterkunft! Wir hatten einen Bungalow mit 4 Betten eigener Küche, Bad und sogar einen wunderschönen Garten mit einem Top Grill! Es war alles super sauber und gepflegt! Es gibt auch noch einen kleinen Teich in dem man sich bei heißem Wetter oder nach einer anstrengenden fahrt erfrischen kann! Die Landschaft in der sich diese Unterkunft befindet ist total schön, sehr bewaldet und sehr ruhig und doch ist man trotzdem nicht ab vom Schuss! Es ist meiner Meinung nach der perfekte Zwischenstopp wenn man von Johannesburg in den Krüger Nationalpark will und nicht die ganze Strecke an einem Stück fahren will! Allerdings empfehle ich jedem der hier vorbeikommt mindestens 2 Nächte zu bleiben, da es rund um den Blyde River Canyon viel zu erkunden gibt und das ist es auch auf jeden Fall wert! Die beiden Besitzer sind super freundlich und haben uns eine Tolle Tour zusammengestellt! In diesem Sinn auch beste Grüße an euch beide! P.s. Man sollte unbedingt das Frühstück probieren, dies war definitiv das leckerste das wir in unserem ganzen Urlaub in Südafrika bekommen haben!

February 2013

Markus Eder (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nous avons séjourné dans le chalet Lune de Miel et avons passé un moment très agréable avant de remonter la Blyde River. Le confort est très sympa, les paysages magnifiques, l'accueil tès gentil et plein de bons conseils pour les choses à voir dans le coin et les restos pour le soir. Le petit déjeuner était très copieux et déicieux. Nous y retournerons sans hésiter ! A bientôt Walli et Rainer...

January 2013

Pascal Jaffrédou (Salon de Provence)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the privilege of being able to stay at Zur Alten Mine over the Christmas weekend, and only have compliments on the clean, homely,well situated accommodation and friendly hosts. I would recommend Walli and Rainer's bit of paradise to all going to the Graskop/Sabie area!

December 2012

Owen (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Zur Alten Mine over the December holidays for our Honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend it to anybody that is looking for a quiet getaway. The isolated chalets and beautiful scenery created the perfect atmosphere! Walli and Rainer were very helpful and friendly hosts!! Thank you once again for the lovely time we had!! Best regards - William and Lizelle

December 2012

William & Lizelle (Witbank)

Verified reviewexcellent

We traveled 3 weeks through South Africa. "Zur Alten Mine" was the very best accomodation we had. The chalets are very spacious and clean. The breakfast was absolutely enough and tasted very fine. Rainer and Wally do their best for their guests. Rainer has a lot of good ideas what you can do around Graskop, even when the weather is not so fine.

November 2012

Richard (Salzburg, Austria)

Verified reviewexcellent

yes yes i was there ...in paradise hehehe together with my husband and daughter,i must recommend any one wishing to visit S.A., to tell you the truth i miss all from Zur Alten Mine specially you both Walli and Rainer ,very good people,Rainer and Walli do their best for their guests,and we had the best hospitality...i miss the green colour,the fresh air,....yam yam nice breakfast...hehe good enviroment ahhhh i miss all,we will be back,thx for all confort you gave to us,from Mozambique a big Hug.

November 2012

Claudia (Inhambane/Mozambique)

Verified reviewexcellent

Perfect start of our Southafrica Adventure in this amazing place with a lovely hut, a warming fire, an excellent braai and very helpful & friendly hosts - walli & rainer with personally tipps and a marvellous breakfast. We will come back!

October 2012

Frank & Chris (Cologne / Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful setting - the best in Graskop! Chalets are clean and modern with all the facilities you will need. Hosts, Rainer and Walli are friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. The breakfast is also very good value.

October 2012

Earl (Westville)

Verified reviewexcellent

L’hôtel est situé à l'extérieur de la ville de Graskop, à 3 km en voiture, dans une propriété prévée, centrée par un point d'eau. Nous avions un petit chalet très agréable, en bois, avec cuisine et excellentes prestations, propre et joliment décoré. Un petit plus: le poêle à bois pour un petit feu le soir d'autant qu'il fait plutôt frais en Octobre dans les montagnes de la Black river. Un véritable plaisir qui justifie un séjour d'au moins deux jours!!

October 2012

Famille Française (Réunion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very friendly, helpful hosts who share a little paradise with their guests. Very good breakfasts, good tips for each day, beautiful landscape, lots of things to do. Chalets well equipped and very clean, all at a very acceptable price.

October 2012

Peter and Birgit Gladwin (Murrhardt, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wunderschöner Ausgangspunkt für eine 4-wöchige Reise in SA. Einfach toll gelegen, super Chalet und ein geniales Frühstück mit tollen Tipps von Walli und Rainer!!

October 2012

Andreas (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

me an my friends had a wonderfull weekend at ur guest farm.love it wish to cum back again for a week now......... have a wonderfull days cate and friends

September 2012

cate (polokwane)

Verified reviewexcellent

Es war der Start unserer 3 1/2 wöchigen Afrikareise, und was soll ich sagen, sie hätte besser nicht beginnen können. Naja, fatal war es schon, denn die Messlatte für die folgenden Unterkünfte wurde sehr hoch gelegt ;-) !! Geniale Unterkunft, super Essen, klasse Betreuung - besser geht es wirklich nicht!! Vielen Dank Euch noch mal - auch für die "Besorgung" unserer Koffer :-) !!

September 2012

Sandra S. (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ich war îm Juli 2008 schon einmal da, also keine Frage, dass es prima ist, wenn man zum zweiten Mal dorthin fährt - und ich hoffe, dass es nicht zum letzten Mal war. Excellenter Ausgangspunkt für den landschaftlich orientierten Teil einer Reise - und ..... wenn das Wetter Kapriolen schlägt, ist es ja auch schnell möglich, einen Tag im Krüger-Park einzuschieben. Ein wunderbares Frühstück bildet jeweils den gelungenen Einstieg in den Tag.

September 2012

Ursula Happe (Duisburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zur Alten Mine is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the natural surroundings. The log cabin we stayed in was in a class of its own and was equipped with everything and more that one would need. The location is also ideal if you would like to drive the Panorama Route and is easily accessible from all directions. My family and I truly enjoyed our stay there and our hosts Rainer and Walli were so friendly and hospitable-thank you guys for an awesome weekend. I would definitely recommend to family or friends wishing to visit the Lowveld.

September 2012

Alvin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in the honeymoon chalet over a busy weekend. It was wonderful and the chalet is very well equipped compared to other self catering places we have stayed at. It is very neat and clean and we loved the rusks we received every morning. Breakfast at R50 per person is a must do. The location is perfect and hospitality is world class! Thank you very much Rainer & Walli for making our stay wonderful! We will be back!

September 2012

Mr. & Mrs.Dreyer (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place, corner of Paradise! Great stuff :)

September 2012

Giuseppe (Italy)

Verified reviewexcellent

we had an excellent stay. Wonderfull garden, nice house and most important, friendly people.

September 2012

Jan en Elske Bulte (Nijmegen NL)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for the stay, we had an amazing time there. Rooms clean and comfortable, hosts very nice and helpful, breakfast excellet. I'll come again! Merci!

September 2012

Raphael Colin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful! We had the time of our lives. The hosts Rainer & Walli made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Going back in December!!!

August 2012

Jo-Ann & Corne Malan (Springs)

Verified reviewexcellent

Gute Lage, schöne Landschaft und wunderschöne Unterkunft. Saubere, gemütliche Häuser mit Kamin und super schönen Bad. Ich habe leider nur zwei Nächte in "Zur alten Mine" verbracht, wäre gern länger geblieben. Danke an Rainer und Walli!

August 2012

Verena Mangold (Iggingen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks Zur Alten MIne for a fabulous stay (AGAIN)!!

August 2012

Leilani van Dyk (Middelburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir waren für 4 Nächte bei Rainer und Walli und waren sehr begeistert. Die Bungalows auf dem schönen Gelände sind sauber, geräumig, gut eingerichtet und haben ein tolles neues Bad. Rainer und Walli haben uns mit vielen Tipps und Infos versorgt und es kam keine Langeweile auf. Auch das Frühstück das die beiden zubereiten ist absolut super. Danke noch einmal für die schöne Zeit.

August 2012

Marion (Deutschland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for being such awesum hosts!! We will never stay anywhere else. You have a wonderful place and your hospitality is absolutely great!

August 2012

Rina (Germiston)

Verified reviewexcellent

If I can describe this weekend in two words: Nothing Compares !!!!! Thank you so much for an amazing weekend. Special thanx to Rainer and Walli the most Awesum weekend ever!!

August 2012

Sakkie en Elsabe (Lydenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ohne ein Gefühl dafür, was uns in Südarfika erwarten wird, sind wir mit zwei Kindern auf selbstorganisierte Reise gegangen und zum Glück bei Rainer und Walli gelandet. Die beiden haben uns Südafrika übersetzt und uns unaufdringlich und bescheiden in die wichtigsten Besonderheiten eingeführt. Mit ihrer Hilfe haben wir noch drei erlebnisreiche Wochen ohne eine einzige Komplikation verbracht. Die Unterkünfte sind auch für Familien allerbestens, es gibt einen Kamin und kostenlos Holz zum Heizen. Vor allem aber gibt es, wenn man will, auch mal richtiges deutsches Frühstück. Wir sagen noch einmal von ganzem Herzen: Danke!

August 2012

Mario und Katrin mit Familie (Zittau)

Verified reviewvery good

Sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Umgebung. Ganz toll war der Kamin zum Heizen, die Tipps, die Hilfe mit dem Mietwagen und vor allem das Frühstück ! Familie Werner

August 2012

Familie Werner (Geislingen)

Verified reviewexcellent

If you happen to be exploring the Blyde River Canyon, you won't find a nicer place to stay. We always travel with our two young children and dream of finding places like this. Walli & Rainer are wonderful hosts, the room was great, the location was excellent for exploring the beautiful surroundings and the breakfast was simply superb (fresh home-made bread, delicious vleischsalat, lovely eggs etc). Wood is also provided for your braai and inside fireplace. Real bonus on a chilly night like we had... We cannot recommend this guest farm highly enough! Thanks for a great stay.

August 2012

Claude Renaud (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi there Rainer & Walli we as family would once again like to thank you for the week that we have stayed at your guest farm. It was wonderful and like before the kids enjoyed the open space. Keep well and thanks again. Johan, Isabel and kids (Johan & Ilze)

July 2012

Johannes Coetzer (Kemptonpark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing! You have to stay here. We loved it, everything we needed for such a comfortable stay.Beautiful natural forest to walk in, birdlife, roaring log fire and so peaceful and quiet.Thankyou Walli and Rainer for your hospitality and tips on what to visit in the area. Hope we see you again next year. The Griffith Family

July 2012

Griffith Family. (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful and relaxing place. Our hosts Wally and Rainer are very nice and efficient. Great hospitality and we felt like at home. We really loved this place to be remembered forever. Hope to go back there once again. djeam and alain ( france)

July 2012

LUTZ (rumilly)

Verified reviewexcellent

One word,AWESOME,!!!!!!!!!!

July 2012

Moolman (Virginia)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an awsome place! The perfect place to unwind and relax with beautifull views. Clean, modern, and near all the main attractions. Friendly hosts that makes you feel welcome. Will go back again and again!!!!!

July 2012

Prinsloo Family (Carletonville)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful! Whenever I visit that part of the worldmagain, I wont need to think twice where I'd want to stay. Thank you!

July 2012

Carina (Krugersdorp)

Verified reviewvery good

Hallo, unsere ersten Nächte in SA haben wir in "Zur alten Mine" verbracht. Die Blockhäuser sind traditionell, sehr schön eingerichten, mit kleiner Küche einem neuen Bad und einem Kamin. Es war sehr schön zu Beginn in einer deutschsprachigen Unterkunft zu sein. Von Rainer und Walli haben wir sehr gute Tipps für unsere weitere Reise erhalten und Hilfe bei der Autovermietung. Vielen Dank nochmal. Die Lage ist sehr gut. Es ist alles gut zu erreichen. Wir haben uns sehr sicher gefühlt. Leider waren wir nur zwei Nächt dort.

July 2012

Judith (Deutschland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for one night in winter. The room was spacious and clean, and a fireplace kept us warm, which was greatly appreciated given the near-freezing temperature outside. All-in-all, a wonderful place to stay, and great value too! Given that this is priced as low as, or lower than, other guesthouses in and around Graskop and Pilgrim's Rest, I'd definitely recommend it.

July 2012

Carl (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Un accueil chaleureux, un petit déjeuner excellent et copieux ( tout est fait maison) , un site magnifique avec vue dégagée, un chalet confortable avec point feu indispensable au mois de juillet, un "braii" avec coin repas très agréable, le tout dans une région remplie de merveilles à visiter... rien ne manque!!! Il faut rester minimum 2 nuits pour profiter un maximum.

July 2012

mandel didier (mieussy 74 France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for the 3 days we've spent at Zur Alten Mine. Your chalets were very nice, clean and had a touch of class. The views were breathtaking. You guys helped us in getting activities 9things to do) in the area, much appreciated. I can honestly recommend Zur Alten Mine to my friends. Thank you so much. Regards, Sihle Gumede

June 2012

Sihle Gumede (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zur Alten Mine was a fantastic spot. Not only is it perfectly positioned to explore the Blyde River Canyon and surrounding waterfalls, etc, but also Pilgrims Rest. The cottage itself is perfectly appointed and everything was clean and organised. Friendly people too. All in all a great spot that I will be recommending to anyone that wants to visit the area !!!!

June 2012

Stuart (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

With the wooden cottage, the forests and the log fires, it felt as though we were in a total other world. A time to think, laugh and be happy. Just what we needed. Thanks for being the perfect hosts, leaving us when we needed to be alone but always there with a happy smile, wave and chat. We will see you soon

June 2012

Joy (Clocolan)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zur Alten Mine is a true gem! We enjoyed every moment! Attention to detail everywhere!! We saw a lot of birds, walked in the natural forest and relaxed at the dam! The hosts, Walli and Rainer, are friendly and helpful - making guests feel at home! WE CAN RECOMMEND ZUR ALTEN MINE!!!!

June 2012

Van Zyl Family (Somerset west)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful 2-night stay. The fireplace - wow - we really tried to make a dent in the firewood. Thanx for your hospitality. Good luck for the future. This establishment is really highly recommended. Regards Hennie & Marianne

June 2012

Hennie & Marianne (Langebaan)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks to Rainer & Walli, we really enjoyed our week"s stay at at your cottage. It's a great base for exploring the area. Everything was excelllent, very neat and clean. We really liked the atmosphere of staying in a wooden chalet and having a log fire everynight. We wil definetly miss the fireplace & the nice shower. Thank you for servicing the cabin every day it really made us feel on holiday. We will definetly recommend you to all our friends & family. Thanks again & all the best for the future.

June 2012

The Fourie family (Sasolburg )

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a most enjoyable stay! Regards Estelle

April 2012

Estelle (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Rainer & Walli Thank you so much for a wonderful stay over Easter as well the Easter Bunny and for all the Easter eggs. The place is wonderful we stayed in in unit nr 2. We were pleasantly surprised by it. we enjoyed our stay every bit and will for sure be back there soon. What a wonderful place. Thanks you guys you are great....Lots of love the Kotze Family.

April 2012

Kotze (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for a great weekend, we really enjoyed our stay there. I especially enjoyed the Quietness and Spectacular view from the room. Thanks Rainer and Wally. Regards, Anton, Evette and Anthony

March 2012

Anton (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks a mil for your hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay. We are missing the shower right now it made shower time memorable. The breakfast was to die for. It shows that it was prepared and served with love. May you continue to be a blessing to all your guests. Regards Patience

January 2012

Patience (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much 4 a lovely welcome and staff at your place.you guys are great.keep it up. Regards Nelly

November 2011

Nelly (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a perfect place to base yourself for travelling the panorama route and then popping over to Kruger . The accommadation is great, the log fire even better ! and the hosts are just as great !! (Hope the snow hasn't melted !) I hope we will be there again.Thankyou Walli and Rainer for everything . Regards from all.

August 2011

Robert, Abi, Ben & Tom (Israel)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer and Walli We would like to convey our gratitude for the friendly way in which your received us when we arrived for our overnight stay on the 31August 2011. It was such a pleasure to sleep in such a well kept Guest House and beautiful surroundings. Zur Alten Mine is a jewel and we will be spreading the news to our friends and family! Our best wishes accompany you and the work you do. Regards Jan and Marie Lusse

August 2011

Jan Lusse (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi, super chalets und persönliche Betreuung, kann ich jederzeit wärmstens weiterempfehlen. Many thanks!! Christoph

August 2011

C.Meier (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great place! We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly be back.

July 2011

Kobus Theron (Thabazimbi)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hallo Walli und Rainer, nochmals vielen Dank für die 2 wunderschönen Tage bei Euch. Das Chalet war wunderbar, besonders abends am Kaminfeuer ein Buch zu lesen, hat mir sehr gut gefallen. Grüße aus Hamburg Gernot

June 2011

Gernot Krüger (Hamburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Good day We would just like to thank you again for the good time we had at your establishment. We will recommend it to all our friends and God willing, we would return again in the future. Regards Elizma Grobbelaar

June 2011

Elizma Grobbelaar (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really had a wonderful time and stay! Kind regards Jeané

May 2011

Jeané Reax (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for all of your assistance whilst we were staying at ZAM. We enjoyed our time with you very much. Kind regards, Harvey & Belle

March 2011

Harvey & Belle (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Walli & Rainer, I have been meaning to post this message for weeks. We had a wonderful time at your place and look forward to returning soon. The rooms were spotless and the surroundings magnificent. Thank you also for making my birthday very special, you guys are the best! Kind regards, Marthinus & Sean

March 2011

Marthinus Skinner (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

THANX VERY MUCH FOR THE STAY IN YOUR PLACE.WE HAVE REALLY ENJOYED.THE ATMOSPHERE IS EXCELLENT FOR A HOLIDAY .THE DOGS ARE FRIENDLY,WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD FOR ANOTHER STAY .

January 2011

Doris Maanda (south africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer & Walli Thank you for a lovely stay. The place is so beautiful and you are so kind! We´ll certainly recommend the place to people we meet on this trip. Have an exellent 2011.

January 2011

Mrietta Loretto (Agentina)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for everything! Your hospitallity, kindness and help is very apiciated! If someone likes to come to SA we will recomend your place. With kind regards Ianto & Esthe

November 2010

Ianto Aalders (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

very nice location with beautiful garden setting. very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. will recommend zur alten mine anytime to explore the Blyde River Canyon area.

November 2010

axel (Frankfurt, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very nice place. Atmosphere is great, rooms amazing, little goat is cute :P and the staff is helpfull and friendly. I recommend it all the way. Very good quality/price rate. Well located for Blyde Canyon area visit. Ich möchte euch noch mal danke für alles ! Tchüss Roger und Kim , Canada

November 2010

Roger Kohler (Chicoutimi, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Rainer & Walli, Thank you both for being such lovely hosts and for making our stay with you so pleasant. Looking forward to visiting you again. Kind regards, Dave and Nadine.

October 2010

Dave & Nadine (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hallo Walli und Rainer! Seit 4 Tagen sind wir nun schon wieder in Deutschland und der Alltag hat uns wieder... Dabei würden wir auch gern für immer bleiben! Wir werden aber noch lange von den Erinnerungen zehren... Wir möchten uns noch mal für die schöne Zeit bei Euch bedanken. Wir haben uns wirklich sehr wohl bei Euch gefühlt! Alles Gute und eine gute Zeit! Britta & co

October 2010

Britta (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liebe Walli, lieber Rainer, Vielen Dank für den Superstart in den Urlaub. Besser hätte Südafrika nicht beginnen können. Viele Grüße, Doris und Andy

September 2010

Doris & Andrea Schlägel (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Rainer and Walli, Thanks once again for everything as our stay 14 June 2010 to 18 June 2010 was perfect . The place is wonderful. The kids love the dogs and the open space. The breakfast on the Friday was great. We will be back at your place on our next trip to that part of the country. Keep well. Johan & Isabel Coetzer (Kids Johan & Ilze)

June 2010

Cotzer Johan (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear hosts, Rainer and Walli, thanks again for making our 2-night stay really unforgettable. The atmosphere is so relaxed, the dogs are kind, and the service you provided was really great. Hope we will meet again, for starters in the final this sunday! Greetings from Holland, Rudy

June 2010

Rudi van Wessel (Netherlans)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hello, how are you? We didn't have the opportunity to say good bye to you, sorry about that. We really enjoyed staying with you, your place is really nice. And thank you for the great breakfast, it was really nice of you to accomdate us. Have a nice day! E.Wagner

April 2010

Wagner (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi there I would like to thank you for your hospitality and great service; we most enjoyed our stay there. Kind regards Helen Doumanis and Chris De wet

January 2010

Helen & Chris (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Rainer and Wallie We had SO wonderful and relaxing time at your place !!! Great service !!! We enjoyed every moment of you company... Will really miss Sandy, Sparky and Suzy ...:) Thank you very , very much !!! Hope see you again soon. Kind regards Lora & Mark

January 2010

Lora (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for such a memorable and wonderful time. Take care Christian & Alicia

December 2009

Christian & Alicia Wright (Freestate)

Verified reviewexcellent

Rainer & Walli: We were so impressed with your cottages and your wonderful hospitality and Zur Alten Mine. Our only regret is that we only scheduled 3 days of our trip to SA with you. There's so much more to see. You are on our list for our next time back. Thank you....Roger and Bonnie Head

November 2009

Roger and Bonnie Head (Ivins, Utah, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Rainer and Walli, Just a short note to say thanks for your hospitality during our stay at the end of November. We really enjoyed the peaceful enviroment and all the talks. We hope the puppies are doing fine and are well adjusted by now. Give a hug from us to Sparky and Sandy. We will definitely stay again at Zur Alten Mine when we next visit the Eastern Tvl. Keep well and may you have a very blessed Christmas and 2010. Regards,

November 2009

Johan, Marietjie, Hennie, Pieter Coetzee (SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer & Walli Thank you so much for your kindness and hospitality. Is was a weekend that we will never forget. Everything was perfect. God bless. Untill next time. Ria, Johan, Hermie & Jaco

October 2009

Ria & Johan Pienaar (Middelburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hallo Walli und Rainer, lange hat’s gedauert, aber jetzt wollen wir uns endlich für Eure Gastfreundschaft bedanken. Wir haben uns in unserem Chalet und auf Eurer Guestfarm sauwohl gefühlt. Die insgesamt 9 Tage haben wir mit kleineren Wanderungen und Touren in die Umgebung gut ausgefüllt, Eure Tipps waren hierbei sehr hilfreich. Wir werden bei unserem nächsten Südafrikaaufenthalt sicherlich bei Euch wieder vorbeischauen und können „Zur Alten Miene“ nur wärmstens weiterempfehlen. Viele Grüße von Thomas, Andrea und Luca

September 2009

Thomas Rau (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Rainer & Walli! Thank you so much for your wonderful place! We enjoyed every moment! Regards Hugo & Lyndie

June 2009

Hugo & Lyndie (Nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

THANKS SO MUCH for a wonderful wonderful stay!! You are a delightful couple, who made us feel so welcome, and the cabin was SO cute, we had a fantastic time!!!! THANKS AGAIN!!!! T & B

March 2009

Tehila & Bennedy (PTA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer & Walli Once again a big thank you for all your personal attention to make our stay a wonderful and relaxing one. Thank you also for the lovely breakfasts we had. We will most definitely return. Kindest regards Andre, Ylandre, Rita, Lester and Christopher James.

January 2009

James Family (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer and Wallie Thank you for an enjoyable stay at 'Zur Alten mine'. Wir haben nicht Gold gesucht sondern ein angenehmen Aufenhalt, und das haben wir ganz sicher bekommen. We regret there were no space for our second round. Never the less: We enjoyed to meet you, Alois, Sandy, Sparky and Dogmatix. As you see both Anna and Sparky enjoyed your lake. Best regards to you all from Leif and Anna back in Denmark since 15th feb.

January 2009

Leif & Anna (Denmark)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hey guys Just wanted to say a BIG THANK YOU for our stay last week Thursday to Sunday. We really had a good time there. Johannesburg is so hectic, mpumalanga is a place to be. Cool. Errol

November 2008

Errol (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Es war so super klasse bei Euch! Ihr seid perfekte Gastgeber und auf alle Fälle werdet Ihr all unseren Freunden weiterempfohlen. Sicherlich kommen wir wieder nach Südafrika und dann auch in den Krüger Park. Wir hoffen dann in der alten Mine auf ein warmes Plätzchen für uns! Rainer, dann gibt’s aber wieder Fleischsalat und Walli, von Dir wünschen wir uns diese göttlich gute Avocadocreme. Herzliche Grüße an Euch beide und einen dicken Drücker für Sandy und Schirmkiller Sparky Eure Anke und Stephan

November 2008

Anke & Stephan (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi there Rainer and Walli. We would like to thank you for the week we stayed at your place, we really enjoyed every moment. We surely will be back. Thanks Johan, Isabel and kids (Johan and Ilze) Coetzer.

July 2008

Cortzer Family (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer & Walli, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your hospitality, and warm kindness during our stay at Zur Alten Mine. You made us feel so welcome, everything was in perfect order and has met every expectation of us. We enjoyed our stay there, and will recommend your accommodation to everyone we know ! Bleiben Sie gut und das ganze Beste ! Gerrit & Nellie Geldenhuys Pretoria, Gauteng

July 2008

Nellie & Gerrit Geldenhuys (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer & Walli, We would just like to take the opportunity to thank you for your hospitality and friendliness during our stay on the 13 June 2008. And specially the breakfast, it was really awesome. Keep up with the good service; you will defiantly see us again and again…lol And we will gladly refer Zur Alten Mine to our friends and family. Kind Regards, Mark and Ria Enslin

June 2008

Mark & Ria Enslin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just to say thank you. we all enjoyed our stay. The Hunt family.

June 2008

A. Hunt (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir haben den Aufenthalt in vollen Zügen genossen. Das opulente und leckere Frühstück war ein guter Start in den erlebnisreichen Tag. Trotz des Herbstwetters hatten wir dank Wallis und Rainers Vorschlägen wundervolle Urlaubstage, die wir abends am Kaminfeuer haben ausklingen lassen. Auf unserer nächsten Südafrika-Reise werden wir auf alle Fälle wieder "Zur Alten Mine" Halt machen.

March 2008

Sandra & Bernhard Schrott (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Die Alte Mine ist ein wunderbarer Ort um sich zu erholen. Wunderschöne Ausflugsziele und die Nähe zum Kruger Park macht die Anlage sehr interessant. Walli & Rainer sind tolle Gastgeber. Man hat wirklich das Gefühl als Freund willkommen zu sein. Das Frühstück ist liebevoll zubereitet und abwechslungsreich. Und nach einer feuchten Biker-Tour wurden wir mit einer Überraschung verwöhnt - dafür nochmals herzlichen Dank. Weiterhin wünsche ich Walli & Rainer viel Erfolg.

January 2008

Wera Baldermann (Bremen)

Verified reviewexcellent

Bei Walli und Reiner fuehlt man sich nicht als Gast sondern als Freund. Die Anlage ist traumhaft und die Chalets mit offenem Kamin sind urgemuetlich. Das Fruehstueck ist ein Highlight des Tages, weil es von den Inhabern selbst mit viel Liebe zubereitet und serviert wird. Dazu gibt es noch Tips was in der Umgebung zu sehen und unternehmen gibt. Biker sind willkommen und es ist fuer sicheren Unterstand gesorgt.

January 2008

Peter Stimpfle (Johanesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Rainer and Walli Just a line to say very many thanks for an extremely pleasant stay at Zur Alten Mine.

December 2007

John Pearce (Swaziland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Eine super Unterkunft in ruhiger Lage. Genau der richtige Startpunkt um sich die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Umgebung anzuschauen. Die "Gastgeber" sind sehr freundlich und helfen gerne bei der Planung der Tagestouren. Nach einem ereignisreichem Tag kann man sich dann in der Ruhe und der Naturnähe gut entspannen. Absolut zu empfehlen!

November 2007

Helmut Schuler (Ostendorf)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wunderschöne ruhige Lage, aber dennoch sehr zentral um den Krügerpark, den Blyde River Canyon usw. zu besuchen. Man fühlt sich bei Rainer & Walli wie zuhause. Ich komme wieder.

November 2007

Juergn Podwisofski (Meitingen)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 600
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Zur Alten Mine

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.