Reviews & Comments

Showing 21 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Wildekrans Country House is so beautiful and peaceful. Breakfast is wonderful, gardens with sculptures and artwork thought provoking! Good internet Love the view from our room. Everything excellent. Thank you. Sally

January 2019

John Sally Patrick (Ottawa)

Verified reviewexcellent

First stop in Capetown was the Cape Grace Hotel and the last night at the Mt Nelson. Boxed in between was the Country House. Under any person's review, they would be tough competition. But what a delightful calm and warm interlude in rural Capetown was Wildekrans. Living and growing up in the rural wilderness of Minnesota where peace and serenity reign, I could resonate with the Country House.

January 2019

Richard S (La Jolla)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Wildekrans prior and after walking the beautiful Blue Mountain Trail. Lovely experience in a Cape Dutch style countryhouse with a lot of history, set in an amazing natural surrounding with a beautiful garden inclusive of a large swimming pool and inspiring contemporary art. Very personal service with much attention to detail and excellent food. Highly recommended for unwinding in a natural surrounding a mere one hours drive from Cape Town.

December 2018

Carsten Bolensk (Hofheim am Taunus)

Verified reviewexcellent

The whole place has a peaceful & relaxed feel. Beautiful garden with special places to sit around every corner. Interesting art that enhance. What I liked is that bedrooms are set apart, one has a total private feeling. Furnishing lovely. The staff & owners are friendly and helpful in every possible way. Really felt like they cared. Good breakfast. Meals that were catered for were excellent. Will definitely recommend it.

December 2018

Cecilia L (Strand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Totally special generous South African Farm style warm hospitality.. gorgeous rooms .. wonderful atmosphere and lovely garden ... Hiking from here is too wonderful .. Alison is also a wonderful hostess and her staff so adorable ..

December 2018

Serena C (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wlidekrans offers an authentic country house experience with a touch of quirkiness. We loved exploring the rambling garden that has an exquisite rose bed, veggie patch, olive grove and magical water garden that that winds its way down to the foot of the Houw Hoek mountain range. There are sculptures strategically placed throughout the garden adding an extra element of interest.The breakfast was such a treat that it has us planning on going back for more as soon as we can. We sat in the shade of the garden and savoured the scrumptious fresh breakfast served in a truly tranquil setting. Wildekrans offers a country homestead feel with 5 star attention. The owners home brewed wine also gets our stamp of approval.

December 2018

Tonia Crawley (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Alison warmly invites you to her charming and very comfortable country house. The food is incredible, the rooms very well-appointed and cosy with Charlotte Rhys toiletries in the bathroom. The artwork and gardens are amazing and well worth a wonder around. We felt so welcome and relaxed we could have stayed much longer.

August 2018

Wendy B (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

There are not many better ways really experience a region than by hiking through it and tasting its wine! No 1 - Our stay at Wildekrans Country House was absolutely delightful. The freshly baked bread, muffins, soup as packed lunch, breakfasts and suppers were top quality and really appreciated. The rooms are comfortable, the art in the house uplifts the spirit, all the staff really friendly & Alison, the owner, a gracious hostess. No 2 - one has to be walk fit for the trail. We were thankful for our training done in the previous months. Uphill can be tough, but taking a breather and enjoying the view is always a good excuse. The flowers, views and experience in the fresh air is wonderful. Jeffrey, our guide, is super at explaining some of the finer detail of a specific little flower...we really enjoyed his knowledge and gentle personality. No 3 - all the extra detail, like wine tastings in the region, transport to and from the trail, lunch at Beaumont farm were excellently organised and executed. All in all a super experience

August 2018

Ansie (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a delightful place to spend a long weekend! I very much enjoyed the combination of first class accommodations, beautiful scenery and the wonderful organized hikes. The Green Mountain Trial is beautiful. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the guides for the hike very knowledgeable and engaging. All in all, a wonderful experience.

July 2018

Jeff P (Ukiah)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a delight this little gem is. We were only able to stay 1 night and this was our only regret. From the welcoming and caring staff to the cosy fire and magnificent gardens. The setting is magical, the room had all the comforts and the wholesome country breakfast delighted. This was comfort food for the soul. Alison we will be back and thank you for your amazing hospitality.

May 2018

Mark U (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Wildekrans Country House over Christmas for a week, December 2017, family with grandchild and grandmother. It was wonderful to rediscover the Grabouw area. Wildekrans has an outstanding setting, an old Cape Dutch style main building (with four guest rooms) and an external cottage (where we stayed) with two rooms plus kitchenette. One has direct views of the Houwhoek mountains and Greenlandberg Nature Reserve. With this comes a variety activities for the family. We went on a short hike with guesthouse guide Evan, who educated us about local fynbos species. We also enjoyed the artworks in the buildings and modern sculptures in the garden, as well as a large swimming pool with mountain water. The local staff spoiled us with delicious breakfast and Christmas cake. Owners Barry Gould and Alison Green have taken various initiatives over years is support of conservation of their old family estate area. The garden area and small orchard flows in to the mountain terrain, and has a hydrologic powered water pump that relies on only gravity (no electricity used). Ongoing effort is made to clean a local river stream, removing invasive species (notably gumtree and black wattle), and stabilising its banks with indigenous plants. They are also rehabilitating the river shape by small interventions of packing natural rock. The initiative is supported by the WWF Table Mountain Fund. All cleared alien vegetation is dried and used for fire wood, creating garden fences and making walking sticks for trails with visitors. Its walking stick project is called "Walk with an Alien". The Groenlandberg Conservancy forms part of the Kogelberg Biosphere, a world heritage site. Alison chairs the local conservancy, which coordinates with the regional government (Cape Nature) initiatives to ensure their protection efforts are coordinated. LandCare (Department of Agriculture) is also a strong partner the owners told us. Wildekrans produces its own olives and olive oil - these are organic albeit not certified (case for scaling up South African certification schemes). The olive tree orchard uses biofriendly insecticides. Local food produce include home baked bread, fruit cake, jams, and cheeses from a family farming in the Overberg, The owners have installed LED lights in the buildings and plan installation of voltaic solar on roofs for water heating. Waste is separated by management, creating garden compost and delivering glass, plastic and paper to a recycle station in Grabouw. Explanation of this to guests upfront would be good, so they know waste don't have to be separated in-house (this is done by staff after collection). We had a fabulous stay.There is plenty of good restaurants and wine estates in the area to visit, as well as impressive farm stalls nearby on the N2 route (e.g. Houwhoek Farm Stall, Peregrine and Dassiesfontein). A highlight was lunch at the SALT restaurant, Paul Cluver wine state. If you visit with small children, do watch them in the mountain zone as they may have the odd encounter with local animal friends (e.g. spider, snake, baboon).

December 2017

Cornis (Geneva)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Wildekrans during our 4 days hiking the Green Mountain trails. The hospitality was outstanding, led by Allison and her dedicated staff. They accommodated our needs graciously and made sure our stay was very enjoyable at their beautiful property. In addition, our guides, Evan and Jeffrey, did a great job safely and enjoyably navigating us through the trails and sharing their knowledge of the plants, animals, birds and history of the region. Highly recommend the experience tp those looking for an active adventure.

November 2017

Gregg (Seattle)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here two nights as part of the 4-day Green Mountain Trail walk, and an extra night because the next day we had booked the Cape Canopy Zipline tour, which is located nearby. All the bedrooms in the house are large and tastefully furnished and decorated with period furniture. Our Garden View bedroom is 10 m2 with a comfortable bed and fine quality linen. The bathroom is 7 m2. During the night you may feel/hear the occasional train passing by like a light earthquake, which made for plenty of comments and laughs the next morning at breakfast! Our room was situated in the main house, next to the sitting area which had a wood burner stove. The large garden is very well developed and beautifully maintained with interesting sculptures. The is a small swimming pool as well. The B&B provided half board for us with excellent meals and breakfast during the GMT programme. The dinner was served next to the kitchen in “The Barn”. Being a B&B, dinner is normally not provided. However, Alison was really kind to organise a self-service dinner of soup, cheese/meat platter and scrumptious pears in red wine sauce and ice cream which we thoroughly enjoyed while sitting in the cosy living room in front of the fireplace with a bottle of fine wine. Thanks Alison!

October 2017

Huys (Amsterdam)

Verified reviewexcellent

Spending time at Wildekrans Country House is a treat. The moment you step through the gate you can feel that you are somewhere special. The characterful old homestead and spectacular country garden are the most wonderful places enjoy. The artwork throughout the garden and house are just the cherry on top. We had a wonderful weekend as 4 couples. We did 2 guided walks in the Houw Hoek Mountains; had delicious lunches at Beaumont and Oak Valley before returning to Wildekrans to enjoy afternoons in the garden and evenings in front of the fire. Wildekrans is a place to which you want to return again and again.

September 2017

Sarah Brooke (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

If I had to write a book, this would be the country house to settle. We enjoyed the most friendly service, stunning kitchen and an artistic and natural environment that blend beautifully; a great base to get lost in a book or explore the fynbos with family and nature guide.

May 2017

Gregory (Zurich)

Verified reviewexcellent

The photrographs you see on the Internet don't really do Wildekrans Country Estate justice. Prepare to be transported into a magical place - this is a spectacular property! If you go you have to spend a little time exploring the garden and the grounds! Alison & Barry have clearly put a ton of love into their property and the result is pure magic! We were here in Autumn which is not the best time to be looking at gardens but this one was still gorgeous! The accommodation was excellent and the service even better! Unobtrusive, efficient, friendly - the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We slept well in this lovely home, everything we needed and more was made available for us and the breakfast was fabulous - all in all it was a most enjoyable stay and we were sad to leave this wonderful Guest House. Thanks to Alison and her wonderful staff who made us feel like royalty during our short stay! We will recommend Wildekrans and will be back.

April 2017

Christine (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

First class service and meals in this elegant country lodge. Hiking the Green Mountain trail was spectacular and the service and accommodation from Alison and her staff was exemplary. Expert trail guides made for an unforgettable experience.

March 2017

Mark L (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Wildekrans because we participated the Cape-Epic (8 stage day mountainbike bike competition). It was excellent to stay there because after the races we could decompress in the quiet and very nice garden, or inside in one of the old-school and cozy rooms. The people where super friendly and helpful, even when we asked the weirdest questions. The support we got was amazing and I hope we can visit Wildekrans every year! Thanks a lot! Thanks to all your support we were able to finish in the top10 of one of biggest mountainbike competitions!

March 2017

Franz Claes (Monchique)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wildekrans offers incredible quirky accommodation with lots of history involved. Alison (the owner) was helpful beyond expectations and instantly made you feel like you're staying with friends. We did a day hike with John, one of the guides, who had a wide arrange of knowledge about the area's flora and fauna and looked after us extremely well. The walk finished with a big lunch at Beaumont Vineyards, where we got 'stuck' due to its delicious food and wine. Alison's willingness to go the extra mile to plan our stay made the holiday unforgettable!! We couldn't think of a better place to explore Elgin!

March 2017

Iska (Nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful whitewashed house in lovely countryside. We were in the Mountain view room, which did indeed have a lovely view over the pretty garden to the hills. Reasonable size, with lots of old-style wooden furniture, very attractive. Dinner in the barn was excellent quality and very generous portions, with a lovely candle lit atmosphere. There is walking in the hills nearby, and Alison was very helpful with directions etc. We only stayed one night, but wished that we had stayed longer.

February 2017

Robbit R (Glasgow)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking at this wonderful place. We stayed in the original house, full of history and charm and gorgeous art. A home made bread and cheese dinner (what we wanted that night) at the kitchen table took us back to our own childhood. And then there's the beautiful garden that melts into the forest and the mountains, with stunning sculptures to add to the experience. I knew as we arrived that we would love the place and that we did. Alison and Barry are superb hosts, interesting and so easy to talk to. Breakfast in the original barn was a real treat with everything home made and delicious. I will absolutely find a reason to go back. Thank you Alison and barry for a magic and unforgettable experience.

January 2017

Yoda Mika (Sandton)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,050
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Wildekrans Country House awarded Guests' Choice in Elgin

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.