Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Very well equipped accommodation with every thing you would need. The host was professional and Leigh very helpful. I would recommend this to all family groups and those needing a nature break. Loved the music systems.

August 2020

Sean M. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Everything about Whale Huys was absolutely wonderful. It was such a treat for our family of 6 to spend time in such a special place. The view is out of this world and the layout of the villa is well thought out. We loved how well equipped the home is - there wasn’t anything we couldn’t find. Such a great welcome via e-mail from the owners and from the property manager on site. If we could spend every weekend here we would!

July 2020

Samantha P. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Incredible floor plan and location. There were eight of us, mostly chefs, and the kitchen was equipped with everything they needed! So thankful! Incredible rental.

August 2019

Stephanie (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing view - we also saw whales every day! The property is well situated to appreciate the beauty of Gaansbaai

July 2019

NS (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

This house is in a fantastic location and looks directly out onto the sea. There are lovely balcony areas to sit out on to enjoy the view at both breakfast and night time. It is spacious and well set out and has a lovely thatched roof. 6 of us stayed here (all adults) and each bedroom was en-suite so worked really well for us. Kitchen facilities are also good and there is a large dining room table to sit at too. The hosts provide a useful information book which gives you details on places to eat and visit. We visited one of the restaurants and had a really nice time. Wifi was really good and collecting the keys was easy (as was leaving the property).

July 2019

Mark (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Die Lage des Hauses an der Küste ist phenomenal. Wir hatten die Waale mit ihren Jungen direkt vor unsere Nase die Restaurantemfehlungen aus der Gästemappe sind aller sehr gut gewesen.

November 2018

Markus (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Das war eines unserer highlight, wir kommen wieder :-)

October 2018

Rachel (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved everything about the property! Bruce, the owner has answered promptly all our questions and was a pleasure to communicate with him - only an email away. Nikky took excellent care of us and was always ready to help with recommendations. Our party was composed of three couples and a seven year old coming from Florida, New York and Bucharest. As we came in the house for the first time we were blown away by the breathtaking views from the kitchen and dining/living area. As far as we could see, the ocean and the spectacularly unique fynbos welcomed us. Little did we knew at that time, but discovered later, the views were as magnificent from the upstairs bedrooms! The terrace is fantastic and the barbecue area made for fantastic Karoo lamb chops! The dining table was so inviting with a basket of goodies and beautiful bouquet of the endemic fynbos flowers. This attention to detail is just so precious and appreciated, as we found it everywhere in the house. The property was immaculately clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. During our stay we had a very cold front with hail and howling wind, but the lovely fireplace and the electric blankets kept us cozy and happy. We were daily enchanted by the Southern right whales and their calves breaching and blowing just in front of us, while we were sipping fabulous South African wine. One of the couples in our party went to a wine tasting tour, easily organized from Hermanus and were impressed not only with the wine, but the food and the whole experience. Having been in wine tasting tours all over the world, they ranked it in the top. If you stay at this property, you should try "Creation". The kitchen has high-end appliances, all pots and pans one might need, blenders, food processors and beautiful platters. I love gourmet cooking and found everything I needed to cook and present the dishes! With a Super Spar in Gansbaai, just five minutes drive from the property, Woolworth (in South Africa, this is upmarket) in Hermanus (30 minutes drive) and some small seasonal organic markets, you have fresh and delicious groceries to enable you to take full advantage of the kitchen.

October 2018

Adriana (Croatia)

Verified reviewexcellent

The manager was extremely efficient and easy to get hold of. We were greeted at the property at the arranged time.

September 2018

Johan (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Das Haus, die Aussicht und Atmosphäre waren perfekt.

September 2018

Brita (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Bruce's house is incredible. You will not find more beautiful and mesmerising views easily. The house is exceptionally well-equipped, and the bedrooms beautifully appointed with stylish decor items, quality linens and towels. On arrival, we were met by the friendly Leigh who welcomed us with a thoughtful array of small gifts and fresh flowers. The kitchen has all the equipment you might need if you are foodies like us! If you just want to relax, curl up on the couch and enjoy the view with a glass of local vino in hand.

August 2018

Marike (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastische Aussicht, die Badezimmer sind optimal, Küche ebenfalls top eingerichtet!

August 2018

Eric (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great weekend in the beautiful Whale House. The location is absolutely perfect and the views - from all the bedrooms, lounge, diningroom and deck - to die for. De Kelders is a tranquil little town that is close to quaint Stanford and busier Gansbaai. The house is amazingly well equipped (think international adaptors, a gym, a yoga mat and even a laptop for guests). The deck, with a pool overlooking the bay - was my favorite spot. Highly recommended - I can't wait to go back! And thanks for the gift basket Bruce!

August 2018

Enid (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is the most amazing place to stay. The house is gorgeous and we were greeted with a large basket of wine and other goodies, and plenty of herbs and other kitchen necessities - not always the case in air bnb. But it is the position of this house right on the edge of the cliff overlooking the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay that is so outstanding. Within a minute of walking into the house we were spotting southern right whales right out in front and it is so close you can hear them breath and it is an enchanting sight to see whales and their babies so close and to observe all the different behaviours from every room in the house. There is a track just below the house through the flowering fynbos vegetation with amazing rock formations and a paradise for bird watchers as well as whale watching. We needed to stay longer. This place is paradise.

July 2018

Tony (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay at Whale Huys! It was conveniently located close to restaurants and shops. The location is very close to the beach and beautiful walks. We were a group of 8 and we found the house spacious. We loved sitting on the deck and balcony, watching the whales and stunning sunsets!

July 2018

Karin (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Quelle superbe maison !!! Et surtout quelle magnifique vue !!! Voir passer les baleines depuis la terrasse est juste incroyable !!! C’était simplement parfait !!!

June 2018

A.B. (Belgium)

Verified reviewexcellent

Oh my goodness, everything was amazing, from our lovely greeting from Nicky, the comfy house, to the view, the rocks... We even ate at the Blue Goose (restaurant that Bruce recommended) twice it was so good!! Everyone was so kind. Our shark diving was cancelled so we just spent most of the day enjoying the house and views! The kids had a great time exploring the rocks and trail directly in front of the home. We did go out with Marine Dynamics sister company to look for whales but honestly saw more from your front porch!! I can't thank you enough for a wonderful time! I would love to come back and spend a week on that front porch alone! Thank you Bruce for all the good info before we even got there and thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home!

November 2017

Rachel (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wij (een familie met 2 kinderen van 12 en 9) hebben 4 dagen verbleven in de Whale Huys. In een woord; geweldig!! Het huis is van alle gemakken voorzien (onder andere BVN en WiFi), schoon en veilig. Een goed ontvangst en rondleiding van Jenene. Eigenaar Bruce helpt je met tips etc. Wij hadden veel geluk met het weer en heel veel geluk met het spotten van walvissen. Waarschijnlijk hebben we de eerste 2 walvissen van het seizoen gezien vanaf ons eigen terras. Er is genoeg te doen in de omgeving en wij vonden Pearly Beach erg leuk. Paardrijden hebben we gedaan op de White Water Farm (circa 20 km). Kortom, wij komen zeker nog een keer terug!!

August 2017

Herman (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have been privileged to spend 8 nights in this magnificent villa which truly lived up to its name! The views across Walker Bay are absolutely spectacular and I saw many whales and dolphins (often from my bed.) Some mornings I could clearly hear the whales even before it was light enough to see them. I loved every moment of my stay here, which brought me tranquility and food for the soul. I will definitely be back!

September 2015

Pieter (South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    5,900
  • R
  • 5605
  • unit rate per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.