Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Love ons blyplek in die bos. ❤ Natuur bly maar die beste!

October 2017

Judith Steinberg (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

October 2017

Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

October 2017

Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for 3 nights last week and we loved every minute! Every amenity required was catered for....we literally just unpacked and relaxed. Lea is an amazing host and we cannot recommend Warthog Lodge enough!! We will most definitely go back again...the views are spectacular when you enjoy a sundowner on the deck you can feel the peace of the area invade your soul :)

June 2017

Marle van Greuning (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a fabulous time. Has all the amenities that one would need for self catering... plus loads more ! Very comfy with spectacular views. Cant wait to visit again. Thanks for the wonderful host who looked after us.

June 2017

Maria Uys (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“A wonderful, peaceful ten days. Perfect! We saw lots of animals and it was absolute heaven.”

December 2016

de Wet Family (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Ag nee! Ons gaan môre huis toe. Dit was puik hier. Baie, baie dankie!”

December 2016

Hend van der Merwe (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an absolutely stunning place! I cannot recommend it enough!! There are no photos that can do Warthog Lodge justice and I often found myself just sitting and staring at the view. I would also recommend hiring the Land Rover as there is no better feeling than doing a last minute game drive as the sun starts setting. Thank you Lea for being an amazing host and being super helpful and friendly. You will definitely see us again soon!!

October 2016

Emil Siebrandt (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

The stay at Worthog lodge was truly amazing. The view from not only the patio, but also the boma is special. What made the weekend though was good company, beautiful setting (lodge and privacy), and off course the game drive vehicle. Will definitely visit again!

August 2016

Joseph McEwan (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

“A wonderful place on earth with the warmest and most special welcome by Long John Silver (the most charming warthog we have ever met)! Thanks! We will definitely be back!”

April 2016

Christel and Alex Hamburg (Kiel, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Fantastic place. Thank you so much! What a wonderful experience.”

February 2016

Alan Scott (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Spent a wonderful New Years in peace & quiet. Everything was wonderful! Pity we had to leave so soon. Will be back before the year is out.”

January 2016

Nelia Joubert (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Asemrowende uitkyk vanaf die stoep. Heerlik gekuier.”

January 2016

Hakema Family (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“As a family we have spent a wonderful few days of fun, laughter and game viewing enhanced by your comfortable and well appointed lodge. What an ambience – everything to feed the soul! Many thanks – we would love to return one day.”

December 2015

The Murray-Nobbs clan (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“What a great retreat! We have had a fantastic weekend with friends and family. Great game drives – saw plenty of animals. Great weather and the accommodation amazing. Thank you!”

November 2015

Frank & Tracey du Ponte (Mackay, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

“What a wonderful few days, we have enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you very much.”

November 2015

Jan and Jean van Blerk (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Will be back!”

November 2015

The Benjamins (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“My leave started on the 26th June where we started our trip from Cape Town to JHB, Mpumalanga, Polokwane, Gauteng. We travelled 2000km’s (except for the flight km’s from CT to JHB). I must say when we entered Mbamalingwe / Warthog Lodge we were stunned by the beautiful game reserve, the friendly people both at the front entrance gate right up to reception. Our stay at Warthog Lodge was just AMAZING. I actually don’t have other words to explain: The environment is absolutely beautiful. The house is in excellent condition. The surroundings were awesome. And not to speak about our visits from the Warthog’s (a lot I might add, but they gave us extreme pleasures). There was some buck as well drinking water from the waterhole, so yes we enjoyed the lodge very much. And YES a definite big huge YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS to visit again in near future! Thank you again for you and Lea’s prompt emails/ SMS. We really appreciated it. And be sure that I will recommend your lodge to the Cape Town people. You are welcome to send me newsletters etc... Have a great day!”

July 2015

Karen Woolls (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Fantastic experience! The accomodations were luxurious and very well equipped. The views were absolutely spectacular. Can’t wait to go back!”

February 2015

Peter Reiss (Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

“I had the privilege during December to take my family to your house in Mabalingwe (732). First of all, I would like to thank you for the opportunity. The time we spent there was not just memorable but one of the best we as a family had ever enjoyed. Our journey started off on the first evening with the Warthogs and Bush pigs that entertained us around the boma. The second evening was definitely the highlight as we were treated to a show of majestic awe, with ten elephants spending time around the house for more than 3 hours. Every single game drive was a successful one, although we had to work hard to track and find the some animals it was a journey and a story can be told for every trip. I wish I could share each and every story with you, however, the kids tell them with so much more detail and animation that my versions will do unjustly to the experience. I must say they have not stopped telling them over and over since we got back. “Lilly” your Land Rover as named by my youngest daughter provided so much fun, she was seen as a member of the family by the end of the trip and it was a sad goodbye when we left. In total 33 species of animals and 92 bird species were spotted, which I think is a very successful trip. Your assistance with the maps and information provided was a huge attribute and got the kids involved from day one. Linda and I have fallen in love with this place and we will definitely visit no 732 again. Words will never describe what this special house did to our family. For that, I will always be grateful. Thank you so much for creating memories....”

January 2015

Gerhard van Wyk (South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 3,700
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Warthog Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.