Reviews & Comments

Showing 36 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

“Dit was een Fantastiese naweek!! Stunning plek!! Dankie vir alles, ons kom beslis weer. Baie Blessed om Olifante te kon sien.”

June 2019

Strydom, Gerber & Odendaal Family (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Love the house and the area around it. It is sad i did not see the elephants, but at least I saw the rhinos and giraffes. I could stay here for a year. It’s amazing!

June 2019

Alzette (Wellington)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for everything. Your home is stunning. We enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back!

May 2019

Elbe & Lazzlo (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A relaxing and very beautiful place. A lovely way to end our holiday before heading back to Wales. Thank you!

May 2019

Sonia & Jeremy (Wales)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Lea, we have been truly blessed to stay here in this magnificent house. Your thoughtfulness is really touching and so appreciated.

April 2019

Albie, Esmien and Friends (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a superb introduction for our family from Germany to the beautiful South African Bush! Lovely setting in a well equipped & wonderful home overlooking a gorgeous part of the bush veld. We look forward to being back!

March 2019

Katinka (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful accommodation in the perfect setting. We had a great time. Thank you!

March 2019

Burnett Family (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

From the start everything was just perfect! In fact we were speechless, and still are. That view . . . out of this world! While sitting at the boma, having a “braai”, a warthog came to welcome us. Some of us were frozen for a minute or two and the last night a group of kudu’s came to visit and stood staring at us. At the lodge there is everything you can think of . . . so fully equipped accommodation and stunning interior. Lea has been so helpful with all the info we needed and the many questions I had.It is really a must to go there. Staying between the bushes and wild life. What an experience...

March 2019

Sophia (Franschoek)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent 3 nights here and can highly recommend it. The game drive vehicle was a great option! We will definitely go back. The facilities are top notch.

January 2019

Matthew OCallaghan (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for two weeks at Warthog Logde over Chistmas and New Year. Value for money for what you get. This biggest plus is the amazing view and the pool. The house is well equipped in all aspects and everything is in working order as well as well maintained! Lots of animals came around. The lay out of the building (main building with two annexes) makes it very convenient if you have friends staying with you. We hired the vehicles for the full time which made it so much easier with a house full of people. Lea, keep it up and thank you for being a wonderfull host, we wil be back!!

December 2018

Jan Theron (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Everything at this Lodge is above and beyond. Gorgeous View, spacious and comfortable all around, Clean and tastefully decorated. We will definitely reccommend this stunning place to anyone with their friends or family, you will never regret it. the Game Viewing Vehichle was a bonus for us and we enjoyed every ride. We will absolutely be back!!

November 2018

Lizette Sim (Fort Lauderdale)

Verified reviewexcellent

“My family came from Cape Town and Germany and I want to thank Lea for being an exceptional host. She bent backwards to accommodate our family! Such customer service is very rare! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this well-planned, beautifully situated and African eclectic furnished lodge. We fully enjoyed the spectacular view over the plains. The lapa is the perfect spot to relax and watch an awesome African sunset. Most nights, plains game walked past the lapa. Even a bushbuck and Giraffes drank from the close-by waterhole. We were most lucky to have a night visit by a small spotted genet– what a very special experience! During our game drive we had some amazing rhino encounters. What a wonderful place to escape to. We can warmly recommend the Warthog Lodge! Thanks again, Lea”

October 2018

Petra Bezuidenhout (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for a beautiful stay at Warthog! Being able to watch the warthogs literally walk by us daily, was a special treat. Views for days, peace and quiet, and loads of animals to see. It was a sublime experience.

April 2018

Cindy Elder (Windsor, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was really a peaceful experience. Spaces so vast and animal kingdom so varied. A wonderful occassion to spend with family. The accommodation is outstanding, wanting for nothing.

April 2018

Allan Streaton (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing house – good times were had by all & the stunning views were the icing on the cake! thank you for your hospitality. We can't wait to share our photos with family and friends so the will return with us next time.

February 2018

Mike Russell (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a great place to rest and spend time with loved ones! Stunning Views and Peace and Quiet.

February 2018

Heloise Henning (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Love ons blyplek in die bos. ❤ Natuur bly maar die beste!

October 2017

Judith Steinberg (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

October 2017

Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

October 2017

Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for 3 nights last week and we loved every minute! Every amenity required was catered for....we literally just unpacked and relaxed. Lea is an amazing host and we cannot recommend Warthog Lodge enough!! We will most definitely go back again...the views are spectacular when you enjoy a sundowner on the deck you can feel the peace of the area invade your soul :)

June 2017

Marle van Greuning (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a fabulous time. Has all the amenities that one would need for self catering... plus loads more ! Very comfy with spectacular views. Cant wait to visit again. Thanks for the wonderful host who looked after us.

June 2017

Maria Uys (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“A wonderful, peaceful ten days. Perfect! We saw lots of animals and it was absolute heaven.”

December 2016

de Wet Family (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Ag nee! Ons gaan môre huis toe. Dit was puik hier. Baie, baie dankie!”

December 2016

Hend van der Merwe (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

What an absolutely stunning place! I cannot recommend it enough!! There are no photos that can do Warthog Lodge justice and I often found myself just sitting and staring at the view. I would also recommend hiring the Land Rover as there is no better feeling than doing a last minute game drive as the sun starts setting. Thank you Lea for being an amazing host and being super helpful and friendly. You will definitely see us again soon!!

October 2016

Emil Siebrandt (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

The stay at Worthog lodge was truly amazing. The view from not only the patio, but also the boma is special. What made the weekend though was good company, beautiful setting (lodge and privacy), and off course the game drive vehicle. Will definitely visit again!

August 2016

Joseph McEwan (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

“A wonderful place on earth with the warmest and most special welcome by Long John Silver (the most charming warthog we have ever met)! Thanks! We will definitely be back!”

April 2016

Christel and Alex Hamburg (Kiel, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Fantastic place. Thank you so much! What a wonderful experience.”

February 2016

Alan Scott (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Spent a wonderful New Years in peace & quiet. Everything was wonderful! Pity we had to leave so soon. Will be back before the year is out.”

January 2016

Nelia Joubert (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Asemrowende uitkyk vanaf die stoep. Heerlik gekuier.”

January 2016

Hakema Family (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“As a family we have spent a wonderful few days of fun, laughter and game viewing enhanced by your comfortable and well appointed lodge. What an ambience – everything to feed the soul! Many thanks – we would love to return one day.”

December 2015

The Murray-Nobbs clan (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“What a great retreat! We have had a fantastic weekend with friends and family. Great game drives – saw plenty of animals. Great weather and the accommodation amazing. Thank you!”

November 2015

Frank & Tracey du Ponte (Mackay, Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

“What a wonderful few days, we have enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you very much.”

November 2015

Jan and Jean van Blerk (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Will be back!”

November 2015

The Benjamins (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

“My leave started on the 26th June where we started our trip from Cape Town to JHB, Mpumalanga, Polokwane, Gauteng. We travelled 2000km’s (except for the flight km’s from CT to JHB). I must say when we entered Mbamalingwe / Warthog Lodge we were stunned by the beautiful game reserve, the friendly people both at the front entrance gate right up to reception. Our stay at Warthog Lodge was just AMAZING. I actually don’t have other words to explain: The environment is absolutely beautiful. The house is in excellent condition. The surroundings were awesome. And not to speak about our visits from the Warthog’s (a lot I might add, but they gave us extreme pleasures). There was some buck as well drinking water from the waterhole, so yes we enjoyed the lodge very much. And YES a definite big huge YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS to visit again in near future! Thank you again for you and Lea’s prompt emails/ SMS. We really appreciated it. And be sure that I will recommend your lodge to the Cape Town people. You are welcome to send me newsletters etc... Have a great day!”

July 2015

Karen Woolls (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

“Fantastic experience! The accomodations were luxurious and very well equipped. The views were absolutely spectacular. Can’t wait to go back!”

February 2015

Peter Reiss (Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

“I had the privilege during December to take my family to your house in Mabalingwe (732). First of all, I would like to thank you for the opportunity. The time we spent there was not just memorable but one of the best we as a family had ever enjoyed. Our journey started off on the first evening with the Warthogs and Bush pigs that entertained us around the boma. The second evening was definitely the highlight as we were treated to a show of majestic awe, with ten elephants spending time around the house for more than 3 hours. Every single game drive was a successful one, although we had to work hard to track and find the some animals it was a journey and a story can be told for every trip. I wish I could share each and every story with you, however, the kids tell them with so much more detail and animation that my versions will do unjustly to the experience. I must say they have not stopped telling them over and over since we got back. “Lilly” your Land Rover as named by my youngest daughter provided so much fun, she was seen as a member of the family by the end of the trip and it was a sad goodbye when we left. In total 33 species of animals and 92 bird species were spotted, which I think is a very successful trip. Your assistance with the maps and information provided was a huge attribute and got the kids involved from day one. Linda and I have fallen in love with this place and we will definitely visit no 732 again. Words will never describe what this special house did to our family. For that, I will always be grateful. Thank you so much for creating memories....”

January 2015

Gerhard van Wyk (South Africa)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 3,900
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.