Warthog Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (20 reviews)

Warthog Lodge

Self Catering at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, Itaga 732, R516 Thabazimbi / Rooiberg Road, 0480, Waterberg, Limpopo, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 20 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2017

Excellent

Review by Judith Steinberg (Pretoria)

Love ons blyplek in die bos. ❤ Natuur bly maar die beste!

October 2017

Excellent

Review by Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

October 2017

Excellent

Review by Agita Vaidilaite (South Africa)

Absolutely amazing place!!! Really enjoyed it!

June 2017

Excellent

Review by Marle Van Greuning (South Africa)

We stayed for 3 nights last week and we loved every minute! Every amenity required was catered for....we literally just unpacked and relaxed. Lea is an amazing host and we cannot recommend Warthog Lodge enough!!

We will most definitely go back again...the views are spectacular when you enjoy a sundowner on the deck you can feel the peace of the area invade your soul :)

June 2017

Excellent

Review by Maria Uys (South Africa)

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a fabulous time. Has all the amenities that one would need for self catering... plus loads more ! Very comfy with spectacular views. Cant wait to visit again. Thanks for the wonderful host who looked after us.

December 2016

Excellent

Review by De Wet Family (South Africa)

“A wonderful, peaceful ten days. Perfect! We saw lots of animals and it was absolute heaven.”

December 2016

Excellent

Review by Hend Van Der Merwe (South Africa)

“Ag nee! Ons gaan môre huis toe. Dit was puik hier. Baie, baie dankie!”

October 2016

Excellent

Review by Emil Siebrandt (South Africa)

What an absolutely stunning place! I cannot recommend it enough!! There are no photos that can do Warthog Lodge justice and I often found myself just sitting and staring at the view. I would also recommend hiring the Land Rover as there is no better feeling than doing a last minute game drive as the sun starts setting. Thank you Lea for being an amazing host and being super helpful and friendly. You will definitely see us again soon!!

August 2016

Excellent

Review by Joseph McEwan (Centurion)

The stay at Worthog lodge was truly amazing. The view from not only the patio, but also the boma is special. What made the weekend though was good company, beautiful setting (lodge and privacy), and off course the game drive vehicle.

Will definitely visit again!

April 2016

Excellent

Review by Christel And Alex Hamburg (Kiel, Germany)

“A wonderful place on earth with the warmest and most special welcome by Long John Silver (the most charming warthog we have ever met)!
Thanks!
We will definitely be back!”

February 2016

Excellent

Review by Alan Scott (South Africa)

“Fantastic place. Thank you so much! What a wonderful experience.”

January 2016

Excellent

Review by Nelia Joubert (Johannesburg)

“Spent a wonderful New Years in peace & quiet. Everything was wonderful! Pity we had to leave so soon. Will be back before the year is out.”

January 2016

Excellent

Review by Hakema Family (South Africa)

“Asemrowende uitkyk vanaf die stoep. Heerlik gekuier.”

December 2015

Excellent

Review by The Murray-Nobbs Clan (South Africa)

“As a family we have spent a wonderful few days of fun, laughter and game viewing enhanced by your comfortable and well appointed lodge. What an ambience – everything to feed the soul! Many thanks – we would love to return one day.”

November 2015

Excellent

Review by Frank & Tracey Du Ponte (Mackay, Australia)

“What a great retreat! We have had a fantastic weekend with friends and family. Great game drives – saw plenty of animals. Great weather and the accommodation amazing. Thank you!”

November 2015

Excellent

Review by Jan And Jean Van Blerk (South Africa)

“What a wonderful few days, we have enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you very much.”

November 2015

Excellent

Review by The Benjamins (South Africa)

“Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Will be back!”

July 2015

Excellent

Review by Karen Woolls (Cape Town)

“My leave started on the 26th June where we started our trip from Cape Town to JHB, Mpumalanga, Polokwane, Gauteng. We travelled 2000km’s (except for the flight km’s from CT to JHB).

I must say when we entered Mbamalingwe / Warthog Lodge we were stunned by the beautiful game reserve, the friendly people both at the front entrance gate right up to reception.

Our stay at Warthog Lodge was just AMAZING. I actually don’t have other words to explain:

The environment is absolutely beautiful.
The house is in excellent condition.
The surroundings were awesome.

And not to speak about our visits from the Warthog’s (a lot I might add, but they gave us extreme pleasures).
There was some buck as well drinking water from the waterhole, so yes we enjoyed the lodge very much.

And YES a definite big huge YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS to visit again in near future!

Thank you again for you and Lea’s prompt emails/ SMS. We really appreciated it.

And be sure that I will recommend your lodge to the Cape Town people.

You are welcome to send me newsletters etc...

Have a great day!”

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Peter Reiss (Canada)

“Fantastic experience! The accomodations were luxurious and very well equipped. The views were absolutely spectacular. Can’t wait to go back!”

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Gerhard Van Wyk (South Africa)

“I had the privilege during December to take my family to your house in Mabalingwe (732).
First of all, I would like to thank you for the opportunity.
The time we spent there was not just memorable but one of the best we as a family had ever enjoyed.

Our journey started off on the first evening with the Warthogs and Bush pigs that entertained us around the boma. The second evening was definitely the highlight as we were treated to a show of majestic awe, with ten elephants spending time around the house for more than 3 hours. Every single game drive was a successful one, although we had to work hard to track and find the some animals it was a journey and a story can be told for every trip. I wish I could share each and every story with you, however, the kids tell them with so much more detail and animation that my versions will do unjustly to the experience. I must say they have not stopped telling them over and over since we got back. “Lilly” your Land Rover as named by my youngest daughter provided so much fun, she was seen as a member of the family by the end of the trip and it was a sad goodbye when we left.

In total 33 species of animals and 92 bird species were spotted, which I think is a very successful trip.
Your assistance with the maps and information provided was a huge attribute and got the kids involved from day one.

Linda and I have fallen in love with this place and we will definitely visit no 732 again.

Words will never describe what this special house did to our family. For that, I will always be grateful.

Thank you so much for creating memories....”

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 2500
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -24.811756
Longitude: 28.053736

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 184km
OR Tambo International - 174km
Polokwane Airport - 204km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome but due to the wild animals that roam freely, need to be under the supervision of adults at all times.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
April 2016 - 20 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap - Towns A-Z