Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewpoor

** STAY AWAY ** STAY AWAY ** STAY AWAY ** I can't stress enough how much you need to skip this one. The roads are atrocious and unless you drive a Jeep Wrangler you are not getting through any of those roads. It's 80kms from Dullstroom if you want the "good" road as they say the road is suitable for a sedan which from 1st hand experience I can guarantee you that it's not. We had to cancel our booking due to the fact that we could get to the venue due to flooding and inaccessibility and after numerous requests to the owners, we can't even get a partial refund even though we booked months in advance and paid in full. They won't even return a phone call. We detailed our experience and even have photographic evidence that the roads are unsuitable for a sedan, even though they gave us every assurance that they were, thus forcing us to cancel our booking and seek alternative accommodation at a great expense. Roads are terrible, area requires driving through an informal settlement and there are no signs to aid navigation. I stress yet again, find alternative accommodation !!!!

April 2018

Eduard Biermann (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great hospitality, fabulous accommodation and glorious views.

January 2017

Lesley Veiz (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The setting is idyllic, the nature cabins are fabulous, private and romantic. The reserve is magnificent. Staff are professional, friendly and very helpful. Can't wait to visit again.

July 2016

Sue Olswang (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were treated like royalty! The room was amazing, the management and staff friendly and courteous! Guaranteed a re-visit!

July 2016

Magdel Thompson (Germiston)

Verified reviewexcellent

A group of friends and I stayed at the Valley of the Rainbow over a weekend. We stayed in the country house, which sleeps ten people comfortably. The house and the property was well kept and we had a phenomenal time. I would recommend Valley of the Rainbow to anyone who is looking for a beatiful place to stay in Mpumalanga. Mr. Peach and his staff were very warm and welcoming. Thinking of making Valley of the Rainbow a place to go to every year. Was truly magical. Thank you Mr. Peach.

June 2013

Nora Nameka (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful place to visit. Luxurious, tastefully decorated accommodation, fabulous 6-course dinners, beautiful grounds with endless opportunities for hiking and climbing. The staff are friendly and helpful, and will go out of their way to make the guests feel comfortable . Just one thing though - DO NOT TAKE THE DIRT ROAD FROM DULLSTROOM unless you have 4x4 vehicle , - (especially when it has been raining )... otherwise, Valley of the Rainbow is a dream destination ,

November 2012

Dawn Etkin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent!!! Very professional and friendly assistance! Absolutely breathtaking place, with plenty beautiful trout. The tented chalets are our idea of a breakaway! We will DEFINITELY visit again and recommend to everyone!

July 2010

Jacques & Lindie (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I visited in January 09 for 4 days. The night before we left my husband read some of the previous comments and was a bit concerned as it was not too good. Well, all I can say is that we could not have chosen a better venue to "de-stress" before facing the challenges of 2009. Susan and Jannie are exceptional hosts. We travel a lot, but have never received the service we got from them. The staff - brilliant. The respect Susan and Jannie shows the staff, blew us away. The food was of the best quality. We were excited to see what would be on the menu every night. We would recommend this venue to anyone who wants to "get away" from it all. Susan and Jannie - keep it up !!! you are the best!!!!!! Hugh and Abigale

January 2009

Abigale du Sart (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 800
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Valley Of The Rainbow

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.