Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

The B&B very clean and neat, the hospitality is great, the owner Bruce is very friendly & helpful, every morning received a delicious breakfast. Will most certainly stay there again.

April 2019

Liezel De Lange (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was such an amazing stay there. Under the Berg B&B is a cosy accomodation with great hospitality in a wonderful surroundings. Bruce, the owner, is all the time very friendly & helpful also his wife and the whole staff. We enjoyed every morning his home-made delicious breakfast with best scrumbled eggs ever. It's a pity we could stay there longer than 3 days. When it will be possible we stay there again! Thank you Bruce for the hint with "Major Adventures" for our Sani Pass Trip. Es war ein so wunderbarer Aufenthalt. Under the Berg B&B ist eine gemütliche, gastfreundliche und familiäre Unterkunft in einer wunderschönen Umgebung. Bruce, der Besitzer, ist die ganze Zeit sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, aber auch seine Frau und das gesamte Personal. Wir haben jeden Morgen sein hausgemachtes köstliches Frühstück mit den besten Rührei gefreut. Es ist schade, dass wir nicht länger als die 3 Tage bleiben konnten. Wenn es möglich ist, werden wir wieder einmal dort übernachten! Vielen Dank Bruce für den Hinweis mit "Major Adventures" für unsere Sani Pass Tour.

April 2019

Axel Düwel (Germany / Baltic Sea / Mecklenburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were met with wonderful friendliness from when we arrived through to when we left. Will happily come back in the future.

May 2017

Teunis Schlebusch (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in the rondavel for two nights. It was nice and clean and cosy with a nice shower. Bruce was so welcoming and he made us feel very comfortable and helped us out in anyway he could. The breakfast was delicious!

March 2017

Catherine (Port Shepstone)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. The rondavel was a very cosy and cute room. The service was great, we could always pop in for a question. Also, breakfast was delicious and at your own time. I would definitely come back to this place or recommend other people!

March 2017

Lisanne (Port Shepstone)

Verified reviewexcellent

Under the berg provided the perfect setting for a special New year's eve. The rondavel style room was warm, intimate and cosy. Bruce and Julie were amazingly accommodating especially for a New Year morning. And Bruce, the 'eggspert' provided us with a lovely breakfast. It truly was a wonderful stay.

January 2017

Yashmika (Durban )

Verified reviewexcellent

A true home from home! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Really warm comfortable accommodation, very friendly and welcoming hosts, Bruce and Julie, delicious full english breakfast and the most adorable dogs, made our stay absolutely wonderful. Stunning view of the snow capped mountains...even now in October much to my surprise! A getaway that was well worth it!

October 2016

Jayne Cansfield (Hillcrest, Durban, KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Under_the_berg was the highlight of our SA trip. We immediately felt at home, the rondavel was an absolute knock-out, the sunset views were spectacular, Bruce was the perfect host (we didn't see much of Julie as she had to work), the dogs made friends with us from the get-go, and the entire atmosphere was lovely...I was even allowed to make my own pawpaw breakfast in their kitchen, which only added to the feeling of being home away from home. This B&B is a must if you need a good place to stay in the southern part of the Drakensbergen!

July 2013

Enid Hansen (Melick)

Verified reviewexcellent

When alighting from my transport in Underberg I lost my passport, bank card, credit card and ID. Fortunately my passport was picked up by someone and returned but not the other items. Bruce and Julia told me that I should stay on as long as i wanted and they would lend me the money to do all the things I had planned to do when I came there and when I returned to Durban I could pay everything I owed them into their account.As it happened I had drawn enough cash for everything so did not have to take them up on the offer, but this shows you the kind of people it was my pleasure to have as hosts. Aside from all that, they offer tranquil accommodation in beautiful surroundings and serve a lovely breakfast at a very reasonable price. One complaint, every time I challenged Bruce to a game of table tennis, he made some silly excuse about having a sore toe.

February 2013

Fallon (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Paige and Debbie stayed for 3 nights and although no snow in Underberg, Julie and Bruce found out where the snow was and we drove there and had fun. Thank you guys so much! Lucky and Jed - We miss you guys!!! Reece - Remember (fresh air and less cricket!!!!!!) Hope you are making some good runs, and remember - We are watching you! Paige with an "i" says "Hi". Thank you guys for a wonderful time.

June 2009

Debbie Atkinson (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

I LOVE STAYING WITH JULIE AND BRUCE AT UNDER_THE_BERG. IT FEELS LIKE A SECOND HOME TO ME EVERYTIME I GO THERE. THEY ARE SO WARM AN WELCOMING AND THEY ARE SITUATED IN SUCH A SPECTACULAR LOCATION, YOU NEVER WANT TO LEAVE.

February 2008

Zama Khumalo (Durban)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 820
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.