Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Having returned to Somerset West after all my children flew back to their various destinations in Sydney, London and Munich I would like to thank you and your staff once again for the wonderful holiday we had at Timbavati and Umlani Bushcamp in particular. It was the sort of experience one needs from time to time to restore one's batteries and to regain the positive outlook on life which is so badly needed in these crime-ridden times. Please pass on our sincere thanks to all who made a contribution to that memorable experience, be it in the seats of the Land Rover or at the dining room table. A special thanks also for the champagne and the cake on my birthday and for including Sandy & Mark Wilkes, too.

April 2017

Klaus (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Louise and Kyle We’re back in the states (as of yesterday) and just wanted to send you a note of thanks for our recent experience at Umlani. Lynn, Tess and I all loved it there, and it was an experience that we won’t forget. You and all the staff there were incredibly gracious hosts and it was great to meet you and the other guests there. Thanks again and look us up if you’re ever in Seattle! Regards, Kevin Kevin O'Neill

July 2010

Kevin O' Neill (USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Tarryn, The below is the feedback I have received from Eduardo Stark. Please see the below: "Just wanted to let you know that everything went smoothly, we all had a great time in the Park and the Umlani camp definitely fulfilled - if not surpassed - our expectations. Good fun! Thank you for all your arrangements, especially considering I came on board on short notice." Please do pass the above onto the lodge and its staff. Thanks for your assistance with this last minute booking! Very warm regards, Nerissa (Uyaphi)

June 2010

Eduardo Stark (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hello to all the staff at Umlani Myself and my partner Tony spent a few days with you in early June (we came with Memory as part of a Peregrine tour) and I wanted to say thank you for the wonderful time we had. Thanks in particular to Ginger and Hendricks for showing us so many beautiful animals and giving us information about them and the country. Thank you to Christie and to Thembi for making us feel at home and so well looked after. Thank you to all who shared dinner, drinks and stories around the fire in the evening. Staying at Umlani was the highlight of our holiday and even the world cup soccer games suffered from comparison. I am also looking forward to seeing the documentary about the white lions in thenear future. Many thanks again, I will be telling everyone considering a visit to South Africa that Umlani is a place not to be missed. From Rhonda and Tony (aussie, aussie aussie)

June 2010

Rhonda & Tony (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Marie and Marco, I just need to let you know that Umlani has never been better! I took my wife and guests down on Friday and we had a fantastic weekend. Louise and Kyle were great hosts and the camp staff were extremely friendly. I must compliment the staff on beautifully set dining tables. It seems that I have become an old friend there and had a hearty and warm welcome. I have to admit to being a little nervous before arriving as I did not know who was running the camp, and would it be like it was? Well I truly can say that all is better than ever! Every one in our group were most impressed, and we will be back! Thanks very much, Gavin Lundie

May 2010

Gavin Lundie (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

To all our friends at Umlani We are safely back home in ausie after a wonderful trip. Thank you everybody for an amazing stay at your beautiful camp - all your efforts and the trouble you took were very much appreciated - the friendship, the food, the drives, the rondawel, were perfect and we really enjoyed the experience. You have the best KOSHER restaurant in the Province!Mike has not stopped telling everybody of the Big 5 and all the other animals and we have some good photos. How was the wedding - must have been lovely! Christie, did you manage to meet Maruska in Durban? We hope that you had a good time there! I will contact her and suggest she put Umlani on her books. Did you hear from Jenny and Fred? I do hope that she recovered quickly. Hope the leopard and cubs are doing well. Should any of you come to Ausie - please contact us! Thanks again, take care everybody, we miss you. Love Sheila and Mike

May 2010

Michael & Sheila Fisher (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Tarryn and Marco Thank you so much for the wonderful experience of staying one night at Umlani. As soon as I arrived I fell in love with the place, everything was just excellent! The accommodation was very comfortable and loved the fact that there is no electricity or cell phone reception. It is definitely of all the lodges that I've been to the place where I felt the closest to nature. All the staff was extremely friendly, the food excellent and the game drive with Moses was also great and interesting. Umlani is my idea of paradise! I can assure you that I would gladly recommend Umlani. We are working on having some special private tours on our website and with that I would definitely like to include a bush package with Umlani. I will keep you informed. Kind regards, Johan

May 2010

Johan Du Toit (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Umlani We had an excellent time on holidays here. One of the best experiences of our lives. We wrote a little poem about our memories. Moses and Hendrick went out for a play Moses came back with a gun and some hay But where was Hendrick the tracker Now this was a very serious matter Hendrick was out looking for the rhino we'd asked to be seen But this rhino was mean and keen It went round and round in a circle or two And came back to hide from me and you We didn't see a rhino that day or the next either That rhino was a very big teaser. We trully appreciate the time we had at umlani and the hospitality you showed our family. Kind thoughts The Hancocks NSW, Australia

April 2010

The Hancocks (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our family of 3 (us +15 yr old daughter) spent 3 nights at Umlani as part of a Peregrine Tour. As we were the only people on our tour we were glad to have the fantastic people and atmosphere of Umlani. We saw so many animals and birds on the 6 game drives, ranger Ginger and tracker Hendrick were fearless letting no tree or bush get in the Rover's way when in pursuit of such animals as Wild dogs, leopard, rhino etc. The highlight of the adventure was spending the night in the Treehouse. We saw a male leopard on the way to the Treehouse but there was not much around all night. A little daunted at the prospect of being so high and without a loo, I decided to spend a few hours and then get picked up and return to camp. In the morning, spotlighting still didnt show much and I decided that I just "had to go", it was at this time that Kira pointed out the leopard at the bottom of the ladder to the treehouse. Not surprisingly I forgot about anything else but spotlighting the beautiful creature below us, hoping he didnt feel like climbing the tree! Great excitment and our own private close up experience with him. We loved Umlani, staff excellent, food terrific and environment wonderful, hardly any mozzies either. Hoping to return another time soon. Loved it.

April 2010

Haines Family (Australia)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 7,380
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Umlani Bushcamp

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.