Reviews & Comments

Showing 112 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We satyed at The Trout and Butterfly during our Company training conference in Dullstroom. It is very beautiful

January 2016

MRS L OOSTHUIZEN (NELSPRUIT)

Verified reviewvery good

Thank you for a great stay

January 2016

MR E VENTER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

Loved our stay at The Trout and Butterfly. Great location for fishing, restuarants and shopping.

January 2016

MR E VAN RENSBURG (POLOKWANE)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic weekend in Dullstroom and as always really enjoyed staying at The Trout and Butterfly

January 2016

MR T TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had our year end function at The Trout and Butterfly it was great

December 2015

MR N ROBERTSE (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

Loved our Christmas at The Trout and Butterfly. Thank you to Steve and Jackie for arranging a Chrsitmas tree.

December 2015

MR J NEL (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We really enjoyed our stay Thank you so much

November 2015

MRS Y SNYMAN (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

The kids loved it so much. The boys loved fishing in the Dullstroom dam The Trout and Butterfly is a fantastic venue Thank you

November 2015

MR J MERRY (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great stay. Thank you.

October 2015

MR C VAN DER BERG (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Second visit for us and a first for my parents in law from Belgium. We had a great stay. Thank you

September 2015

MR R VAN NIEKERK (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great Stay. Very well equipped, Very clean

September 2015

MRS A SCHOEMAN (HARTEBEESPOORT)

Verified reviewvery good

Lovely stay Thank you

August 2015

MRS DIEKERICKS (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Best Womans Day weekend ever. Had so much fun. Thank you to Sannie who looked after us so well. We will do this again

August 2015

MRS WHITLOCK (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful place to get away and experience the peace of the Mpumalanga highveld. Our son Jordan caught his first fish.

July 2015

MRS A S MILLAR (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

The enitre family loved The Trout and Butterfly. The kids rode their bikes, my parents loved the secluded courtyard and my wife and I really enjoyed preparing the meals in the well equipped kitchen

July 2015

MR D PATER (DURBAN)

Verified reviewvery good

The propterty met all our expectations. Clean, well maintained, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Thank you

June 2015

MR C ROTHMAN (DURBAN)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Trout and Butterfly is the perfect venue for a family gathering. We had so much fun. Loved the fireplace and the undefloor heating.

June 2015

MRS L SEALY (ZIMBABWE)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovey venue, Centrally located but with a feeling of being in a different world. Thank you

May 2015

MRS E CLARKE (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

From our arrival to our departure everything was great. So nice to know that the dogs were sage in the courtyard when we went out

May 2015

MR T DOUGLAS (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

Our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly So good to see the standards as as high as they were on our first visit. Thank you to Sannie (housekeeper) who looked after us during our stay

April 2015

MRS W NEL (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A fabulous 3 day break. Everything was perfect. Thank you

April 2015

MR LOUBSER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

A most special place. Thank you for a wonderful Easter weekend.

April 2015

MRS BURKE (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

The perfect half-way stop en route to the Kruger Park. The Trout and Butterfly met all our requirements. Thank you to Sannie for making us feel so welcome

March 2015

MRS COETZEE (newcastle)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a most enjoyable stay at The Trout and Butterfly. Thank you. We have booked for December!!!

March 2015

MR NESBITT (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Trout and Butterfly offered exactly what we needed for a family reunion. Everyone including the dogs had a fabulous time. We will be back

February 2015

MR TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Trout and Butterfly offered exactly what we needed for a family reunion. Everyone including the dogs had a fabulous time. We will be back

February 2015

MR TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

A wonderful weekend getaway.

February 2015

MRS N CHOTU (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Being able to walk into town was fantastic. Loved The Trout and Butterfly. Clean, spacious, well maintained and beautifully furnished.

February 2015

MRS VAN DER SPUY (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

New Year in Dullies. Its got to be done. Sannie the housekeeper at the Trout and Butterfly is a gem. Looked after us so well. Will try to be back for Christmas in July

December 2014

MRS V KNIVER (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

The kids loved it, the dogs loved it we loved it. Thank you to Steve and Jackie for going the extra mile when we had car trrouble. We will be back

December 2014

MR PIETERSE (LADYSMITH)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly did not dissapoint. We hope to be back in 2015

December 2014

MRS WALKER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay at The Trout and Butterfly. So well equipped, and beautifully maintained. Thank you

December 2014

MR BOUWMEESTER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have already made our second reservation. Cant wait for September. The Trout and Butterfly location is fantastic - walking distance to everything.

July 2014

MRS A HELLET (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A great breakaway. Kids fished, rode thier bicycles, and had a ball at the bird of prey centre. The courtyard is ideal for sundowners.

July 2014

MRS S LANGENHOVEN (nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a fun weekend in such a wonderful venue. Bookclub mid-year break. Thank you so much

July 2014

MRS J LA FLEUR (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewvery good

I had the most fabulous birthday surprise. The Trout and Butterfly is the perfect venue. Thank you to Sannie (housekeeper) who looked after us so well.

June 2014

MR C BAUWER (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had the most amazing long weekend. The Trout and Butterfly is very well maintained and beautifully equipped.

June 2014

MRS TURNER (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stopped over on route to the Kruger Park. Perfect half-way stop. Clean, well kept and fully equipped.

June 2014

MRS C DREW (PIETERMARITZBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

We had a lovely time. Thank you for accomodating our request for an early check in.

May 2014

MRS N GARWIE (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second visit. So good to see the standards being maintained. The "Yorkie children" had a ball. We will be back. Thank you

May 2014

MR MACPHERSON (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great weekend. The Whiskey bar should not be missed.

May 2014

MR B SIBANYONI (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

The kids were safe, the dogs were safe, the parents were happy. Such a great place to escape to. Hope to see you in December Thank you so much

May 2014

MRS SUNNASY (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly, and we were so glad we booked again. Everything was perfect. Thank you so much. Such a wonderful venue for a family get-to-gether.

April 2014

Mrs P Emmett (BENONI)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an incredible time and were absolutely thrilled with the calibre of the accomodation and service. We will definately stay again. Thanks very much

April 2014

MRS FEIS (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a fun couple of days catching up with the girls. Thank you we will be back

April 2014

SWAN (MALELANE)

Verified reviewexcellent

Summer in Dullies. Long afternoons in the courtyard. The Trout and Butterfly has everything. Thank you so much. Really enjoyed our stay

March 2014

MR J BRUWER (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

The perfect spot for a weekend away. Sannie looked after us really well. Walked up Suikerboskop and around town. We will definately be back

March 2014

MRS G WELHAGEN (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful family venue. Kids rode their bikes for hours. Will be back. Thank you

February 2014

MRS Y YUST (Limpopo)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great weekend for the whole family. Loved walking to Mrs Simpsons for dinner. The Trout and Butterfly is beautifully appointed and very well maintained. Champagne breakfast in the courtyard was such fun

February 2014

MRS E MULDER (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Post ChrstimasNew Year break. Much needed rest in the perfect venue. Thank you. See you again

January 2014

MRS VIVIERS (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful pre Chrsitmas break. We will definately be back. Thank you to Jackie & Steve for accomodating our every need.

December 2013

MRS N MAYLON (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a wonderful Christmas venue. Thank you to Jackie for the funky Christmas tree. We had so much fun

December 2013

MRS I HOUDET (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

End of year company function. Perfect venue. Will be back

November 2013

JENNY DOWN (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Second visit. Fabulous stay. Thank you

November 2013

MR G TAIT (POLOKWANE)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such a fabulous weekend. The Trout and Butterfly has everything. Will be back

October 2013

MRS M TEIXEIRA (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved the privacy and space. See you next year

August 2013

MR C LAWSON (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Perfect venue for a ladies weekend. Loved the bathrooms

August 2013

MRS C BORELY (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great. Thank you.

August 2013

MR S VAN DER MERWE (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

IT WAS PERFECT, THANK YOU

July 2013

MRS A MULLER (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very beautiful. Thank you for accomodating the extra kids.

July 2013

MR W KRITZMAR (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

The perfect place to stop over on the way to the park. Beautiful and very well maintainted

July 2013

MRS L BEKKER (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Enjoyed being able to walk to town and the Dullstroom dam. Kids loved it

June 2013

MR HARRIS (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

WE HAD SUCH FUN. THANK YOU TO SANNIE WHO LOOKED AFTER US.

June 2013

MRS ODENDAAL (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Winter in Dullies. Lovely fire place, Beautiful space. Loved our stay

June 2013

MRS T KLOPPER (Johanneburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely fab. Everything we needed. Clean, spacious, beautifully appointed. We will be back

May 2013

MRS VISAGIE (nelspruit)

Verified reviewexcellent

We throughly enjoyed our stay. The Trout and Butterfly has everthing one could want for a completely relaxed breakaway. Loved it.

May 2013

MRS M VISAGIE (SABIE SAND)

Verified reviewvery good

Such a special venue for a family gathering. Throughly enjoyed the ambiance of the Trout and Butterfly. Thank you to Jackie & Steve for all their imput in arranging the event.

May 2013

MR J. MOSS (DURBAN)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly, and we enjoyed it just as much as the first visit.

April 2013

MR S.I CLARK (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were so impressed with the Trout and Butterfly. Private, immaculate and beautifully appointed. We will definately book again

April 2013

DR D. ROUX (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A relaxing breakaway. Loved the privacy of the courtyard. The housekeeper is really efficient, we wanted for nothing.

March 2013

MR R. KLIEMA (JOHANNESBBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great venue, great stay, Will be back

March 2013

MRS S. MARAIS (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Difficult to decide who loved it more the dogs or us. We had a great stay. The Trout and Butterfly is beautifully appointed and very well looked after. Thank you so much

March 2013

MRS A. SCHOEMAN (NELSPRUIT)

Verified reviewexcellent

From the making of the reservation, to the check in, to the housekeeping, to the actual venue such a great experience. Loved it. Will be back

February 2013

MRS A LEWIS (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

Coperate getaway. So nice to find such andupmarket well looked after venue. Will book in my private capacity.

February 2013

MRS Y MOMMSEN (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay. Thank you to Jackie for arranging a game of golf at Hightland Gate golf estate. Very well quipped and beautifuly appointed

January 2013

DR E. VAHED (pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We only have good things to say about The Trout and Butterfly. The home was beautiful, well equipped and Sannie(the housekeeper) was really efficient to!! We had a wonderful time, and will definately be back, and recommend The Trout and Butterfly to others!

January 2013

MR D CHATER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much we had a wonderful stay. Will be back.

January 2013

MRS S ALBERTS (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Really enjoyed our stay. We will be back

December 2012

MAHER (ERMELO)

Verified reviewexcellent

We only have good things to say about The trout and Butterfly! The home was beautiful, well equippied and Sannie (the housekeeper) was really efficient too! We will recommend The Trout and Butterfly to otuhers!

December 2012

MR DEAN CHATER (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place to spend Christmas. Lots of room for the whole family. Carols by candlelight in Dullstroom. We will be back

December 2012

MR G. HURRELL (KYALAMI)

Verified reviewvery good

So good to find a venue that lives up to expectations. Spacious, well equipped, private, well maintained. Everything we had hoped for.

December 2012

MRS A KLOPPERS (BRITS)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great venue to excape the heat of the lowveld. Spacious, clean, very well equipped. Kids loved the secret bathroom!!!

November 2012

GILLINGS (WHITE RIVER)

Verified reviewvery good

Spacious, private, very well equipped. Courtyard is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the company of friends and family

November 2012

LEE (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

Lots of space, very comfortable, well equipped, well maintained. Great location.

October 2012

MR P. RISLEY (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

Great family break just before the onset of Matric finals. My wife loved the very well equipped kitchen. Kids have asked that we book again

September 2012

UREN (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Private, very well maintained and equipped. Loved the walk up Suikerboskop.

September 2012

JOOSTE (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved, loved, loved. The Trout and Butterfly, very peaceful, very private. We had such lovely evenings in the privacy of the courtyard. Very well equipped

August 2012

HINTON (PIETERMARITZBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fabulous break for the Womens day weekend. Immaculate, well serviced,. Great bathrooms. This is going to be a regular on a breakaway list

August 2012

VAN LEINDEN (NELSPRUIT)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great venue for a family reunion. Very well equipped.

July 2012

MRS R MUDALI (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved walking into town, great vibe. The Trout and Butterfly was just perfect

July 2012

MRS M. SEQUEIRA (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewvery good

Had a wonderful stay. Jackie even arranged for the kids school uniforms to be laundered so we could stay another night.

July 2012

MRS C. HALSTEAD (johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great venue for a family breakaway.Private, clean and very will equipped.

July 2012

MR. J. BEZUIDENHOUT (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewvery good

Wonderful break. The dogs loved the walk to the Dullstroom dam.

July 2012

LAMBRECHTS (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

A secret garden for the kids. So close to Dullies, loved the space. So good to be able to bring our dogs who had a great time at the Dullstroom dam.

June 2012

MR H. GARRANA (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great stay. Thank you. The four legged children loved it.

June 2012

MS. L SMITH (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Really enjoyed our stay. Thand you to Steve for making us feel so welcome. The Trout and Butterfly has everything you need for a home from home experiece. Will be back

May 2012

MR N ROETS (MALELANE)

Verified reviewvery good

Very well equipped, and maintained, great location,

April 2012

BOUWER (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fabulous weekend breakaway venue. Kids loved fishing at the Dullstroom dam. Accomodation perfect. Will see you next Easter

April 2012

MRS B HUME (johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a lovely stay. So good to be able to walk to the restaurants and yet just far enough out of town to have that "country feeling". Very well equipped. Will be back

March 2012

NAGY (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a lovely stay. So good to be able to walk to the restaurants and yet just far enough out of town to have that "country feeling". Very well equipped. Will be back

March 2012

NAGY (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Conforatable drive from Nelspuirt, perfect desitination for a mid-term break. Well equipped, very comfortable, Will definately come again.

March 2012

BECKER (NELSPRUIT)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved the privacy and the fact that the kids could be "contained" in the courtyard without feeling cramped. Beautifully equipped. Cleaning lady very friendly ane efficient. Thank you for a wonderful stay

February 2012

DE PLEDGE (ENGLAND)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second visit and we were again very impressed by the standards of The Trout and Butterfly. Well maintanined, elelgantly furnished, and very will equipped.

January 2012

JOHAN VAN DER MERWE (HAZYVIEW)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderfula stay, Immaculatly maintained, Well serviced. Nice and private.

January 2012

WILLIAMS (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

So good to find a pet friendly venue. Loved our stay, will be back

January 2012

ALLERS (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A throughly enjoubale stay. Very well kept. Lovley staff, great location... just far enough out of Dullstroom to be secluded and near enough to walk to the dam or even down to the pub. Will definately be back

December 2011

MIKE STOLTZ (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thnak you for a lovey Christmas. The addtion of an already decoated tree was such a bonus!! The kids loved the space and the proximaty to town is perfect (no hustle and bustle and yet near enough) We will be back.

December 2011

MR C. HOLLAND (PRETORIA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just to let you know that the Trout and Butterfly is a beautiful place to stay. The facilities were outstanding and the house well equipped and clean. We would definitely stay there again Regards Fiona

October 2011

FIONA BROWNE (jo)

Verified reviewexcellent

A very comfortable, well equppied and mainted home. Value for money: Excellent Staff at the veneu:Excellent

August 2011

IAN CLARKE (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful home. Excellent service, value for money, We will definitely book again.

July 2011

ROBBIE TUINDER (JOHANNESBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

Having traveled extensively through Africa, our stay at The Trout and Butterfly was a highlight. Wonderful attention to detail, very comfortable beds and superb service. We loved the courtyard... very private Thank you so much. We will be back

May 2011

Micheline Haller (SWITZERLAND)

Verified reviewexcellent

Love it! Fabulous rooms and facilities, great vibe and excellent hosts - will definitely stay there again!

April 2011

Andrea (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,380
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Trout and Butterfly

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.