Thunzi Bush Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (23 reviews)

Thunzi Bush Lodge

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering / Wedding Venue at Maitland Road, Maitlands, Port Elizabeth, 6018, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 23 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 23 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Jill & Mark (RSA)

Thank you all for a memorable honeymoon experience - you were great hosts and we had a wonderful time - the place is just beautiful! (ps-food was also amazing!)

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Kobus & Lourike (RSA)

Wonderful, peaceful place to come relax. Romantic picnic was the highlight of our honeymoon, that and a romantic star light dinner for two. Will recommend and return!

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Wendenburg Family (Hamburg Germany)

What a wonderful place you have! Don't ever give it up please! Super Service! Thanks so much!

March 2012

Excellent

Review by Bennie & Sonja (RSA)

Pragtige, goed versorgde aand met lieflike uitsig, privaatheid en die wonderlike stilte. Kos was uit boonste rakke! Hou so aan! Vriendelike personeel x-x

February 2012

Excellent

Review by Tash & Dane (RSA)

Thank you to William & betty for good food, awesome service and a lovely stay!

January 2012

Excellent

Review by Nankie Houghton (Gaborone Botswana)

Thank you so much for your amazing and overwhelming hospitality. It was exceptionally good and we had a great time. I just wish I stayed longer than 2 nights.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Ruan & Zanne (South Africa)

Wonderlik rustig! Dankie vir jul gasvryheid. Het die tydjie hier terdee geniet.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Gharde & Jaco (South Africa)

It was amazing! Thank you for all the organising etc - you helped make the most incredible night even more special!

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Strydom (South Africa)

Very Pleasant & relaxing, Food was excellent!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Elsa Van Zyl & Erich Van Der Walt (Kimberley RSA)

I loved my stay at Thunzi and Ill go back any day! The food and the staff was excellent!!! Its beautiful and I think I will have my wedding there...... I didnt even bother me that there wasnt a TV. We were there for 5days, and it felt like one. There is so much to do in so little time. Thanks to everyone there, as specially BETTY (the cook) THanks, it was like being in heaven!

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Elsa Van Zyl & Erich Van Der Walt (Kimberley RSA)

I loved my stay at Thunzi and Ill go back any day! The food and the staff was excellent!!! Its beautiful and I think I will have my wedding there...... I didnt even bother me that there wasnt a TV. We were there for 5days, and it felt like one. There is so much to do in so little time. Thanks to everyone there, as specially BETTY! THanks, it was like being in heaven!

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Mr & Mrs Geldenhuise (South Africa)

To everyone@Thunzi, thank you so much for a wonderful stay! it was so blessed! and the food was devine!
we will always recommend this beautiful place! thanks Sbongile,Betty, Greer and all the staff!
this was truly the most wonderful first honeymoon that we could have wished for, every thing was Perfect, especial Betty's cooking!!!. The staff were the best,friendly,hospitable and very capable... thank you

November 2008

Excellent

Review by Emma & Mark Fullbrook (UK)

We’ve found a little piece of heaven!!! From the beautiful surroundings to the wonderful food (Thanks Betty) from the friendly pets (Kira & Nero) to all the help and assistance that Greer provided. The best you can say about any place you stay is that you can’t wait to come back…and we can’t wait!


November 2008

Excellent

Review by Achmed Suhrke (Germany)

Here I found the most lovely people I met since we arrived in SA- Sbongile & Greer. What a couple of joy, love and happiness. These charming characters make this place much more beautiful than it is on its own. You hav e settled the sun into our souls. We do thank you & send you much love and light from our hearts.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Janine & Conrad Loots (Joburg-RSA)

We had a wonderful stay. The view from the chalet was beautiful. The bush walk was great, sand boarding was lots of fun! We will definitely visit again. Thank you very much for a great holiday.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Ruth & Brian (UK & Ireland)

Thanks so much for what has turned out to be the highlight of our trip so far. The cabin was far nicer than we had expected and the view alone would be worth the trip from the UK. The food was superb and we will be on diets now for the duration of our stay. Now if we can only think of a way to smuggle Kira & Nero back with us…

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Ryan Derman & Adele Engelbrecht (RSA)

Lekker! Lekker! Relaxing and rejuvenating. The walk is well maintained and pristine. Service excellent with staff that are friendly and eager to please. The food was excellent (Thanks to Sbongile & Betty for looking after us so well). Will defiantly be back and recommend to everyone.

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Riaan & Louise (RSA)

Special thanks to the Fish Eagles “joining” us for breakfast every morning! Kira & Nero showing us the way on the walking trail! Betty “jou kos is fantasties!!” Sbongile and Greer for your exceptional hospitality! Cheers!

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Hendrik & Erin Van Vuuren (New York-USA)

Thank you for a perfect honeymoon. The privacy and closeness to nature here are remarkable and the food is some of the best we’ve ever had. We’ll never forget our stay.

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Wayne, Michelle, Jolene, Kyles, Samantha & Roxy (UK)

Dear Thunzi Staff – Thanks so much for the lovely hospitality and excellent service. The lodge is beautiful and the food was superb!! This is really a great place to visit. Everything the best for the New Year and years to come.

December 2007

Excellent

Review by Peet, Madeleine, Monique & François (RSA)

Dit is the eerste plek in my lewe wat ek besoek en nie terug verlang huis toe nie!! ‘n Paradys waar ek so naby aan my Skepper gevoel het. Alles FANTASTIES-Dankie!

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Katy & Tony Mthethwa (Johannesburg)

“WOW! What a perfect and amazing getaway! We’ve had a truly wonderful week & honeymoon in the bush. Thank you so much for all your amazing hospitality.

November 2007

Excellent

Review by Alison & Dean Rigby (Cheshire-UK)

Fantastic location & getaway from everything! Hidden gem! Fantastic food, weather, walks. Quad biking recommended. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable & making us feel welcome.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 1295
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.979628
Longitude: 25.320384

Closest airport(s)
Port Elizabeth Airport - 30km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
August 2004 - 23 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap