Reviews & Comments

Showing 25 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Our short stay was fantastic .. the accommodation was excellent ... service was prompt and of a high quality .... we shall definitely be coming back again . Barry Benjamin

July 2018

Barry Benjamin (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

A truly amazing experience!

August 2017

lyle edwards (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you all for a memorable honeymoon experience - you were great hosts and we had a wonderful time - the place is just beautiful! (ps-food was also amazing!)

May 2012

Jill & Mark (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful, peaceful place to come relax. Romantic picnic was the highlight of our honeymoon, that and a romantic star light dinner for two. Will recommend and return!

April 2012

Kobus & Lourike (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place you have! Don't ever give it up please! Super Service! Thanks so much!

March 2012

Wendenburg Family (Hamburg Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Pragtige, goed versorgde aand met lieflike uitsig, privaatheid en die wonderlike stilte. Kos was uit boonste rakke! Hou so aan! Vriendelike personeel x-x

March 2012

Bennie & Sonja (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you to William & betty for good food, awesome service and a lovely stay!

February 2012

Tash & Dane (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for your amazing and overwhelming hospitality. It was exceptionally good and we had a great time. I just wish I stayed longer than 2 nights.

January 2012

nankie Houghton (Gaborone Botswana)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderlik rustig! Dankie vir jul gasvryheid. Het die tydjie hier terdee geniet.

September 2009

Ruan & Zanne (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

It was amazing! Thank you for all the organising etc - you helped make the most incredible night even more special!

September 2009

Gharde & Jaco (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very Pleasant & relaxing, Food was excellent!

August 2009

Strydom (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

I loved my stay at Thunzi and Ill go back any day! The food and the staff was excellent!!! Its beautiful and I think I will have my wedding there...... I didnt even bother me that there wasnt a TV. We were there for 5days, and it felt like one. There is so much to do in so little time. Thanks to everyone there, as specially BETTY (the cook) THanks, it was like being in heaven!

April 2009

Elsa van Zyl & Erich van der Walt (Kimberley RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I loved my stay at Thunzi and Ill go back any day! The food and the staff was excellent!!! Its beautiful and I think I will have my wedding there...... I didnt even bother me that there wasnt a TV. We were there for 5days, and it felt like one. There is so much to do in so little time. Thanks to everyone there, as specially BETTY! THanks, it was like being in heaven!

April 2009

Elsa van Zyl & Erich van der Walt (Kimberley RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

To everyone@Thunzi, thank you so much for a wonderful stay! it was so blessed! and the food was devine! we will always recommend this beautiful place! thanks Sbongile,Betty, Greer and all the staff! this was truly the most wonderful first honeymoon that we could have wished for, every thing was Perfect, especial Betty's cooking!!!. The staff were the best,friendly,hospitable and very capable... thank you

December 2008

Mr & Mrs Geldenhuise (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We’ve found a little piece of heaven!!! From the beautiful surroundings to the wonderful food (Thanks Betty) from the friendly pets (Kira & Nero) to all the help and assistance that Greer provided. The best you can say about any place you stay is that you can’t wait to come back…and we can’t wait!

November 2008

Emma & Mark Fullbrook (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Here I found the most lovely people I met since we arrived in SA- Sbongile & Greer. What a couple of joy, love and happiness. These charming characters make this place much more beautiful than it is on its own. You hav e settled the sun into our souls. We do thank you & send you much love and light from our hearts.

November 2008

Achmed Suhrke (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay. The view from the chalet was beautiful. The bush walk was great, sand boarding was lots of fun! We will definitely visit again. Thank you very much for a great holiday.

October 2008

Janine & Conrad Loots (Joburg-RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks so much for what has turned out to be the highlight of our trip so far. The cabin was far nicer than we had expected and the view alone would be worth the trip from the UK. The food was superb and we will be on diets now for the duration of our stay. Now if we can only think of a way to smuggle Kira & Nero back with us…

September 2008

Ruth & Brian (UK & Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lekker! Lekker! Relaxing and rejuvenating. The walk is well maintained and pristine. Service excellent with staff that are friendly and eager to please. The food was excellent (Thanks to Sbongile & Betty for looking after us so well). Will defiantly be back and recommend to everyone.

September 2008

Ryan Derman & Adele Engelbrecht (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Special thanks to the Fish Eagles “joining” us for breakfast every morning! Kira & Nero showing us the way on the walking trail! Betty “jou kos is fantasties!!” Sbongile and Greer for your exceptional hospitality! Cheers!

September 2008

Riaan & Louise (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a perfect honeymoon. The privacy and closeness to nature here are remarkable and the food is some of the best we’ve ever had. We’ll never forget our stay.

December 2007

Hendrik & Erin van Vuuren (New York-USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Thunzi Staff – Thanks so much for the lovely hospitality and excellent service. The lodge is beautiful and the food was superb!! This is really a great place to visit. Everything the best for the New Year and years to come.

December 2007

Wayne, Michelle, Jolene, Kyles, Samantha & Roxy (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dit is the eerste plek in my lewe wat ek besoek en nie terug verlang huis toe nie!! ‘n Paradys waar ek so naby aan my Skepper gevoel het. Alles FANTASTIES-Dankie!

December 2007

Peet, Madeleine, Monique & François (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

“WOW! What a perfect and amazing getaway! We’ve had a truly wonderful week & honeymoon in the bush. Thank you so much for all your amazing hospitality.

November 2007

Katy & Tony Mthethwa (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic location & getaway from everything! Hidden gem! Fantastic food, weather, walks. Quad biking recommended. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable & making us feel welcome.

November 2007

Alison & Dean Rigby (Cheshire-UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,195
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Thunzi Bush Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.