Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Hotel was great , service EXCELLENT , the staff were No 1 Time of year a disaster--everything closed over New Year period ---had to cut visit short---boring !!

January 2017

M.D.De Haas (Capetown)

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed overnight Wednesday 8th July beautiful hotel. Rooms fantastic food out of this world. Very special surprise . Will definitely be back soon

July 2015

clifford mijlof (cape town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Kuier baie geniet! Sal weer terugkom

July 2013

Rochelle & Donald (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lunch was excellent & thoroughly enjoyed by all. Perfect relaxing atmosphere and outstanding service.

July 2013

Kevin & Estelle Reddy (Constantia, Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful Hotel in the middle of Tulbagh. Enjoyed the walking around the town. Staff were friendly and very efficient. Hope to back soon again.

July 2013

Angela Walsh (Loeventein)

Verified reviewvery good

Probable the best fish cakes I have ever had in my life!

July 2013

Jayson (Tulbagh)

Verified reviewexcellent

Food excellent - best in Tulbagh! Thanks for a lovely weekend of relaxing and fresh air!

July 2013

Linelle & Ian Campbey (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A very comfortable Hotel, excellent attentive staff and great food in the restaurant - breakfast, lunch & dinner. Highly recommended

September 2012

Mark Spedding (Winchester UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

I attended a conference held at Tulbagh Hotel and can highly recommend their conference facility as well as the excellent food and high standard of client service. Last minute arrangements had to be made for accommodation and staff assisted in finding accommodation for over 20 people. I was fortunate to stay over in the Hotel and loved it. Will defnitely return to Tulbagh Hotel.

July 2011

Amanda Meyer (Langebaan)

Verified reviewvery good

My sister, her two kids and I stayed 3 nights in the van Riebeeck Room and the Pieter Potter Room which are in the Winterhoek Manor, which is part of the Tulbagh Hotel. The whole setup was fantastic, the rooms were lovely, warm and so old, but with all the modern touches. The staff were friendly and very willing to help. The hotel's restaurant has the best steak and dessert in Tulbagh! Thank you all for a very very enjoyable break.

June 2011

Judith van Vollenhoven (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I just wish to place on record what a wonderful experience we had staying at the Tulbagh Hotel. All staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. As a retailer I know good service when I see it, well done.

August 2010

trish frielinghaus (plettenberg bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my husband went to the Tulbagh Hotel for dinner about a month ago. It was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! Such a cosy restaurant with a huge open fire place with a lounge suite in front of the fire place to sit and have a glass of locally produced Tulbagh wine! The service was very good and tastefull, atmosphere very warm, welcome and cosy. I had the Eland fillet with berry preserve and my husband had the Kudu Goulash with stamp mealies. Our food was cooked to perfection and so tastefull! For dessert I had the cappucino panna cotta and my husband had chocolate brownies, it was to die for! The chef even came out to our table to ask if we enjoyed our meal. I highly recommend the Tulbagh Hotel Restaurant to any traveller or just for a drive out for the day to have a great dining experience. They have lots of local flavours on their menu like local olives, local kimilili cheese and much more. We can't wait to go again!

May 2010

Marianka (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

I travel around alot and stay at many different types of hotels. Tulbagh Hotel had one of the most helpful and accommodating staff out of all of the hotels I have stayed at. The food was excellent, regardless if it was , Breakfast or dinner. I look forward to returning to this hotel on vacation with my family.

April 2010

helen theofilatos (athens)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I stayed at the Tulbagh Hotel in April this year. We travel around alot and stay at many different types of hotels. Tulbagh is a small historic town set amid stunning countryside and a mountainous 'bowl'. We enjoyed lunch, dinner & breakfast in the hotel and the food was to a very high standard. For anyone wishing to explore South Africa and its Winelands, I can not recommend Tulbagh more highly. The picturesque views as you drive to/from Cape Town are worth the journey alone! The incredible selection of local wineries set amid this stunning landscape are a must see and the Tulbagh Hotel with it'sincredible selecrion of rooms is the perfect location from which to base yourselves. The rooms were classiclally restored with a huge bath, perfect for a lazy soak after a hard days wine tasting. The staff are charming and really couldn't do enough, their friendly manner really did make the stay one of our best in SA. I will probably come back to visit Tulbagh and will most definitely be staying there again, a really lovely place! Thing you can't miss to do in Tulbagh is the chocolate farm Moniki, cheese tasting at Kimilili cheesery, Saronsberg Theatre and all the wine farms.

April 2010

Theresa (Regina, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

Having spent time at the Tulbagh Hotel I can honestly say it is one of the nicest country hotels I have visited. The service was second to none and the food was outstanding. (apparently a new menu.) I had the game hamburger for lunch as I wanted to try something different and it was outstanding. The ladies bar, with it's large leather sofas and wonderful decor, is a great place to relax after a busy day sight seeing or touring the local wine farms. The service was very friendly and all the staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure we were comfortable at all times. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Western Cape. In fact I'll be back there in October 2010.

March 2010

kevin mchugh (london)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my wife visited the Tulbagh Hotel for a 1 night getaway. We took our 4 month old baby with us for the night. The staff were so helpfull with setting up the camping cot in the spacious room and made us feel so at home! We went for dinner at the hotel's restaurant and we had the best dinner in a long time! The Tulbagh Hotel is truley a wonderfull hotel to visit. The room was perfectly clean, service of the best standard and everything is so beautifull. Thank you Tulbagh Hotel for making our stay something to remember. We will defenitely be back!

March 2010

Harry (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,400
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Tulbagh Hotel

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.