Reviews & Comments

Showing 28 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful facilities we would stay again

November 2017

Helen Samdaan (Uitenhage)

Verified reviewexcellent

What more can I say except ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! The hosts are lovely and caring people who walk more than a mile to accommodate you. The cottage itself is so well equipped and without a doubt we will definitely return.

November 2015

Lynne and Peter (Berkshire UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved the beautifully decorated mirror and the other decorative touches. Although we didn't utilize the kitchen, it was well equipped. Loved the Rose bush and star jasmine. our stay was only 2 nights, I would stay again if I travel this way.

October 2015

Pat and Steve (Umentweni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you very much for the stay, what a nice stay. We would definitely recommend the place and would come again.

October 2015

Erik (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely place you have. Clean and fresh and spotless. Thanks for making our stay away from home so good!

March 2015

Louis and Barbie Olivier (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a comfortable stay, the attention to detail is beautiful and the mosaic work really creative. We have stayed at very few places where the pillows are so comfortable to sleep on! We will bring our friends along next time and we will be back...for sure!

February 2015

Renee and Hannes (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such a lovely stay at Rose Cottage. We enjoyed the decor and felt very relaxed and comfortable. Oh and Gabby (the poodle), really is such a lovely dog.

October 2014

Dave and Elaine (Hillcrest, Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Firstly we really enjoyed our stay. You have put thought and decorative skill in achieving such a welcoming feel. There is everything needed and more for holiday comfort. Gabby (the poodle) is a stunning extra, so gentle- a joy to have around. See you next time we are in East London.

October 2014

Gloria and Charles Morgan (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I would just like to thank you for the excellent service and outstanding accommodation you provide. I will definitely make use of your services again and tell all my friends to contact you.

September 2014

Kota Bruwer (PE)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Blue room was cosy, cute and ideal for a beach holiday. This place is definitely a must for couples. After our stay here very few places will come close to the experience we had here. Thanks alot!

December 2013

James Wienand (East London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Heerlike gerieflike verblf, luukse slaap en aandag aan die fynste detail en dekor = pragtig. Hondekind is te dierbaar opvreetbaar. Die twee dae het verbygeglip en so baie om te ontdek nog.

August 2013

Andre and Theresa (Durbanville)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful stay! It is so quiet and peaceful we couldn't choose a better place to stay. Everyone is so friendly and Gabby is so polite we like her hair. We will definitely come stay here again. The place is neat and the garden is beautiful. Thank you very much

August 2013

Quinton and Brenda (East London)

Verified reviewexcellent

I just want to thank you for the absolute amazing experience we had while staying at Rose Cottage ! Your place is AMAZING. Very cozy and picturesque !!!!! Thank you for everything - I will definitely be staying at Rose and Ale again, if we visit East London in the future.

September 2010

Fransie (Limpopo)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic. Everything that I needed. Very clean. I felt completely at home. Try the dark beer... awesome!

June 2010

Travis Chamen (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very cosy and comfortable. Beer was great, just what we needed after a long day at the rugby. Enjoyed the stay. Thanks very much

September 2009

Danielle Marais (Kuilsriver, Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Leigh Hope you are well we had such a gr8 time at you and the puppy 2 thanks so much. What a gr8 place you have we will all be back soon Claire Mendy and Crunchie.

August 2009

claite and mendy Rosin (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

HI Leigh Hope you are well we just wanted to say Thank you so much we had a gr8 time at you what a gr8 place u have the puppy had a gr8 time 2.Hope to come back soon Claire Mendy and Crunchie

August 2009

claite and mendy Rosin (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

The room had all the personal touches we could have wanted and was very comfortable. The beer was great and the complementary tea and rusks were delicious. This was a very cute place and we would highly recommend it!

August 2008

Yasmine (Santa Barbara, California)

Verified reviewvery good

Peaceful, thank you

March 2008

Marieta (Boksburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing muffins, great beer and a hearty welcome! Thanks for a great stay

March 2008

Ilse Du Toit (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nice, cosy comfortable, thanks alot

March 2008

Paul and Lianne (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

had a great stay, thanks for the super muffins

March 2008

Jardim Family (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very cosy accomodation and lovely decor. A lot of time and effort has gone into creating this homely enviroment. No stone has been left unturned when it comes to catering for the needs of guests-such attention to detail. Will definitely be back, great beer.

February 2008

Ross and Jacqui Koch (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A beautiful landscape, perfect organised infrastructure and a cosy home, thank you very much

January 2008

Harald and Gudrun Monsig (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thans for a very enjoyable stayover. Loved personal touches and the men loved the beer, hope to return

December 2007

Carol Swanson (Cape town)

Verified reviewvery good

Thanks, see you next year!

December 2007

Julian and Thea Shaw (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for the warm welcome. The place is so cosy, we loved it, hoping to come back next year

December 2007

Thando Sakwe (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dankie vir a gr8 plek om the kom bly, baie mooi en netjies. Sterkte

December 2007

Marisa (Potchefstroom)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 550
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Rose 'n Ale

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.