Reviews & Comments

Showing 38 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Idéalement situé à Hermanus, proche de la promenade du front de mer, proche d'un quartier commerçant, des restaurants, dans un quartier calme et très agréable La décoration des chambres est sobre mais avec beaucoup de goût. Bref un excellent séjour.

February 2015

ANDRE Robert (MIREVAL FRABCE)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Potting Shed is a fantastic place to stay. The property itself is stunning, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The location of The Potting Shed is a big positive being close to the centre of Hermanus. We were able to walk to the bars, restaurants and shops within ten minutes along the safe main road. You can also walk along the coastal path which takes around the same time and is also safe. The owners, Annamarie and Dave, are very friendly, approachable and can help you plan activities or suggest things to do. They are very flexible too which gives The Potting Shed such a relaxing vibe whilst still being a professional, reliable place to stay. The breakfasts were lovely, plenty to choose from, homemade, fresh and delicious. There are enough parking spaces for every guest to park their car. We stayed in a larger deluxe room which was great for our two week stay. The rooms really do look just like the pictures. They are kept very clean, our room had good wardrobe space, a small private garden with bbq and a good hairdryer. The pool area is also very nice. Would stay again 100%

February 2015

Karla Cooper (Retford)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was the perfect start to our first holiday in South Africa. Annamarie, Dave and all staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The Potting Shed is charming, each room is individually decorated and the rooms are modern, clean, bright and homely. Our bed was huge and fabulously comfy, and our bathroom had a lovely large walk-in shower. Breakfast was fabulous. The pool was really only a plunge pool, but with all those lovely beaches so close , you really don't need anything else. Overall we had a lovely stay,it was excellent value and we can't wait to go back.

January 2015

Emma, Barry & Matthew Hargreaves (Wokingham)

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome by Annamarie and her staff. We booked the apartment accommodation and were very pleasantly surprised by its size, it has a large balcony/patio area that is well equipped with top quality furniture plus your own BBQ. The bedroom, living area and bathroom were decorated superbly and spotlessly clean, the apartment provides a good self catering option. Some nice touches were provided - home made biscuits, milk, tea making facilities refreshments on arrival, good Wi Fi connection. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the price included breakfasts which were excellent especially the home made bread. The accommodation is well situated for amenities close by and there are some lovely safe walks to do straight from the front door. Annamarie sent us some vey good information about Hermanus before our trip which was very useful. Many thanks.

January 2015

Sheila & Steve Colver (leicestershire. UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were very welcomed when we arrived at the Potting Shed. The B+B was totally renovated short time ago and the room was very nicely furnished. We enjoied the personal athmosphere, the nice swimming pool and the excellent breakfast with fresh fruits. The B+B was near the beach. We can really recommend this beatiful place. Karin, Chris and Jannik, from Switzerland

December 2013

Christian (Hagendorn)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very comfortable stay in the lovely furnished studio apartment. Annemarie and Dave are the best hosts up to the point of making dinner reservations for you. Breakfast, served by Dave, is great. There is no sea view, but within walking disance of a lovely pathway along the coast, as well as the main town at the old harbour. Highly Recommended!

December 2013

Deon & Neline Botha (Musina)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very comfortable stay in the lovely furnished studio apartment. Annemarie and Dave are the best hosts up to the point of making dinner reservations for you. Breakfast, served by Dave, is great. There is no sea view, but within walking disance of a lovely pathway along the coast, as well as the main town at the old harbour. Highly Recommended!

December 2013

Deon & Neline Botha (Musina)

Verified reviewexcellent

A very nice accomodation. The staff and the owners were always efficient and helpful. Not only nice restaurant and trip recommendations were given to us, but also the reservation and booking have been taken care of. The rooms feature a calm yet stylish atmosphere of a modern African style. The Potting Shed can only be highly recommended.

November 2013

Thomas Hildebrandt (Altdorf)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at The Potting Shed Accomodation when we visited South Africa and Hermanus in 2006. We loved the nice rooms, the excellent breakfast and friendly people. So we preferred to stay there again when we recently visited the place once more. This B&B is strongly recommendable. It is very cheap, the rooms are in good condition and very convenient, the food is perfect, the people are very nice and Hermanus is worth visiting

October 2013

Kaj Martensson (Fjärås Sweden)

Verified reviewexcellent

We only stayed 1 night, but would have stayed longer if we had had more time! The rooms have been renovated in August this year and are not only perfectly clean, but also arranged very lovely and beautifully (though small). The hosts were very friendly and also very helpful with chosing and booking activities. Their selfmade breakfast was delicious and also arranged very lovely. If you want to go to Hermanus - especially famous for whale-watching, even from land - we really recommend this quiet, neat and friendly place!

October 2013

Isabel (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Highly recommended B&B in Hermanus. Beautiful, spacious, comfortable, clean accommodation, delicious breakfast (look out for the homemade muesli and rusks), friendly and welcoming hosts. Thank you, greatly appreciated.

October 2013

Lavern & Sean (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed overnight as a getaway from our usual suburban life. Annamarie and Dave were such wonderful hosts. The rooms were exceptionally clean and were also recently renovated. The breakfast was awesome and the homemade marmalade was the best ever. The location is close to the beach and very quiet and tranquil with a swimming pool. We highly recommend their guest house.

September 2013

Robert Cox (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

We had such a lovely stay at the Potting Shed and Annemarie and Dave made us feel so welcome. I really would recommend you stay here - its relaxing and quiet but near enough to town that a quick walk there will find you near restaurants and town life if that's what you want. We will return - for sure.

February 2013

Faye and Dave (Basingstoke)

Verified reviewvery good

We stayed in the self contained unit on the first floor which we found to be comfortable, especially the balcony area which we had all to ourselves. Good location with easy and pleasant walk into town past the cliff top with sea views. The owners were helpful and convivial. We appreciated the free Wifi and good TV provision. Recommended.

February 2013

Christopher Gibbons (Norwich UK)

Verified reviewvery good

We have been to Hermanus twice and have found Dave and Annemarie very friendly, open and honest. They have made the Potting Shed the place to stay when in that section of the Cape. Thank you for making our stay a pleasure and very informative. We even took their dogs for a walk in the mountains with us. Highly recommended. Rod and Renay

December 2012

Rod Shaw (Jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

Whot a marvelous stay at the potting shed,room nice and cosy.Breakfast is also excellent and David and Annamarie is the perfect hosts and make your stay very enjoyable,would recommend it to my friends and anyone who would like to stay in Hermanus.

October 2012

Sidwell & Sharon (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very good address, we warmly recommend : - booking from France by e-mail , very easy, quick answer with a lot of inform concerning Hermanus area; - warm welcome; - the self-catering is well located, very close from the sea; - ... and breakfasts are ... "great" !!

June 2012

MOMBRIAL (Paris - FRANCE)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay at the Potting Shep and highly recommend it. The rooms are nice and very clean and the Guest house is located in walking distance to the coast. Annamarie and Dave are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is prepared fresh and is very good as well. You get a really individual great experience of the town. We will definitely come back and hopefully stay longer the next time.

April 2012

Stephanie Degen (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in the self catering unit of the Potting Shed for 3 nights. It is now our first choice for a weekend away. The unit has stunning sea views and is only a few metres from the beach. Annemarie and Dave sorted out the DSTV so that we could watch sport and recommended splendid restaurants to us. They are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. The unit is first class and the rates are very reasonable. We will definitely encourage our friends to stay at The Potting Shed or the self catering unit as we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. Kevin & Jeanette Wearing – Gordon’s Bay.

March 2012

Kevin Wearing (Gordon's Bay, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Potting Shed. This was our second visit, and we shall always use this guest house for visits to Hermanus. We feel that it represents excellent value for money, the room is clean and very comfortable, and the decor is beautiful. Annamarie and Dave are both very friendly and cannot do enough to make every guest feel special.

February 2012

Paul and Susan (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I could only stay one night at The Potting Shed but Annamarie and David couldn't have been more welcoming. They recommended places to eat in Hermanus and explained how to get into the centre of Hermanus without having to take the car - which was a bonus. After a good nights sleep we had a super breakfast before we had to be on our way. Can thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay close to Hermanus without actually being in the centre.

February 2012

Carol Clapperton (Poynton)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Pottingshed is a wonderful little Guesthouse with very nice owners and an absolut delicious breakfast. It is situated in a quiet little road not far from the centre of Hermanus and the sea. We only can recommend it to all visitors of Hermanus, who want to spend some nice days in a friendly enviroment. Petra and Gerhard Steininger, Austria

December 2011

Gerhard Steininger (Ottensheim)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in the Family Room over Christmas and it was great. The small things always make a huge difference and the attention to detail is refreshing and makes you feel welcome! Christmas morning Annemarie was there with a smile and ready to serve breakfast! The kids enjoyed their stay and had lots of fun in the pool. We will be back!

December 2011

Amanda Jeppe (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Potting Shed is an excellent place to stay in the beautifull town Hermanus. The owners (Dave and Annamarie) are very friendly. Dave even set up his own football team in Hermanus for the kids in that town. We met a lot of nice people during our trip of 6 weeks trough SA, but those people are special. The location is perfect, close to the centre and sea, where we saw a lot of whales. We highly recommend this place!

July 2011

A.Prins (Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

My family have stopped with Annamarie and David 3/4 times a year the last 6 years.My wife and myself stop in the Potting Shed, the family in self catering on the rocls. It is our first and only choice for a get away, my 84th birthday in January, my wifes 80th last October, the fisrt run for my nw BMWX1 in March and we will all be with them in August when 2 of our grandchildren visit from UK. The guests are from all over the world, why ?, the hosts are very friendly and helpful and will book this and that for you. The rooms are first class as is the servicing and parking and you have a choice of excellent breakfasts and the rates are very reasonable. You are well advised to book early, if you do not and visit, you will be sorry if you miss out. Roy

March 2011

Danford Family (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Annamarie and David have hosted my extended family 3/4 times a year for the last 6 years. They are very friendly and helpful, the rooms and choice of breakfasts tp class, well serviced and their rates are reasonable. They have guests from all over the world, you are well advised to book, you will do so safely or as like as not you will miss out. They have a swimming pool and parking is en site and free...Roy

March 2011

Roy Danford (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic! Thankyou so much my daughter and I just loved The Potting Shed we stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the charming rooms, the warm and friendly atmosphere created by the hosts and the scrumptious breakfasts. This B&B is delightful and incredible value for money .

February 2011

Nikki (Sedgefield)

Verified reviewvery good

Zufällig sind wir bei Annamaria "gelandet" und haben uns dort 3 Tage sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Lage ist ruhig und zentrumsnah, gutes Frühstück, saubere Zimmer und kleiner Pool. Ideal für einige Tage auf der Durchreise. Bei hervorragendem Preis/Leistungsverhältnisse absoluit empfehlenswert! Traudi und Herbert

January 2011

Herbert Reinwald (München)

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived at the potting shed on 4th January where we were greeted by Annamarie. After bombarding her with questions about the Hermanus area we were shown to our room which was absolutely perfect! The guest house is in an ideal location, about 5-10 minute walk away from the town centre. We had originally planned to stay in Hermanus for 2 days, however immediately decided to extend it to 4 days after we had a drive around. Grotto beach (a blue flag beach) is a 10 minute drive away, numerous wine estates are a 15 minute drive and Cape Agulhas (Southernmost point of Africa) is 1.5hours away. If you just want a quiet day then the pool is ideal - lovely and clean with a couple of loungers and a seating area. We found Hermanus to be a safe area to walk about in (even at night - sticking to the main well lit road). Breakfast at the potting shed was great, with a choice of fruit, continental or cooked breakfast and tea/coffee. Special mention to Dave and his scrambled eggs! Overall, we loved The Potting Shed and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Hermanus area.

January 2011

Stuart Lockhart (Glasgow, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our second stay at The Potting Shed with family from the UK. Once again, the welcome and service were first class. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and breakfast, outstanding! The guest house is a five minute walk away from the cliff paths which made a bracing walk before breakfast a must! We highly recommend a visit. Annamarie and David, we shall return! Jane and Richard

April 2010

Jane and Richard Twell (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for one night at the Potting Shed, which was arranged by my sister as she had stayed there before. We found the room very clean,tidy and comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming with good service and a lovely breakfast. Would highly recommend their guest house and hope to return.

April 2010

Lynne & Michael Beeby (Norfolk, United Kingdom)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my family stayed for 5 night with Annamarie and David. I have been to a few places in Hermanus over the past 5 years. But never ever did i experince such a wondeful relaxing holiday. The rooms are all ways clean and are decorated in style. Even the pool is spotless at all times. Annamarie and David is far best the most wonderful host. They really let you feel at home. I will call it a home from home. There friedliness and hospitality are endless. I will recommend there guest house at any given time. Thank You ones again for the wonderfull stay. Theresa and Family

December 2009

Theresa Williams (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very comfortable and welcoming accommodation. We liked it so much we stayed for 4 nights instead of 2. Comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, good breakfasts and pleanty of advice on where to go and what to do. Within easy walking distance of the town centre. Helpful staff. Nick and Carol

October 2009

Nick and Carol King (Cardiff, Wales)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed the night of 27th Sept.2009 and wish it had been longer. The Potting Shed is a home away from home, very comfortable, lovely decor, and clean. We also had a good breakfast - the stay was too short but we thoroughly recommend it.. Annamarie and David were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much for them. Thank you

September 2009

norrie and vera taylor (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

I enjoyed my 6-night stay very much. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The room was comfortable, tastefully decorated & furnished. Hermanus was very lively, even in Winter. There were many good restaurants & shops. Hermanus is within easy driving distance of the Harold Porter National Botanical Garden, the Stony Point Penguin Colony & Kogelberg Nature Reserve. Fernkloof Nature Reserve, in Hermanus, was among the most beautiful places I saw in South Africa. I definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

July 2009

Jordan Jackson (Seattle)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were given the very best service during our two nights stay. At arrival Annmarie arranged both whale boat-trips for us adults and shark cage diving for our three wild girls early next morning (with pickup) as well. Nice spacious rooms clean pool and lovely breakfasts. We just loved Hermanus and The Potting shed. Nice walks along the coastline into the center, for shopping and dinner. We could also watch the videos/DVD´s from our earlier bungyjumping and shark diving in the lounge. What more could we ask for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!

June 2009

Catrin and Lars Lasson (Hoellviken, Sweden)

Verified reviewexcellent

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights. Dave and Annamarie were great hosts. They booked restaurant reservations, gave us great tips for our hike in Fernkloof Reserve and had lots of suggestions for what to do while we were staying in Hermanus. The rooms are neat and clean, breakfast was lovely, and Annamarie has done a nice job of displaying African art.

January 2009

Ann Sessoms (Minneapolis, MN)

Verified reviewvery good

We had a most enjoyable stay with David and Annmarie, they were the perfect hosts. They make the best scrambled eggs in South Africa. We really felt at home with them and they did everything in their power to make our stay in Hermanus a wounderful experience. We would highly recommend their lovely guest house. Rose and Alan

January 2008

Alan And Rose Larkin (Dublin)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,100
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • The Potting Shed Guest House has been voted 'Best Guest House offering B&B Accommodation in Hermanus
'
  • Best Guest House offering B&B Accommodation in Hermanus

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • The Potting Shed Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.