Reviews & Comments

Showing 25 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

The setting was lovely, receptionists and "Granny" delightful. We especially loved the incredibly delicious homemade pizzas custom made for us by Laomi (made and served with love).

May 2018

Ruth Goldeen (Charlottesville, VA)

Verified reviewexcellent

A fantastic, friendly & unique place to stay. The hosts were really helpful and friendly and the rooms & gardens were gorgeous. It all felt very luxurious! Would definitely recommend a stay.

April 2018

Natasha (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were travelling as a party of four and on our arrival at Bamboo we were immediately made to feel very welcome. It was like a little haven, and everytime we left our little cottage was like a new adventure and that was before we left the grounds of Bamboo. Jaynie and Gordon are fabulous people and went out of their way to make our stay an event to remember. On our first night there Gordon cooked us a very delicious evening meal as the craic was so good we didn't want to leave. Our accommodation was in the Pampas cottage, it was just beautiful and so ethnic, just what we had hoped for and much more. The pot belly stove in the room was fabulous. This is accommodation I would have no hesitation in recommending to other travellers to Kynsa and would have no doubt that friendships will be made here. Jaynie, Gordon, Marilee, Pierce and the rest of the staff helped make our holiday one to be fondly remembered for a very long time.

October 2010

Caroline Nethery (Northern Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome!!!

March 2010

Ryan and Megan Nicholls (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Jaynie and Gordon, what a great place! Nothing like this! It was one of the best places we were! Breakfast in the garden....full house...made with love!! You made the stay in Knysna wonderful. Actually you don't need Knysna for Holiday...we could have stayed in your garden the whole time! ...It's like a small piece of paradise! the interior design was absolutely great! all the beautiful details makes every room special and unique. You were so kind and loving...especially to our kids! We appreciate this very much. We will come back for sure. All the best, take care and be blessed! Francois, Fabienne, Levin and Noelle

December 2009

Francois Pause (Zurich, Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We wanted to stay for 4 days but we could't leave...excellent rooms, excellent bedfast in front of the fireplace en what a lovely people... The rooms are surrounded by exotic gardens, very tastfull. We had a wonderfull time, our two sons in the age of 6 en 9 wanted to stay forever.. Thank you so mutch, sure we meet again!

July 2009

fam. Roggenkamp (Bussum, The Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Bamboo. We were a group of 8 (1 child, 1 infant) and stayed in 3 garden rooms. The garden as well as the rooms were simply fantastic. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the boma chatting with Jaynie and Gordon about food, music and travel. Thanks Jaynie and Gordon for taking us to the Knysna market, cooking the braii on the first night, going all the way to Wilderness to buy extra chilli sauce for us and helping keep our son entertained. You are the best! If you are looking for great value for money with a personal touch this is the place! We would return in a heart beat. Hope to see you again soon! Valentine, Ute, Josef and Daniel

April 2009

Ute & Valentine Aganbi (Durban, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

We booked 3 nights, stayed 5 and then had to drag ourselves away from the most beautiful accommodation and welcoming hosts. The perfect idyll to relax or to use as a base for exploring this part of the Garden Route. Jaynie & Gordon made our 2nd trip to SA, and our 1st trip to Knysna most memorable and enjoyable. Thanks again.

April 2009

Daryl & Kevin Godfrey (Maidenhead)

Verified reviewexcellent

We found this oasis of a guesthouse through SA Venues. I have sent a review to them and to anyone else who could possibly be interested as we were so very impressed. We stayed three nights at Bamboo.......the room and bathroom were superb, the garden - a joy, the breakfasts fabulous. Recommendation by Jaynie for Marks - totally spot on. I have passed the details everyone I know who may ever be visiting Knysna and told them to get to Bamboo asap. Thankyou Jaynie and Gordon for a lovely time. Wish you much luck with the extension and if we are back in SA next year, like we hope to be, we will definitely see you then!

April 2009

Lynn and Alan Stevens (Lincoln, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

this place is perfect, the garden feels very comfortable and the hosts are most welcoming. Thank you very much for all this !

April 2009

leopold dessaux (Paris)

Verified reviewexcellent

wonderful place for a long or short stay, great welcome , loveley rooms, exotic garden, we want to go back !

April 2009

allan thomas (ammanford)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at Bamboo for 3 nights. We wish we could have stayed longer. The bedrooms are beautiful, breakfasts are delicious, garden is magical. Our stay at Bamboo was truly relaxing and memorable. Jaynie and Gordon, thank you for being such warm and friendly hosts. Good luck with the extention. Hope it all goes well. We will be back some day..... Best wishes, Desire', Melvyn, Kaylah and Brad

April 2009

Desire' Loy and Melvyn Abrahams (Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

Jaynie and Gordon are totally fantastic! We had 4 of the best days we've ever had on holiday. Beautiful garden, wonderful breakfast and unbeatable company. Try horse riding with Gordon and eating out with your hosts. We love Bamboo!!

March 2009

Joe Brock and Gillian Parker (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very warm welcome and It's a beautiful house and location to stay for many relaxing days. Jaynie is a very friendly person, always trying to help and answering all questions. The garden is a paradise. Our problem was, that we had planned not enough days. The rooms are very good. The breakfast was very good and we loved the fresh fruits and specially Gordon's superb spicy eggs :-) Also thanks to you for the tip of Amos Lee, we bought both CD. Excellent value for money. We will definitely be back and recommend the house to our friends.

February 2009

Horst Gnadl (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks to Jaynie and Gordon for their amazing hospitality. The rooms are excellent and the garden beautiful and full of birds.

February 2009

Richard Hey (Glastonbury)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Jaynie and Gordon! We had a great stay in your charming guesthouse and your enchanted garden. Thank you for your great hospitality - to stay in your guesthouse was a highlight of our South Africa travel. We gladly remember the nice rooms with so many extras, the excellent breakfast (mmmhhh we liked your muffins and Gordons Eggs so much !!!) and all your "kids" (Roxy the dog, Mojo the kitten and Ozzi the bird and all the other birds, fishes and ....). Lots of love - yours Astrid + Erwin, Silvia + Hans Karl from Austria

January 2009

Astrid, Erwin, Silvia + Hans Karl (Austria)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I stayed at Bamboo during our honeymoon travels across South Africa. We found the hosts to be fantastic people, the accomodations were beautiful and the location was idyllic. Our only regret is that we did not book a room for more than one night. The relaxed atmosphere and good people make Bamboo a nice retreat for any vacationer. We look forward to our next visit!

December 2008

Hassan (San Antonio, TX)

Verified reviewexcellent

We travelled through South Africa for 5 weeks and Bamboo guesthouse was definitely the most welcoming, had the best breakfast, the most beautiful garden, a great room, very nice hosts... what more can I say? Bamboo guesthouse is the WINNER !! Hope to meet again some day, Bas and Esther

December 2008

Bas and Esther (Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Bamboo Guesthouse was by far the best guesthouse I've stayed at in my travels over the years. The gardens are immaculate and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The owners of Bamboo, Jaynie and Gordon, are absolutely delightful. Jaynie responded quickly to my email inquiry (which useful for last-minute planners!) and went above and beyond the call of duty in making our stay hassle-free. As mentioned in other reviews, Gordon is an excellent chef...and a great story-teller. Even their dog, Roxy, is friendly. They really made my wife and I feel like we were their friends, not just people staying in one of their rooms. I recommend The Bamboo unconditionally and I will definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Knysna. Thank you for everything guys! Hugs and manly handshakes, Steve & Jenn from Canada

November 2008

Steve Smith (Winnipeg, Canada)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a two-night stay at our tour on the Garden Route. Never before we had a so warm welcome and never found a cosy place like the Bambooo - hospitality at its best. Jaynie thank you for the time you gave to us and for the informative conversation. Gordon thank you for the informations about your country and for the delicious breakfast. We came as strangers and left as friends! Kisses from Martha to sweet little baby Immanuel.

November 2008

Martha & Martin Bengsch (Munich Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Can not recommend Bamboo to our friends enough - Jaynie and Gordon were so welcoming and the best hosts during our stay in SA. Went out in the bay in Gordon's boat for the afternoon and had a fabulous time. Would love to go back for another visit soon

November 2008

Victoria Allan (London, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

The Bamboo Guishouse was a heaven to stay at! The hostess Jaynie is lovely, welkom and warm. Our son (of 16 months) had everything and more his heart could desire. The rooms was excellent and the breakfast aswell. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will always have the nice memory of this lovely place! If we are ever back in the area we would absolutely want to stay there again. Lots of love to you, Gordon, Jaynie and Roxy! From us from Holland. Gilbert, Harma and special thanks and hugs from Toon.

October 2008

Harma, Gilbert And Toon (Spijkenisse)

Verified reviewexcellent

Delightful and comfortable place to stay. Jaynie and Gordon made us most welcome and went over and above the call of duty to make our stay a very memorable one. Our garden room was a delight and full of those little extras such as a bottle of wine to welcome us. Gordon is an excellent 'chef' and made an excellent breakfast not to mention a very good dinner one evening. Many thanks to you both and give Roxy, Super Dog a pat from us.

October 2008

John and Lesley Shearer (Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The stay at Bamboo was one of the greatest highlights during our visit to SA. Jaynie and Gordon was wonderful to us and made it a very memorable stay. The rooms were very beautiful with a personal touch and the breakfast was better than in any 5 star hotel. The children loved Bamboo and wants to return soon. Thank You Jaynie and Gordon and good luck with Your paradise on earth. Love from Claes, Helena, Oskar, Elin, Emmy and Christoffer from Sweden. PS. We bought a Knysna bird at the factory. DS.

October 2008

Helena Signal (Onsala Sweden)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Jaynie, we promised you to be the first ones writing you a review :-) So we kept the promise and here it comes: We are back in Germany for 4 Weeks now and still every day we are thinking about SA. Our traveling agency did a very good job and we had many very good accomodations. Yours defenitely had the best breakfast! :-) The room was very lovely - we were can't complain about anything! The only bad thing was the weather, but we hope it's better now. Thank you once again for organising the lovely horseriding, it was a really good experience! And thank you ,Gordon, for taking us on that boat trip (did you buy the boat??). Alex still tells everyone about this nice trip :-) Yours, Sarah and Alex from Germany

September 2008

Sarah and Alex (Essen)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 965
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Bamboo, The Guesthouse has been voted 'Hall of Fame: Best Guest House Accommodation in Knysna since 2003.'
  • Hall of Fame: Best Guest House Accommodation in Knysna since 2003.

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Bamboo, The Guesthouse

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.