Reviews & Comments

Showing 35 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Well laid out spacious accomodation. Well decorated and equiped with anyhting you may need. A comprehensivew information pack of activities and recommended restaurants and deli's in the surrounding area was a useful and much appreciated addition. The hosts are firendly and offer honest suggestions on activities and restaurants in the area. Our only regret is that we only had one night to stay and arrived late in the afternoon - more time is needed to really appreciate the relaxed atmosphere

April 2018

Jacqueline (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tanagra. The room was comfortable, the kitchen provided you with everything you needed for self catering. The hosts, Anette and Robert were welcoming and friendly, providing lots of information of the various places to visit, or hikes to go on. We aren't wine drinkers, but nature lovers, so there was lots to do and enjoy. We will come back to stay.

December 2017

Natalie Le Roux (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

A most conveniently centrally located venue. Clean and quiet. Great hosts. We have reserved again for next year. That should say it all.

June 2017

Spurge Rudman (Salt Lake City & Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our stay at Tanagra Wine Farm. Faraway Cottage is a wonderful retreat, with gorgeous views. We especially enjoyed the sunny patio with hammocks and plunge pool; the bathtub in the main bedroom is sublime, but best of all was the seclusion. A perfect, romantic escape. Thank you!

April 2017

Stefani Searle (Cape Town, South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

The wonderful service, superb Faraway cottage and beautiful surroundings, exceeded our expectations. A truly magical experience.

April 2015

Vicki Austin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for your friendly service. We experienced the accommodation as very luxurious! We appreciated the thoughtful touches. Wielligh & Rentia.

June 2012

Wielligh & Rentia Lambrechts (Paarl)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our souls have been fed ! What an awesome weekend away - such tranquility & beauty ! Thanks, Anette & Robert for your superb hospitality. We will definitely be back ! Bridget & Brett.

June 2012

Brett & Bridget (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very comfortable; loved the Karoo peace ! Regards, Lillian

May 2012

Peter & Lillian von Maltitz (Franschhoek)

Verified reviewexcellent

A superb few days in a wonderful setting, one to return to ! Mike and Janet Hall.

May 2012

Mike and Janet Hall (Napier)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an awesome anniversary weekend at Tanagra. The cottage was cosy and beautifully laid out, sunset views and birding opportunities exceptional. The various trails laid out on the farm are a welcome treat and we had a fantastic mountain bike meander from the farm to Vrolijkheid Reserve, around Kingsriver to McGregor and back. After 3 wonderful days we didn't want to leave ! Looking forward to coming back. Michelle & Jason.

April 2012

Michelle & Jason (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Herrliche Farm, wunderschönes Guesthouse und ein Traum von Frühstück! Kürbis-Zitronengras-Marmelade muss jeder einmal probiert haben. Vielen Dank, Antonia & Gergo.

March 2012

Antonia & Gergo (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a treasure - lovely room. Delicious breakfast, wonderful hospitality and a perfect starlit night. Thank you. John and Jane Parsons.

March 2012

John and Jane Parsons (Hout Bay, SA/Devon, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Simply fantastic ! Impeccable style and comfort. Highlights were the rainbow we could see from our verandah and the epic, delicious breakfast. Thank you ever so much for a lovely stay. Pam & Tim.

March 2012

Pam Jones & Tim Hunt (London/Bristol, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ein herrlicher Platz um sich absolut zu erholen. Wunderbare Aussicht mit Vogelgezwitscher. Viele Möglichkeiten für Ausflüge und ein schöner Golfplatz in der Nähe. Wir empfehlen dieses Hill cottage gerne weiter. Herzlichen Dank für die Gastfreundschaft. Annelies u. Rolf Gutjahr.

February 2012

Annelies u. Rolf Gutjahr (Zürich, Schweiz)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely stay. We did it all - walks, runs, swims in dam and bird hides. Thanks for accommodating all our different needs ! Lovely spot. Warren, Karoline & Tim in Loft studio and in-laws in Hill cottage.

February 2012

Warren, Karoline & Tim (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zum 2. Mal durften wir nun diese schöne Unterkunft (Gumtree) und den tollen Ausblick geniessen. Lieben, lieben Dank für das tolle Frühstück mit den vielen selbstgemachten Sachen und den leckeren Wein. Lieben Dank Dak für die Tipps und die netten Gespräche. Es war sehr schön wieder hier zu sein. Wir sehen uns bestimmt wieder. Alle guten Dinge sind ja bekanntlich drei. Jessica & Michael.

December 2011

Jessica & Michael (Siegen, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We needed a peaceful place to relax and rest, well we found the perfect place.... Thank you for the fabulous place that is Hill cottage, we will be back on our next visit from France. Patricia & Alain

November 2011

Patricia & Alain (France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liebe Anette, lieber Robert, wir hätten keinen besseren Ort für den Abschluss unserer Reise finden können. Vielen Dank für einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt im 'Hill Cottage'. Wir werden bestimmt bald wiederkommen. Birgit & Detlef

November 2011

Birgit + Detlef (Langsur/Deutschland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great location and very pleasant place to stay.

October 2011

Chris & Jane Kennedy (Suffolk)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for having us over in your haven of tranquility & splendour. You are fantastic hosts. Your home is outstanding and so are your wines. *Superb*

October 2011

Mally & Venus (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Danke Anette und Robert !! Es war eine sehr schöne Zeit. Wir denken gerne daran zurück. Wir kommen gerne wieder. Super Grappa Viele Grüße Willi & Ulrike

August 2011

Willi & Ulrike (Linnich Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Vielen lieben Dank Anette & Robert für den schönen Aufenthalt. Wir haben den es sehr genossen und kommen gerne wieder. Willi & Ulrike

August 2011

Willi & Ulrike (Linnich Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hill Cottage is just so magically special it is hard for us to drag ourselves away. We are rested and relaxed beyond what we could have hoped for & our walk through the vines & fynbos in the fresh air has rejuvinated us - what a little gem! We cannot wait to return to the comfort & peace of this charming little cottage - thank you. Rebecca & Gareth

May 2011

Rebecca & Gareth (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Arrived in the dark to find a magical little cottage which was warming & inviting - just as the owners of Tanagra! We had a very relaxing & enjoyable weekend. Will be visiting again. Jon-Ross, Genevieve & baby Ethan Burns.

April 2011

Jon-Ross & Genevieve Burns (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks for making it so special. Great place!!

March 2011

Sean & Vanessa (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfectly peaceful place! The plunge pool was great at the end of a long hot day. Waking up to just birdsong - and nothing else - is something to be cherished. Next time we'll definitely stay for more than one night. Susan & Stuart Adams.

March 2011

Susan & Stuart Adams (Franschhoek)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely perfect - a wonderful location, so peaceful and scenic. And what great hosts in Robert, Anette and Jupp! we will be recommending this great find to all of our friends & family. Thank you very much for a lovely stay.

February 2011

Rosalyn & Ben (London, England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic time here and a great New Years eve in McGregor. Beautiful rooms & food & very friendly welcome. We'll be back!!

January 2011

Marie Jo & Sam O'Leary (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a fantastic and special place! This was our first visit to the Hill-top Cottage and we look forward to coming back. Beautiful birds and a magical view, we will miss our tea on the patio! So quiet and peaceful, a real haven. Thank you for creating such a special place. Sarah & Steven

January 2011

Sarah & Steven (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ein absoluter Geheimtipp! Danke Anette & Robert

November 2010

Hartmut & Gaby (Lünen, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Robert & Anette, thank you for a wonderful, relaxing time at Tanagra! We had such a good time and we'll definitely be back. Life is about making memories and what wonderful memories we have of this place. Love, Danie & Heleen

November 2010

Danie & Heleen Oosthuizen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great ambience, wonderful hosts, good Grappa and "Felicity" wine. Many thanks!

October 2010

Geoff & Jenny (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a gem! We decided to take a relaxed honeymoon to recover from the frantic last weeks of wedding preparations -- we had no idea how blessed we would be to spend such a wonderful time here at Hill Cottage - it made us strongly consider cancelling the rest of our trip and staying here for the rest of our time! Words cannot describe how we have come to love this beautiful little sanctuary. This, we hope, will be the first of many visits. Thank you, Anette and Robert for creating this special place and recommending Karoux! Outstanding on all fronts! Phillip & Tracy

September 2010

Phillip & Tracy (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful, relaxing getaway! The cottage is stylish and comfortable with gorgeous views and mountain vistas. We have so enjoyed your wine and grappa. Robert and Anette we appreciate your hospitality and attention to detail. Many thanks & kind regards, Jessica & Hugh

August 2010

Jessica & Hugh Hacking (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We spent two nights at Tanagra wine farm and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is basic but very comfortable and the farm is peaceful and rejuvenating. The hosts are warm and friendly and Annette's breakfasts really are amazing! The perfect escape from city life. Will definitely be going again...Mike and Tertia

April 2010

Mike Dixon (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,100
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Tanagra Wine and Guest Farm

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.