Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Wendy for such a lovely place. we had our annual family day there and it was absolutely beautiful. the kids enjoyed themselves and we didn't had to worry about them. the farm is big and has a place for everyone. i recommend this to anyone especially if you want to get away from the busy city life.

February 2015

Vironica Nrtje (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a surprise! It's not easy travelling with a toddler, so it was a great surprise when we arrived at Summerhill. Not only were our hosts Bob and Wendy friendly, welcoming and willing to assist with our every request, including a camp cot, which made packing the car a pleasure, but their beautiful farm is home to all kinds of farm animals; rabbits, ducks, geese, chickens, horses, goats, pigs and even a donkey. My daughter simply couldn't get enough of the wooden jungle gym and when Farmer Bob suggested that she could hold a bunny, she was just overjoyed. We spent hours roaming around the farm and never got bored. Wendy welcomed us into her own lounge when the weather turned bad for our daughter to watch some kiddies TV. Nothing was too much trouble. What a wonderful find, we will certainly be back soon!

January 2014

Andrew Holmes (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to South Africa. It was a very suitable choice. Summerhill is a very pleasant and relaxed Guest House with plenty to do. We stayed in one of the cottages in the garden which was clean and quiet and wonderfully welcoming. Staff excellent and very friendly owners. We were very pleased to have been able to experience this wonderful place.

February 2013

Sharon Skinner (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to South Africa. It was a very suitable choice. Summerhill is a very pleasant and relaxed Guest House with plenty to do. We stayed in one of the cottages in the garden which was clean and quiet and wonderfully welcoming. Staff excellent and very friendly owners. We were very pleased to have been able to experience this wonderful place.

February 2013

Sharon Skinner (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Staying at Summerhill was an absolute pleasure. It is a beautiful farm in an idilic valley sourounded by mountains with plenty to do and see .We loved the animals, birds and gardens. A childrens dream. Bob and Wendy could not have been more friendly and the breakfast was awsome. We will definately be back.

November 2011

Robert Williams (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thanks Bob and Wendy who made our stay at Summerhill Farm a most memorable one. The accommodation is beautifully appointed and ever so comfortable. The gardens and facilities are excellent and the ambiance is unparalleled. Summerhill Farm is the ideal place for a relaxing break from work and daily stresses. And Wendy, your meals are FABULOUS. So fabulous I think, I'll have to restrict myself to short but frequent stays!

August 2010

Eppie McFarlane (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

I can only express the kindest of words and compliments to the owners and staff at Summerhill.... Not only are the rooms spick and span and fully equipped, but the farm area is fantastic too! A definite must-see for the children are the ducks, peacocks, chickens, pigs, rabbits, horses, goats etc....... The food was tantalizingly fabulous and all needs/ requirements were met without a hassle! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in March!!!

May 2010

Julz (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful place! Calm, relaxing, a definite haven if u wish to escape the polution and buzz of the city! The rooms are beautifully furnished, wonderfully equipped and not to mention the warm and friendly owners! Bob and Wendy, thanks for a short, but wonderful stay. Wendy, u should let us know when u open a restaurant, YOU ARE, in fact, a cordon bleu chef! :-) Lots of mwahs! Nazli and Dirk-Jan.

February 2010

Nazli (Somerset-West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi me again...yes it was soooooo fantastic that 12 months later we returned to Summerhill. We were greeted like long lost friends and enjoyed ourselves so much we have maintained a friendship with the family!!!! For adults and children the farm is so much fun....every morning on our doorstep was a baby bottle of milk and it was our job to go and hand feed the Kid ( goat). What fun and what a fabulous opportunity.... thanks Wendy and Bob for making our trips to the beautifull South Africa memorable and thoroughly enjoyable.....oh and i am so looking forward to seeing you on 16th october 2009 when you join us for a meal in Cape Town.....xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

February 2009

Helen Webster (birmingham uk)

Verified reviewexcellent

our first time in South Africa and we couldnt have asked for a more friendly welcome and that home from home feeling. Wendy and Bob are fantastic hosts and the accomodation is stunning. Location is fantastic..so much to do and they are more than happy to advice and arrange outings etc. The food is beautifully prepared. 9 of us stayed here and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Keep up the fantastic work.......

February 2008

Helen Webster (birmingham uk)

Verified reviewexcellent

The service is fantastic and you cant get a better view.

October 2006

Brendan (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,000
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Summerhill Guest Farm

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.