Reviews & Comments

Showing 28 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved every second, Lovely kept, service great, friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

December 2021

Adri v. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very comfortable sleeping rooms and very modern bathrooms .... and excellent food. Lesley and Madelien are terrific people and are attentive to their guests.

March 2020

S.P. B. (North Carolina USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome stay, very relaxing, staff so friendly it made it more special. Really had a wonderful and private time. Many thanks- will see you again –most definitely.

December 2019

Chantal & Neil W. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nice outing in a quiet place

December 2019

THOMAS M. (Nice outing in a quiet place surrounded by mountains)

Verified reviewexcellent

Outstanding-thank you for the hospitality!

October 2019

Brian K. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Honest hospitality, honest ambience & honest food! Excellent experience.

October 2019

Yasmin B. (Pune India)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely stay, welcoming hosts and comfy rooms. Will definitely come back

September 2019

Tanya & Mike B. (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a great stay here with a lot of positive attention from the people here

September 2019

Jos G. (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent, what a place! Super, friendly, great food!!

September 2019

Sandra J. (Holland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful stay. Personal service-feels like home. Thank you.

September 2018

Isabel S. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Brilliant, great rooms wonderful fishing experience.

September 2018

Brian M. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great weekend! Loved the peacefulness and quietness. Excellent food from the restaurant and Breakfast Baskets. The fishing was excellent.

July 2017

Evert E. (mpumalanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great accommodation, super hiking and FANTASTIC river fishing. Wonderful friendly hosts.

July 2017

Eric D. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Paradise found...we'll have to stay longer next time! Thank you, it was wonderful!

May 2017

Mrs J. (JHB)

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived with trepidation but left with very sad hearts. Everything was just perfect!

December 2016

Chandler C. (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature. Very friendly staff. Thank you for everything.

December 2014

Lola & Renato Z. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Very lovely and peaceful. Awesome accommodation and very lovely staff- keep it up. Hope to see you soon

December 2014

Louise W. (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a great experience. Something else, very refreshing. Great Food.

October 2013

Piet N. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Merci pour votre accueil tres chalevreux et pour la traduction des menus par votre soeur.

October 2013

Nonnie Z. (Marseilles, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our favourite place!

September 2013

Tom H. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place, food for the soul. Amazing warm people & service.

September 2013

Karlien C. (Thorny Bush)

Verified reviewexcellent

I really enjoyed my stay- what a lovely setting- beautiful nature and attention to detail! I'll be back!

September 2013

Lize L. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Heerlik bederf tydens ons 25ste huweliks herdenking.

July 2013

Elna L. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We experienced the Romance Package for 2 staying in one of the Cobbles Studios for our wedding anniversary - what a special weekend! The package makes one feel thoroughly spoilt. The accommodation, meals & hospitality of the staff was of an outstanding standard and we enjoyed taking in the scenic spots on the property. Would recommend spending a morning or afternoon relaxing next to the river on on the Weir Deck.

February 2013

Tracy K. (Krugersdorp)

Verified reviewexcellent

We love this place - a piece of paradise! Lesley & Margi make one feel very comfortable in a splendid venue with excellent cuisine and very friendly staff.

September 2012

Tom H. (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We visited Stonecutters Lodge & stayed in one of their beautifully appointed Cobbles Studios. We took their dinner, bed & breakfast option which meant total rest & relaxation! A roaring log fire added to the wonderful atmosphere in the eclectic "Cat Whiskers Pub" where we had our pre-dinner drinks with other guests. The enthusiasm and dedication of the owners, Margi and Lesley, filters through to the staff who are friendly and welcoming. Whether you want to fish for trout in the dams or throw a line in the river that runs through the property or take a walk, birdwatch, picnic or sit on your deck, it will all be with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. A truly worthwhile and enjoyable stay! Lots to do and see in the area plus excellent stopover if you are headed for Kruger Park.

April 2012

Denise R. (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely atmosphere, great food, a beautiful part of our country.

November 2007

Phil and Glenda R. (Klerksdorp)

Verified reviewexcellent

The best place!

August 2007

Giancarlo P. (Venice, Italy)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    2,560
  • R
  • 2304
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
South Africa. Explore. Experience. Stay

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.