Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved every second, Lovely kept, service great, friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

December 2015

Adri van der Walt (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

A perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature. Very friendly staff. Thank you for everything! on 15/12/2014

December 2014

Lola & Renato Zimmerman (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Very lovely and peaceful. Awesome accommodation and very lovely staff- keep it up. Hope to see you soon

December 2014

Louise Waring (Benoni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Awesome stay, very relaxing, staff so friendly it made it more special. Really had a wonderful and private time. Many thanks- will see you again –most definitely.

December 2014

Chantal & Neil Wells (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Mr and Mrs Kelly "Outstanding-thank you for the hospitality!" 07/10/2013

October 2013

Mr & Mrs Kelly (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Piet and Hester Nel " What a great experience. Something else, very refreshing. Great Food." 29/09/2013

October 2013

Piet Nel (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Yash and Sneha, Pune India " Honest hospitality, honest ambience & honest food! Excellent experience" 7/10/2013

October 2013

Yash (Pune India)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nr and Ns Zeidler Marseilles, France " Merci pour votre accueil tres chalevreux et pour la traduction des menus par votre soeur" 13/10/2013

October 2013

Nr and Ns Zeidler (Marseilles, France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Isabel & Coert Oberholzer " Wonderful stay. Personal service-feels like home. Thank you" 15/09/2013

September 2013

Isabel (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Tom Hammond "Our favourite place!" 9/09/2013

September 2013

Tom Hammond (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Tom and Karlien Coetzee " What a wonderful place, food for the soul. Amazing warm people & service" 09/09/2013

September 2013

Karlien Coetzee (Thorny Bush)

Verified reviewexcellent

Bryan and Charlene Maloney " Brilliant, great rooms wonderful fishing experience." 22/09/2013

September 2013

Brian Maloney (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lize Lubbe " I really enjoyed my stay- what a lovely setting- beautiful nature and attention to detail! I'll be back!" 29 09 2013

September 2013

Lize Lubbe (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Mike & Elna Lyons, Pretoria " Heerlik bederf tydens ons 25ste huweliks herdenking" 29/07/2013

July 2013

Elna Lyons (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

We experienced the Romance Package for 2 staying in one of the Cobbles Studios for our wedding anniversary - what a special weekend! The package makes one feel thoroughly spoilt. The accommodation, meals & hospitality of the staff was of an outstanding standard and we enjoyed taking in the scenic spots on the property. Would recommend spending a morning or afternoon relaxing next to the river on on the Weir Deck.

February 2013

Tracy (Krugersdorp)

Verified reviewexcellent

We love this place - a piece of paradise! Lesley & Margi make one feel very comfortable in a splendid venue with excellent cuisine and very friendly staff. Tom & Jenny Hammond.

September 2012

Tom Hammond (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

In April 2012, we visited Stonecutters Lodge & stayed in one of their beautifully appointed Cobbles Studios. We took their dinner, bed & breakfast option which meant total rest & relaxation! A roaring log fire added to the wonderful atmosphere in the eclectic "Cat Whiskers Pub" where we had our pre-dinner drinks with other guests. The enthusiasm and dedication of the owners, Margi and Lesley, filters through to the staff who are friendly and welcoming. Whether you want to fish for trout in the dams or throw a line in the river that runs through the property or take a walk, birdwatch, picnic or sit on your deck, it will all be with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. A truly worthwhile and enjoyable stay! Lots to do and see in the area plus excellent stopover if you are headed for Kruger Park.

April 2012

Denise Rizzo (Somerset West)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very comfortable sleeping rooms and very modern bathrooms .... and excellent food. Lesley and Madelien are terrific people and are attentive to their guests.

March 2010

S.P. Blankenship Jr. (North Carolina USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We arrived with trepidation but left with very sad hearts. Everything was just perfect! Cobbles Dewald and Leona Nel

December 2007

Mr Chandler (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely atmosphere, great food, a beautiful part of our country."

November 2007

Phil and Glenda Risi (Klerksdorp)

Verified reviewvery good

The best place!

August 2007

Giancarlo Petrisio (Venice, Italy)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great weekend! Loved the peacefulness and quietness. Excellent food from the restaurant and Breakfast Baskets. The fishing was excellent. The Els, Smith and Aucamp Families.

July 2007

Mr Els (mpumalanga)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great accommodation, super hiking and FANTASTIC river fishing. Wonderful friendly hosts.

July 2007

Eric Dunn (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

Paradise found...we'll have to stay longer next time! Thank you, it was wonderful! The James Family

May 2007

Mrs James (JHB)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,240
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Stonecutters Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.