Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Reinette is a warm host , who does a smashing breakfast! The rooms are great, the bed was wonderful after 8 hours on the road. Nothing was to much trouble, even recommending and booking a wonderful restaurant for the evening. I have been back once and will return every time I am passing through.

February 2018

Pat (Gordons Bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very comfortable night in quiet, tranquil surroundings. What a gracious host and our breakfast was delicious! Thank you. Wish we could spend more time.

April 2017

Nigel Murray (Boston)

Verified reviewexcellent

Reinette's personal attention made us feel so welcome. Great restaurant recommendation (with a booking on our behalf). Accommodation was excellent - and the breakfast just wonderful. The best was the fascinating history - an amazing collection of items of historical significance...and the stories that go with them! Fascinating! And what a lovely garden!! We will undoubetly return!! Thank you, Reinette for a lovely stay!

April 2013

Peter and Colleen (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

In January we staydedfor the third time in this lovely guesthouse. We had a Belgian friend, Prof Walter Pintens, with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the stay: Friendly hostess; impeccably clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms; good sercive and an excellent breakfast. Graaf-Reinet becomes even moer attractive after a stay at this guest-house.

January 2013

susan scott (pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a pleasant surprise it was to find this place! We arrived in Graaff-Reinet without a reservation but were readily welcomed by a gracious and friendly hostess. The stay itself in a beautifully appointed room was wonderful> By the time we left the next morning Reinette the owner felt like family. Somerset Stables is highly reccommended and we will definitely be back!

July 2012

Mike Odendaal (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent b@b.From the moment we arrived till we left nothing was any bother for Reinette.She even phoned us to confirm we were on the road and booked us a restaurant for supper as we had had a puncture.Brilliant breakfast good company will return .Highly Recommended

July 2012

val grantham (durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful stay we had at somerset stables. very well run with wonderful personalised service. stunning antiques and a fabulous breakfast - comfy , well decorated rooms and wonderful linen. you must have the breakfast it is fantastic. very good value for money. highly recommended.

October 2011

Grinwis-Sterling (Durban KZN)

Verified reviewexcellent

Sehr warme, persönliche und zuvorkommende Betreuung. Super Unterkunft, geschichtsträchtige Location. Kann ich jederzeit weiterempfehlen! Vielen Dank Reinette!

August 2011

C.Meier (Germany )

Verified reviewvery good

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Somerset Stables. Reinette was very welcoming, and accommodated our every need. The double room we stayed in was perfectly adequate and very clean. The breakfast in the morning was held in her historic 'stable' house, with amazing relics from days gone by - a museum in itself. Would recommend it.

March 2011

Claire Lemke (Knysna)

Verified reviewexcellent

An unexpected little gem. The accomodation was spacious, well appointed and charmingly decorated. We were made to feel very welcome by Reinette and the breakfast was excellent and served in her period dining room. The honey from her own bees in her own garden was a real bonus.

February 2011

Fran Blackburn (Abersoch, UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,300
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Somerset Stables

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.