Reviews & Comments

Showing 23 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful place, great hospitality, would highly recommend to anybody.

March 2014

Kathryn Wright (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely delightful; in particular the breakfasts. We especially enjoyed the fantastic picnic breakfast provided for us to have on the top of Lion's Head. Very memorable.

February 2014

Carolyn Woollard (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Delightfully quiet.

February 2014

Zelda Hunter (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

The perfect place to stay!

January 2014

Jochen Grubendorf (Cologne)

Verified reviewexcellent

Spent 4 nights in this beautiful lodge, a quiet place to relax after long travels, with great hospitality.

November 2013

Rudolf Luthi (Switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

A lovely base. Great breakfasts and great hosts.

October 2013

Dennis Partway (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our return to Rondebosch and Cape Time for the first time in 10 years showed that lots has changed but the friendliness and hospitality of South Africans remains the same! The lodge is lovely, the breakfasts wonderful and a perfect base for all our Cape Town adventures.

October 2013

Alistair Keil (Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very conveniently placed, very comfortable and Vanessa very accommodating.

July 2013

Trevor and Felicity Bailey (Parkview, Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful, comfortable and such friendliness and hospitality! Lovely stay.

February 2013

Charles and Liz Fontaine (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

I've stayed here 3 times now - and will stay again next time I'm in Cape Town. I always book one of the spacious self-catering cottages, which open on to the beautiful garden where there is now a fabulous new barbecue area. It's conveniently located, very easy to find, and there's plenty of safe, off-street parking. Owner Vanessa is always wonderfully helpful. Highly recommended.

March 2012

Gaile (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We loved our week at Sandown Lodge, not only because of the beautiful house and the large, safe, enclosed garden, but also because of the feeling we got that our hosts were wonderfully generous. We arrived to find our little kitchen fully stocked. The fridge was full of fruit, cheese, jams, yoghurts, eggs and even a big glass bottle of milk. The cookie-jar was full, there were whole bottles of various coffees, and boxes of tea – the place felt like home. And every morning we were treated to something wonderful from Vanessa’s kitchen! It was great.

March 2012

FIONA HOBSON (KLIPPLAAT)

Verified reviewexcellent

My husband and I felt completely at home here. Sandown Lodge is situated in a very good, safe residential area. We had a spacious bedroom and bathroom with a kitchen/veranda that opened up onto the lovely enclosed back garden. Super! Breakfast was always a pleasant surprise with fruit salad, freshly baked muffins or delicious quiches. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable, and it was. They were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. We will definitely be back. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

February 2012

Angela and Rolf Schneider (Munich, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Vanessa made myself and my four schoolgirl charges feel so at home. Nothing was too much effort for her. Beautiful accommodation, lovely surroundings, and such value for money. Highly recommended!

October 2011

Tracy Kirsten (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

A wonderful cottage to unwind after a long flight. You were very welcoming & absolutely amazing right from the start of our booking through to our stay. The cottage was private, warm & very inviting. Of course, lets not forget your wonderful breakfasts, your cooking & baking is certainly amazing! The house is wonderfully situated & in close proximity to all sites. A definite YES from all of us. Thank you so much for making the start of our holiday just wonderful.

July 2011

Bev Van Vuuren (New Zealand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely fantastic! The place was clean, spacious, had lovely decor and a light and airy but cosy, homely feel. Our fridge and kitchen were restocked every day with lots of breakfast goodies, even a declicious quiche and freshly baked muffins! Our hosts were very friendly and the location was great. Most highly recommended.

April 2011

Bianca Brebnor (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I have no hesitation in recommending this brilliant spot. The efficient, thoughtful way in which Vanessa dealt with us, from initial inquiries to our departure after a most enjoyable stay, was noteworthy. The establishment is enormously comfortable, quiet and most attractively decorated. Its location is convenient for touristy adventures as well as for shopping and business trips. We look forward to a return visit.

April 2010

angela (KwaZulu Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a fantastic stay. What a lovely cottage, very clean, rooms serviced daily, and the hosts were very helpful. A wonderful self-catering option in a central location.

December 2009

Lisa (Atlanta, Georgia, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is an excellent place to stay. Very convenient location, great accommodation & breakfast in relaxing setting, with wonderful hosts. Very reasonably priced.

September 2009

Ed & Sonia (Moscow)

Verified reviewexcellent

As a single traveler, the family was especially kind in spending time with me and helping with all my plans....Mr. Weim even offered his golf clubs if I wanted to play at one of the many nearby courses. Mrs. Weim helped me with a crisis (I lost my wallet in town) and even invited me to dinner with the family on my last night! The room was great, I wanted for nothing...The location is REALLY easy access to main roads in and out of town....I would stay here again, absolutely.

August 2009

Gary schwartz (Costa RIca)

Verified reviewexcellent

I stayed here for over a month and so happy I did. Tastefully decorated, clean, safe, comfortable bed, wireless internet, separate study area, across the street from a UCT shuttle stop, and fresh baked muffins each morning! The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful—on the first day I arrived, not knowing the neighborhood very well, one of the owners drove me around and even took me to the market. I would highly recommend this place.

July 2009

Jenny (New York)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at Sandown Lodge was great! We stayed over Easter weekend and the Wiums were superb hosts. It is close to some nice parks, shops and all the main routes and the room and breakfast were excellent. Highly recommended!

April 2009

Gerard Kempff (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our stay at Sandown Lodge was extremely pleasant, with hot fresh muffins every morning, straight from the oven! The accommodation was comfortable and clean and we could not have wanted for more. The owners went out of their way and went that extra mile for us, literally, by taking us to Cavendish Square when we were unable to find it! I would highly recommend this establishment.

February 2009

Jean Rusch (Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

We moved to SA for a year in Oct 08, and arrived at Sandown Lodge fresh from the airport with an 18 month boy, staying 3 weeks. We could not have chosen a better place. The accommodation was lovely and comfortable, and the welcome was superb. The Wiums are a lovely family, always happy to offer advice and to ensure their guests are happy. The Lodge is wonderfully located, you can get to anywhere very easily. We would highly recommend it for short or long stays.

October 2008

Aylwin Family (London, UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,300
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Sandown Lodge

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.