Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We love staying at Bethulie. Quirky and fun and interesting stories from Anthony! His knowledge is amazing! What a brilliant raconteur! Delicious food!

September 2020

Clare F. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

An incredible experience! The owner is extremely knowledgeable, entertaining and a great story teller. He makes history come alive! Not to mention the huge collection of books an vinyls (old LP’s). I gained so much information about the Anglo-Boer War and visited the graves of the SA people who died in the concentration camps under British rule. I will definitely visit again. The Royal hotel is a jewel!

February 2020

Charles v. (Vanderbijlpark)

Verified reviewvery good

We found Anthony Hocking to be an attentive and amusing host, who spared no effort to make our visit as welcoming as possible. It would have been tempting to stay another day or so and wallow in the enormous choices of books lining the walls, but we were locked into our arrangements and could not do so. There is a great deal more to Bethulie than one would think, and Anthony is a font of knowledge on the subject. I would certainly recommend a visit to his hotel to anyone of discernment, and particularly those who love books, music and ghost stories!

January 2020

Gail G. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Amazing experience. Loved the tour of Bethulie

January 2020

Rulize V. (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The quirky building, Anthony's wealth of knowledge and great food made it a stop over we won't forget. Our 9 year old didn't want to leave until she met at least one of the ghosts. We got an unexpected tour of the area with a fascinating history lesson.

December 2019

Marique K. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewgood

Good overnight stop. Very interesting hotel. Anthony was a lovely host and made us feel very welcome.

December 2019

Michelle M. (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Staying at the Royal Hotel Bethulie is unlike any other hotel experience we've had. The key to our deep sense of satisfaction with our stay was the enthusiasm of hotel owner Anthony Hocking, who shared with us his passion for (and extensive knowledge of) the fascinating history of the area – especially Anglo-Boer War History, the notorious concentration camp established at Bethulie, and the Boer-Basutho wars. We took up his offer of a tour of the sites, which was the highlight of our stay. I suppose the hotel itself will not tick everyone's boxes – it does not boast any particular modern luxuries or up-to-date decor, but it more than met all our needs as well as outstripping by miles a more typical hotel in terms of character. It is piled high with Anthony's truly enormous collection of books and vinyl records (which were played for us at dinner). The hotel provides good home-cooked dinners and breakfasts. We also enjoyed visiting the Gariep Dam Wall close by as well as the impressive road and rail bridge (reportedly the longest in the country) at the other end of Bethulie. We can highly recommend this hotel for its highly characterful and comfortable hospitality.

December 2019

Helena J. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

An interesting old hotel with lots of character. Anthony, the owner is an excellent host, and a mine of information. Bethulie has a lot of South African history attached to it.

May 2018

Frank Calboutin (Umhlanga Rocks)

Verified reviewvery good

Royal Hotel Bethulie was baie aangename verrassing. Sal definitief aanbeveel!!

October 2017

Bernard Snyman (Oudtshoorn)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay, excellent host

July 2016

Nico Kruger (Pretoria)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,040
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.