Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Enjoyed the hospitality and the books.

May 2021

Mariana K. (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewvery good

A very nice en interesting place to over night.

April 2021

Hendrik M. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wonderful hosts. Dinner was lovely.

March 2021

Beverley A. (Creighton)

Verified reviewvery good

We made a one-night stop and found it fascinating, especially the extensive book and vinyl collection. Our host, Anthony, very kindly gave us an impromptu tour of Bethulie regaling us with war stories and showing us the concentration camp site and cemetery. Perhaps our next stay should be for longer .... Thank you!

March 2021

Linda O. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewgood

We were quite disappointed arriving at the hotel , as not fancy by any means , but we had a delightful stay having a historical tour given to us by Anthony. We were told that the Hotel was the book of Stories - and wow - it is literally full of books - every wall in the hotel is covered with bookshelves and books. Anthony completed the name- teaching us the history of the boerwars in a whole lot of stories of specific people - making history a story tale - wish our grandchildren could be taught history in this manner. We went fir a lovely 30km cycle on a dirt road along dam and then back on tar road . Had a fantastic full house breakfast .I was worried about our night sleep being so hot and mozzies , but we’re had a very comfortable evening.

February 2021

Lynda B. (Kenton on Sea)

Verified reviewexcellent

Anthony and staff, well done. It was an experience we will always remember. More than just a stay over, we were truly entertained.

January 2021

Hendrik E. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewgood

A fun place to visit. Owner is a marvellous host, regaling many interesting stories and the meals are excellent

November 2020

Jane K. (Woodmead Sandton,)

Verified reviewgood

Staying at The Royal Hotel Bethulie is something very special. Anthony is a brilliant story teller and has an enormous knowledge about history and the area. So you’ll get a lot of interesting information.You’ll hardly find somebody as enthusiastic. Although the Hotel is located in an old house and the interior is somewhat simple I recommend a stay. Because it is so different and charming. It takes you back in time.

October 2020

Beate F. (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

The hospitality was exceptional, and the historical tour was phenomenal. We will be going back for more! A special complement to the chefs. Fantastic food and catering.

October 2020

Peter D. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We love staying at Bethulie. Quirky and fun and interesting stories from Anthony! His knowledge is amazing! What a brilliant raconteur! Delicious food!

September 2020

Clare F. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

An incredible experience! The owner is extremely knowledgeable, entertaining and a great story teller. He makes history come alive! Not to mention the huge collection of books an vinyls (old LP’s). I gained so much information about the Anglo-Boer War and visited the graves of the SA people who died in the concentration camps under British rule. I will definitely visit again. The Royal hotel is a jewel!

February 2020

Charles v. (Vanderbijlpark)

Verified reviewvery good

We found Anthony Hocking to be an attentive and amusing host, who spared no effort to make our visit as welcoming as possible. It would have been tempting to stay another day or so and wallow in the enormous choices of books lining the walls, but we were locked into our arrangements and could not do so. There is a great deal more to Bethulie than one would think, and Anthony is a font of knowledge on the subject. I would certainly recommend a visit to his hotel to anyone of discernment, and particularly those who love books, music and ghost stories!

January 2020

Gail G. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Amazing experience. Loved the tour of Bethulie

January 2020

Rulize V. (Randburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The quirky building, Anthony's wealth of knowledge and great food made it a stop over we won't forget. Our 9 year old didn't want to leave until she met at least one of the ghosts. We got an unexpected tour of the area with a fascinating history lesson.

December 2019

Marique K. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewgood

Good overnight stop. Very interesting hotel. Anthony was a lovely host and made us feel very welcome.

December 2019

Michelle M. (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Staying at the Royal Hotel Bethulie is unlike any other hotel experience we've had. The key to our deep sense of satisfaction with our stay was the enthusiasm of hotel owner Anthony Hocking, who shared with us his passion for (and extensive knowledge of) the fascinating history of the area – especially Anglo-Boer War History, the notorious concentration camp established at Bethulie, and the Boer-Basutho wars. We took up his offer of a tour of the sites, which was the highlight of our stay. I suppose the hotel itself will not tick everyone's boxes – it does not boast any particular modern luxuries or up-to-date decor, but it more than met all our needs as well as outstripping by miles a more typical hotel in terms of character. It is piled high with Anthony's truly enormous collection of books and vinyl records (which were played for us at dinner). The hotel provides good home-cooked dinners and breakfasts. We also enjoyed visiting the Gariep Dam Wall close by as well as the impressive road and rail bridge (reportedly the longest in the country) at the other end of Bethulie. We can highly recommend this hotel for its highly characterful and comfortable hospitality.

December 2019

Helena J. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

An interesting old hotel with lots of character. Anthony, the owner is an excellent host, and a mine of information. Bethulie has a lot of South African history attached to it.

May 2018

Frank Calboutin (Umhlanga Rocks)

Verified reviewvery good

Royal Hotel Bethulie was baie aangename verrassing. Sal definitief aanbeveel!!

October 2017

Bernard Snyman (Oudtshoorn)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent stay, excellent host

July 2016

Nico Kruger (Pretoria)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,040
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.