Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

Good sleepover place; safe parking, very clean rooms, easy access and very friendly welcome

January 2021

Uwe E. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

Well looked after place. Will stay again if i go to that area.

November 2020

Michael R. (Virginia Free State)

Verified reviewgood

vriendelyke ontvangs. Gelukkig het die gasheer dit besef en hy het ons op 'n makkelke plek ontmoet. Sodoende het ons makkelyk daar uitgekom.

November 2020

Cornelis J L. (Cape Town)

Verified reviewpoor

Awful, no other way to describe it. Aircon did not work, wifi did not work, pool not available. This you get told when you check in and it's 38 degrees. No privacy, walls are paper thin. Just awful. Stayed there twice in one go. First and last time thank you.

October 2020

Tinus V. (South Africa)

Verified reviewgood

We were pleasantly surprised by an unsolicited upgrade to a bigger chalet which was clean and comfortable. I liked that both regular and rooibos tea were provided. Our reception hostess was friendly and helpful. A small easily rectified down side was that a dirty towel from a previous visitor was left hanging behind the bathroom door. The hostess had trouble setting up the TV (no image) but this was immaterial to us as did not want to use the TV, We had a lovely quiet, restful night,

September 2020

Lexie B. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewgood

Okay for one night stay on road trip, not much to do

September 2020

yvonne v. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewgood

Comfortable overnight stay

August 2020

Riaan V. (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very tidy and well equipped! Well worth an overnight stop!

January 2020

Robert L. (Sandton)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was clean and well equipped. Friendly reception and book-in. Car parking under cover behind a locked gate. We'd recommend Rose Cottages to anyone who is looking for a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay.

January 2020

Heather S. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Very hospitable host, clean and well facilitated. Recommendation for dinner venue was excellent!!

December 2019

Rex v. (Nottingham Road, KZN)

Verified reviewvery good

Rooibekkie at Rose Cottage, Gariep Dam, was all we could have wished for - it was neat and clean, had all the necessary appliances for self-catering and the beds were extremely comfortable. Parking for our vehicle + small caravan was easy and secure. We would definitely recommend it.

November 2019

Maureen G. (JEFFREYS BAY)

Verified reviewvery good

After long drive it was a welcome site. Neat, Clean, Quiet and relaxing! The Manager was very helpfull to assist with info to have a late supper. Unfortunately had not the time to drive around Dam, but will come back again to do that. Will definately recomment to friends !!

October 2012

K.Mechnig (Cape Town)

Verified reviewvery good

THANK YOU ..... FOR THE 7 DAY BREAK THAT WAS SPENT AT GARIEP DAM, WHICH I MUST ADMIT SUITED OUR POCKET AS PENSIONERS, WAS ABSOLUTELY GREAT AND THE MOST IMPRESSIVE WAS THE BEAUTY OF THE WHOLE AREA AND THINGS TO DO AND SEE , WHICH WAS REAL VALUE FOR OUR MONEY. TO MENTION A FEW : THE DRIVE THROUGH THE NATURE RESERVE WAS SO CALM WITH NUMERIOUS SPEICIES OF GAME TO SEE, THE FISHING SPOTS, EASLIY ACCESSABLE , AND CLEAN, PLUS THE VIEW, AS YOU CAME AROUND A BEND OF A HILL OR GULLY WAS EXCELLENT, NEVER THE SAME, EACH AREA WE DROVE THROUGH IN THE REGION, i.e. THE DAM WALL IS IMPRESSIVE FROM WHICH EVER SIDE YOU LOOKED AT IT FROM. AS FOR THE BOATING FATERNITY FACILITY , I THINK IT MUST BE MORE THAN JUST A PLEASURE AN DELIGHT FOR THEM. THE RELAXED DRIVE TAKEN TO ..... WHERE WE HAD LUNCH WAS ALSO A DAY’S OUTING TO SEE OTHER REGIONS OF THE DAM PLUS INTERESTING SCENERY. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL MEMORIES AND LOOK FORWARD TO GOING AGAIN TO YOUR PART OF PARADISE.

February 2012

S. J. WILLIAMS (DEWETSDORP)

Verified reviewexcellent

Rose Cottage was a welcome stay over during our recent vacation. We found the manager to be freindly and helpful. The accommodation was neat and clean and the beds and bedding was fisrt class thuis enabling us to have a good noghts rest. Thank goodness for the pool and aircons in the room to give us relief during the heatwave. Well done Rose Cottage, we wil defenitly be back again.

January 2012

lloyd (Port Elizabeth)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 730
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.