Reviews & Comments

Showing 23 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewvery good

What a lovely place to be, thanks for a great hospitality and warm welcome to this lovely place indeed. Cleanliness is next to Godliness. I enjoyed playing with the pets and walks to the dam. Thank you Allan hoping to see you soon.

May 2019

Sonia & Hildah (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Definitely come again! What a fantastic 2 night stay. We all loved it here. Great house, amazingly comfy beds and soft linen. Super hot shower, and I even managed to squeeze myself and a wine glass into the bath :). Great place to get away from the city. The little black dog took us for a great little walk! I got into the pool "up to my knees"! Not warm enough in the autumn heat - lost a bet :). Thanks

April 2019

Nicole and family (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you so much for the hospitality Allan. You gladly and warmly received us despite our late arrival well after 2200hrs. You followed up on us till we made it home (Red Earth). Thank you. Louis oh my word we have a friend and the cat we named Gary, lovely pets and were our guides up and down the trail and past all the houses and even our lovely home. They stood guard. No TV meant me and my fiance could bond intimately with no disturbance what so ever. Allan, we surely will be back, we never had enough of your hospitality, your talks when we shouted for you when we need 5 minutes you gave 30 meaning you have time for us always. Thank you once again, we appreciate you, your home and, Louis, man we will miss. Lots of love

March 2019

Eugene & Yollie (Centurion)

Verified reviewexcellent

Allan, thank you so much for sharing your farm with us! The peace & tranquility was JUST what we needed. We will most certainly be back, next time with the kids - I think they would love it here too. The fresh air out here is like food for the soul! Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.

March 2019

Michelle & Robert (Secunda)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liewe Allan, Hoe se mens dankie vir so 'n ongelooflike Amazing Nawekie hier by jull? Hierdie Valentyns wegbreek nawekie is net wat ons nodig gehad het. Die wegbreek van die stad se gejaag na hierdie Asemrowende Natuur stilte is net wat ons nodig gehad het. om onsself weer te vind en stil te kan raak voor Abba Vader ons skepper. Wens so ons kon langer bly om net nog meer van hierdie stilte en rustigheid te kon indrink. Om wakker te word in die oggend met al hierdie God geskape diere geluidjies is onbeskryflik. Ons sal hierdie plekkie van jou beslis aanbeveel aan almal wat ons ken. Weereens dankie vir jou gasvryheid, jou vriendelikheid en dat jy jou plekkie oopstel vir mense soos ons wat net die wegbreek nodig het. Die naweek was net te kort, maar vreeslik lekker! Liefde Riaan en Charlene.

February 2019

Riaan en Charlene (Alberton)

Verified reviewvery good

Great farm experiece We had great weekend. Great location close to JHB. Friendly host, real farm experience. Thank you.

January 2019

Riaan Fourie (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely stay! It was beautiful! Very comfy and had everything we needed. It was exactly the holiday we needed. We spent most of our time in the little cave, which is a short hike up and over the koppie. Highly recommend

January 2019

Nicola Thomson (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Baie dankie vir die lekker kuier. Dit was heerlik om op 'n plaas weer te bly en die nuwe jaar in te gaan in rustigheid. Lekker gespeel met die twee woefs wat hulle by ons tuis gemaak het dit het gevoel of ek by my woefs ook is.

January 2019

Deon en Natasha (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Sal die plek aanbeveel. Dankie vir die awesome tyd wat ons hier kon spandeer. Geen stads geraas, net die rustigheid van plaas. Die naggeluide en die rustige omgewing was al wat ons nodig gehad het. Voel weer soos nuwe mense en sien weer kans vir die stad en lang pad. Rustige groete.

January 2019

Ernest and Santie (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Love the red earth Kids loved the dam and the dogs. I enjoyed the quiet and the books. Stayed until I finished "Being Nobody, Going Nowhere"! Would love to return. Thank you Allan. Kids also enjoyed books, games and toys here. Feeling relaxed!!!

December 2018

Sushma and the boys (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had such a wonderful time here. The dogs Lushiuse and Prosper were the best dogs ever. We are said to leave them, but this is their home. When we where awake and the door was open Lushiuse gave my mom a fright. Then we played with him then Conner and I went down the path and found Prosper in a pen, We wanted to let him out but we couldn't then we went back to the house and then Prosper followed us. We played with them then Prosper ran off then we couldn't find him. Then we went for a walk Lushiuse led it. We came back and still didn't find Prosper. And now we are packing to go. Thank you, Love, the Channings

December 2018

The Channings (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Hi Alan, We have the most amazing break. Lovely, quiet place, so good for the soul!! Loved the scenery, walks and the dogs and cats. The staff were very helpful. We will definately be returning.

May 2018

Fred and Estelle (Johannnesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Beautiful & scenic, tranquil & simply relaxing, away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. Definitely the place for families to get closer by playing games, talking stories, enjoying the views and reconnecting. Thank you Allan for being so accommodating & always available.

April 2018

Padayachee & Muniappen family (Johannnesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing stay. So nice to get away from the technology! Beautiful walks, such friendly dogs, comfortable accommodation. We will return!

April 2018

The Millars and Boys! (Johannnesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had an awesome time at Red Earth. Beautiful nature, amazing house and gracious host all contributed to a weekend feeling like a week away. The house is spacious and comfortable and Allan ensured that everything was perfect before our arrival. The walks around the farm provide for spectacular views. I will be back

March 2018

Louis Pretorius (Midrand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Allan, Thanks a million for your hospitality, we enjoyed the peacfuIl serenety Red Earth offered. It is definitely a place to escape to just enjoy ourselves.

March 2018

Thomas And Keabetswe (Kempton Park)

Verified reviewexcellent

Liewe Allan, Baie dankie vir jou gasvryheid. Ons was veronderstel om 6 te wees maar ons was net 2. Maar ek is nie vir een oomblik spyt nie. Dit was ongelooflik en amazing. Die huis is pragtig. Die geriewe goed. Ons was weer vir 'n slag een met die natuur en het ongelooflike kwaliteit tyd gehad. Die kloof is pragtig. Ons sal verseker weer kom.

March 2018

Nadine en Adriaan (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Allan, you welcomed us before we even got here for an unforgettable weekend. Thank you so much. Amazing place, we loved everything about it, not to mention the serenity, with nature all around us. We will definitely recommend this place to everyone! Hope to see you soon.

February 2018

Sisanda and Sakhumzi (Carltonville)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have found our sanctuary! We enjoyed the tranquility Red Earth has to offer. We are definately coming back soon. Thank you Allan for your hospitality. The surroundings are amazing, we found more than we had bargained for, nature, fresh air and beautiful landscapes. We have to come back for a hike.

January 2018

Thokozile and Gavin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

This place is beautiful and extremely restful. We love the "infinity pool" and look forward to coming again when Joshy is old enough to sleep in the cave. Great adventures.

January 2018

Jurgens, Lisa and Joshua and Zoe! (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Vrede - kalmte - rustigheid. As jy nie hier jou siel vrede vind nie - is daar 'n probleem. Baie dankie vir die gasvryheid. Sal beslis weer kom.

January 2018

Hennie en Susan Botha (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

Dear Allan, Charlie and the friendly little dog without a name: Thank you so much for the gift to stay here in this lovely, warm, calm and off the grid home. From the "infinity pool", rocks and cave to the comfort of an all you need breakaway destination, we had a great time and will be sure to come back again and again.

January 2018

Yolandi, Gert, Miabeth (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

I love this place. The simple comforts of roof, bed, recliner chair outside. The beautifully simple furnishing. All the character everywhere. Thank you for sharing this with us.

December 2017

Brenda Osman (Johannesburg)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    800
  • R
  • 720
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Red Earth @ Magaliesburg

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.