Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We came, we saw and ONRUS conquered. This place is a balm for body, mind and spirit. From frantic Johannesburg, we have been here several times and the visits always bring to mind that lovely poem : "I must down to the sea again, to the lonely sea and the sky......." The "hosts" Suzette assisted often by Pierre (also known as "Doepie") are remarkable people. Well traveled and knowledgeable with a good sense of humour and a great capacity for story-telling, it is always worth tapping their expertise. If it's true that "people make the place" then be sure that wherever you go those you meet will be friendly, happy and helpful. ONRUS (unrest, distress) is probably a fitting name as what it provides is the total antithesis. There is a saying that on our gravestones between the birth and death dates there is as DASH. It is up to all of us to make the best of that "dash" and ensure that we live a life worthwhile to ourselves and others. A visit to ONRUS and environs will certainly make a valuable contribution to your "dash!" So: Enjoy it, dash it...! Cliff and Ria Saunders.

March 2012

Cliff and Ria Saunders (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderfull time at perlemoen, enjoying a great view at the sea & sunset from the terrace, having dinner outside next to the braai. The house is perfectly accomodated for a comfortable stay and elaborated cooking :) Thank you for the great time we had with you, Pierre and Suzette, and for helping organising a super holiday! Warmer als bij Pierre en Suzette konden we niet worden ontvangen, bovenop het logement kregen we er een onvergetelijke ervaring bij, zingend aan de barbeque. Het huis is zeer goed uitgerust en heeft alles om er meer als comfortabel te verblijven. De lapa (buitenbar) en de binnentuin geven het huis een extra vakantiegevoel. Zeker een aanrader!

February 2012

Cathelijne Lyphout (Roeselare)

Verified reviewexcellent

A group of computer scientists stayed here for a fortnight, though some arrived later than others and some left earlier than others. Productive scientific discussions combined with a superbly enjoyable climate and guesthouse provided us with just the right combination of service, community, and independence. BRINK, HENRIK, FRANK, MARTIN, JOHANNA, MAX, SIGRID, MPHO, SUNA UMEÅ UNIVERSITY, SWEDEN; STELLENBOSCH UNIVERSITY; WITS UNIVERSITY.

January 2012

Sigrid Ewert (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewvery good

We recently visited your house in the middle of Winter, but had Summer the whole week-end - in our hearts as well!! Arrangements were easy, uncomplicated and friendly and a big plus was arriving at a clean, well prepared house with absolutely everyting a "girl" can need. Whether a couple, family or just a few friends, your house caters for every need. Once again thank you for considering all our needs. We have booked again and will definitely see you often. Feels like everytime we leave a bit of ourselves behind and your beautiful house and "dorp" has grown on us. Wanda & Guy

July 2011

Wanda & Guy (Somerset West/Zimbabwe)

Verified reviewexcellent

We could not have been happier with our stay at Perlemoen. Suzette provided us with all the necessary information and welcomed us into her Holiday House like we were long time friends. The house is expansive, beautiful, spotless and designed by Suzette herself - balcony's, braai's and two kitchens. The decorations are all works of art done by Suzette! The location of her property is just a short 60 yards to the ocean, which provided lovely ocean smells, sounds and breezes into our open windows. I do prefer the small town of Onrus, as my children prefer the River and ocean play area on the beach. It's very safe and the river is a tad warmer. Also, Davies pool and Jan Rabie pools are all within walking distance for swimming. There is a small grocery store within walking distance with art galleries and internet cafe. I'd recommend this rental in a heartbeat. We loved it, and will return. Thanks, Suzette :))

March 2011

Ros Riach Dalrymple (Dallas, TX, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a 2 night stay at Perlemoen Holiday House towards the end of our 3 week trip to South Africa. Using the SA-Venues web site we were impressed by the photos and the guest reviews but neither prepared us for the house and the welcome. The house was enormous, the welcome from Suzette was really nice and friendly and the location of the house was excellent. We soon realised that we were really pleased that we were not staying in large town of Hermanus but in the smaller settlement of Onrus. The ocean is just a 100 metres away and the excellent Milkwood restaurant less than 10 minutes walk down the road. We drove into Hermanus several times to see whales but just along the A43 from Onrus is the beautiful Rotary Way scenic drive and the R320 towards Caledon along the Hemel en Aarde Valley where some very good wine is produced. We would recommend taking a drive along both of these roads. At the junction of the A43 and the R320 is the Wine Village which has a fantastic selection of South African wines and particularly good examples from the valley. Suzette is a very helpful and welcoming person and she has created a house that is full of interesting pictures and books so it feels more like staying in friend’s home rather than rented accommodation. Perlemoen was certainly one the best places we stayed at in South Africa and we would recommend it without hesitation. It might be of particular interest to a large group as the whole house and adjoining cottage can easily accommodate a lot of people but for just us 2 it still felt very compact and homey.

October 2010

Phil and Barbara Gordon (Newcastle UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

To wake up in the morning to glorious sunshine and beautiful views is everything we had hoped for. Thank you for allowing us to share this lovely part of South Africa with you. The whales were an incredible bonus. We were still seeing them on the 2nd December. Wonderful experience

December 2008

Hayden & Sue Barrett (Aberdeenshire, Scotland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank You both for making our stay so interesting and for sharing with us your local knowledge, and especially your 'catch of the day'.

April 2008

Laurachs (Killarney, Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Zwei traumhaft schöne Tage, in wundervoller Umgebung und ganz herzlicher und warmer Gastfreundlichkeit!!!! Suzette ist eine besonders liebe und aufmerksame Gastgeberin, und gibt sofort das Gefühl 'zu hHause zu sein'! Wit kommen gerne zurück.....Das Haus ist auch ein '"Traum"!

March 2008

Anja Kutscher/Claudia (Deutschland)

Verified reviewexcellent

To travel the Garden Route without staying at PERLEMOEN and meeting the unusual Pairing of Pierre and Suzette is to miss a great treat. Baaie dankie, Lekker lekker

March 2008

Tim and Carol Morrel (Lincolnshire, UK.)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful place to stay, we only wish it could be for longer. Will reccommend to friends and family. Thanks for everything.

February 2008

Callum and Mia (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have much enjoyed our visit to such a comfortable house, well funished with all we needed. It was very nice to walk to the beach and lagoon nearby. All round enjoyable visit to Onrus, with the nearby mountains to view as well. 5 Days here was not enough!

January 2008

Pat and Geoffrey Streets (East Yorkshire England)

Verified reviewexcellent

A lovely time spent in Paradise. A lovely house, 'HOME FROM HOME' Thank you Dup and Suzette for your hospitalit. We have really enjoyed our stay and will definately be back.

December 2007

Le Roux's and Videlers (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 700
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Perlemoen Holiday House & Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.