Reviews & Comments

Showing 26 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

It's been a stunningly wonderful two days staying in the cottage. You have a very special place, a real 'getaway'. We will remember this time forever and hopefully will be back to visit again.

February 2018

Joe Grobbelaar (Stellenbosch)

Verified reviewexcellent

This has been a wonderful weekend and a true escape from city life. It feels like visiting family! This cottage is a treasure. We really look forward to spending some time again in this lovely place.

November 2017

Christine (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Probably the best place I've ever stayed in! Top spot in the wildlife department and perfect for our family. Kids enjoyed the pool and the space to just be kids

December 2011

Kemp family (Jersey Channel islands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you both (+1) for sharing this dream. We have had a wonderful couple of days. My husband and I are 120 years old together & well travelled - so new experiences are even more valued. We shared a bottle of champagne with strawberries watching Eland & Zebra - Superb! This is NOT a 4 Star cottage. It is 5 Star+. We hope to return next year. Thank you again for this unique experience. Gill & Doug Simons, Swansea. UK. xxx

September 2011

Gill Simons (Swansea. UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wonderful place, amazing views, home from home, but everything done so beautifully! Nothing could be changed to make it better. With FANTASTICAL wine, olives and sunset outside on the stoep. Endless hours spent sitting in front of the spectacular fire place playing Scrabble with the family. This truely is the most special get-away one could have, the peace and tranquility of the surroundings is inspirational! Thank you!

July 2011

Gary, Sharon, Hannah & Kevin Laughton (Knysna)

Verified reviewexcellent

Your cottage was the best self catering unit we have used in all our travels, anywhere! The complete privacy, stunning surroundings and not having want of anything more inside the cottage contributed to the best stay we have had, ever. Well done to the De Waal family and please do not change anything in or around this magical place.Julle sal ons gou weer sien! Cliff en Iroleen Hurter en kinders.

January 2011

Cliff Hurter (WINDHOEK Namibia)

Verified reviewexcellent

After a crazy year in Singapore we have truly appreciated the calm and silence that we discovered here. Everything about this spot exudes a quiet relaxation and it touches one's soul.Thank you for your kindness and generosity and for sharing this with us. Best wishes, Roberto, Lynn and Steven.

December 2010

Lynn Leonardi (Singapore)

Verified reviewexcellent

An absolutely magical experience!! Thank you for welcoming us into this little piece of heaven! So good that I'm afraid to share this with anyone! Seeing the wildlife was such an amazing experience. Even more so was waking up with Eland out on our doorstep. Your wine & hospitality was world class and I'm proud to have brought my Spanish guests here! Thank you De Waal family! Robyn, Jess y Sergio (ESPN)

August 2010

Robyn Southgate (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

All one could wish for and more! So much care was shown in all the little details and fine touches. What an honour to wake up to herds of antelope on our doorstep! This spot is so peaceful (although the incredible rain storm certainly made us feel warm and cosy by the big, roaring fire!). We're very keen to experience Oude Denneboom in the summer too, so we'll be back. Thank you for an awesome experience. Alison and Julie Reidy.

May 2010

Alison Reidy (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Our time spent at Oude Denneboom was exactly what we needed: it is beautiful, peaceful, charming and we found ourselves just wanting to stay at the cottage with great food, great company and an incredible view. We are sad to leave after 4 nights as it simply has not been long enough. Thank you for your professionalism and high standards, it is reflected in the outstanding quality of the cottage. We have high praises for the owners and staff. God bless. Phil, Wendy & Tamarin Jakins and Craig.

April 2010

Tamarin Jakins (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a beautiful time we have had. This was an amazing experience and our honeymoon was the best. There is so much to love around here. I thank you for this beautiful concept & allowing us to be a part thereof. You are amazing and we will definitely be back! ! ! Melvina & Stefan, Den Haag, Nederland

March 2010

Stefan Lakhichand (Den Haag, Nederland)

Verified reviewexcellent

We can only add our enthusiasm for Oude Denneboom to that of your many other visitors. It is a lovely place - both the cottage and the surroundings. It is like having your own private Game Park. As and when we are in SA again we cannot imagine going anywhere else when in the Cape Town area. Jeremy and Ria Price, England

December 2009

Jeremy & Ria Price (Gloucestershire, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Peace, Quiet, Tranquility and Luxury - The Perfect Therapy for your Soul. Highly recommended for every city dweller. In fact a must. Feel 10 years younger this morning. Thanks for everything! Johan, Juli, Janelia & JJ Huisamen

October 2009

Juli (Paarl)

Verified reviewexcellent

Loved the tranquility, the setting, the cottage itself, the animals, the fireplace and the entertaining birdsong chorus. What a relaxing, rejuvenating weekend. We will recommend it to all our friends and associates. Thanks a million! Penny & Henrie Geyser

September 2009

Penny Geyser (Hout Bay)

Verified reviewexcellent

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Oude Denneboom. The setting is breathtaking and we had a great time watching the birds and wildlife. A special family time - a rare treat. We felt utterly spoilt by the whole experience and will definitely recommend it to friends.

September 2009

Carey Jenkings (Cape Town & Delareyville)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a wonderful, serene place in which to spend a few days! Sitting on the stoep, drinking your great wine and watching the wildlife. What more could one ask for? We had an awesome time and can hardly wait to come back. See you soon! Parveen & Richard

August 2009

Parveen Dalvie (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We came away for a break from "lavida loca" and it was exactly what we needed. A roaring log fire; glass of your excellent Sauvignon Blanc and Nat King Cole playing in the background. Heaven! We will most definitely be back for summer nigghts of animal viewing from the "stoep". Warm regards, Daniel & Caroline Simoes. P.S. The little touches are what made it so special.

July 2009

Daniel & Caroline Simoes (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Well worth waiting for. So glad we were able to stay at this beautiful cottage steeped with history. Felt like we had gone back in time, however with all the modern day cons. We felt very blessed to be able to enjoy the rain, mist and beauty of nature around us, and most of all the wonderful fire place and wine! We sure will be back to explore some more. Grandpa had a wonderful time. God bless. Grandpa Ed, Michael & Diane Hosty

June 2009

Michaul & Diane Hosty (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a serene experience, surrounded by nature and God's creatures. We loved the little cottage and felt comfortable, rested and at peace. Even the first Cape winter storm that swept over the farm, could not dampen our spirits. The continuous log fire kept us warm and cosy. We woke one morning with the Springbok visiting around the cottage and a short drive around the reserve, rewarded us with seeing Zebra, Wildbeest and Eland. We loved it here and will be back! Dave & Nicky Hillman, Rhoda Ferreira

May 2009

The Hillman's (Melkbosstrand)

Verified reviewexcellent

Your stunning cottage is the perfect place to explore the winelands from. Why spend Euro's on going to Provence if we have this right on our doorstep! We thoroughly enjoyed our evenings around the braai and our morning cycling around the farm. The game kept a beady eye on us all day & we on them! Thank you, we will definitely be back. Martin, Cindy & Sarah-Jane Sheard

April 2009

Cindy Sheard (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

These days at Oude Denneboom were so relaxing for us that we will certainly come back to visit you and your wonderful cottage. We at once felt very well in the silence and peace of this place with all the nature and animals. We enjoyed the 4 days of our trip from Capetown where we are visiting our daughter, her husband and our little 14 days old grandchild. When we will be back in Germany we will certainly often remember this time. With best wishes and many thanks. Volker & Margit Hagen, Germany.

April 2009

Volker Hagen (Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have enjoyed exploring one of South Africa's hidden treasures. The tranquility and beauty of the sunsets and the sounds of the wildlife are priceless. Many of the larger establishments in SA can take a leaf out of your book - you and your staff are to be congratulated and commended in terms of the level of service provided coupled with the cleanliness of this establishment. Many others have over-promised and under-delivered - you have under-promised and overdelivered. Andrew & Ellen Johnson

March 2009

Andrew Johnson (Perth, Western Australia)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our first visit to the cottage and it certainly won't be the last. We did not want to leave. The cottage has been superbly designed and fitted out to an exceptionally high standard, which gives an extremely high level of comfort to anyone staying here. Sitting on the patio watching zebra, wildebeest, eland, etc grazing so close by is something very special - add this to the very hot weather, views and peace - you definitely will chill out. We left with wonderful memories and hope to return. Our sincere thanks to David, Susan and Jessica for their housekeeping and cheerful attitude. Jim & Val Wilkinson, Ireland Mary George-Parker, England

March 2009

Val Wilkinson (Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a stunning place this is and truly a hidden gem. My husband and I absolutely enjoyed the peace & tranquility. The perfect place to start off our honeymoon. We took a drive around the reserve to see if we could spot some animals & found to our amazement groups of wildebeest, zebra, springbok & gemsbok. How wonderful it was to see these animals in real life! We had the pleasure of witnessing a wildebeest pulling rank at a water spot. Spinning round crazy, knocking two others out of the way! What a magical experience to wake up the next morning to find these beasts grazing nearby. We will treasure the memories of this place when we relocate to England as we took 200 photo's in two days! I cannot thank you enough and we will never forget it. Mr & Mrs Raeburn

March 2009

Candice Raeburn (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed the peace and magic of this place tremendously. We also very much appreciated the beautiful details and all the love and hard work that went into making this cottage and its surroundings such a stunning "get away". Trixi, Bernd & Claudia Eickhoff

February 2009

Trixi Eickhoff (Vredehoek, CapeTown)

Verified reviewexcellent

The peace and tranquility of the surroundings is truly one of a kind. We'll recommend it to everyone in need of a break from "life". Shaun & Friends

January 2009

Shaun Temmers (Somerset West)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,300
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Oude Denneboom

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.