Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely stunning with breathtaking sea views. Ursula and Arthur are phenomenal and ensuring guest comfort and satisfaction is their absolute priority. It's definitely a home away from home feeling, with an extra special touch.

June 2017

Elleriese Gradidge (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow ! What a place to stay, Ocean Grove Guest House. My wife, Drikie, and I want to thank Arthur and Ursula and their staff for a most fantastic stay over. Unfortunately it was only for one day (7th to 8th May) when we attended our daughter Judy's marriage to Roy. The wedding ceremony was all set-up on the beach by the team at Ocean Grove. Despite unforeseen rain, it was a fantastic wedding with tremendous atmosphere. Ocean Grove hosted the reception which was second to none and, indeed exceptional! The service at the reception, and the following morning at breakfast, was "spectacular". Judy and Roy indicated to me that the wedding was indeed a spectacular start to their life as husband and wife. Once again many, many thanks to "Ocean Grove" for superb accommodation and service. Drikie and Peter Bartholomew (PS the four star rating is too low)!!!

May 2016

Dr Peter Bartholomew (Pietermaritzburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Ocean Grove is an exceptional venue which has it all! Set in a large, well-maintained garden and overlooking a panorama of ocean from a spacious pool deck, we were hosted by the owners, Arthur and Ursula. They are welcoming and friendly, knowledgeable about the details of the area and unobtrusively there to ensure a great experience. We had a family wedding at Ocean Grove where all our needs were met; the food was excellent, personally prepared and plentiful, served with the beautiful sound of the sea just audible in the background where we had been entertained earlier in the day by the sight of whales and porpoises disporting themselves. We were able to relax with our guests and share our joy and excitement without worrying about any arrangements. Our room overlooked the sea and was both comfortable and spotlessly kept. The peace and space gave the sense of a real getaway, but with all home comforts. We will be back someday I hope, to enjoy these special qualities again. Thank you so much Arthur and Ursula for going the extra mile for us in every way, not only over the wedding weekend but in all the time leading up to it as well!

October 2015

Graeme & Gill Leslie (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We went on a weekend break for Valentines . We had such an awesome time. The atmosphere was incredible! The breakfast was divine! The rooms were so luxury. I must say we had a well deserved break. Thank you Ursula and Arthur for being such wonderful hosts.

February 2015

Lindsay and Sugan (RSA)

Verified reviewexcellent

I went on a 3 day break and was staying at Ocean Grove, 1st of all I want to thank Arthur and Ursula for making me and my psartner feel so special the way they welcomed us and from the moment I entered the premises it felt like home. From our side and experience its a top of the range place and perfect. We enjoyed the stunning sea view, the garden (greenery), the bar and lots more. I will advise everyone to go to Ocean Grove and you will tell me again. But what a time we had. Once again we thank you Arthur and Ursula we won't stay away too long. God bless you.

April 2014

JAMES (PIETERMARITZBURG)

Verified reviewexcellent

We recently got married on Munster beach, and had our reception at Ocean Grove Guesthouse. Arthur and Ursula lovingly arranged the whole event, which turned out beautifully. The attention to detail was astonishing and the beauty of the venue and surrounds more than we could have hoped for. We spent our honeymoon there too, lazing on the beach and going for runs in the scenic neighbourhood and close by national parks. It was an experience that we will never forget and the hospitality and friendly service received at Ocean Grove is unrivaled.

March 2013

Uta Meyer (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have been heer the third time, this time for five weeks. It did feel very well, just as it has been before. Mainly we came to play golf on the golf places around this area. We recommend the familiar place Southbroom and the exiting place Wild Coast Sun. Both are not more as 15 to 20 minutes to drive.

January 2013

Horst Goldner (Guending/Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a very nice stay at the Ocean Grove. Arthur is a perfect host and we enjoyed the beautiful guest house a lot. We had a wunderful brekfast and the restaurant recommendation was excellent. The house itself is a little paradise. Great ocean view - big garden - completely quiet and so relaxing atmosphere - wonderful beach walk with labrador Roxy. We will come back!

May 2011

Sabine (Heidelberg/Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

During more than two month at SA, we visited several 4* and 5* B&B Houses. Ocean Grove Guesthouse is a 4* guesthouse, but it was just the best B&B we have been. All rooms are very good, but the best is the pearl room. The rooms ar large to very large, the living and dining area is for the guests and very comfortable. The very often used sentence 'Home from Home!' is really true by Arther and Ursula. They prepare a very good breakfast and by request a very good dinner too. We (two, retiered) have been twice there for two weeks and will come back again.

March 2011

Horst Goldner (Guending/Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wir verbrachten eine Woche in diesem wunderschönen Gästehaus und werden die tolle Zeit nicht vergessen! Es war die beste Zeit, die wir in unserem 6 wöchigen Trip durch Südafrika hatten. Die Gastgeber, Arthur und Ursula, sind ausgesprochen hilfsbereit und freundlich. Das Frühstück war einfach köstlich und wunderbar. Der Pearl Room ist wunderschön, Überhaupt ist das gesamte Guesthouse mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Vielen Dank, Arthur und Ursula, für Eure Warmherzigkeit! Wir werden Euch in Erinnerung behalten (und Roxy natürlich auch). Wenn sich eine Möglichkeit bietet kommen wir auf jeden Fall wieder. P.S. Der "Cape Ruby" ist gut verpackt heil zuhause angekommen und bei jedem Gläschen denken wir gern an die schöne Zeit bei Euch zurück.

October 2010

Boris und Kerstin (Hamburg, Germany)

Verified reviewexcellent

PARADISE! ROYAL 5 STAR HOSPITALITY! Thank you Arthur, Ursula and Roxy! We had the most fabulous, relaxing and enjoyable holiday with 5 Star service. The accommodation was the best we have stayed in ever - beautfully decorated, spacious and comfortable. The entire guest house and beautiful grounds are spotless. The breakfasts are delicious, healthy and satisfying (we were full until evening!) with plenty of variety. And the service - we couldn't have asked for anything more - it was faultless. Arthur and Ursula are both genuine, very nice, sincere and friendly, helpful people. We will most definitely be back - repeatedly!

October 2010

Chris & Clover Miller (Henley On Klip)

Verified reviewexcellent

Wow!!! If you want an amazing breakfast, tranquil surroundings, beautiful sea view and friendly hosts then you need to stay at the Ocean Grove. The hosts provided us with four camping chairs and cooler bag for the beach which we did not ask for but needed. I asked Arthur if i could park my car in the garage and he had the one garage cleared so that i could park my car. I had cousins from France with me and they referred to the Ocean Grove as paradise. Arthur and Ursula thanks for the wonderful hospitality. May God richly bless you both!!

February 2010

Adelino / Gilles & Gorette (Johannesburg / France)

Verified reviewexcellent

Choosing accomodation for a holiday via the internet can sometimes be an exerciise in 'hit and miss' planning and so there is always a certain relief when you find somewhere that really lives up to the bill. So it was with the Ocean Grove, as we found it to be a beautifully appointed guest house located in a small piece of paradise. The Ocean Grove sits in a quiet area close to Port Edward and offers excellent close up views of the Indian Ocean. It is only a very short walk from a superb beach which although public is very quiet and is just like being on a private beach. Although we stayed in March, I'm sure it would, during the season (September - November), be a great location for watching whales and the other marine life which abound. The rooms at Ocean Grove are large and nicely decorated and Aurthur and Ursula make excellent hosts in that they are accomodating, provide excellent breakfasts - sometimes more than we could eat -and offer a quiet but very efficient level of customer service. I'll be eternally grateful to Arthur who on the morning we left Ocean Grove, took it upon himself to chase us across the Transkei for an hour, just to return my credit card. I'm not sure how many other hosts would offer that level of service to their customers and so thank you. So, based on our 2 nights stay we'd have no hesitation at all in recommending the Ocean Grove to others and know we ourselves will vist the place again when we revisit the area

March 2009

christopher thomas (zug, switzerland)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic food and friendly people! Thanks so much for a wonderful time! We would definitely be back if we go to the Natal South Coast again! Thanks again for an excellent time!

December 2008

Chris and Cheryl Murray (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We first stayed at Ocean grove 18 months ago and can`t get enough of the place! We have been back 3 times to this little piece of paradise! The hosts Arthur and Ursula are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious and the guest house is exquisite. There is a swimming pool and tennis court in the fabulous grounds, and the hosts can even provide a picnic lunch to enjoy in one of the beautiful areas of the garden. We love it there and will definitely be back!

September 2008

Sylvia and Geoff Bowers (UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you for making our 1st week of marriage and wedded bliss so wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable! Many thanks “The Newly Weds” PS. The beds are big and the bedding so comfortable!!!

November 2006

Gunner and Gill Engbers (Cape Town)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 1,150
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Ocean Grove Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.