Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

I honestly couldn’t give a better, stronger, more positive recommendation for this place. I was driving with my girlfriend from Joburg to Plettenburg Bay for a week’s vacation and needed a last minute place to stay for the night in between and split up the 13-hour drive. I booked it only 3 days in advance and honestly didn’t have high expectations. I just wanted a clean place, maybe a glass of wine, food and some scenery. New Holme Guestfarm exceeded my expectations in every way. It doubles as a working farm and we had arrived on a Sunday, unknowingly about two hours after they had hosted 300 people and 90 horses for an event. Despite the lingering feeling that we’d just barely missed a really good party, the property was spotless. While clearly exhausted from the weekend, the owner was as gracious as can be. After we got settled in our spacious, fully stand-alone guest house (kitchen, sitting area, porch, bedroom, full bathroom, great shower) we had a great bottle of stellenbosch red on our porch. Then, along with one of his friendly and lovable dogs (Elvis, the beagle), he drove us to the “Hippo pool” for sundowners on a deck that overhangs the river, where there were indeed hippos and a gorgeous sunset. Once back at the main house, we were served a fantastic, delicious, 3-course meal (cooked by his lovely wife). Shockingly, we were literally the only people there. For R800/night, I dare you to find someplace better. And if you do, seriously, let me know. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - for couples, families on a weekend away or if you’re just passing through like we were. 5 stars.

March 2018

Clayton LeConey (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

My kind of life! To our wonderful hosts, Mariska and PC with baby Blesbok Bambi.. cherry on the cake, WELL DONE in every aspect. Henk and I LOVED all we saw overnight stay in a lovely spacious room overlooking beautiful gardens and pool. as 'my' tradition, where there is water, I'll swim, be it a bubbling Drakensberg river, or the beautiful Scarborough Ocean, New Holmes 'passed' with flying colours. Sadly we could only stay one night (we'll be back!) Staying on for breakfast was definitely worth every morsel of a super Karoo spread. Thank you both and the kitchen staff for a fabulous stay! One more thing... the 300 odd lambs being herded by three border collies to outer pastures, a sight to behold! :)) Thank you PC and Mariska for sharing your BEAUTIFUL KAROO JEWEL!. Hope to visit again... Warm and kind regards, Henk & Karin Behnken.

January 2017

Karin (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent see you again

August 2016

GT Pugin (Boksburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Such friendly and welcoming hosts. We truly enjoyed our stay, the large fire place, the delicious dinner and the very spacious guest rooms. What a pity we could only stayed one night. Highly recommended :-)

July 2016

Dagmar (Johannesburg SA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in the Log cabin (Family of 3) - comfortable accomodation with enough bedding to keep us warm. The dinner & breakfast were excellent - definitely worth booking for dinner. A great stopover from along the N1

April 2016

jono (jhb)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed at New Holme as a half-way point from Jhb to Cpt and weren't 100% sure what to expect. We arrived slightly later than planned due to circumstances beyond control, however when we arrived it felt as if we had stepped through our own doors at home. The atmosphere was warm and we were welcomed with open arms by P.C and his family. We unfortunately did not have the opportunity to eat as we only stayed one night and left early, but we did have a magnificent evening sharing a glass of wine with P.C and talking until all hours beneath a beautiful blanket of Karoo stars. Our place of slumber for the evening was a splendid log cabin which, despite the cold winter temperature, kept us very warm and cosy, making it slightly difficult for us to leave the next morning :) Definitely worth a repeat and highly recommended, it was an experience akin to a fairy tale. Thank you P.C. And God bless

June 2014

Dean (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Supremely comfortable, and hospitality as boundless as the Karoo. Highly recommended.

May 2014

Beavan Gwilt (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were saved by PC and his family on the 2nd January 2013. After a terrible experience at our previous accomodation we were welcomed with open arms and traeted as if we were family. The New Holme Lodge has such a warm homely feel to it and PC and his family create such an awesome environment. We arrived very late that evening with no prior bookings but PC made a plan for me and my sister and we were able to rest peacefully that evening. I spoke to some of the regulars that go there every year and many of them said "its our home away from home!" Thank you so much for that wonderful evening!

January 2013

Siska vd Westhuizen (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

Outstanding in every respect. Marisca and PC are the most wonderful hosts you can imagine. We immediately felt at home and did not want to leave after such a short stay. Location is amazing, the solitude and star gazing are just what one needs after a hectic year of stress and work. This is undoubtedly the best guest houses i have stayed in and i have traveled extensively world wide. We look forward to our next visit in December. God bless you both.

December 2012

jonathan davimes (San Diego, CA USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Dear Marisca and PC, I woke up this morning feeling disoriented: I was at my home, and not at New Holme! Truly we all (@21!! of us), so enjoyed our week at New Holme. Thank you for the excellent food and friendship, daily attention to detail, and for your extra hospitality that made us feel so at "holme" benchmark: well done! May God bless your every plan and purpose. Sincere regard, always: Marius and Judith Malan, Pretoria, Gauteng

September 2012

Judith and Marius Malan (Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Absolutely fantastic, if you are looking for a stop on the JHB to CT drive that is past Colesburg stay here, but try stay for more than one night. There is so much to see from the hippos, horses to the nothingness of the karoo and what we loved was the stars, billions of them. The hospitality was out of this world, our 3 year old got to feed a lamb a bottle of milk which made her year, the food was so good we had to get rolled out and that was only the conservative Sunday evening buffett. Truley a fantastic stay in clean homely accomodation. Highly recommended. (Kirst, Will, Lils and Rae)

October 2010

Kirsten Bell (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Since my stay at New Holme I have compared it with stays at hotels, farms, guest houses in various countries and can state categorically that it is the best! The braai in the boma was unforgettable, under the stars, sipping drinks and chatting with PC. We had a selection of excellent meats, and Marisca's spread of beautifully cooked and presented vegetables was mind-blowing. The dessert range was fabulous, on par with the fine wines offered by PC. My room was elegantly furnished and comfortable, and I slept with great contentment. I left New Holme after a bumper breakfast, extremely satisfied, and determined to return, which I intend to do in October this year(2009). Thank you, to a host and hostess who treated me with great courtesy and personal interest. Overall impression: 10/10

September 2004

Robin Chandler (Clevedon, England)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 700
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • New Holme Karoo Guestfarm has been voted 'Best Guest Farm Accommodation in Northern Cape.'
  • Best Guest Farm Accommodation in Northern Cape.

    As voted for by
    SA-Venues.com guests

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • New Holme Karoo Guestfarm

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.