Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Perfect location. Quiet, comfortable, secure and well appointed accommodation with a view that is hard to beat. A very welcoming and pleasant owner.

February 2020

John K. (Rickmansworth)

Verified reviewexcellent

NAUTILUS.......JUST A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN ON EARTH. My partner, Dennis Keet and I have visited Nautilus on several occasions. From the time we were welcomed by our friendly hostess, Jean, the mood was utterly romantic and tranquil. Nautilus is a place where you can just relax, unwind and recharge your soul with positive energy. The suite we have stayed in has always been beautifully appointed and comfortably prepared for our arrival. The fresh linen and facilities have been spotless and comparible with any 5 star hotel we have stayed in. There is every convenience with an open plan kitchen in which you can prepare a delicious meal. The view of the bay around Fish Hoek is breathtaking to say the least. Pods of dolphins pass by on their way to Muizenberg and we saw a few seals frolicking in the ocean which is just meters below the spacious balcony below our suite. The early morning sunrises are better than those I have experienced on the Greek Islands or the Mediterainean holiday resorts. During our stays we have spent most of our time just lounging around in our suite or taking a strole on the romantic catwalk which winds its way around the coastline close by. I could go on infinitum about this really special holiday accommodation. I would urge you to take some time out and visit Nautilus so you and your family can discover for yourselves this little piece of heaven in the deep south of the Cape Peninsula. Finally, I would like to thank Jean for her superb hospitality and making our stays at Nautilus a euphoric dream come true. Lots of love, Rodney Brown and Dennis Keet.

September 2016

Rodney Brown (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nautilus Lodge is a wonderfully welcoming, perfectly located home away from home. With stunning views of the bay, and comfortable, spacious accommodations, it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful area. It is well-managed, and information about the region is readily available. The lodge is adjacent to a lovely walking path that takes you right into Fishhoek and the local beach. It is a very convenient location for day trips to see penguins, Cape Town, or Cape Point. Jean is the perfect host!

July 2016

Heather Young (Ashland, Oregon, USA)

Verified reviewexcellent

We venture to suggest that Nautilus Lodge has "THE Prime Position" on the Fish Hoek sea front. It is slightly elevated on the jutting shoreline, and gave us a 180 degree view of the magnificent False Bay seascape. The gentle waves of the immense bay broke mesmerisingly on the rocky shore, just a stone's throw away from the patio, and wafted the fresh smell of the ocean to the Lodge. A mother and her children, and an elderly couple, wandered leisurely, along the pristine concrete walkway straddling the rocky ledge, and waved back to us as they passed. With the Lodge facing due North, the rising sun had shone through the windows to awaken us at dawn. It had invited us to sunbathe on the patio as it reached it's zenith. And it had enhanced our sundowners with a golden glow as we watched it set over the hills above the Fish Hoek beach. The vantage point of Nautilus Lodge enabled us to enjoy all the fascinating activity of this ocean world. The early morning canoeists paddling past in changing formations. The expectant fishermen casting their baits from the rocks below. A shoal of fish breaking the surface out in the bay beyond their reach. Not unnoticed by two luxury fishing boats, guided in by the diving birds. And as we sat there, we knew that we stood every chance of seeing dolphins at play, the blow spout of a whale, or the fins of a shark. This is truly an idyllic spot. It is the heartbeat of these first class self catering apartments, which offer every desirable convenience. This is the Lodge that was Jean's Dream, and she goes the extra mile to ensure every one of her guests can enjoy it to the full. We highly recommend Nautilus. It is a gem of the Cape.

June 2016

Ken and Deanne Eddy (Isle of Lewis)

Verified reviewexcellent

Nautilus Lodge is in the most amazing position with beautiful views both during the day and in the evenings. The apartments are large and very comfortable. They have everything you could need to make your stay feel like home away from home. We have been visiting Nautilus Lodge for many years and love returning. Fish Hoek has a wonderful beach and it is a beautiful walk along the sea to the beach. Fish Hoek has all the shops you could need. There is parking right outside the door of the apartment. We will be back.

December 2015

Lynda Tromp (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was our first visit to Nautilus Lodge and what a find. The flat had everything you needed and great views over the sea to the beach at Fish Hoek. The owner Jean was very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to go back again next year.

January 2015

Hilary and Jim Cater (Bristol)

Verified reviewexcellent

My wife and I have visited Nautilus Lodge for at least the past 10 years. There is nowhere else in the world we would rather be. The views from the flat are superb where the whales can be viewed from the balcony. The flat is within easy walking distance of the local village Fish Hoek where there are lovely restaurants and shops. Not to mention the beach. Jean, you refer to Nautilus Lodge as "Paradise", and Paradise it surely is. Angela and Roger Tonkin United Kingdom

October 2010

ROGER TONKIN (BURNHAM ON SEA)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fish Hoek and Nautilus Lodge in particular, has been our favourite long holiday destination for over a decade. The reason for this is simple. Nautilus has everything we need for a really enjoyable and relaxing holiday. It occupies a prime position above Jager's Walk with only the rocks between it and the Sea. The apartments' balconies not only provide a wonderful panoramic view across False Bay but are ideal for whale watching in the Spring! The apartments are roomy and comfortably furnished, well equipped for self catering, and regularly serviced. Jean, the resident owner, is most welcoming, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We look forward to our regular visit as an opportunity to relax and unwind in a pleasing and comfortalbe environment. We fully understand why Jean describes Nautilus Lodge as her "Paradise" and we appreciate being able to share her "idyll" from time to time.

March 2008

Ron Cordingley (United Kingdom)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

Rates on request

  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.