Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

What an amazing weekend away , it was quiet , peaceful and really had absolutely everything you need.  The views are spectacular , as is the chalet!  You really feel like your soul is being rebooted We went on a walk on Saturday morning and very easily followed the path with all the little rocks built up, which was so user friendly and made the walk that much more enjoyable.  On Sunday we went our for another little walk and was amazed to see the two giraffes.  You will most definitely see us again ! 

May 2021

Taryn H. (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

It is a beautiful and peaceful place. Staff are friendly and helpful. Accommodation is great.

November 2020

Julia H. (Modimolle)

Verified reviewvery good

Moonriver is stunning, at an affordable price, my husband and I were able to detach from the hustle and bustle of the city and relax. Thank you Sinah for an awesome check-in. Every morning was a beautiful view and I would recommend Moonriver to people who need a break.

November 2020

Cassandra M. (Edenvale)

Verified reviewexcellent

A special place that we so enjoyed, particularly the scenery, remoteness, safety and managed to put our ageing Prado through its paces on the very challenging route to the dam where we viewed a multitude of birds.

November 2020

DD W. (Witbank eMalahleni)

Verified reviewexcellent

Great breakaway from the city, can’t wait to go back to Moonriver

August 2020

Michael M. (Gauteng)

Verified reviewvery good

Very Beautiful and the chalets are top.

February 2020

Wynand B. (Pretoria)

Verified reviewvery good

These cottages have the wow factor , with their floor to ceiling glass windows and setting overlooking the beautiful valley. The bathroom is also stunning , with the oversized bath and spectacular view. Unfortunately the kitchen is woefully inadequate for a place that is purely self-catering. You cannot even fit a plate in the tiny sink! We had a lovely walk and drive around Moonriver and saw a lot of birds and animals. Good value for a short break.

April 2019

Robyn Colclough (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

My special thanks to you and your dedicated team.We enjoyed ourselves inmensley,and Siena and Daniel were the best. Moonriver is simply stunning at very affordable prices , we were able to just relax and enjoy the view. Thankk you once more for your excellent service. Kind regards Gretel/Edward Baker

January 2019

Gretel Baker (Gauteng/Pretoria)

Verified reviewexcellent

Me and my gusband stayed there the week before and booked ou parents in on this booking as a suprise break away for them.... They can not stop talking about how wonderful and perfect and beautiful and just amazing absolutely everything was... Once again... This is not just me and my husband's new favorite break away destination but also our families.... They are sure to have many many more visits from us. Thank you for everything Moonriver Mountain Retreat. Love this place.. Peace of heaven on earth.

November 2018

Mart-Mari Spittal (Tuinplaas)

Verified reviewexcellent

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! This place is a gem!!! We loved every moment here. So quiet and relaxing and the staff is so friendly. They will keep seeing us in the future, that is for sure.

November 2018

Mart-Mari Spittal (Tuinplaas)

Verified reviewexcellent

An amazing place!!! We definitely want to come again.

March 2018

Lisa Hoerstmann (Berlin)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,000
  • R
  • 950
  • per room per night
    conditions apply
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • See our Payment Protection Guarantee. Now covering travel restrictions due to lockdown regulations.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com

SA-Venues.com® has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.