Meerkat Manor is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (55 reviews)

Meerkat Manor

Guest House / Self Catering at 11 Bosbok Street, Komatipoort, 1340, Mpumalanga, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 55 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 55 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016

Excellent

Review by Whitney Martin (Washington, USA)


I had the best stay with Meerkat Manor this past weekend. Because of visa issues I had to book last minute on Thursday for a Friday night. I hoped to do a safari in Kruger but called around to a number of different agencies and everything was booked.

When I arrived, Ronnie, the owner, met me at the gate and asked me about my trip. When I explained that I had hoped to do a safari but couldn't find any availability he offered to have his son take me to the park directly to see if they had options there. Not only did they have options but they were SO much more affordable (350-400 rand, $20-25). Wesley helped me get lunch/dinner reservations and transportation to the safaris and the border. There is no way I would have been able to coordinate my trip as well without his expertise.

I cannot say enough good things about Meerkat Manor. It is a beautiful property that feels very safe, the rooms are comfortable and they do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable. There is nowhere else in Komatipoort I would rather stay.

PS Their dog, Jinx, is the sweetest. And if you are looking for a place to relax they have a reception area with comfy couches and a TV all set up for your enjoyment.

June 2016

Excellent

Review by David Erwee (Johannesburg)

I really enjoyed my trip to Meerkat Manor. The staff and owner were friendly and very accommodating. Really excellent service. The rooms were clean and very well equipped. I would definitely visit them again.

May 2016

Excellent

Review by Rodney Hunter (Krugersdorp)


Stayed over one night on our way to Mozambique. So impressed booked another night on our way back. Clean rooms, comfy beds and very convenient location. Such a pleasure to deal with Ronnie who made our stay a pleasure. He kindly braaied our meat on the first night too.....nothing is too much to ask of him. Thank you Ronnie. Rod and Amelia

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Pierre Van Rooyen (Cape Town)

Clean, modern and well furnished. The 4 sleeper apartment was excellent value for money (beyond highest expectations) and the photos I saw on-line did not do this place justice. Will definitely be back.

April 2015

Excellent

Review by Odile Loots (Pretoria)

I had a wedding in Komatipoort and stayed at Meerkat Manor for the evening. They were happy to accommodate my odd hours with a friendly smile. I was very please to find a neat and clean room with well kept surroundings. Unlike most guest houses I have stayed in, they were the first to leave fresh milk instead of the powder milk sachets that was much appreciated. I would highly recommend them to all future visitors. Thank you again to the friendly people of Meerkat manor!

February 2015

Very Good

Review by Silvia Plata-Munoz (Mexico)

Lovely place to stay. We went there for 2 nights to go to Kruger Park and have a nice weekend. The owners were so warm welcoming and very nice to us. I recommend this guesthouse 100%. Definitely will stay here again

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Christo Geldenhuis (London)

We were a group of friends who used Meerkat Manor as a base to visit the Kruger National Park and play golf in the area. The price was very affordable and we were pleasantly surprised with our rooms considering it is a “low budget” guest house. We stayed in the superior twin rooms and the beds were very comfortable and we also had a very strong Wi-Fi signal. The guest house is newly built and everything is still nice and new. The air-conditioners were superb. I must also mention that the garden is stunning and a nice private BBQ area. Would recommend Meerkat Manor anytime for a stop-over on your way to Mozambique or the Kruger National Park

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Leon Fourie (Secunda)

This is what I call value for money. I stayed here for two days on a business trip. Ronnie and Diff helped me move my heavy trailer without me asking.The room was comfortable and the free wi-fi signal was very strong. Ronnie really went out off his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. I look forward to return again

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Neil Franklin (Centurion)

Meerkat Manor is a stunning stop over in Komatipoort. Family room was superb. Host Div and his wife are great. Get down to the golf course, 5 min away for a sundowner overlooking the majestic Crocodile River.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Anna Zbinden (Neftenbach, Switzerland)

The Meerkat Manor is hard to beat after three dusty days in the Kruger. Exceptionally friendly couple who reads every wish from our eyes. Beautiful rooms with balcony, overlooking Mozambique and the Kruger, quiet. Every time again !!

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Hamid Mukhtar (Qatar)

We didn't know we were up for a pleasant surprise when we checked-in to Meerkat Manor. We were warmly welcome by the propreitors (it's a shame I forgot the names). They were kind to tell us all about the facility and guide us about the area: where to get our grocery, where can we get good food, where can we have a lovely breakfast etc. The rooms were immaculately decorated with African art.The proximity to the Croc Bridge gate is also quite handy when you want to be among the first ones to enter Kruger Park when the gates open in the morning.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Scott Harris (Inhambane, Mozambique)

I was on my way back to Mozambique and needed a place to spend the night. Found this place online. Was so impressed with the hospitality and quality of the room. I will be stopping there again as I travel back and forth between South Africa and Mozambique.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Sonja Carne (Hoedspruit)

We spent 2 nights at Meerkat Manor on our way to and again from a holiday in Mozambique. Div and his wife welcomed us warmly and were very hospitable in all respects. The accommodation is spotless and well furnished with wonderful beds, comfortable sofas and absolutely all facilities necessary including a fully equipped kitchen.

We will certainly book again and I highly recommend Meerkat to anyone needing a comfortable stop over in tranquil surroundings on the way to the Kruger Park or to Mozambique.

Thanks to all for an excellent stay.

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Caroline Graat (Netherlands)

The people from Meerkat Manor are most friendly and helpful, extremely, because they offered help that was not part of the booking and we got this great help after we had checked out. Big big compliments for that!
Caroline & Jan, Netherlands, living in South Africa

August 2014

Very Good

Review by Jose Evangelista (Portugal)

The place is very beautiful and peaceful! The house has everything you need and is very comfortable and you make a great BBQ! Only need 15 minutes to enter the Kruger! Great location for those coming from Mozambique.
We will recommend to our friends in Portugal

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Mikayel Bartikyan (Armenia)

Unfortunately I had to spend just one night at Meerkat Manor, I say unfortunately because those were the most pleasant and warm people I ever met in SA, it was a great pleasure being there and getting in touch with the hosts, you will not find a better place to stay ! Beautiful house, very comfortable, very modern. And again the warmest welcome that makes me come back next time I visit Kruger Park.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Nicola Rundle (Zimbabwe)

Wonderful people welcoming us after our long drive. Accommodation was very comfortable and if we are in this area of South Africa again we will definitely book at Meerkat Manor again. Our large trailer was also accommodated in the parking which was very convenient to hitch up and go on our trip to the Kruger.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Nischol Persad (Trinidad And Tobago)

The rooms was very affordable for the high quality. I strongly recommend this property. Its next to a shopping centre with food places . Very close to Mozambique and the the Maputo border and a few km from Kruger Crocodile gate. Its conveniently located. The rooms are clean and five star.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Alan Rothman (Springs)

Very neat and tidy. Reception pleasant and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Very quite location great for a stop over or for one going into the Kruger Park. Will definitely recommend this venue to any one needing a good place to stay at affordable rate.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Annette Sipple (Milan, Italy)

Nice and well equipped rooms located around a fenced courtyard and garden in Komatipoort, in the vicinity of Kruger park entrance and Lebombo border. Good wi-fi available in the room, tv and fridge, huge and comfortable beds. The owner is living in the next building for any needs you may have.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by David Phythian (Johannesburg)

Needed a last minute accomodation and found it at Meerkat Manor. Lovely room and lovely people who were very accommodating.

Definitely be back there when have to do my business trip again.

Many Thanks

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Amanda Fong (Mozambique)

My family and I live in Maputo and visit Kruger for quick weekend visits. Meerkat Manor has been by far the best place we've stayed in the area. The owners are extremely friendly and everything about the rooms exceeded our expectations. Having only driven through Komatipoort before, I would have never guessed that such a calm and peaceful guesthouse could be found here. Well done!

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Rudy (Netherlands)

We spent two nights at this guest house going and coming from Mozambique as Komatipoort is right on the border. Very nice owners, helpful with our car problem and very friendly. The apartment was spacious and had everything we (2 adults, 2 teenage kids) needed including wifi. If your destination is Mozambique or the Kruger NP, this is your place to stay!

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Antonie Botha (Ermelo)

My wife and I stayed at Meerkat Manor for just one night and was very satisfied with the clean rooms, the friendly reception, the peacefulness and the secure parking. Everything was perfect. Thank you

May 2014

Very Good

Review by Johan Calitz (Centurion)

Peaceful and very quiet area. Had a great stay. Really felt welcome . Can highly recommend. Thank you for the hospitality, wish I could stay longer. Will be back soon.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Keith Cassell (USA)

A short and brief stay but it was perfect. We stayed here for just one night whilst on a road trip from Johannesburg to Inhambane, Mozambique. Location was perfect - very close to the border so we could cross early and beat the traffic. We could actually see the border from the balcony from our room.

What was also great, it is also located at the foot of Kruger National Park so it would also be perfect as a base. We could hear quite a bit of activity early evening from Hippo's and Hyaena's whilst we were sat on the balcony before getting our heads down.

Last but not least, the proprietors were so helpful and friendly. It is evident that they care very much about their business as there is nothing to fault.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Kitty Den Boogert (Holland)

The host Ronnie was very flexible and friendly host, as we changed our plans a few times. He always tried to find a solution. The rooms are new, clean with good beds and the spot near the Crocodile Bridge Gate and the Mozambican border is superb. This way you can enjoy a full day in the park

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Laurent Delucchi (Paris, France)

Couple, French and Moroccan. Very nice place, the reception is very friendly, the boss is very cool, shame that the pool is tiny. This is a great stop to visit the area, whether the canyons or Reserve Kruger park.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Hennie Senekal (Pretoria)

Meerkat Manor is a lovely guest house situated in Komatipoort and is very convenient if travelling to Kruger National Park, Mozambique or Swaziland. The rooms were very clean and neat with comfortable beds. Being in such a warm area, it was refreshing to have a room with an air-conditioner that really works well. Also the TV had more channels to choose from then most places offer – not to mention some free movies. Also great having free Wi-Fi. The guest house is situated in a nice quite area and having a BBQ was great. We even heard some wild animals from the Kruger Park late at night. Nice place and helpful owners. Would recommend anytime

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Douglas Kahan (Palm Springs, California, USA)

Modern and functional, secure yet airy, in a nice neighborhood. Parking very secure as well. Hosts are genuinely friendly and helpful. Minutes to Kruger and Mozambique. Could not imagine more. Very reasonable budget price.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Debbie Hartman (Johannesburg)

We had booked a room at Meerkat Manor in Komatipoort for the long easter weekend. Our 3 night stay consisted of excellent service and a very relaxing Environment. Meerkat Manor is what I call value for money. Thank you Ronnie

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Tony Lee (England)

Meerkat Manor is an ideal location to start or end a trip to the Kruger Park. Very nice accommodation very friendly hosts and good value for money, would recommend to anyone visiting the Park. Restaurants are limited in Komatipoort, otherwise perfect.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Tony (Muscat, Oman)

We arrived at Meerkat Manor after a 500 km drive from Joburg, we were met with an extremely warm welcome from very nice people. The room was as advertised, very fresh and clean in a very nice location, and good value.The balcony overlooked the Kruger Park and the Crocodile River, Sunsets and Sunrises were wonderful. Although there are no Meerkats on the property !! the name is very apt for the area. This is a perfect base for exploring the southern part of the Kruger, 10 kms from Crocodile Gate and 5kms from the Mozambique border if you want to travel to Maputo. Very nice experience, we were due to return for another 2 nights but suffered an unfortunate incident which prevented us returning

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Naas Botes (Middelburg)

I did not expect a place like this at the Price I paid. I already informed my friends to make use of this accommodation as I could compare it to other very good places I stayed before, and it is absolutely outstanding.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Paulo Soska (Maputo , Mozambique)

After booking over an international website, i received a personalized confirmation from Ronnie within minutes - very impressive!

As we were a group of friends and arrived from Mozambique quite late, I had asked for some biltong to be available for us. They arranged for a superb variety of it.

The room was a self catering apartment. All what we needed was there. Although we didn't make use of the braai and utensils, all was there to be used.
After arriving we were shown the house and all the amenities, which makes a whole heart-warming difference as opposed to some other places where you are handed over the keys and left to mind your business. I find that a personal touch is always welcome.

Bedding of fine quality made us sleep graciously.
Amazing experience to fall asleep to the sound of crickets and some distant frogs, and waking up to a beautiful sunrise with birds singing.

The bathroom was spotless and the toiletries provided adequate for the stay.

Being 10 minutes from the border and 10 minutes from the Crocodile Bridge, i will definitely be staying a lot more often.

The only point to improve - provide an aircon unit on the master room. The fans are adequate, but if you're like me who prefers a chilly environment opposed to a scorching outside, it will make you even more comfortable.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Janusz Majka (Paris, France)

The location is perfect.The rooms are nice. Those from the upper floor have a balcony and a view of the Kruger Park. The decoration is soft and the rooms comfortable. Very quiet around. The owners are very helpful and can give you a lot of practical information about the town, the Kruger Park, and also about the history of the region and even the country. Good hub before or after Kruger Park.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Haig Biddulps (Brighton, England)

The place was amazing, with a beautiful balcony that looked over Kruger in the distance. The hosts were extremely friendly and gave us a great recommendation for a place to eat (go to the golf course nearby!) and let us use their personal fridge. I would recommend this place to everyone!

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Madeleine Britz (Nelspruit)

The location is perfect if you want to visit the Kruger Park.We stayed in the family unit.This unit is spacious and perfect for a family of 4(2adults & 2 kids).The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much effort.Very quiet around with a beautiful garden .In-and-outside very clean.Will definately recommend this guesthouse to anyone !

January 2014

Very Good

Review by Lerumo Liphoyo (Johannesburg)

The place is welcoming and the staff is always very helpful. I'll go again anytime. The area is not that entertaining but the accommodation compromises for all that and the community around is friendly.

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Carisma Breedt (Rustenburg)

Waarde vir geld! Sal definitief weer daar bly. Meerkat Manor is 'n pragtige plek en dit was regtig lekker om daar tuis te gaan. Die eienaars was baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig en ons is hartlik ontvang. Die kamers is goed toegerus en baie netjies. Baie dankie.

December 2013

Very Good

Review by Gill Isaac (Johannesburg)

This was only an overnight stay on route to Mozambique. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. We were also very impressed with the hospitality and helpfulness of the owner, Ronnie. Highly recommended.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Avi Menon (Pretoria)

We stayed there for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The place was clean and tidy. It is a short drive from both the Kruger National Park and Mozambique border. From the balcony, you can see the Moz border gates. In spite of staying outside of KNP, you can go for morning and night game drives. For game drives enquire at the Crocodile River gate of KNP. We saw the big 5 within close proximity of the gates.

A great value for money! They have recently started a loyalty program that avails you discounts the next time you stay at Meerkat Manor. Highly recommend this place!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Tim Dell (Johannesburg)

My wife and I spent two nights either side of a trip to Mozambique at Meerkat Manor. It was really outstanding and Ronnie went out of his way to accommodate us. There is free wifi and a good selection of Movies and television to relax to. The braai facilities were provided and Ronnie helped us with all the utensils and plates we required. The Manor is only a short drive, some 9 km's or so, from the Crocodile River entrance to the Kruger Park.

I'd recommend Meerkat Manor to anyone.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Delene Fisher (Middelburg)

Heerlik gebly in julle pragtige plek. Alles skoon en netjies. Ons vertel graag aan ons vriende van julle. Vriendelike ontvangs.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Megan Holden (Johannesburg)

We only stayed one night as we were travelling to Mozambique the next morning, it was great- clean rooms, modern look, we all had a very comfortable stay and the border is very close which was a bonus. I will definitely be back :)

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Thys Matthyssen (Pretoria)

Vriendelikste mense wat ons ontmoet het. Hulle doen alles om jou tuis te laat voel.
Ons sal beslis weer by Meerkar Manor tuisgaan! Fantastiese eienaars.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Eben Geldenhuis (Pretoria)

Great value for money. Stylish, clean, most comfortable and spacious new rooms. Great view of the Krugerpark. Saw a herd of elephants from the guest house. Great golf course just around the corner and only 5 minutes away from Kruger Park's gate

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Charmaine Mathews (Pretoria)

Heerlik gebly in baie gerieflike, pragtige kamers. Meerkat Manor sal beslis deur my aanbeveel word sover ek gaan - dit was 'n plesier om te bly in heerlike koel kamers met 'n pragtige stoep en lieflike uitsig!

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Emily (USA )

The room was on the top floor and we could see into Kruger. It was a really beautiful view to wake up to in the morning! Room was new and very clean. We only stayed one night (a last minute choice to add an extra day- no room at our previous hotel) but it is a definite option for travelers. Would like them to add a restaurant/food services and perhaps a pool as they grow; this property has potential. Recommended stay.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Kim (Maryland, USA)

Very clean, comfortable and friendly place, about 15 minutes from the Crocodile bridge gate. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived a day earlier than our reservation - but instead of turning us away, they were able to accommodate us. We fell in love with their dog Jinx. Close to restaurants, Spar and the Mozambique border. Will stay there again.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Dave Younf (Johannesburg)

It was really awesome to stay at Meerkat Manor, Antoinette and Div are great people. I would recommend Meerkat Manor to anyone

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Jane (Penang, Malaysia)

We enjoyed one night at Meerkat Manor after our two day exploration of Kruger Park. Meerkat Manor is on a beautiful property overlooking the Komatispoort and the southern edge of Kruger Park. The rooms are brand new, beds are super comfortable and the property super quiet. Ronnie the manager helped us set up a Braai for our dinner and with food picked up at the nearby grocery store we had a wonderful meal in the garden of the manor. Fond attention from the very friendly dog, "Jinks" ("Jinx?") was an added bonus for us. Highly recommend this hotel. Wish I could live there! Would go back without hesitation.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Ulrike Breuckner (Germany)

Sehr nettes Personal, sehr sauber, gute Einrichtung der Zimmer. (Very nice staff, very clean, good decor of the room)

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Orsh Shlomo (Israel)

I stayed at Meerkat Manor for a weekend and enjoyed it tremendously! The rooms are lovely, bed and linen top class.The hosts were very friendly and took me to the golf club from where I saw a crocodile feasting on a hippo, and it was a thrill to see the queue lining up at the border of Mozambique..so close to another country! The atmosphere was relaxing and calm. I would recommend this stay to all.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Wendy Darling (Johannesburg)

Accommodation clean, totally functional and beds are extremely comfortable. The garden is peaceful and quiet and the owner, Ronnie, goes out of his way to make his guests feel at home. WiFi access available if required and room rate is definite value for money. Easy access to the Kruger National Park. Will recommend Meerkat Manor as a definite stop-over.

  • Tonight from
  • ZAR 740
  • per unit per nightbased on 2 persons

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.43361111077778
Longitude: 31.962083333333332

Closest airport(s)
Kruger Mpumalanga Airport - 80km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2014 - 55 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap